Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

4 stars
100 Brumbaugh Street, 100 Brumbaugh Street, San Juan, PR 00901
Hotel Overview

3.8/5

Overall score

87%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9
Experience the best of Old San Juan at the Sheraton Hotel and Casino, which seamlessly blends old world charm with modern luxury. Located just a few minutes from the airport and cruise ship docking areas, guests can start their visits with minimal delay. Showcasing grand design and decor, the hotel is home to what has been voted the friendliest casino in San Juan. From table games to more than 300 slot machines, the casino offers hours of entertainment in a welcoming atmosphere. Count your winnings over dinner at the local Palio restaurant, or go all - American at the Chicago Burger Company. Swim off those calories in the roof-top pool or hit the health club for a fitness class.
Key facts
  • Waterfront location
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Hot tub
  • Luggage storage
  • Entirely smoke-free
  • 2 restaurants: Chicago Burger Company and Palio
  • Wireless Internet (fees may apply)
  • Bose Wave Radio in guest rooms
  • Sheraton Sweet Sleeper* Bed
  • Balcony
  • In-room microwave and refrigerator available
  • Childcare service
  • Numerous on-site dining options
  • Room service
  • Pets allowed (see policies; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Staying in Old San Juan puts the best of the culturally-rich city at your fingertips, with places like the beautiful Condado Beaches nearby. Sports fans will enjoy the local tennis courts and golf courses, and art admirers can visit the Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico. Other unforgettable experiences await just a short drive away at Fortress San Cristobal, the Bacardi Rum Factory, and the Wyndham Rio Mar Beach.
Hints and tips
Gain an appreciation for the history and architecture of the city with a walking tour of San Juan, starting less than half a mile from the hotel.

For longer trips around town, be sure to ask the front desk about the free trolley service.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Hotel Map

18.464 -66.1121
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, (SJU), 9.66, KM;
Area description
City Center, City Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (465)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
465 out of 465
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dover, DE
May 23, 2011

alright

The hotel itself was average to me, very clean but the rooms were nothing special. The pool area was way smaller than it looked on the website and only had chairs for about 10 people. The location was great as it was in walking distance to many restaurants, historic buildings/forts and shops. However, it was not close to a beach...to get to the pretty beaches you needed to travel via cab or city bus about 20 minutes. The beach you could walk to from the hotel was very, very dirty and the bathrooms should be closed---sinks without running water, clogged up toilets with no venelation and it didn't look like anyone attempted to clean them in months. Other than walking around old San Juan, which was enjoyable, you would need to plan and pay for excursions for snorkeling, boating, hiking, etc. The people at the hotel were not particularly friendly, and when checking in the only gentleman working stopped helping me without saying anything and took a phone call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bribet, The travelers
Business
Cape Coral, Fl.
May 21, 2011

Very classy, was impressed

A very good location. Close to restaurants and shopping. The concierge was very friendly and helpful. The service was excellent. The in house restaurant was also very good. We would definitely stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The "good" restaurants were close by. The walking distance was not more than a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, NC
May 20, 2011

Great Location

The location of the hotel was perfect. You are within walking distances to several restaurant, and local shops. There is a Trolley that takes you all over the city for free making multiple stops, and there was a trolley stop right next to the hotel which made getting around the city easier. I recommend using the trolley and bother with renting a car. Parking is limited, and driving there is difficulty. The rooms were kept clean, but did not keep the room stocked with towels. Would have to ask for some at times. Second thing is the noise levels at times, noticed thin walls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kind of happy travelor
Business
chicago usa
May 19, 2011

not bad

The hotel was very good...it was in a perfect location as well. The hotel mishandled our reservation for some reason but helped us out by upgrading to a suite...which was very unexpected and nice. The hotel also doesnt have a mini fridge in the room...that is a huge negative. we were very disappointed by this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monique who loves to travel
Business
Lombard, IL
May 19, 2011

Excellent time, fantastic people!

This had to be one of the best trips I've taken. The hotel staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was comfortable, although some days had a touch of mildew in the air, but what do you expect in a tropical area? Open a window and you're ready to go! The pool on the roof was amazing although a bit small, so you have to get their early if you want to lay out. Enjoyed the food and the shopping. Zip line was amazing and highly recommended. Rain forest was very beautiful and also recommended. Enjoyed the Bacardi distillery as well and came back with delicious ideas. Will definately go back and stay with all of my new friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Instead of taking a taxi or booking the "free" Bacardi tour....just take the ferry for .50 one way and a $3 cab to the Bacardi distillery....tour is free so why pay more then $7.00 when you have all that rum to buy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Best Daughter Ever!!!!
Business
San Diego, CA
May 18, 2011

Great location and best vacation yet!

Mother's Day gift/vacation for my momdukes. Resort credits are the real deal, use them or lose them! We took couple of tours, my favorite El Yunque Rainforest....beautiful! Old San Juan dining and shopping were within walking distance. El Morro, que cosa tan mas linda! Ferry ride to CataƱo was fun. Isla Verde's beach view was priceless! Carolina was something else...loved it! But can't wait to return to PR and visit Culebra :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mojito's in Old San Juan is the place for mofongos!!!!! [...] was a great waitress, helpful, super friendly and warned us about Raices (blah) nasty food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, New York
May 18, 2011

Family Trip May 2011

We arrived at the hotel at about 9:30pm on May 10, 2011. When we went to check in our room was not ready (keep in mind that check in is at 4pm). We were told that there was a storm the day before and the cleaning staff didnt make it in. We had booked a standard King room and was given a deluxe double for the night. The gentlemen that serviced us was [...] (The best worker there). He was great. He really took great care of us. The following morning we were giving a deluxe King room with the balcony facing the water(to make up for it). The staff there was very helpful and sweet. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the Old San Juan area. Its walking distance to everything. It has two great restaurants. A bar/restaurant with live music every night across the street. And its also across the street from the cruise ship ports and the ferry to Cantano. Great staff and Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking at the hotel is too expensive $21.40 a day. Around the corner from the entrance of the hotel is a parking lot called Dona Fela its the same parking lot that the hotel uses for $3.20 for the first 5 hours then .50 for each addition hour. I never paid more then $12 a day for days that I didnt go out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Latinayf
Business
San Juan
May 18, 2011

fantastic

the hotel was a great place to stay only thing is you should have better system for the 100.00 credit I recieved from orbit the hotel should have this already!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
May 16, 2011

very good place for get away!!!!

the location of the hotel were close to pretty much everything!!! restaurants, shops,oceanfront, and everything is from walking distant,but we rent a car and drove around the whole island from east,west,south,north what a wonderful get away time that we ever experience!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

take a trolley ride!!! it's free!!!!you will enjoy all the sight seeing!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JulieJo
Business
South Houston
May 16, 2011

Best Location in San Juan!

The Sheraton is in a perfect location in the heart of Old San Juan. We really enjoyed the hotel and the area. I only have one complaint. When we booked the hotel we received a $100.00 hotel credit for food and beverage. Upon check in at the hotel, we verified we had the $100.00 credit and asked how to use the credit. We were told that we could use the credit anytime during the 7 days we would be staying at the hotel, that there were no time limitations on the credit. Upon checkout, we noticed we were not credited the $100.00. We talked to the front desk and we were told that we had to use the $100.00 in $25.00 increments in the first 4 days of the trip. We did not do this so we ultimately lost part of the credit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top