$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

4 stars
100 Brumbaugh Street, San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
634 reviews
Prime Choice "The Sheraton"

The hotel is located near the piers. My wife and I roll in looking for a adventurous yet relaxing... See full review

  • 20 yr wedding anniversary
  • Jul 4, 2014
Wonder family vacation

The staff at the hotel was very helpful and friendly. Wonderful place to stay with children. See full review

  • Woods Famiy
  • Jul 2, 2014
Experience the best of Old San Juan at the Sheraton Hotel and Casino, which seamlessly blends old world charm with modern luxury. Located just a few minutes from the airport and cruise ship docking areas, guests can start their visits with minimal delay. Showcasing grand design and decor, the hotel is home to what has been voted the friendliest casino in San Juan. From table games to more than 300 slot machines, the casino offers hours of entertainment in a welcoming atmosphere. Count your winnings over dinner at the local Palio restaurant, or go all - American at the Chicago Burger Company. Swim off those calories in the roof-top pool or hit the health club for a fitness class.
Key facts
  • Waterfront location
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Hot tub
  • Luggage storage
  • Entirely smoke-free
  • 2 restaurants: Chicago Burger Company and Palio
  • Wireless Internet (fees may apply)
  • Bose Wave Radio in guest rooms
  • Sheraton Sweet Sleeper* Bed
  • Balcony
  • In-room microwave and refrigerator available
  • Childcare service
  • Numerous on-site dining options
  • Room service
  • Pets allowed (see policies; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Staying in Old San Juan puts the best of the culturally-rich city at your fingertips, with places like the beautiful Condado Beaches nearby. Sports fans will enjoy the local tennis courts and golf courses, and art admirers can visit the Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico. Other unforgettable experiences await just a short drive away at Fortress San Cristobal, the Bacardi Rum Factory, and the Wyndham Rio Mar Beach.
Hints and tips
Gain an appreciation for the history and architecture of the city with a walking tour of San Juan, starting less than half a mile from the hotel.

For longer trips around town, be sure to ask the front desk about the free trolley service.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.464 -66.1121
Nearby airports
Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport, (SJU), 6.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
Fire alarm with light
Sitting area
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of San Juan: 0.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.7 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (634)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
634 out of 634
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Glen Burnie, MD
Jan 21, 2010

a ok hotel but overpriced

An Error with the reservations meant I received a room with a view of nothing instead of the harbor that I had requested. The cleanliness of the room left something to be desired. All this and I still need to figure out what this extra charge on my credit card is for. However there was 1 member of staff that tried his hardest to help and made great suggestions for activities. Unfortunately I failed to get that valets name, but Sir from the bottom of my heart I would like to say " Thank You"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I was lucky enough to have my trip coincide with the San Sebastien festival, great music and arts, but the traffic and parking were nightmare situations.

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
amy48
Pennsylvania
Mar 16, 2014

Family vacation

A little disappointed. We were told an airport shuttle would take us to and from...not true. We were to be in our rooms at 3pm and had to wait until 5pm. The locks didn't work correctly, the bolts fell out of the locks, the remote/tv didn't work right, the panels on the door/window were broken, and the pool is small. Not enough area available to sunbathe. The nearest beach is 25 minutes away. We were disappointed with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was some very nice restaurants that served local cuisine but it is pricey.

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sleepless cruiser
california
Apr 2, 2014

after cruise

to me it didn't live up to the sheraton name...the room was very basic. but the biggest problem was the noise. It was not at ALL soundproofed, and i heard every conversation in the hall (and there were many) and i heard a lot of noise from senior frogs next door. very frustrating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gina3526
Chicago, il
Feb 7, 2014

Location is prime.

The bed was really uncomfortable. I've stayed there in the past and never had an issue. The room wasn't cleaned all that well either. Very disappointed this time around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of nice places to eat.

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kcwhisky
new york city
Nov 10, 2010

bad hotal

i checkin 3.00pm but i did not have room 5.00 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kcwhisky
new york city
Nov 10, 2010

bad hotal

i checkin 3.00pm but i did not have room 5.00 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
playboy jo
san juan
Nov 3, 2009

The Good, The bad And The really ugly

it wasn't that cleaned and had alot damages in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lirensmom
Rhode Island
Jul 23, 2011

Mixed reviews

The Old San Juan Hotel and Casino is centrally located in Old San Juan, making it easy to get out and explore the city. It was clean, modern, and the bed very comfortable. The view from the rooftop pool was amazing. Hotel security was good as well: you can not make the elevator go to the floors with rooms on them without an active room key.However, the service was severely lacking. We were not able to check in until almost 5:00 pm when the policy is that check-in is at 3:00. Once we got into the room and found that we had an excellent view of the parking garage next door, we were told that there was nothing they could do as we had booked the stay through a third-party website. We heard stories of other people's luggage being lost by the bellman but that did not happen to us. We had to call every day to get housekeeping to come to the room. Even more, we had to specify exactly what we wanted the housekeepers to do.We did book an excursion through the concierge. There was some mix-up about the time of departure but the tour was excellent. Overall, it wasn't a bad stay but it wasn't a good one, either. I'm looking forward to going to Old San Juan again but we will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everyone will tell you to go to Raices. While the food is good there, it is way more expensive than the restaurant next door. Raices is also like Disney does Puerto Rico and therefore, a little hokey. I'd recommend skipping the hour wait and heading into Mojito's right next door. The churrasco and arroz Mojito is AMAZING!

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
liz924
new york
Jul 27, 2013

it was okay.

cons: weird smell when you walk into the hotel but room was clean. elevators are annoying. beaches arent close. everything closes at 12am.(restaurants,stores,pharmacy) bars are open til 2 am. beware with the cabs, their prices are ridiculous. pros: area is safe, RENT A CAR! makes life easier ;) you will be walking alot to find restaurants,bars ect. If you dont rent a car well then the transportation is ok. *take the trolley which is the hotels transportation service.( its infront of the subway restaurant or across from cvs right by the hotel)EARLY in the morning its FREE so it gets packed. -people who work there are very nice. -chicago burger has good food. -casino is nice. -very safe to walk around in the area,theres cops all over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shera
Richland, WA, USA
Jan 26, 2012

Would not recommend this hotel.

One major problem with us and many others that stayed at the hotel was the Sheraton room key system. You would have to slide it at least twice sometimes 3 times to get into your room. Three times the key would not work at all so we had to go to the main desk and have it remade. Also, in order to go up or down to other floors in their elevators you need to slide your key. This is, of course, for security purposes. Again - we had to slide it at least 2 -3 times and sometimes if it did not work right away and if you were trying to go up, it would take you down to the lobby and you would have to rekey and go back up to your desired floor. We also had a problem obtaining wash cloths for our room. Three times we had to call and ask that the room be cleaned. This was at 5:00 pm and certainly the room should have been clean by then.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful restaurants in Old San Juan. Especially enjoyed Marmalade and Dragon Fly.

Back to menu Return to top