$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 3, 2014 Check-out: Dec 5, 2014

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

4 stars
100 Brumbaugh Street, 100 Brumbaugh Street, San Juan, PR 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
449 reviews
Old San Juan Hotel Stay

Had a great stay at the Sheraton Old San Juan. The location is great and although I only stayed... See full review

  • Kazam46
  • Sep 30, 2014
Great Deal!

Perfect Location.. Clean.. Rooftop Pool!! Yesss Pls!! See full review

  • OJAV04
  • Sep 21, 2014
Experience the best of Old San Juan at the Sheraton Hotel and Casino, which seamlessly blends old world charm with modern luxury. Located just a few minutes from the airport and cruise ship docking areas, guests can start their visits with minimal delay. Showcasing grand design and decor, the hotel is home to what has been voted the friendliest casino in San Juan. From table games to more than 300 slot machines, the casino offers hours of entertainment in a welcoming atmosphere. Count your winnings over dinner at the local Palio restaurant, or go all - American at the Chicago Burger Company. Swim off those calories in the roof-top pool or hit the health club for a fitness class.
Key facts
  • Waterfront location
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Hot tub
  • Luggage storage
  • Entirely smoke-free
  • 2 restaurants: Chicago Burger Company and Palio
  • Wireless Internet (fees may apply)
  • Bose Wave Radio in guest rooms
  • Sheraton Sweet Sleeper* Bed
  • Balcony
  • In-room microwave and refrigerator available
  • Childcare service
  • Numerous on-site dining options
  • Room service
  • Pets allowed (see policies; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Staying in Old San Juan puts the best of the culturally-rich city at your fingertips, with places like the beautiful Condado Beaches nearby. Sports fans will enjoy the local tennis courts and golf courses, and art admirers can visit the Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico. Other unforgettable experiences await just a short drive away at Fortress San Cristobal, the Bacardi Rum Factory, and the Wyndham Rio Mar Beach.
Hints and tips
Gain an appreciation for the history and architecture of the city with a walking tour of San Juan, starting less than half a mile from the hotel.

For longer trips around town, be sure to ask the front desk about the free trolley service.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.464 -66.1121
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, (SJU), 9.66, KM;
Area description
Resort, Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (449)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
449 out of 449
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
exnewyorker
Business
PA
Mar 1, 2010

Great location for enjoying Old San Juan

Arrived early in the morning from an overnight flight and the hotel was glad to take our bags and give us a key-card to get up to the pool/fitness area with showers and lockers. We were able to nap at poolside until 11am when they had a room ready for us. The standard (cheapest) room was a little basic, with a small shuttered window facing the parking garage, with a Latin Dance club beneath it, so definitely not the quietest place, but if you can appreciate the sights and sounds of a vibrant city nightlife then you won't mind the background rhythms. The rooftop pool also had some persistent background noise from the adjacent Senior Frogs restaurant's roof-top air conditioning unit. The view from the pool is spectacular though, over the harbor and any cruise ships that might be docked right out in front of the hotel. Hotel staff was very helpful with anything you might need, except that, like any hotel in the area, they will only connect you with the excursion providers that they endorse, which meant they couldn't help us get a day-sail outing b/c their's was all booked up. We found an opening elsewhere, but not by their doing. Wi-fi is only in the lobby of the hotel, but it is free. Otherwise the rooms have ethernet cables that you can plug in to. Free wi-fi is also available at any of the infinite number of Starbucks throughout the city. We are not big fans of casino's or slot machines, so the casino in the lobby was a little jarring, and seemed rather unnecessary since I rarely saw any people in it, and if I did, they were locals, not guest of the hotel. It cheapened the atmosphere of an otherwise lovely but spare city hotel. We did not try the two restaurants in the hotel, since we were within easy walking distance of so many remarkable and varied local establishments. Literally all of Old San Juan is within a 10-15 minute walk, and you can find almost any genre of food in any price range, if you are willing to go exploring a little bit. We took a taxi to and from the hotel from the airport to arrive and depart, and on one other occasion to get home at the end of the day from a far away beach we walked to, but otherwise had no trouble walking wherever we wanted to go. This hotel is a great place to stay if you are excited about seeing the sights in Old San Juan and taking in the local flavors of great shopping, history, nightlife and fine-dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

At the top of the hill in Old San Juan, #150 San Sebastion St. is a restaurant called Baru, with great Mojitos and an amazing tapas style menu, medium priced, well worth the effort, and it feels off the beaten track, but really at the center of everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky
Feb 13, 2011

First Time in San Juan

Really enjoyed the room on the 6th floor overlooking the bay. The cruise ships looked as big as they really were with the impressive lights at night. Room was clean, no odors of any kind, very roomy, nice bed, two window areas and a balcony overlooking the bay. No noise to speak of but was on the 6th floor. Staff was very courteous and helpful. The casino is not much, but didn't go for that anyway. One thing that would have added to the room would have been a small refridgerator for drinks and fruit. Would definitely stay there again and would love to have the same room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Whatever you do, don't miss the forts. Del Marro and San Cristibal are impressive and the views are beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Haven, CT
Feb 24, 2011

Great Staff and Clean Hotel!

Loved this hotel!!! Wonderful experience with the staff! Also it's in one of the best places in San Juan (Old San Juan)... perfect location for a wonderful trip! Loved it and would definitely stay with them again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pilas
Business
Pembroke Pines, Fla.
Feb 23, 2011

"In My Old San Juan"

I was in Puerto Rico for business and I wanted a familiar clean, comfortable, convenient place to stay.......where I had a choice of things to do if there was any "down" time. This hotel certainly met and exceeded all of my requirements. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The location was perfect, super comfortable bed and pillows. It is important to distinguish that this is not a resort. It is a Hotel.... and as such you spend most of your day away from the hotel. I will stay there on future trips as it is also accesible to major roads. There is a varied choice of restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jammy
Business
New Brunswick, NJ, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Great location and happy staff!

Great for travelers on a budget but wanting a little something extra. Located near a 24 pharmacy and lots of weekend entertainment. All of Old San Juan is walkable from here. The staff are phenomenal and always happy to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Old San Juan Foodcourt has authentic Puerto Rican cuisine for low low prices. A must stop for budget travelers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Jan 31, 2011

My trip to Old San Juan

The room was clean. Everything about the hotel was nice and very safe. The Staff is extremely friendly & helpful. They go out of their way for you. We had great service at both of their restaurants' Palio and Chicago Burger Company and the food was delicious and the frozen drinks at Chicago Burger Company were just right. The hotel activities are limited to a small gym and pool. However, the casino made up for it. We enjoyed our stay so much another trip is in the works.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For thoses who like pork and real puerto rican food, about a block a way from the hotel there is a restaurant called "Latin Roots". The food is great and the prices are reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don from Oklahoma
Business
Edmond, Oklahoma
Jan 30, 2011

Great location

we walked all around Old San Juan and took the free trolley, too. Our room was very nice and clean and a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We asked a policeman where is a good place to eat and he told us and was very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puerto Rico
Jun 1, 2010

Great hotel, great price

I only stayed one night but the room was very big and hotel service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Sep 7, 2009

Nice Hotel Great Location, Bad Casino

We booked a bay view room through Orbitz and thankfully called Sheraton ahead of time to confirm. The hotel told me that we were booked for a city view. I explained that the bay view is what was requested and that we paid more money for just that. They told me to call Orbitz to get it straightened out. I called Orbitz and spoke with an extremely helpful Orbitz employee. The employee had his hands full with Sheraton however trying to get things worked out. After two phone calls to Sheraton (from Oritz) and one fax sent from Orbitz, we were assured that we would get the room that was paid for. The check in staff was very helpful. At first however they tried to once again give us a city view with two double beds. When I said that we were booked for a bay view with one king bed, the woman looked at the reservation and (I'm assuming saw some notes about the mix up a few days earlier) said "I see" and upgraded us to a suite with a bay view. The room was clean and comfortable. The view was amazing - looked out over the harbor. The view from the bedroom looked out over the city and one of the forts of Old San Juan could be seen in the distance, very picturesque. The bell boys were very polite and helpful as well as the cleaning staff. There was internet access in the room, both from Sheraton (wired) and from other random wireless access points. The pool is very small although after being in Vieques for 4 days before arriving in San Juan, I had no desire to use a swimming pool anyway. It was nice to know that both the swimming pool and workout rooms were available until 11pm just in case though. Parking is $21 per 24 hours. The location is superb. Anything in Old San Juan is within very close walking distance. We felt very safe walking around, even at night. I didn't eat at the hotel restaurants so cannot comment on them. There are so many restaurants in the area and all of the ones that we dined in were fabulous. There are also a few (very few and non obnoxious looking) fast food establishments in the area for anyone looking to get a quick bite before sight seeing. The only real problem that I had with Sheraton was their casino. I do not recommend gambling there! The dealers were the most unprofessional that I have ever seen! At the roulette table, they were more concerned with watching the soccer game than with actually controlling the table. They didn't even watch the ball to see where it landed. A few times the dealer (don't know what to call roulette table dealers) was startled out of his soccer gaze by all the gamblers' faces staring at him waiting for the payouts and for play to resume. I tried the other roulette table and was faced with the same lacksidasical service. My boyfriend, annoyed at this point left the table but still tipped the roulette dealer $2. The dealer then showed it to the pit boss (or manager, not quite sure who the were, but they were there the whole time chatting with the dealer) and proceeded to make fun of a lousy tip. At one point, the dealer was banging on the table in tune to the music. Is this supposed to happen at a roulette table, when a ball is in play??? The final straw was when a woman came to the table and didn't know how to play roulette. The dealer (shockingly) did give her a basic run down, but then, when she was not paying attention, DID NOT PAY HER OUT!!! The ball landed on 11 and she had her chip on 4 numbers INCLUDING 11!! I couldn't believe my eyes! She had walked away from the table at this point, and before I noticed or I would have stopped her. When I told the dealer that he had forgotten to pay her and told the pit boss or whomever that was next to him, they both denied it! I wasn't the only one to see it. I'm not a big gambler, and I didn't even lose any money at the Sheraton but I have been to Vegas and I'm quite sure that these casino employees wouldn't last 30 seconds working at any of the Vegas casinos. What I hoped would be a simple fun night in at the ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're a vegetarian, check out the Berlin cafe. It's excellent!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Trooper
Business
Atlanta Georgia
Oct 10, 2009

Great trip in Old San Juan

This was our first trip to Puerto Rico. We decided that Old San Juan would be a great first time experience. Pros: Good location for city walkers that want to experience old san juan. A 15 or 20 minute walk to El Escambron blue flag beach. Cons Only one or 2 valet working on the weekdays. (overall slow service) Valet area was under construction Expensive dinning facilities. Overall the experience was great. The valet and desk staff were very friendly. We only had one incident with a manager at the valet she was was trying to get everyone to park in the street and leave there cars because the area was under constructions. That I will not hold against the Sheraton because it just shows a lack of competence on the managers behalf. The sheraton in old sand juan was a good mix between fun, excitment, and rest and relaxation. I would recommend the Sheraton to anyone that is considering a short or long stay in the San Juan area. My wife and I had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Finding a grocery store and buying snacks for between meals helps save money. We found several local restaurants that helped with the overall expense of the trip. Meals can be pricey in San Juan but it helps they post the menu's outside of everyone restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top