$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 10, 2014

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

4 stars
100 Brumbaugh Street, 100 Brumbaugh Street, San Juan, PR 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
449 reviews
Old San Juan Hotel Stay

Had a great stay at the Sheraton Old San Juan. The location is great and although I only stayed... See full review

  • Kazam46
  • Sep 30, 2014
Great Deal!

Perfect Location.. Clean.. Rooftop Pool!! Yesss Pls!! See full review

  • OJAV04
  • Sep 21, 2014
Experience the best of Old San Juan at the Sheraton Hotel and Casino, which seamlessly blends old world charm with modern luxury. Located just a few minutes from the airport and cruise ship docking areas, guests can start their visits with minimal delay. Showcasing grand design and decor, the hotel is home to what has been voted the friendliest casino in San Juan. From table games to more than 300 slot machines, the casino offers hours of entertainment in a welcoming atmosphere. Count your winnings over dinner at the local Palio restaurant, or go all - American at the Chicago Burger Company. Swim off those calories in the roof-top pool or hit the health club for a fitness class.
Key facts
  • Waterfront location
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Hot tub
  • Luggage storage
  • Entirely smoke-free
  • 2 restaurants: Chicago Burger Company and Palio
  • Wireless Internet (fees may apply)
  • Bose Wave Radio in guest rooms
  • Sheraton Sweet Sleeper* Bed
  • Balcony
  • In-room microwave and refrigerator available
  • Childcare service
  • Numerous on-site dining options
  • Room service
  • Pets allowed (see policies; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Staying in Old San Juan puts the best of the culturally-rich city at your fingertips, with places like the beautiful Condado Beaches nearby. Sports fans will enjoy the local tennis courts and golf courses, and art admirers can visit the Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico. Other unforgettable experiences await just a short drive away at Fortress San Cristobal, the Bacardi Rum Factory, and the Wyndham Rio Mar Beach.
Hints and tips
Gain an appreciation for the history and architecture of the city with a walking tour of San Juan, starting less than half a mile from the hotel.

For longer trips around town, be sure to ask the front desk about the free trolley service.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (449)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
449 out of 449
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Borincano
Business
Phoenix, Az
Mar 12, 2014

What do you mean you have no parking area??!?!!!

The location is perfect right in front of the bay area. Your a walk away from fantastic food and night life. There is a lot of culture surrounding this area. You also 20 minutes walking distant from El Morro Fortress. The bad is this hotel does not have parking. If you know a bit about El Viejo San Juan is that parking is hard to get buy unless your prepared to pay a daily premium price. The cheapest parking is about 15-20 minutes walking distance. The closest parking is pretty expensive. I also reserved the upgraded room which was nothing at all upgraded. The TV was awful. There was nothing free on TV not even regular programming. Want to watch a movie? That will be $15. The only thing good was the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Born traveler
Business
NYC
Oct 13, 2010

DO NOT STAY HERE!

I would just like to advise other travelers to not waste your money on this hotel. It does not deserve the amount of stars it has. It is in desperate need of being updated and cleaned. Upon entering the hotel, it was raining, the door man saw us arrive, however did not bother to help us with our luggage or use an umbrella so we did not get wet. Once we dragged our luggage inside the lobby, we were confused because we see a small desk assume it is the front desk only to be told by the three young adults sitting there to turn around as they continued to giggle and act like they were not at work. The initial front desk person checking us in was friendly. Again, no help to take our luggage to our room. Disgusting turquoise outdated rugs. No light in room, no closet only a wobbly armoire available???? We were told by the other Sheraton near the convention center that this hotel was the "sister" hotel and was comparable to stay in (because they were overbooked and had no room for us). Clearly that was NOT the case. I would also like to note that there is not much of a price difference between the two hotels. We checked out within 2 hours, because we did not want to ruin our vacation anymore.Upon checkout, they attempted to keep us, but when we told them that we were going to the other Sheraton (who finally had rooms due to cancellations) they did little to offer us anything in the way of refund, compensation or apply some of what we paid to the new reservation. YES I understand it was non refundable, however this is the same company I am spending my money in, OF COURSE you can do something, anything!!! The only thing relatively good with this hotel is the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

As A Puerto Rican, almost everyone will tell you to go eat at Raices which is in Old San Juan. Do yourself a favor and do not go there. Many more places within the island that are far more authentic and cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tampa, fl
May 25, 2011

Horrible Experience

This was the WORST trip we have ever experienced!!! We payed an extra $50 to have a room with a balcony, call the hotel after purchase everything was fine..Get to the hotel and they gave us the wrong room, not what we paid for and it smelt like smoke,mold and a nursing home! the windows were even dirty! The customer service was horrible, we stayed at the Old San Juan Sheraton Hotel! We complained, talked to 2 managers [...], they were goign to refund our money but it would take 7 days, so we had no choice but to stay, they finally moved us to another room after me having to make a scene (which I shouldnt have had to do if they gave us the right room in the first place). They took out $100 deposit without informing me. The amenities were closed most of the time we were there. And the casino downstairs dont even waste your money. I had an issue with a lady that shoved me and they wouldnt do anything about it, they told me i shouldnt have sat down next to her..like I knew she would push me..She was holding a seat for someone and freaked out on me. We flew thru JetBlue, NEVER AGAIN! They tried kickin me off the plane bc I asked the flight attendent not to be so rough with my belongings, he shoved my bag and all my stuff fell out (thank god nothign broke) and overall it was the worst experience over there. The staff at the hotel were so rude, they wouldnt help me when my bags upon checking out they said they were too busy..I walk down stairs and 4 of them are just sitting there talking, guess thats considered busy for them. The maids didnt pick anything up like most places do, I had to call 2-4 times a day for towels, cups, or anything else that I needed since they didnt bring that stuff upon room cleaning. They didnt take the dirty towels out of the room, they left them piled up the 9 days that we stayed. And the 2 restuarants inside the hotel are disgusting and overpriced. the one our food was cold, bun was still frozen, and the other place it took 45 minutes to get a drink, another hr to get our appitizer, we had to cancel our order and eat elsewhere.There were literally 5 other familys of no more than 4 in there. RIDICULOUS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping was the only thing within walking distance, RENT a car if you ever visit here!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Luckii
Business
Tampa, Florida
May 31, 2011

THE REALEST REVIEW FROM UNBIAS EYES!

Lets start with the ride to the hotel, we elected to take a taxi instead of renting a car because we weren't sure about how the driving is out there and THANK GOD we did not rent a car because they drive worse than new yorkers especially in Old San Juan. They mostly have back ally ways and one way streets, people park on the side of the streets which leave BARELY enough room to manuver any vehicle through even if you are a great driver. The city is beautiful but you can certainly tell that it is very poverty stricken due to the graffiti EVERYWHERE. There are abandoned apartments and hotels every where...When we got to the hotel, it was nothing special. We got our room just fine. The room was decent, the bed and pillows were great. The bathroom is a decent size. There are no refridgerators in the room which was not good b/c you constantly need something cold to drink due to the heat during the afternoon. Our first night, my fiance and I ate at the Chicago Burger located on the first floor of the hotel. Our service was horrible. We had to remind the wait staff that we were there, we ordered some island drinks and they were the worst... They took forever bringing us our food which was annoying because noone was hardly there. When they did bring us the food the waitress just sat it down and left without asking us if we needed anything such as ketchup or anything else... We visited to casino inside the hotel, it is very small and limited. There is NOT a NO LIMIT poker table in this casino, they play 3 card poker, blackjack and other games but no Texas Holdem. The next day we had a FABULOUS cab ride around Old San Juan & The New City by a man named [...]for $45.00. He was INCREDIABLE! He stopped the vehicle several times to show us the city and got out and took pictures of my fiancee and myself. He spoke english very well and he was very honest, we gave him a tip and he thought we over paid him and tried to give us our money back. As far as food is concerned, Punto De Vista is a GREAT place to eat for local food. The owner of the resturant/bar is funny and he interacts with the guests there. The only bad part is that guests mostly sit outside and they are surrounded by pigeons. One pigeon actually decided to use the restroom on our table after we ate dinner. The second day we were there eating lunch and a roach was on our table outside and that really grossed me out although it wasn't really the fault of the owner because we were outside the resturant. We ate breakfast our first morning at Palio inside the hotel. The atmosphere is wonderful and the view is beautiful. It was a buffet type style breakfast but for 2 people cost us $40.00 + tip. Which was CRAZY! The food was okay, but NOT $40.00 okay for BREAKFAST! Needless to say, the next morning we ate at a little resturant in Old San Juan just behind the hotel and had a nice breakfast for $20.00 for 2 people.On our 2nd night stay, we were coming into the hotel, getting on the elevator and a roach was in the elevator, which scared me because I hate bugs. I didn't see any other roaches on this trip or in my room but I'm sure they are there. This hotel is not one that I will recommend to anyone. I would rather stay at a resort inside the New City with more to do and more amentities and better service than this hotel and take a taxi to see the sites in Old San Juan. In addition, you have to go to Barrachina's and ask for [...]. He is an amazing Bar Tender there and they are the creaters of the Pina Colada. It was the BEST Pina Colada I've ever had and I don't even like that drink!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

DO NOT EAT AT THIS HOTEL... They charge an arm and a leg for their food when you can get much better food at one of the local resturants or bars at a much better price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Old San Juan
Jul 12, 2011

the good and the bad

the best thing about this hotel is the location to old san juan. not a hotel where we will stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
GA
Jul 12, 2011

Vacation

low quality hotel; bad location; tried to cancel reservation, but the hotel didn't honor it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maryelena
Business
NY NY
Aug 26, 2011

Won't be back

pictures are very deceiving. Rooms are outdated! views from the rooms are parking lots or of a building. The pool is very small. The staff very unpleasant!!! We were with out Electricity for 2 days. Staff did not try to accomadate any of the guest. Very poor service. will not be going back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bobby b
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Horrible Experience

Noisy inside on floors until 3:30am. Unresponsive and unattentive staff. Very very disappointing. 25 minutes to get a bellmanand had to go get him myself. No hot water for 5 minutes. Broken faucet in tub. Overall dirty hallways and floor in room and bathroom.If you are looking for spring break at low end hotel this is it. But if you are looking for Starwood quality look somewhere else. This was the pits. Couldn't wait to check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ElQuijote
Business
Tampa, Fl
Jun 1, 2012

Do not stay here!!!

First of all I am puertorrican and this is the first time I stay in the island as a turist and is terrible the hotel doesnt have parking !!! Yoy have to pay an extra 22 dollars per day to have a decent and secure parking. It is way overprise. And you can stay in a better place outside of the metro area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Robbed in PR
Business
Brooklyn, N.Y.
Jun 11, 2011

NIGHTMARE!!!

The room was AWFUL!!! Do NOT let the pictures fool you! The room was extremely damp due to the fact that the windows are sealed shut. There is no ventilation at all! The was a big patch mold going down the wall near the armour. If you are going to Puerto Rico during the party weekends, this hotel is not a good choice because it is away from everything. If the room wasnt so bad I would recommend the hotel because the majority of the staff is very nice and its near the shopping centers. LEARN THE BUS SYSTEM!!! it will save you tons of money. The cab drivers charge a flat rate of 20 dollars for any distance. Cab fare will eat your money uneccessarily!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great location near the shopping areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top