$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 18, 2014 Check-out: Nov 19, 2014

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

4 stars
100 Brumbaugh Street, San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
446 reviews
Old San Juan Hotel Stay

Had a great stay at the Sheraton Old San Juan. The location is great and although I only stayed... See full review

  • Kazam46
  • Sep 30, 2014
Great Deal!

Perfect Location.. Clean.. Rooftop Pool!! Yesss Pls!! See full review

  • OJAV04
  • Sep 21, 2014
Experience the best of Old San Juan at the Sheraton Hotel and Casino, which seamlessly blends old world charm with modern luxury. Located just a few minutes from the airport and cruise ship docking areas, guests can start their visits with minimal delay. Showcasing grand design and decor, the hotel is home to what has been voted the friendliest casino in San Juan. From table games to more than 300 slot machines, the casino offers hours of entertainment in a welcoming atmosphere. Count your winnings over dinner at the local Palio restaurant, or go all - American at the Chicago Burger Company. Swim off those calories in the roof-top pool or hit the health club for a fitness class.
Key facts
  • Waterfront location
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Hot tub
  • Luggage storage
  • Entirely smoke-free
  • 2 restaurants: Chicago Burger Company and Palio
  • Wireless Internet (fees may apply)
  • Bose Wave Radio in guest rooms
  • Sheraton Sweet Sleeper* Bed
  • Balcony
  • In-room microwave and refrigerator available
  • Childcare service
  • Numerous on-site dining options
  • Room service
  • Pets allowed (see policies; fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Staying in Old San Juan puts the best of the culturally-rich city at your fingertips, with places like the beautiful Condado Beaches nearby. Sports fans will enjoy the local tennis courts and golf courses, and art admirers can visit the Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico. Other unforgettable experiences await just a short drive away at Fortress San Cristobal, the Bacardi Rum Factory, and the Wyndham Rio Mar Beach.
Hints and tips
Gain an appreciation for the history and architecture of the city with a walking tour of San Juan, starting less than half a mile from the hotel.

For longer trips around town, be sure to ask the front desk about the free trolley service.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.464 -66.1121
Nearby airports
Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport, (SJU), 6.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
Fire alarm with light
Sitting area
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of San Juan: 0.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.2 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.2 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.5 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.5 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.6 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.7 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.2 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (446)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
446 out of 446
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LesleyMa
Business
Portland OR
Apr 2, 2014

Very close to old San Juan

The location is perfect - just blocks away from everything in old San Juan. The room was very nice, the staff was very helpful, the room service and food in the restaurant were both excellent. I would definitely stay here again if visiting San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Raices Restaurant try Mofongo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jon Cohen
Business
NYC
Apr 8, 2014

Great hotel in the middle of everything

The hotel was great, staff very friendly and informative. They greeted all the time with a smile. The staff was also very quick to bring up towels etc to the room. This hotel is located right where the cruise ships dock. However there are so many things to do in the area within walking distance, great restaurants, both forts etc. The rainforest is about 90min away, if you are renting a car do not valet park on the street or the parking lot right next door which is $4 from 6pm to 6am as opposed to $20 a day valet. The casino isn't the biggest and is only open till 2am on the weekdays and 4am on weekends. My biggest complaint is the pool it is not very big and at the most 3 or 4 people comfortably. However there is enough space to get sun and it is on a roof so you get an amazing view. This hotel really has a lot of value to it and I would recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamie Beth
Business
Michigan
Apr 15, 2014

1st Time in PR

The hotel is within walking or trolley distance to everything in Old San Juan. The room was very clean and was cleaned everyday! The pool and pool area was small. the hotel casino offered FREE drinks while gambling. Alot of police presence in Old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza Rustica has amazing pizza! Many to chose from!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lili718
Business
NYC
Apr 14, 2014

Hotel Stay

I love staying staying at this hotel it is near many restaurants & attractions. The room was clean and the bed was quite comfortable. Will definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

outlets and stores

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rw1230
Business
new york, ny
Apr 23, 2014

it was cool

right across from the port for cruise ships, not noisey, nice hotel, restaurants on both sides and a casino, trash was in my trashcan upon checking in, but everything else was fine, i would stay there again, beach was a cab ride away, totally worth the 15min cab ride

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

dont eat tha either spot beside hotel, walk behind the hotel, tons of restaurants and touristy spots

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
waymorfun
Business
Portland Oregon
Apr 1, 2009

Better than expected

Based on some of the reviews I read I was a little worried but picked the hotel for the location near the cruise piers and Old San Juan. It is right on the docks but most of the big ships, ours incuded did not dock here but a $15 cab ride away. Not really that big a deal just a little misleading based on the info online. Our room was great with a view of the dock we felt very secure and comfortable. You can easily walk to wherever you want to go in old town, including one of the forts. We took a free trolly to the fort and after finally getting there realized that it is about a 3 block walk. All kinds of great shopping and food opportuities in old town and the hotel staff reccomendations for dining were spot on. The one thing that surprised us was the lack of live music on a Friday night, I expected more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of interesting local shops of all sizes and types of products. Really friendly people and fun to talk to. If you don't see what you want in one shop go next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Librarian
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 22, 2009

The hotel description was quite accurate

The Sheraton Old San Juan was ideally located. It was steps away from public transportation and made getting to some of the surrounding shopping areas very easy. There was hesitation by the staff to share public transportation options (they were quick to promote using taxis), which obviously enhance the travel experience and make the stay in Puerto Rico more econonomical. There was also a free trolley steps away from the hotel that made travel and shopping in Old San Juan quite easy. The Yunque Rainforest day trip was incredible! Our guide was extremely friendly, and escorted us to the local eateries near the beach. The people are extremely friendly and helpful. The food was very affordable and quite delicious. For those a bit "traditional", there was an abundance of familiar restaurants to keep you in your comfort zone. You must visit Las Piedras (an open shopping area) the prices were astounding. Be prepared to brush up on your Spanish, many of the locals that we encountered spoke very limited English. Overall, this was one of the best Caribbean vacations that I've had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take public transportation if you're not in a hurry. It's very easy to get around and extremely economical.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New to Puerto Rico
Business
Detroit, MI
Nov 10, 2009

Nice place to stay. Great location!

The hotel is great. Very clean and the location is second to none. The lobby casino is fun if you're into that (not me). If you're craving for American food, there is a classy burger restaurant in the hotel as well. The staff were friendly for the most part, although the bellhops, I thought, were rude when I was checking out and leaving the hotel. Because I was in San Juan for a conference, I needed to store my luggage the morning of my check out. They seemed inconvenienced. When I picked them up later they again seemed inconvenienced. Lastly, the hot breakfast in their restaurant is just what I needed in the morning to get me going. Overall, I would stay here again, especially for the price (and location).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Of course, the fort nearby (long walk) is a must-see. There are a lot of great restaurants and night hotspots in Old San Juan, only a few streets away from the Sheraton. Many people might tell you to eat at Raices, which is not bad, but I personally prefer the more local-feeling Mojito's. The food is cheaper and the people are friendlier (and it seems more authentic). I also heard about a place called Barrachina, but I couldn't find it while I was in San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Feb 25, 2010

Excellent location for the price

As a SPG member, I requested and expected a nice room location and they placed me over looking the garage. They ignore my request for room change

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Apr 11, 2010

"Fabulouse hotel and great view"

I did a lot of site seeing of the beautiful Old San Juan. Very easy to get around and most important a free trolly that takes you around the city. I also enjoyed the great view from my hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top