$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

4 stars
100 Brumbaugh Street, 100 Brumbaugh Street, San Juan, PR 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
451 reviews
Well situated

Has two nights here after a cruise before flying to Orlando. Check in was painless, room was... See full review

  • Promoxis
  • Dec 9, 2014
Old San Juan Hotel Stay

Had a great stay at the Sheraton Old San Juan. The location is great and although I only stayed... See full review

  • Kazam46
  • Sep 30, 2014
Experience the best of Old San Juan at the Sheraton Hotel and Casino, which seamlessly blends old world charm with modern luxury. Located just a few minutes from the airport and cruise ship docking areas, guests can start their visits with minimal delay. Showcasing grand design and decor, the hotel is home to what has been voted the friendliest casino in San Juan. From table games to more than 300 slot machines, the casino offers hours of entertainment in a welcoming atmosphere. Count your winnings over dinner at the local Palio restaurant, or go all - American at the Chicago Burger Company. Swim off those calories in the roof-top pool or hit the health club for a fitness class.
Key facts
  • Waterfront location
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Hot tub
  • Luggage storage
  • Entirely smoke-free
  • 2 restaurants: Chicago Burger Company and Palio
  • Wireless Internet (fees may apply)
  • Bose Wave Radio in guest rooms
  • Sheraton Sweet Sleeper* Bed
  • Balcony
  • In-room microwave and refrigerator available
  • Childcare service
  • Numerous on-site dining options
  • Room service
  • Pets allowed (see policies; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Staying in Old San Juan puts the best of the culturally-rich city at your fingertips, with places like the beautiful Condado Beaches nearby. Sports fans will enjoy the local tennis courts and golf courses, and art admirers can visit the Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico. Other unforgettable experiences await just a short drive away at Fortress San Cristobal, the Bacardi Rum Factory, and the Wyndham Rio Mar Beach.
Hints and tips
Gain an appreciation for the history and architecture of the city with a walking tour of San Juan, starting less than half a mile from the hotel.

For longer trips around town, be sure to ask the front desk about the free trolley service.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (451)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
451 out of 451
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Michigan
Apr 2, 2010

Unbeatable Location

The Sheraton is in a great location. Close to all the historical forts, shopping, and wonderful restaurants. If you want to experience Old San Juan, this is a good choice. We walked the city well into the night and felt very safe. There are policia everywhere and helpful people to answer your questions. Since most residents speak English, communication was not a problem. If you want the beach, there is none near this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old Cruisers
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Mar 8, 2010

Fine Hotel

Stayed one night prior to a cruise. Desk staff were excellent. Rooms were clean and quiet. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
exnewyorker
Business
PA
Mar 1, 2010

Great location for enjoying Old San Juan

Arrived early in the morning from an overnight flight and the hotel was glad to take our bags and give us a key-card to get up to the pool/fitness area with showers and lockers. We were able to nap at poolside until 11am when they had a room ready for us. The standard (cheapest) room was a little basic, with a small shuttered window facing the parking garage, with a Latin Dance club beneath it, so definitely not the quietest place, but if you can appreciate the sights and sounds of a vibrant city nightlife then you won't mind the background rhythms. The rooftop pool also had some persistent background noise from the adjacent Senior Frogs restaurant's roof-top air conditioning unit. The view from the pool is spectacular though, over the harbor and any cruise ships that might be docked right out in front of the hotel. Hotel staff was very helpful with anything you might need, except that, like any hotel in the area, they will only connect you with the excursion providers that they endorse, which meant they couldn't help us get a day-sail outing b/c their's was all booked up. We found an opening elsewhere, but not by their doing. Wi-fi is only in the lobby of the hotel, but it is free. Otherwise the rooms have ethernet cables that you can plug in to. Free wi-fi is also available at any of the infinite number of Starbucks throughout the city. We are not big fans of casino's or slot machines, so the casino in the lobby was a little jarring, and seemed rather unnecessary since I rarely saw any people in it, and if I did, they were locals, not guest of the hotel. It cheapened the atmosphere of an otherwise lovely but spare city hotel. We did not try the two restaurants in the hotel, since we were within easy walking distance of so many remarkable and varied local establishments. Literally all of Old San Juan is within a 10-15 minute walk, and you can find almost any genre of food in any price range, if you are willing to go exploring a little bit. We took a taxi to and from the hotel from the airport to arrive and depart, and on one other occasion to get home at the end of the day from a far away beach we walked to, but otherwise had no trouble walking wherever we wanted to go. This hotel is a great place to stay if you are excited about seeing the sights in Old San Juan and taking in the local flavors of great shopping, history, nightlife and fine-dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

At the top of the hill in Old San Juan, #150 San Sebastion St. is a restaurant called Baru, with great Mojitos and an amazing tapas style menu, medium priced, well worth the effort, and it feels off the beaten track, but really at the center of everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Feb 25, 2010

Excellent location for the price

As a SPG member, I requested and expected a nice room location and they placed me over looking the garage. They ignore my request for room change

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Feb 18, 2010

Great location

Location was perfect to explore Old San Juan. The hotel itself was just average and was missing frills that I would expect from a Sheraton. Very busy check-in on weekends and staff wasn't great at dealing with a line of people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Outdoor market right around the corner. Interesting restaurants in the neighborhood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Holland, MI
Jan 27, 2010

Beautiful Views

We had 5 balconies in our suite with views of the historic fort as well as the Cruise ships.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saline, MI
Dec 29, 2009

Sheraton Old San Juan Dec 2009

Can walk to the Carnival cruise ship. Walking distance all around old San Juan shopping, dining & historical sites. No beach nearby. Gets busy on cruise sailing days. Stayed there 3 times & would go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine at Raices, breakfast at Mallorca or Bombernaro. Check bags & walk around old San Juan then leave for cruise ship at 3:00pm when there is no lines.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anon09
Business
NH
Dec 25, 2009

Great location

Great location... great location... great location... The hotel is good but not as nice as I had expected from Sheraton... the room was small... bathroom has no place to hang cloths and has no fan... the place does not have room service for 24 hrs... Staff is very friendly... overall I can not really complain about anything other than infrastructure... Keep in mind: They charge you for phone calls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Cola'o's cofee!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicole Travel Queen
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 22, 2009

Perfect Pre-Cruise Carnival Hotel

This is a great pre-cruise hotel IF you are on Carnival. The boat is docked across the street. Room was ok, nothing special. View from the roof top pool rocked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Chicago Grill on the first floor of hotel was AWESOME. Great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New to Puerto Rico
Business
Detroit, MI
Nov 10, 2009

Nice place to stay. Great location!

The hotel is great. Very clean and the location is second to none. The lobby casino is fun if you're into that (not me). If you're craving for American food, there is a classy burger restaurant in the hotel as well. The staff were friendly for the most part, although the bellhops, I thought, were rude when I was checking out and leaving the hotel. Because I was in San Juan for a conference, I needed to store my luggage the morning of my check out. They seemed inconvenienced. When I picked them up later they again seemed inconvenienced. Lastly, the hot breakfast in their restaurant is just what I needed in the morning to get me going. Overall, I would stay here again, especially for the price (and location).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Of course, the fort nearby (long walk) is a must-see. There are a lot of great restaurants and night hotspots in Old San Juan, only a few streets away from the Sheraton. Many people might tell you to eat at Raices, which is not bad, but I personally prefer the more local-feeling Mojito's. The food is cheaper and the people are friendlier (and it seems more authentic). I also heard about a place called Barrachina, but I couldn't find it while I was in San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top