$166 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

4 stars
View map of 200 Convention Boulevard, 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan, PR 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
244 out of 244
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dreamer71081
Business
New York, NY
Jul 7, 2013

first visit to San Juan

Well first I was welcomee by parking that I had to pay $16 a night for as a guest. This was not disclosed to me. Then I was delighted to be able to work out a up grade for a balcony for $25 dollars a night. Then The room was nice with a view of the pool and the port of san juan and a slighy view of the mountains. Decor was nice and the room lacked ammenities that are standard in most hotels like a frigde and microwave. No laundry room. It felt like everything was extra after a place to sleep. The service sucked at the casino. I had to track the waitress diwn for a drink. And what ever I won I lost. Location was not bad but there was nothing in walking distance and what was near was not tourist friendly. But by car only 5 mins from conado and old san juan. And the pool party on the forth of July was nice but expensive $12 burgers. And service was slow waited 30 mins for a hotdog. And at night I was surprised to see teenage girls campinf out in the ice machhine room. That was weird. Room service and the workers did a excellent job and where super nice. But be asured your paying for the water and coffee in your roo. And the slow wifi. $15 a night. So I thought I was getting like a $500 discount where it was cut down to $300.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to conado ashford ave to eat. If tou eat at the hotel your going be robbed the value is horrible for the dollar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Handsome Dan and Family
Business
West New York, NJ
Jul 31, 2013

Nice hotel but...

The hotel itself was good and nicely appointed. But the service charges for the (free) included amenities are exorbitant. As for the accommodations we are a family of 4 and they couldn't hold us a room with 2 queen beds. We had to sleep 4 people on a King size bed and hope that our initial request would be accommodated. The following day we were moved to a room with 2 queen beds. The cleaning of the room was mediocre at best. It looked like they didn't vacuum our room before we checked in or the first couple of nights. We found a pair of socks from the previous guest at the foot of the bed. We also noticed some litter that was never picked up or vacuumed from the carpet. The bed was not properly made. The sheet we slept on was never tucked, straightened out or replaced. It was just covered by the blanket and decorative cover blanket each night. They present a luxury face but the details do not measure up. Housekeeping in particular. They knew we were a family of 4 but only provided towels for 2. We had to call for towels every night. At these prices not good. We would expect these things in a 2 star hotel not a 4 star hotel. I will say the staff were polite and professional. We enjoyed the pool and the room service. The tomato soup was excellent so were the brownies a la mode. One evening coming back from the pool there was no one at the towel booth to receive our towels. Normally no big deal except for the fact of the sign on the table stating that a $25 charge will be applied for towels not returned. I called and told them that there is no one at the towel table to collect our towels and record that we returned the 4 towels we were provided. They stated they would send someone. We waited about 5 or 6 minutes then left leaving the towels in the bin. Wondering if we would see a $100 incidental charge on our bill when we checked out. We didn't, but we did receive over $100 in service charges not including the parking or the room service food order. Proximity to Old San Juan and the Condado a plus. The constantly blinking message light on the phone that had no messages other than the welcome message that I deleted was annoying. Next time I will try the Caribe Hilton and see how they present and execute their 4 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amar.
Business
Puerto Rico
Aug 6, 2013

It was ok.

It was a birthday weekend trip. We arrived and waited for the check in and had lunch at the restaurant. Ordered a ceasar salad with shrimp and had to send it back because the shrimp were off and not fresh. Hotel offers a Green Clean program which allows you to earn $5.00 a day if you refuse housekeeping. We denied this program but the room was still not properly cleaned everyday and one day the room service came at 6:00pm. There was also no towel service on a few occasions. Pool area was beautiful but over run by children in areas designated for adults like the Jaccuzi. There was a over charge for valet parking on the credit card recipt and I didn't even have a car with me. One plus the staff at reception was very friendly and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super flac
Business
new york
Aug 19, 2013

2nd time there this year

Stayed there in late february of this year (2013) for 4 nights and had great service, particularly at check in, which was early. way before 3pm. On my second visit just this past weekend i arrived at about 1pm and was told that a room was not available just yet, but that i would be called on my cell phone as soon as a room became available. I waited and waited and waited. finally at about 305pm i went to the front desk and was told that my room was ready and that they, at some point were looking for me. i never received a call and i don't think any attempt was made to find me. so, i wasted very valuable and limited time all do to the front staffs failure to keep their word. and i don't believe for a moment that a room was not available prior to 3pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

stay closer to main drag (ashford Ave)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LEDz
Business
Naples fl
Sep 25, 2013

Service elevator all night!!!

I book this hotel and thankful I looked at the reviews to see that there was a $16 a day parking fee so I budgeted for it but then a check out I was hit with a $15 a day service fee,so in total it was an extra $32 a day.i don't mine paying but they should put a huge disclaimer so you know what to expect.food wAs really overprice in the hotel eg.$9-oatmeal.the location sucked not closed to anything except a sizzlers,no beach,no shopping,no resturants and no night life.i was put in a room where the service elevator went all day and night so got no sleep.overall great modern property,good staff,too expensive,bad location.f.y.i don't attempt to drive on the roads in San Juan it take 3 highway to get anywhere and the road are tiny

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park for free on the streets by the convention center from most room you can view your car parked on the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Orlando traveler Nov 2013
Business
Orlando, FL
Nov 23, 2013

Room smelled

I opened the door and was immediately hit with the smell of body odor...like sweaty, smelly people. The room looked nice but smelled bad. Took a couple of days to go away. I asked for air freshener and never received it but then everything I asked for I had to ask for at least twice. I don't know if it was the front desk not passing on my requests to housekeeping or housekeeping not following through but it was annoying. The costs of the restaurants was so high I never ate in them and the gift shop was ridiculous! Also, be prepared for the $15.00 a day resort fee you will be charged and the $16.00 a day self parking charge for the garage. Don't be deceived by the pics the pool is only about 4 ft deep and MUCH smaller than it looks. A lot of the pics make the hotel look better than it is. And be prepared to go everywhere by bus or taxi ($18.00 min from the airport). You can take the bus to Old San Juan for .75 cents but have quarters and be ready to wait on the weekends as it only runs every 30 min. Make sure you ask the driver if it's going to Old San Juan. DO NOT eat at the Sizzler down the street! The food was overpriced, it was dirty (don't use the bathroom!!) and the food was just bad. For what I paid I should have stayed closer to Old San Juan in another hotel. It was pretty to look at but really had not much else for the price. Casino was ok but you can really loose your money quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go eat in Old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 20, 2011

Nice Hotel Slow Service

The hotel was really nice and clean, but the service was lacking. I always had to call twice for anything I needed. Also they were cleaning the room at 6 oclock everyday. I would stay at this hotel again, but they need to have more staff when it busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Puerto Rico Cafe in Old San Juan hands down the best restaruant in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 21, 2011

Beautiful but can be better

the was relaxing on the pool deck. Transit accesible tours was very easy. This was my first trip I can see my family and I staying there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There public transportation was easy and accessible and very in expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Millly
Business
Dc
Jul 18, 2011

Vacation away

The hotel was beautiful! One issue I had was the ridiculous resort fees. I was forced to pick two rooms for a family of five in which one room would have been sufficient. I had to basically go toe to toe why I wasn't paying a resort fee for my children's room. I did over-hear others complaining about their resort fees. All honestly, it was a hotel in my eyes not a resort. The closest beach was 15 minutes away. Buses are affordable verses taking taxis everywhere. We visited old San Juan everyday for dinner because restaurants at hotel was alittle to pricey for a family of five. I will be back to Puerto Rico but more than likely will stay somewhere that has a beach on premises especially if I'm going to be charged a resort fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bus to old San Juan was seventy five cents!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lisy Super Mom
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 3, 2011

Great Hotel!

Enjoyed the beautiful views, pool, room service and relaxing spa!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top