$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

4 stars
100 Brumbaugh Street, San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
637 reviews
Excellent Hotel

This Hotel was very comfortable the staff was friendly and helpful. The location is perfect close... See full review

  • Raycan
  • Jul 17, 2014
Good Location

Walking distance to Old San Juan. Restaurants, museums etc... Clean Hotel plus has a Casino. Great... See full review

  • Raulo
  • Jul 16, 2014
Experience the best of Old San Juan at the Sheraton Hotel and Casino, which seamlessly blends old world charm with modern luxury. Located just a few minutes from the airport and cruise ship docking areas, guests can start their visits with minimal delay. Showcasing grand design and decor, the hotel is home to what has been voted the friendliest casino in San Juan. From table games to more than 300 slot machines, the casino offers hours of entertainment in a welcoming atmosphere. Count your winnings over dinner at the local Palio restaurant, or go all - American at the Chicago Burger Company. Swim off those calories in the roof-top pool or hit the health club for a fitness class.
Key facts
  • Waterfront location
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Hot tub
  • Luggage storage
  • Entirely smoke-free
  • 2 restaurants: Chicago Burger Company and Palio
  • Wireless Internet (fees may apply)
  • Bose Wave Radio in guest rooms
  • Sheraton Sweet Sleeper* Bed
  • Balcony
  • In-room microwave and refrigerator available
  • Childcare service
  • Numerous on-site dining options
  • Room service
  • Pets allowed (see policies; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Staying in Old San Juan puts the best of the culturally-rich city at your fingertips, with places like the beautiful Condado Beaches nearby. Sports fans will enjoy the local tennis courts and golf courses, and art admirers can visit the Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico. Other unforgettable experiences await just a short drive away at Fortress San Cristobal, the Bacardi Rum Factory, and the Wyndham Rio Mar Beach.
Hints and tips
Gain an appreciation for the history and architecture of the city with a walking tour of San Juan, starting less than half a mile from the hotel.

For longer trips around town, be sure to ask the front desk about the free trolley service.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.464 -66.1121
Nearby airports
Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport, (SJU), 6.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
Fire alarm with light
Sitting area
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of San Juan: 0.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.7 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (637)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
637 out of 637
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
el tio
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Sep 28, 2012

great place

room very clean, verry nice pillows frienly staff and helpfull, was in a walking distance from old San Juan, we will be back and stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
st louis
Jan 31, 2011

beautiful hotel locatoin

casino , ate at fabolous restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shopalholic
San Juan Puerto Rico
Aug 10, 2011

Awesome location and staff

This was a very good location to have a "Girl's Night Out!!" The hotel is positioned directly in front of the port where the cruise ships dock. I actually ran into some old friends from college who were taking a cruise!! It was a phenominal location for shopping and eating. I will definitely make this a yearly trip!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Most of the store owners are definitelyw willing to bargain with you, so never pay FULL PRICE!!

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dolores Dooney
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Mar 15, 2014

So glad we picked this hotel!

The location of this hotel is great. Saw all the cruise ships come in. At check in we asked for an upgrade and got moved to the top floor. Staff very pleasant. Room clean and no complaints. Soft bed. Good shower pressure. Casino downstairs. Could explore Old San Juan so easily. Took bus for .75 to Isle Verde. Nice way to see a lot on the way to beach. Would definitely stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

It may take a few more minutes to take bus to destinations, but we loved seeing all the sights on the way to our destination.

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pearl of Great Price
Stone Mtn, Ga
Aug 12, 2009

A Wonderful 23rd year honeymoon retreat

We saw this hotel a few years ago, and loved the location. We wanted to come back to San Juan and stay there for the convience to the area. From some of the comments online, we were a little skeptical, but decided to give it a try. I am glad we did, we had a wonderful time. From check-in to check-out, the staff was outstanding. The hotel was clean, our room was excellent. The view from our room was of the back of the hotel, but we didn't care, because we could walk across the street, sit on the pier, and enjoy the site. I loved everything being so close that we could walk, and take the trolley around the city for free. We felt safe, and when we had trouble with the language, people were willing to help. During our stay, the hotel only got crowed Friday and Saturday when the cruise ships came in, on Sunday it was back to normal. I had no problem with the crowd. I loved the free internet in our room, so we could stay in touch with family. Only down side, the hotel allows animals, not that I don't like animals, but when it rained, the carpet had animal smell. I needed some Febreze. Will I stay again, you bet, infact we are planning another trip next year, to the same hotel. We got our trip at a great price, and there were no surprise surcharges at the end of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington D.C.
Nov 11, 2009

Guest What?

We have been to Puerto Rico several times and stayed at a variety of accommodations. This time we decided to stay at the Sheraton Old San Juan and were thoroughly satisfied. First, the location is really hard to beat. You have the option to very easily access all, and I do mean all of the attractions in Old San Juan. For example, there are free trollys ( both air conditioned and open air) that stop practically accross the street from the hotel; on weekends the pedestrian walk way with vendors and entertainment is practically accross the street; the ferry to the Barcardi Rum factory is within a 5min walk; and the best thing about the location is that you can step out of the hotel and be in the "mix'. I am a professional Architect and Urban Designer as well as a professional photographer and convient access is a must for me and this hotel fills the bill. Now, Regarding the Hotel itself. The first impression that one gets from a hotel stay is interaction with staff. The staff at this hotel were exceptional...very polite, know about service, and very personable. Always with a very good attitude accompanied with a smile and a dash of humor ( sort of like a well made martini). The casino is always available and the rooms are clean and well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have never been to Old San Juan, the first thing you should do after checking in is to catch the free trolly which has a circular loop route through Old San juan. This will give you an overall perspective through the area and it has several stops where you can get off, shop a bit, and catch the next trolly. They circulate on a very good schedule and you don't have to wait any longer than 5-10 minutes ( depending on traffic). I am planning on conducting a photographic workshop in the Spring of 20010 and will definately make this hotel the workshop location because of the ease of getting around by walking accompanined by easy free transit.

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rachelas
Cleveland, OH, USA
Sep 19, 2011

sheraton old san juan

amazing! perfect location..no need to rent a car. highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

stay in old san juan and you will not have to rent a car. everything is in walking distance. buses are cheap and taxis are everywhere just waiting for you! the free breakfast buffet was so good i couldnt believe it was free!

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Delarosa
Chicago
Dec 21, 2013

Thank you !

At my mother's sudden passing,I booked a package deal at the very last minute when airfares were scarce. I was very stressed out upon arrival. I had to maybe accommodate my grand daughter & handle funeral arrangements. I know I was sobbing & babbling at the check in counter. Thankfully, Marcos Vega & Sibelia Castro were on duty ! They tended to our every need with professionalism & compassion. Edgardo the bartender lightened our load at the end of the day. Lucy the operator, thanks for your assistance & good wishes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is perfectly located. You can walk all of Old San Juan & return to a hotel that offers all you need for a great stay!

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BShined
Lake Worth, Florida
Dec 13, 2013

Couldn't have asked for better.

This nice hotel was everything f hoped it would be. Great location; great views from the roof-top pool deck; super service; and real nice staff. I, for sure, would stay at this hotel, again, if I ever return to San Juan. Thanks a bunch and well done!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roger and Jen,world travlers
Parma Heights,Ohio
Feb 21, 2011

Fantastic San Juan getaway

Great views of Bahia de San Juan and perfect location.Was walking distance to all of Old San Juans attractions.The staff at Sheraton of Old San Juan were friendly and helpful and some of the nicest people I've ever met. Would recommend this trip to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

haggle with the shop owners,you can save some money on already amazingly priced items

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 21, 2011

Great place for a honeymoon!

Our overall experience was great! As soon as we walked in the doors, we felt welcomed with big smiles and interested people who wanted to learn our names. The sincerity truly showed in that they remembered our names, stories, and conversations during the time that we stayed (three days). They even offered a way to earn a five dollar gift certificate for breakfast by keeping our room clean and not needing room service.The hotel has a service to help you book excursions and arranges for transportation, not to mention gives you suggestions on saving money. For example, instead of paying for an excursion to the Bacardi Rum Distillery we were informed how to do the entire trip there and back for just a few dollars!We had a small problem with our flight at one point and needed an extra day and the management quickly went out of their way to have our room cleaned and arranged for another night. We had literally nothing to worry about as [...] (the manager) told us not to worry and enjoy our honeymoon as they would have the room ready for us quickly. The hotel itself has two restaurants although we only visited one. It was very clean and had a nice Tuscan appearance. The staff was friendly, prompt, and the food was out of this world! There is also a casino on the site which we did not use; however, it was very clean, not too loud, and staffed with lots of smiling people.Around the hotel are lots of great restaurants, resources, and stores. There is a CVS in case you need something general that fills prescriptions. The restaurants are priced in the range from grossly over-priced to CHEAP depending on where you go. The water taxi is a "stone's throw" from the hotel and I highly advise crossing the bay to check out Conado (the neighborhood across the bay) for great food and beautiful parks. Taxis are parked outside the hotel so you're never without transportation. Most of the sites in Old San Juan are less than one mile away (El Morro is the furthest at .9 miles). We walked just about everywhere and saw many of the great sites! Overall, it is a great place to stay in the middle of everything in Old San Juan. If you're taking a cruise, the ships dock across the street from the hotel. You couldn't ask for anything more...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Save the money on taxis and walk everywhere. It's less than one mile to the furthest areas of Old San Juan from the hotel so just get some good exercise. The old cathedral San Juan Bauptista is beautiful along with the walls of Old San Juan, El Morro, and San Cristobal. Just walk everywhere, you'll see so much more and take in the experience more.

Back to menu Return to top