$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

4 stars
100 Brumbaugh Street, San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
443 reviews
Great experience overall

No issues. Bed and pillows extremely comfortable! Roof top pool is small and cold. Casino is very... See full review

  • Rob the Tampa Man
  • Aug 26, 2014
vacation

Held luggage for us. Good location. Good restaurants. See full review

  • jwmueller
  • Aug 25, 2014
Experience the best of Old San Juan at the Sheraton Hotel and Casino, which seamlessly blends old world charm with modern luxury. Located just a few minutes from the airport and cruise ship docking areas, guests can start their visits with minimal delay. Showcasing grand design and decor, the hotel is home to what has been voted the friendliest casino in San Juan. From table games to more than 300 slot machines, the casino offers hours of entertainment in a welcoming atmosphere. Count your winnings over dinner at the local Palio restaurant, or go all - American at the Chicago Burger Company. Swim off those calories in the roof-top pool or hit the health club for a fitness class.
Key facts
  • Waterfront location
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Hot tub
  • Luggage storage
  • Entirely smoke-free
  • 2 restaurants: Chicago Burger Company and Palio
  • Wireless Internet (fees may apply)
  • Bose Wave Radio in guest rooms
  • Sheraton Sweet Sleeper* Bed
  • Balcony
  • In-room microwave and refrigerator available
  • Childcare service
  • Numerous on-site dining options
  • Room service
  • Pets allowed (see policies; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Staying in Old San Juan puts the best of the culturally-rich city at your fingertips, with places like the beautiful Condado Beaches nearby. Sports fans will enjoy the local tennis courts and golf courses, and art admirers can visit the Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico. Other unforgettable experiences await just a short drive away at Fortress San Cristobal, the Bacardi Rum Factory, and the Wyndham Rio Mar Beach.
Hints and tips
Gain an appreciation for the history and architecture of the city with a walking tour of San Juan, starting less than half a mile from the hotel.

For longer trips around town, be sure to ask the front desk about the free trolley service.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.464 -66.1121
Nearby airports
Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport, (SJU), 6.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
Fire alarm with light
Sitting area
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of San Juan: 0.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.7 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (443)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
443 out of 443
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jun 8, 2011

Not too shabby

The staff was helpful, they were quick on their feet. Their valet service was great. My boyfriend and I stayed there for 4 nights, and [...] we received the 4th night FREE...including the hotel service taxes and valet service fees. Valet is $21.40 a day (going in and out as many times as you want), but if you want something cheaper, there's a public parking lot across the street from the hotel for $10 all day (but doesn't look as safe). The pool was small but nice when there isn't many people. The gym was tiny. The casino was tiny too, lots of slot machines, but you might have to fight through with the elderly for one. There are breakfast vouchers for every morning you're there for each guest (just remember to tip the waiters who serve you coffee and juice); and $25 worth of vouchers for the casino (tables only). Only thing that sucks was if you're back after 10pm on a weekday, you will not find food anywhere. We had to drive to a Burger King at 10:30pm on a Monday night to grab food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Senor Frog's is right down the short 10 second walk from the hotel entrance, great place to have some fun and great entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Barbara, CA
Jun 8, 2011

Friends Getaway

employees at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel and Casino were very nice. Great customer service and very helpful when we would ask for directions to different places. While we were there we went to las Cavernas de Camuy, Fajardo, Culebra, and bio bay kayaking. Puerto Rican's are very friendly people we would ask random people on the street for directions and they would actually take us to our destination. Nothing negative on this trip I just wish i could of stayed a little bit longer b/c theres so many things to do there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Jun 6, 2011

Great!

Great people, IDEAL location if you want to experience real San Juan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Punta de Vista down the street and ask for Michael! Order the Mahi or steak Monfongo! $1 Heineken!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricardo Super Vacation
Orlando, FL
Jun 4, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

When we got there they gave us a double bed room, which it was supposed to be a king size bed. Hotel staff was very helpful in getting us a room with a king size bed. I had a rental car and I had it parked at the hotel garage. The valet parking service was excellent. They helped me with all my bags, stroller and even with the baby. They were great and I thank you all for your help. Would love to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are right in Old San Juan. Everything is near.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, Texas
Jun 3, 2011

"Pretty Good Trip!!!!"

The hotel was coooooool. I just did NOT like the fact that [...]did NOT warn about the nightly "hotel service fee" which ranged from 7-11 dollars per night. That was an extra 100 bucks. smh. other than that everything was great! puerto rico was cool and the people were very nice!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Luckii
Tampa, Florida
May 31, 2011

THE REALEST REVIEW FROM UNBIAS EYES!

Lets start with the ride to the hotel, we elected to take a taxi instead of renting a car because we weren't sure about how the driving is out there and THANK GOD we did not rent a car because they drive worse than new yorkers especially in Old San Juan. They mostly have back ally ways and one way streets, people park on the side of the streets which leave BARELY enough room to manuver any vehicle through even if you are a great driver. The city is beautiful but you can certainly tell that it is very poverty stricken due to the graffiti EVERYWHERE. There are abandoned apartments and hotels every where...When we got to the hotel, it was nothing special. We got our room just fine. The room was decent, the bed and pillows were great. The bathroom is a decent size. There are no refridgerators in the room which was not good b/c you constantly need something cold to drink due to the heat during the afternoon. Our first night, my fiance and I ate at the Chicago Burger located on the first floor of the hotel. Our service was horrible. We had to remind the wait staff that we were there, we ordered some island drinks and they were the worst... They took forever bringing us our food which was annoying because noone was hardly there. When they did bring us the food the waitress just sat it down and left without asking us if we needed anything such as ketchup or anything else... We visited to casino inside the hotel, it is very small and limited. There is NOT a NO LIMIT poker table in this casino, they play 3 card poker, blackjack and other games but no Texas Holdem. The next day we had a FABULOUS cab ride around Old San Juan & The New City by a man named [...]for $45.00. He was INCREDIABLE! He stopped the vehicle several times to show us the city and got out and took pictures of my fiancee and myself. He spoke english very well and he was very honest, we gave him a tip and he thought we over paid him and tried to give us our money back. As far as food is concerned, Punto De Vista is a GREAT place to eat for local food. The owner of the resturant/bar is funny and he interacts with the guests there. The only bad part is that guests mostly sit outside and they are surrounded by pigeons. One pigeon actually decided to use the restroom on our table after we ate dinner. The second day we were there eating lunch and a roach was on our table outside and that really grossed me out although it wasn't really the fault of the owner because we were outside the resturant. We ate breakfast our first morning at Palio inside the hotel. The atmosphere is wonderful and the view is beautiful. It was a buffet type style breakfast but for 2 people cost us $40.00 + tip. Which was CRAZY! The food was okay, but NOT $40.00 okay for BREAKFAST! Needless to say, the next morning we ate at a little resturant in Old San Juan just behind the hotel and had a nice breakfast for $20.00 for 2 people.On our 2nd night stay, we were coming into the hotel, getting on the elevator and a roach was in the elevator, which scared me because I hate bugs. I didn't see any other roaches on this trip or in my room but I'm sure they are there. This hotel is not one that I will recommend to anyone. I would rather stay at a resort inside the New City with more to do and more amentities and better service than this hotel and take a taxi to see the sites in Old San Juan. In addition, you have to go to Barrachina's and ask for [...]. He is an amazing Bar Tender there and they are the creaters of the Pina Colada. It was the BEST Pina Colada I've ever had and I don't even like that drink!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

DO NOT EAT AT THIS HOTEL... They charge an arm and a leg for their food when you can get much better food at one of the local resturants or bars at a much better price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PuertoRico2011
Chicago, IL
May 29, 2011

Great Hotel!

Great location! Very close to main attractions: casino, cruise ports, El Morro, segway tours, ferry to Catano. Great hotel with courteous and prompt staff and great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Definately need to try out the resturant in the hotel called Palio. Great italian food and courteous and prompt staff. Reasonably priced!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
tampa, fl
May 25, 2011

Horrible Experience

This was the WORST trip we have ever experienced!!! We payed an extra $50 to have a room with a balcony, call the hotel after purchase everything was fine..Get to the hotel and they gave us the wrong room, not what we paid for and it smelt like smoke,mold and a nursing home! the windows were even dirty! The customer service was horrible, we stayed at the Old San Juan Sheraton Hotel! We complained, talked to 2 managers [...], they were goign to refund our money but it would take 7 days, so we had no choice but to stay, they finally moved us to another room after me having to make a scene (which I shouldnt have had to do if they gave us the right room in the first place). They took out $100 deposit without informing me. The amenities were closed most of the time we were there. And the casino downstairs dont even waste your money. I had an issue with a lady that shoved me and they wouldnt do anything about it, they told me i shouldnt have sat down next to her..like I knew she would push me..She was holding a seat for someone and freaked out on me. We flew thru JetBlue, NEVER AGAIN! They tried kickin me off the plane bc I asked the flight attendent not to be so rough with my belongings, he shoved my bag and all my stuff fell out (thank god nothign broke) and overall it was the worst experience over there. The staff at the hotel were so rude, they wouldnt help me when my bags upon checking out they said they were too busy..I walk down stairs and 4 of them are just sitting there talking, guess thats considered busy for them. The maids didnt pick anything up like most places do, I had to call 2-4 times a day for towels, cups, or anything else that I needed since they didnt bring that stuff upon room cleaning. They didnt take the dirty towels out of the room, they left them piled up the 9 days that we stayed. And the 2 restuarants inside the hotel are disgusting and overpriced. the one our food was cold, bun was still frozen, and the other place it took 45 minutes to get a drink, another hr to get our appitizer, we had to cancel our order and eat elsewhere.There were literally 5 other familys of no more than 4 in there. RIDICULOUS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping was the only thing within walking distance, RENT a car if you ever visit here!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dover, DE
May 23, 2011

alright

The hotel itself was average to me, very clean but the rooms were nothing special. The pool area was way smaller than it looked on the website and only had chairs for about 10 people. The location was great as it was in walking distance to many restaurants, historic buildings/forts and shops. However, it was not close to a beach...to get to the pretty beaches you needed to travel via cab or city bus about 20 minutes. The beach you could walk to from the hotel was very, very dirty and the bathrooms should be closed---sinks without running water, clogged up toilets with no venelation and it didn't look like anyone attempted to clean them in months. Other than walking around old San Juan, which was enjoyable, you would need to plan and pay for excursions for snorkeling, boating, hiking, etc. The people at the hotel were not particularly friendly, and when checking in the only gentleman working stopped helping me without saying anything and took a phone call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Née York
May 23, 2011

Vacation

Don't like being pat frisk,for the past seven days it rain, the gym equipment wasn't working properly,there was no parking space for the hotel customer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search