$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

4 stars
100 Brumbaugh Street, San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
634 reviews
Prime Choice "The Sheraton"

The hotel is located near the piers. My wife and I roll in looking for a adventurous yet relaxing... See full review

  • 20 yr wedding anniversary
  • Jul 4, 2014
Wonder family vacation

The staff at the hotel was very helpful and friendly. Wonderful place to stay with children. See full review

  • Woods Famiy
  • Jul 2, 2014
Experience the best of Old San Juan at the Sheraton Hotel and Casino, which seamlessly blends old world charm with modern luxury. Located just a few minutes from the airport and cruise ship docking areas, guests can start their visits with minimal delay. Showcasing grand design and decor, the hotel is home to what has been voted the friendliest casino in San Juan. From table games to more than 300 slot machines, the casino offers hours of entertainment in a welcoming atmosphere. Count your winnings over dinner at the local Palio restaurant, or go all - American at the Chicago Burger Company. Swim off those calories in the roof-top pool or hit the health club for a fitness class.
Key facts
  • Waterfront location
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Hot tub
  • Luggage storage
  • Entirely smoke-free
  • 2 restaurants: Chicago Burger Company and Palio
  • Wireless Internet (fees may apply)
  • Bose Wave Radio in guest rooms
  • Sheraton Sweet Sleeper* Bed
  • Balcony
  • In-room microwave and refrigerator available
  • Childcare service
  • Numerous on-site dining options
  • Room service
  • Pets allowed (see policies; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Staying in Old San Juan puts the best of the culturally-rich city at your fingertips, with places like the beautiful Condado Beaches nearby. Sports fans will enjoy the local tennis courts and golf courses, and art admirers can visit the Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico. Other unforgettable experiences await just a short drive away at Fortress San Cristobal, the Bacardi Rum Factory, and the Wyndham Rio Mar Beach.
Hints and tips
Gain an appreciation for the history and architecture of the city with a walking tour of San Juan, starting less than half a mile from the hotel.

For longer trips around town, be sure to ask the front desk about the free trolley service.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
Fire alarm with light
Sitting area
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.464 -66.1121
Nearby airports
Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport, (SJU), 6.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of San Juan: 0.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.7 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (634)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
634 out of 634
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SecurityAgent
Business
Juana Diaz PR
Sep 24, 2012

Great offer.. Great Location

It was a perfect getaway!! Great location.. Recommended for travel, bussines and pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lantana, Texas
Apr 9, 2010

Beware of Poor Customer Service

Paid for two Deluxe Bay View rooms. WHen we checked in the rooms were not ready at 3pm as stated. We had to come back at 4:15. Rooms still were not ready. At 4:30 the two room keys were given to us. We went to the rooms and found out that instead of Deluxe Bay Views, we faced a multi-tiered parking garage and looked right at parked cars - no Bay in site. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Bombonera for a great and inexpensive breakfast. Try the pastries!

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Robbed in PR
Brooklyn, N.Y.
Jun 11, 2011

NIGHTMARE!!!

The room was AWFUL!!! Do NOT let the pictures fool you! The room was extremely damp due to the fact that the windows are sealed shut. There is no ventilation at all! The was a big patch mold going down the wall near the armour. If you are going to Puerto Rico during the party weekends, this hotel is not a good choice because it is away from everything. If the room wasnt so bad I would recommend the hotel because the majority of the staff is very nice and its near the shopping centers. LEARN THE BUS SYSTEM!!! it will save you tons of money. The cab drivers charge a flat rate of 20 dollars for any distance. Cab fare will eat your money uneccessarily!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great location near the shopping areas.

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amintravlers
Seattle,WA
Dec 18, 2010

Not y 4 star Sheraton, be awar!

The main reason we picked this hotel over others was first, its central , good location and then its relatively reasonable price. I should say, the location was great! If you are going to San Juan to enjoy its history, night life, strolling around old markets and dinning you are in the right location. No need to rent a car (unless you are planning to go to beach, El Yunge, etc.) But the cleanliness of the hotel is a disaster! We changed two rooms and we did not like any of them. They were small, smelly and you could nt even open their windows = making rooms smell bad and moldy all the time. Housekeeping did not work neatly. We always found soap residue, hair in bath tub and missing shampoo or conditioner. Worst thing was air conditioner. It was either too hot or too cold that I had to wear my socks in the room! Swimming pool and hot tub are way smaller than pictures on website and they were under maintenance supposedly for 1 day but it got fixed after 4 days or so. Also dining option in the hotel was limited and very pricy. Over all, I would not come back here and wont recommend it to anyone. Still is hard for me to believe we stayed in Sheraton as we received 1 star hotel treatment!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go to San Juan, u gotta stay in Old San Juan where you can enjoy sight seeing, shopping, dining, night life and a short distance to public beaches.The only positive thing about this hotel was its good location across the city. It was also next to cruise ship terminal.

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New york
Nov 14, 2010

sheraton old san juan

Hotel emplyees great. security made copies of my drivers license when it was not needed. Had to pay charges I never paid anywhere esle for everyday stay. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maryelena
NY NY
Aug 26, 2011

Won't be back

pictures are very deceiving. Rooms are outdated! views from the rooms are parking lots or of a building. The pool is very small. The staff very unpleasant!!! We were with out Electricity for 2 days. Staff did not try to accomadate any of the guest. Very poor service. will not be going back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dvazquez
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 26, 2011

A very uncomfortable Experience.

The price was very reasonable and in the heart of Old San Juan. I was expecting a great experience. I think the hotel has suffered form water damage because our room had a strong pungent smell of mold. The room was extremely humid even the bed sheets felt wet. After a long day of sightseeing I did not feel like coming back to relax in a smelly humid room. We actually stayed in 2 rooms, the first had no internet so they moved us, the second room smelled even worse that the first. Even the lobby had a strong smell which makes me believe the whole hotel has a problem. definitely will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The is a Plaza near the pier with live music on Saturdays around 8:00pm definitely worth a visit.

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lantana, Texas
Apr 9, 2010

Beware of Poor Customer Service

Paid for two Deluxe Bay View rooms. WHen we checked in the rooms were not ready at 3pm as stated. We had to come back at 4:15. Rooms still were not ready. At 4:30 the two room keys were given to us. We went to the rooms and found out that instead of Deluxe Bay Views, we faced a multi-tiered parking garage and looked right at parked cars - no Bay in site. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Bombonera for a great and inexpensive breakfast. Try the pastries!

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Borincano
Phoenix, Az
Mar 12, 2014

What do you mean you have no parking area??!?!!!

The location is perfect right in front of the bay area. Your a walk away from fantastic food and night life. There is a lot of culture surrounding this area. You also 20 minutes walking distant from El Morro Fortress. The bad is this hotel does not have parking. If you know a bit about El Viejo San Juan is that parking is hard to get buy unless your prepared to pay a daily premium price. The cheapest parking is about 15-20 minutes walking distance. The closest parking is pretty expensive. I also reserved the upgraded room which was nothing at all upgraded. The TV was awful. There was nothing free on TV not even regular programming. Want to watch a movie? That will be $15. The only thing good was the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
lancaster county, pa.
Oct 4, 2009

great hotel

everyone was very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ElQuijote
Tampa, Fl
Jun 1, 2012

Do not stay here!!!

First of all I am puertorrican and this is the first time I stay in the island as a turist and is terrible the hotel doesnt have parking !!! Yoy have to pay an extra 22 dollars per day to have a decent and secure parking. It is way overprise. And you can stay in a better place outside of the metro area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top