Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

4 stars
100 Brumbaugh Street, San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
637 reviews
Excellent Hotel

This Hotel was very comfortable the staff was friendly and helpful. The location is perfect close... See full review

  • Raycan
  • Jul 17, 2014
Good Location

Walking distance to Old San Juan. Restaurants, museums etc... Clean Hotel plus has a Casino. Great... See full review

  • Raulo
  • Jul 16, 2014
Experience the best of Old San Juan at the Sheraton Hotel and Casino, which seamlessly blends old world charm with modern luxury. Located just a few minutes from the airport and cruise ship docking areas, guests can start their visits with minimal delay. Showcasing grand design and decor, the hotel is home to what has been voted the friendliest casino in San Juan. From table games to more than 300 slot machines, the casino offers hours of entertainment in a welcoming atmosphere. Count your winnings over dinner at the local Palio restaurant, or go all - American at the Chicago Burger Company. Swim off those calories in the roof-top pool or hit the health club for a fitness class.
Key facts
  • Waterfront location
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Hot tub
  • Luggage storage
  • Entirely smoke-free
  • 2 restaurants: Chicago Burger Company and Palio
  • Wireless Internet (fees may apply)
  • Bose Wave Radio in guest rooms
  • Sheraton Sweet Sleeper* Bed
  • Balcony
  • In-room microwave and refrigerator available
  • Childcare service
  • Numerous on-site dining options
  • Room service
  • Pets allowed (see policies; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Staying in Old San Juan puts the best of the culturally-rich city at your fingertips, with places like the beautiful Condado Beaches nearby. Sports fans will enjoy the local tennis courts and golf courses, and art admirers can visit the Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico. Other unforgettable experiences await just a short drive away at Fortress San Cristobal, the Bacardi Rum Factory, and the Wyndham Rio Mar Beach.
Hints and tips
Gain an appreciation for the history and architecture of the city with a walking tour of San Juan, starting less than half a mile from the hotel.

For longer trips around town, be sure to ask the front desk about the free trolley service.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
Fire alarm with light
Sitting area
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Map

18.464 -66.1121
Nearby airports
Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport, (SJU), 6.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of San Juan: 0.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.7 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (637)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
637 out of 637
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
conservativecarl
panama city, FL
Oct 16, 2013

a good place to stay.

This hotel is in the perfect location in Old San Juan. It is walking distance to most tourist attractions and just across the street from the cruise ship terminal. The room was simple but exceptionally clean. The was however an unexplained $50 charge to my credit card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TwyS
Pittsburgh
Oct 6, 2013

rooms

While I expected minimal water pressure in the hotel- The shower was the best ever. After sweating in the heat and humidity The showers really restored us. The rooms were comfortable but it would be nice to have at least a small refrigerator in the room without having to pay additional. I would also suggest has a TV channel guide in the room. But the staff was friendly and had no difficulty understanding and being understood. Located right on the bay on a nice level street with easy access to the free trolley and bus terminals and ferrymade getting around Old San Juan very easy. The only negative on our stay was our view was of the parking garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free trolley takes you all around Old San Juan,

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2 sisters ohio
Bedford ,Ohio
Sep 5, 2013

Sisters get away

Overall the hotel location was great. The only thing was the workers in the pool area they were painting so they block off so much of the area. I belivie they could have done it early in morning not start at 11am when the guest are trying to catch the sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

so much to do the location area was great for things to do

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IndyGal153
Indianapolis, IN
Aug 30, 2013

Great stay!

My husband and I stayed here during our Old San Juan trip. The hotel was a PERFECT location because everything we wanted to see was within walking distance and I much rather walk (and burn that lovely dinner from last night) than pay to get a taxi anywhere. We were close to the trolley stop, CVS, Punta de Vista (FANTASTIC fish tacos), the 'happening' district. My only suggestion is to take ear plugs with you if you're a light sleeper. Saturday nights must be party night because folks along the streets were having fun into 4am. It didn't bother me that much but I'm just warning you. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our AC was having a little issue and the maintenance guys were very friendly and had it fixed in just an hour which was great. I highly recommend this hotel if you want to explore the history and restaurants of Old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the trolley around town. It's a great way to cool down (at least the bus was, I didn't ride in the open trolley). Many of the locals use it too. If you're interested in free drinks, Bacardi offers a free tour that includes two mixed drinks at their bar. It wasn't a very thrilling tour but free drinks + air conditioner = happy times. It's only 50 cents to ride the ferry and about $3 per person in a taxi.

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Veney
New Jersey
Aug 18, 2013

Good time

The hotel was clean on a regular bases inside and out. All employee's were helpfully and with a positive mindset towards helping. We were given directions to varies places everyday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to view the area around the hotel, there are a lot of amazing things to see, from the water fall to the park in the area.

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Foxtrotlobo
Westchester, NY
Aug 15, 2013

Definitely location!!!!

The hotel is under renovation but the staff was very good and always attentive. The room was a bit old and lack of decoration but this did not bother as it was spacious, clean, and most of the time were outside sightseeing. The location was perfect and everything was close by. Very convenient!!! The trolley was 2 blocks away to take you around the Old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Barrichina Rest. for a perfect pina colada, La Princesa Cafe for an excellent mojito, and El Jibarito por a good local food.

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DLR504
New Orleans, LA
Jul 28, 2013

First time visitor to PR from New Orleans, LA

The location was perfect. The staff was friendly. The amenities were excellent. The restaurants inside the hotel were excellent. The only problem I had was I purchased a room with double beds through your web site When I arrived, they didn't have anymore rooms with doubles left. They upgraded me to a Junior Suite. This was not conducive for two men. The room was great but not ideal for two men. I emailed your web site but I have not received a response. That concerns be also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blessed and Receses Jamaican restaurants.

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
liz924
new york
Jul 27, 2013

it was okay.

cons: weird smell when you walk into the hotel but room was clean. elevators are annoying. beaches arent close. everything closes at 12am.(restaurants,stores,pharmacy) bars are open til 2 am. beware with the cabs, their prices are ridiculous. pros: area is safe, RENT A CAR! makes life easier ;) you will be walking alot to find restaurants,bars ect. If you dont rent a car well then the transportation is ok. *take the trolley which is the hotels transportation service.( its infront of the subway restaurant or across from cvs right by the hotel)EARLY in the morning its FREE so it gets packed. -people who work there are very nice. -chicago burger has good food. -casino is nice. -very safe to walk around in the area,theres cops all over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MSFlo
Atlanta, GA
Jun 21, 2013

Awesome location

The hotel is within walking distance to the fort, however we had to take a cab to Isla Verde. Nonetheless, the food in the area is aMAYzing. Please eat at Mojito's (also within walking distance) Great food, great value, and awesome staff. We ate there everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mojito's restaurant

Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Srabsatt
Broward County Florida
Jun 20, 2013

Awesome local

Perfect location in Old San Juan. The hotel is very active. The only problem is the noise. Every night there was activities in the hotel and u can here all the noise from the ballrooms and in the hallway. They need to sound proff the walls and buy better door to drown out the noise. The on site restaurant was bad. The food was soooo salty. I sent it back twice and each time the salt level was higher. All 4 of us did not enjoy the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top