$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

3 stars
100 Brumbaugh Street, San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
413 reviews
Wonderful Stay

Pleasantly surprised. Great rate and wonderful service. Very clean, nice room, comfortable beds,... See full review

  • MirkaZuzka
  • Apr 8, 2014
Excellent

We had a great time and the staff was awesome especially the concierge service. See full review

  • Roseandscott
  • Apr 5, 2014
Old San Juan hotel offers Spanish-colonial elegance
The blue cobblestone streets of Old San Juan weave around the Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino. The hotel offers convenient access to all the major hot spots, including restaurants, shopping, museums and historic fortresses. The hotel's Spanish-colonial character is evident in its grand lobby with high-arched doorways, a sweeping staircase and a stunning crystal chandelier. The hotel's enclosed courtyard and refined rooms further the look. The waterfront Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino has spectacular views of San Juan Bay.
Highlights
  • Short walk to tourist hot spots
  • Rooftop pool with panoramic views of San Juan Bay
  • Cruise ship piers steps away
  • On-site casino
Rooms

Plantation shutters and bamboo and wicker furniture with palm-tree upholstery make each of the hotel's 240 rooms a pleasant way to end a day of sightseeing in Old San Juan. The comfort at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino continues with pillow-top mattresses, down pillows and richly-colored duvets. Each room has either a city or bay views and high-speed Internet access.

Features

Valet parking is available for $21/day.

Dining

The on-site Tuscan-style chophouse, Palio, serves diverse dishes including homemade lasagna and Angus beef filet mignon, with panoramic views of San Juan Bay. Build your own burger at the casual, waterfront Chicago Burger Company.

Entertainment

The 7,000 square-foot casino at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino excites with table games including roulette and Caribbean stud poker, and more than 350 state-of-the-art slot machines.

Recreation

The rooftop pool and Jacuzzi at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino have views of San Juan Bay. Right next door is the free health club, which shares the panorama.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (12.8 mi/21 km)
Attractions

 

  • Old San Juan Historical District (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cruise ship docks (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Condado Lagoon (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Plaza Las Americas (3.7 mi/6 km)
Business
  • Executive business center with printing, copying, faxing
  • 9,100 square feet of meeting space
  • Nine audiovisual -ready meeting rooms
  • Full catering available
  • Wireless and high-speed Internet access in all meeting areas

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
Fire alarm with light
Sitting area
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.464 -66.1121
Nearby airports
Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport, (SJU), 6.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of San Juan: 0.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.7 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (413)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Overall score

3.9 / 5
27 out of 413
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
BShined
Lake Worth, Florida
Dec 13, 2013

Couldn't have asked for better.

This nice hotel was everything f hoped it would be. Great location; great views from the roof-top pool deck; super service; and real nice staff. I, for sure, would stay at this hotel, again, if I ever return to San Juan. Thanks a bunch and well done!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
1st time to PR
Wichita KS
Mar 2, 2013

Great Hotel in Old San Jaun

The room was very nice and the whole hotel was very clean and well maintained. Everything you will need is in walking distance. The Chicago Hamburger Restaurant was nothing to write home about and the service on the patio at lunch was not very good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So many great restaurants only blocks away.

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
Chris Travlin Man
Washington, DC
Nov 16, 2012

The perfect location

This is a very nice hotel. The security is excellent, from the pass key operation of the elevators to the safes in the rooms. The size of my room was also exceptional. Unfortunately there was no view as I was on the lowest floor and the hotel is shaped like a horseshoe and all I got was a view of the roof. There were some ginger plants scattered about but this could be vastly improved with the addition of several more potted plants if the roof could support them. The rooms do not come with microwaves or refrigerators but you could get a small refrigerator for an addional $10 per day. There are plenty of restaurants about for any budget so this is not really an issue. There are also convenience stores and a grocery nearby so you can stock up on anything you might need. They had cable with several channels in english although there was a problem with the remote channel selector but you could work around it. There were a few tours I could not go on because their seaon doesn't start until afer Christmas. So that's sometihng you may want to consider when planning your vacation. But insofar as Old San Juan is concerned, there's a huge police presence so I felt very safe wandering about. All in all, I really enjoyed myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mofungo is a local specialty. It's mashed plantain with your choice of stuffing; pork, beef, chicken or sea food. It's served at several places around town but a good local hangout is Molito's. It's about a five minute walk from the hotel. It's a very filling meal and it is worth the money; $15-$23 depending on the filling you choose.

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
nybruh
NJ
Sep 16, 2012

Old San Juan

Great location, room had balcony overlooking the ocean. Bus terminal is in walking distance, taxis are always downstairs if you need one. CVS a block away, restaurants within walking distance. Old San Juan is a great place to visit and I had a great time. The only issue I had was that the room (#808) was located directly under the gym. Its nice that they offer a 24 hour gym. Not so nice when youre hearing weights being banged on the floor and the steady thump of someone running on the treadmill. Perhaps they need more work in sound proofing the gym floor, if thats possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
Don Redeye
Jacksonville, Florida
Aug 14, 2012

One Fantastic stay and great scenery

Everything was perfect. The only problem I had was with my GPS on the rental car I got . I click on 100 Brumbaugh San Juan, Puerto Rico 00901 but the only thing that came up was a 1000 Brumbaugh which I found myself deep in San Juan by a police station. A man there drove his car while I follow him. He took me there but wouldn't receive my money for getting there. After that mishap everything came roses.I didn't want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Senor Frog's has a variety type of food possible. great atmosphere also.

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

2
SFCA
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 7, 2012

Not your typical Sheraton

Great location, but there are much better hotels than this one. The computers in their "business center" are slower than dial-up. The in-room safe and remote control for the TV did not work. The chair in the room had left over food from the previous guest. Plus you get charged some ridiculous "service fee" every night that is not included with your room rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out "Raices" Restaurant. Good food and great service.

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
Melia
Towson, MD, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Great Vacation

The Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel and Casino is located in a great place. I upgraded to a suite and had a wonderful view of the Bay and the Cruise ships coming in and out. While the rooms are not luxurious, they are clean and the staff is very courteous. I would not stay here if planning to go to the beach and pool, but the accomodations were wonderful, centrally located, quiet, and close to shopping, restaurants, and sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Los Raices - wonderful, authentic Puerto Rican food!

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
ritersbloc1979
Alexandria, VA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Time for a makeover

Loved the location of this hotel in Old San Juan and the staff was really nice and helpful, but it's time to update the rooms. I had a non-smoking, king size bed, which was what I asked for and received. The bed was fantastic, but the room was on the smallish side. The bathroom also needs a serious update. The hair dryer was just kind of sitting out on the counter. The light was a bit dim and harsh for putting on make-up (or for guys shaving).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
Mr. El
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Poor customer service

The restaurant in the hotel had the worst customer service. Wait staff poor. You had to go get them in order to get service. Had an incident with being charged for service that I did not order. These charges were put on my hotel bill. The front desk disputed my claim that the charges were not mine. I had to prove to them that the signature on the receipt . Even then the staff did not apologize for the inconvenience. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

n/a

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
Minor
Bronx, NY
Jul 28, 2011

Old San Juan Stay

Choose the hotel which is across the San Juan area tourist piers, area is clean and patrol frequently by local police. There is plently of bars and restaurant a few blocks away from the hotel, the hotel also has a "cassino". When I first walked into my room a strong odor, soap like, hit me. I complained to the front desk and said that the housekeeper would be checking it out. Waited a few minutes but needed to leave, do not now if they ever showed up. The next day told the front desk again about the odor and again was told that they would checked. Not knowing whether it was check or not I went to the local pharmacy and bought odor neutralizer. At my arrival at the hotel was told that they checked the room and that an "ozone" cleaning machine was use to neutralize the odor. The odor was still there, used my odor neutralizer. I bought a package deal that included breackfast at the hotel, great deal for it was a full breackfast with choice of eggs (scrambled, omelett),cereals, hot oat with choice of nuts, and various cerreals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Found the coldest beers at "Mojito" which is a restaurant one block away from the hotel, food is also good.

Back to menu Return to top