$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

The Beach House

2 stars
Isla Verde Avenue #4851, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
122 reviews
Great location and price

I selected this hotel because it is right on the beach and has 15-knots kiteboard on location.... See full review

  • wine loving traveler
  • Jun 23, 2014
On the beach, with in walking distance of anything needed.

Although the rooms were average and small, the location and access to the beach was awesome. Staff... See full review

  • Jwmuff
  • Dec 14, 2013
San Juan hotel offers character and comfort on Isla Verde Beach

Few Isla Verde hotels have the personality of the Beach House. On the beach behind the boutique hotel sit huge canopy beds for lounging. Entrance to the hotel's beach club comes with the use of towels and lounge chairs, massage therapists (fees apply), and attendants who dispense sunblock, gelato and frosty drinks. The hotel's Cafe la Plage spills out onto a palm tree-shaded patio, which opens seamlessly to the sand. When the sun goes down, the patio becomes a nighttime hot spot lit warmly with candles and tiki torches.

Highlights
  • Located on Isla Verde Beach
  • Private beach canopy beds
  • Beach attendants
  • On-site restaurant
Rooms

The cozy rooms at the Beach House have a bright, contemporary look that mimics the coastline outside their windows, with thick drapes and duvets the color of dunes and seagrape leaves. Leather headboards and stainless steel lamps give the rooms a European feel. High-speed wireless Internet access is available in every room. Each bathroom has a shower. All of the rooms have a flat-screen TV with DVD player, iPod docking stations and L'occitane products.

Dining

Cafe La Plage is an on-site brasserie serving lunch and dinner. Specialties such as seafood ceviche are served either in the breezy indoor dining room or an outdoor patio. Guests can request a table on the beach surrounded by tiki torches. The cafe at the Beach House is closed on Mondays.

Entertainment

On weekend nights, the patio lights are dimmed, a movie screen is raised and independent films are shown. Thursdays are the nights for "Jazz Under the Stars" at Café la Plage.

Recreation

Step out the back of the Beach House and onto Isla Verde Beach. The hotel's 90-foot-long yacht, the Bateau la Plage, is available for charter (fees apply). The Beach House also offers a "boot camp beach workout," every Saturday for a fee.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
Attractions
  • Museo de Arte Contemporáneo (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Condado District (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Old San Juan Historic District (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (6.8 mi/11 km)
Business
  • Printing, copying, faxing
  • Multiple small meeting rooms
  • Banquet space
  • Full catering for events
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies and fees

Front Desk Hours : Monday thru Thursday 8am-8pm; Friday thru Sunday 24hours

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Beach House Rooms

Standard
Room with one full size bed includes great tropical contemporary decor, air-conditioning, TV with Cable. Complimentary daily continental breakfast.
Superior
Room with two full size bed includes great tropical contemporary decor, air-conditioning, TV with Cable. Complimentary daily continental breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beach House also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4446 -66.0269
Area served
San Juan, Isla Verde, Carolina, Condado, Old San Juan, Hato Rey, Rio Piedras, Bayamon, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
The Luis Munoz International Airport (SJU) - 5 minutes, The Pan American Pier and Old San Juan Piers - Approximately 15 minutes.
Area description
The Beach House is ideally located on the beach, in posh Isla Verde also ideal for pleasure, honeymooners, business or all. There is a lot to do nearby, with convenient access to the best restaurants and famous hotels.

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.7 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 3.9 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 5.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.6 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.7 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 3.9 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 5.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.2 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.2 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.2 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 6.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.1 mi

Dining

Cafe La Plage
San Juan's trend setter hangout, a pulsating destination that defines the essence of Puerto Rico's night life. Bar is open 7 days and the restaurant is open from tuesday to thursday for dinner only and weekends for Lunch and Dinner. Atmosphere: Bar, Setting: Live DJ on weekends.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for The Beach House

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4
Value:
2.8

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KRANKITUP
STATEN ISLAND, NEW YORK
Jun 16, 2009

VERY NICE PEOPLE WERE FRIENDLY

The Beach house was a great getaway. The rooms were small but served the purpose and were very clean. Showers were very nice and room for 2 (which was very nice). The staff was so friendly and always ready to help with directions even printing them out for you. It is close to the main strip but also close to a smaller barrio (community) where you can eat so many wonderful foods for very little money. It was close to the airport about 10 minutes. The highways to get through all of Puerto Rico was RIGHT There. We watched the sunrise on the beach then walked back to the room to snuggle. This place was wonderful. The reviews that were negative where just people who are CRAZY.. I 100% recommend it to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Affordable Lovely place to stay and enjoy the real Puerto Rico.

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
May 26, 2009

The Beach House Experience

The staff at this location is very very nice and help ful but it is quit dissapointing because the rooms do not look nothing like it is on the website. The room was very small and there were certains things that should improve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
May 26, 2009

The Beach House Experience

The staff at this location is very very nice and help ful but it is quit dissapointing because the rooms do not look nothing like it is on the website. The room was very small and there were certains things that should improve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dahira
Bronx, NY
May 25, 2009

A NIGHTMARE!!!!

This is the worst hotel i've ever been to in my entire life, and i've been to a few because my husband is a club promoter. Anyways, first off when ur driving into the hotel u can't even tell what it is, it really looks like a cheap motel. The rooms are super small, the sheets were dirty, the bathroom doesn't have a tub, the door to the room was broken and extremely dirty as well as the walls inside the room. And then they have the nerve to charge $250 for room service at the end of ur stay!! They said that breakfast was free, but u can't consider what they served to be breakfast... they had white and whole wheat bread, a few apples in a bowl, individual cereal boxes, juice, milk and coffee. And on top of everything mentioned, they hosted a beach party the last night we were there but that wasn't the problem, the problem was that they had no place for the party but right downstairs underneath the guests rooms!! According to them the party was booked a week in advanced, but if it truly was then why weren't we notified when we checked in thursday afternoon, when the party was sunday night? Don't they take into consideration they're guests? OBVIOUSLY NOT... And then on top of the trouble that we went through to find a place to stay while they partied the night on, we had to fight to get a refund that they had agreed to giving us! All in all, this is the worst hotel in the history of hotels..... ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

BOOK AT ANOTHER HOTEL, THIS ONE IS GARBAGE!!!!!

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dahira
Bronx, NY
May 25, 2009

A NIGHTMARE!!!!

This is the worst hotel i've ever been to in my entire life, and i've been to a few because my husband is a club promoter. Anyways, first off when ur driving into the hotel u can't even tell what it is, it really looks like a cheap motel. The rooms are super small, the sheets were dirty, the bathroom doesn't have a tub, the door to the room was broken and extremely dirty as well as the walls inside the room. And then they have the nerve to charge $250 for room service at the end of ur stay!! They said that breakfast was free, but u can't consider what they served to be breakfast... they had white and whole wheat bread, a few apples in a bowl, individual cereal boxes, juice, milk and coffee. And on top of everything mentioned, they hosted a beach party the last night we were there but that wasn't the problem, the problem was that they had no place for the party but right downstairs underneath the guests rooms!! According to them the party was booked a week in advanced, but if it truly was then why weren't we notified when we checked in thursday afternoon, when the party was sunday night? Don't they take into consideration they're guests? OBVIOUSLY NOT... And then on top of the trouble that we went through to find a place to stay while they partied the night on, we had to fight to get a refund that they had agreed to giving us! All in all, this is the worst hotel in the history of hotels..... ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

BOOK AT ANOTHER HOTEL, THIS ONE IS GARBAGE!!!!!

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pat Prior
San Angelo, Texas
May 15, 2009

The Beach House

There was only cold water for the shower but might have been fixed had I mentioned it earlier. I do not register that as a complaint. The location is wonderful right on the beach and the pesonnel were great. On our third and final night the establishment held a beach party sponsored by Peloni an Italian beer company. That drew a large crowd. There was dancing, music and general MEGA NOISE until 4 AM. We got no sleep. It was raining so the crowd was up close to the building under the roofed area. It was a bar room type scene with lots of drinking and NOISE and more NOISE for hours. I felt cheated out of the money I paid for that night's lodgings. We simply had to suffer thru it or pack up and move to another place for the night. I did complain in the morning and advised them that I intended to report this atrocity to Orbitz. It was suggested to me by the maintenance man that they expect the hotel guests to come out and join the party. Well, I do not drink and I have ZERO interest in being with the bar crowd. These were young people drinking and partying. In my morning walk on the beach I learned that complaints had been registered from people living in the condominiums next door as well. I'm sure it was an advertised money making event for The Beach House but they need to either provide for their paying guests or they need to run a bar on the beach but they can't expect to collect from both at the same time. I WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN NOR WOULD I RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE AS A PLACE TO STAY. Another issue is their restaurant which charges about double what other places do for a meal. We only ate there once and could go elsewhere for meals so that is only an observation. BUT that abominable ruckus until 4 AM was way beyond acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not eat at the La Plage Restaurant which is part of the Beach House. There are several nice Local fare restaurants within walking distance and they do have bus service although we did not use it. Despite the very rainy week I did enjoy my trip to Puerto Rico.The island is actually quite small and densely populated. Renting a car could be troublesome as parking is in very short supply.

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pat Prior
San Angelo, Texas
May 15, 2009

The Beach House

There was only cold water for the shower but might have been fixed had I mentioned it earlier. I do not register that as a complaint. The location is wonderful right on the beach and the pesonnel were great. On our third and final night the establishment held a beach party sponsored by Peloni an Italian beer company. That drew a large crowd. There was dancing, music and general MEGA NOISE until 4 AM. We got no sleep. It was raining so the crowd was up close to the building under the roofed area. It was a bar room type scene with lots of drinking and NOISE and more NOISE for hours. I felt cheated out of the money I paid for that night's lodgings. We simply had to suffer thru it or pack up and move to another place for the night. I did complain in the morning and advised them that I intended to report this atrocity to Orbitz. It was suggested to me by the maintenance man that they expect the hotel guests to come out and join the party. Well, I do not drink and I have ZERO interest in being with the bar crowd. These were young people drinking and partying. In my morning walk on the beach I learned that complaints had been registered from people living in the condominiums next door as well. I'm sure it was an advertised money making event for The Beach House but they need to either provide for their paying guests or they need to run a bar on the beach but they can't expect to collect from both at the same time. I WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN NOR WOULD I RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE AS A PLACE TO STAY. Another issue is their restaurant which charges about double what other places do for a meal. We only ate there once and could go elsewhere for meals so that is only an observation. BUT that abominable ruckus until 4 AM was way beyond acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not eat at the La Plage Restaurant which is part of the Beach House. There are several nice Local fare restaurants within walking distance and they do have bus service although we did not use it. Despite the very rainy week I did enjoy my trip to Puerto Rico.The island is actually quite small and densely populated. Renting a car could be troublesome as parking is in very short supply.

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Sep 2, 2008

Good location, needs improvements

Great location, nice beach and beach bar. Rooms are ok, but staff needs to pay attention to details like clean sheets and water preasure. Also, the guy in charge of beach towels was very rude and simply told us we have no towels, they were stolen. 2 days after that, a new guy gave us the towels right away and was very helpful. So I guess it was just that one guy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Casino nearby

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Sep 2, 2008

Good location, needs improvements

Great location, nice beach and beach bar. Rooms are ok, but staff needs to pay attention to details like clean sheets and water preasure. Also, the guy in charge of beach towels was very rude and simply told us we have no towels, they were stolen. 2 days after that, a new guy gave us the towels right away and was very helpful. So I guess it was just that one guy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Casino nearby

Review of The Beach House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 25, 2008

beautifull beach front, not so great hotel rooms

The outside of the hotel was nice, and the beach beds were nice. The beach front was not crowded at all. The hotel rooms were small. The showers didn't work. We switched rooms 4 times and finally left the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

a lot of fast food and sit-down restaurants were nearby.

Back to menu Return to top