$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

4 stars
View map of 200 Convention Boulevard, 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan, PR 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FB01
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jan 7, 2013

San Juan - great experience

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The staff was friendly and very helpful with everything. I had an incident where a few of my towles (left by housecleaning) were dirty. The hotel apologized and gave me two free continental breakfasts for me and my gf. Other than that, it's a great place, convenient location, and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Rio Grande and take the 25-30 minute hiking walk through "El Yunque", the national rainforest. There's a beautiful waterfall well worth the hike there and back. It's free.

Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 21, 2011

Beautiful but can be better

the was relaxing on the pool deck. Transit accesible tours was very easy. This was my first trip I can see my family and I staying there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There public transportation was easy and accessible and very in expensive

Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Millly
Business
Dc
Jul 18, 2011

Vacation away

The hotel was beautiful! One issue I had was the ridiculous resort fees. I was forced to pick two rooms for a family of five in which one room would have been sufficient. I had to basically go toe to toe why I wasn't paying a resort fee for my children's room. I did over-hear others complaining about their resort fees. All honestly, it was a hotel in my eyes not a resort. The closest beach was 15 minutes away. Buses are affordable verses taking taxis everywhere. We visited old San Juan everyday for dinner because restaurants at hotel was alittle to pricey for a family of five. I will be back to Puerto Rico but more than likely will stay somewhere that has a beach on premises especially if I'm going to be charged a resort fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bus to old San Juan was seventy five cents!

Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lisy Super Mom
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 3, 2011

Great Hotel!

Enjoyed the beautiful views, pool, room service and relaxing spa!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 29, 2010

good times

Very clean and friendly staff, casino was fun but could use more table games!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
officertony
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 29, 2011

Bad location for San Juan PR

Pricey parking fees, average hotel ammenities, should have booiked sooner to have ahad better options. Not horrible stay, but not a top option in my opinion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're going to drive around San Juan P.R. you might as well find a hotel far away thats cheaper and has better beach options.

Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Real Boricua
Business
Virginia
Oct 1, 2010

Sheraton San Juan, Puerto Rico

While the location was nice, and the staff was excellent and very friendly, the bedskirt of one of the beds was stained in several areas. And toiletries were not made readily available, on several ocassions I had to go to front desk and ask for them personally. Choices was a nice restaurant, although not overpriced for the location, still pricey. The pricing for parking was overpriced. There is a great Bakery nearby, close to the airport and to El Viejo San Juan. The pool while nice, was small and closed really early? And the hotel lost power 2x's while we were there and on the day we were leaving, the business center nor the elevators were not functioning properly in a 12-floor hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For breakfast and sweets you can go to Reposteria España, which is about a 5-10 min drive away. And for lunch, you can go to El Viejo San Juan and eat at El Meson, they make awesome sandwiches and you can go to Raices for a very authentic, traditional meal, here you will see true culture of the Puerto Rican people and their exquisite cuisine.

Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carlos dissapointed
Business
New York, NY
Jan 3, 2011

End of year getaway - dissatisfied

Room phone did not work, bathroom door would not lock or locked itself, no HEATED jacuzzi or pool- they did not fix and we were there for 6 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jul 22, 2011

Sheraton

better than I thought!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining at the hotel was beyond expensive and plus there were additional hotel charges at the end of the stay that we didn't know about!!!

Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
david011709
Business
st.louis
Jul 9, 2010

okay not great

it was okay nothing to write home about. not close to anything.stay at sheraton downtown old san juan would be better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

too far from any good eats. hotel not much too offer for food

Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 16, 2010

Kinda feel like we wasted our money...

We arrived at the Sheraton on Valentine's Day almost three hours after check in time and were originally told that our room wasn't ready and it would be another hour... but then, while we were doing a pre-check-in, the room showed as available, so what could have been a big deal, turned out not to be. The facility of the hotel is beautiful. Very well done and open. Very clean. The front desk staff was nice, not over friendly, but nice enough. The staff outside was super friendly and helpful, and got cabs for us immediately when we needed them. We were given two good restaurant suggestions before we went into Old San Juan.Our room was large and the design is great. Beautiful bed and chair in the room. The Bliss bath products, a plus for me who adores Bliss. [...], the bartender in the main lobby lounge was fantastic! He made great drinks, was super friendly, and we had a lovely conversation with him about different local foods and things to do. Valentine's night, there was also a very talented singer performing, and we really enjoyed listening to her. Those are the good things; here are the bad: The dream bed... it not a dream. It felt like a basic, hotel grade mattress. Nothing special at all. But the BIGGEST problem with the room is that there are only sheers over the majority of the window space- which means that you are woken up with the sun blazing into your room the second the sun is up. That is NOT good.... and reason enough that I would never stay here again. The location of the hotel isn't great. It's between the beach areas and Old San Juan... which means you can't walk to anything and whether you go to the beach or to OSJ, you're going to pay $30 round trip cab fare. We spent the day roaming around El Morro and Old San Juan and were tired enough that we decided to just head back to the hotel to have dinner... big mistake. The Choices restaurant on site was having a Valentine's deal, and I think you could order off the regular menu as well... either way, we weren't interested. The menu was small and uninteresting. And had nothing on there that was any type of Puerto Rican food- disappointing. The food in the lounge was more a tapas type menu, and not really what we were looking for either. We were looking for a nice Puerto Rican style meal or seafood of some type, but after asking the front desk for suggestions close by and getting none, we gave up and ended up ordering delivery pizza b/c by that point we were just tired and hungry... we saw the delivery guy in the lobby about 6 or 7 times while we were waiting on ours to arrive, so obviously, more than just us had the same issue.For breakfast the next morning, we were hoping to be able to order food and eat outside by the pool (which was beautiful), but the pool side cafe wasn't opened (it closed early the night before as well... and the pool closed at 8- super early in my opinion) We ended up eating the Choices breakfast buffet for $19 each... it was your typical overpriced hotel buffet. Not bad at all, but not worth $40 for the two of us either. Check out was painless. They do put a $100 hold on your card for things like, breakfast and the bar, etc, and that's fine, but the employee who checked me in would not have told me that except that I asked him why he needed to run my card when I had pre-paid for the stay. I don't have a problem with them putting a hold on my account… but I do have a problem with them not telling me this up front. So overall, it was just kind of a blah experience. We could have stayed somewhere else for much cheaper… and not had to spend $100 in cab fares… and it would have been really, really nice to be able to sleep in on a getaway weekend and not be woken up with the sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top