$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Sandy Beach Hotel

2 stars
4 Condado Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
48 reviews
great value steps from the beach

Great location about 20 feet from Condado beach, simple but comfortable rooms, friendly staff.... See full review

  • JR in PR
  • Aug 1, 2014
Perfect location getaway

Perfect location it is close to the beach, and I say close I mean like 5 steps away from it. There... See full review

  • La peque
  • Jun 10, 2014
Budget San Juan accommodations just off Condado Beach

The Sandy Beach Hotel is located very close to palm-shaded Condado Beach, where the protected cove is a family favorite. Theproperty also lies nearby an oceanfront park, La Ventana al Mar, and a popular European-style waterfront promenade. The budget hotel's cozy, shaded patio with tables and chairs is a great spot to enjoy the newspaper and all-day coffee. Guests savour delicious deli and creole a la carte specialties at the in-house restaurant, Piu Bello Gelato. Wi-Fi access is available in public areas and rooms.

Highlights
  • Popular Condado Beach one block away from Sandy Beach Hotel
  • Complimentary newspaper
  • Rooftop sundeck
  • Located near chic Ashford Avenue
Rooms
The Sandy Beach Hotel has 25 rooms, each simply decorated with a Caribbean flair. Expect sky blue or white walls and palm tree art. Every room has a balcony, most with urban views and blackout curtains. Bathrooms have showers, and every room includes complimentary Wi-Fi. Amenities include air conditioning, cable TV, telephones and in-room safes.
Recreation
  • The Sandy Beach Hotel lies one block from beautiful Condado Beach.
Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Maron International Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
Attractions
  • Condado Beach (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Plaza del Mercado (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Puerto Rico Museum of Art (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Ocean Park (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • San Juan Central Municipal Park (1.1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • San Juan Cathedral (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access throughout Sandy Beach Hotel

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandy Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Sandy Beach Hotel Rooms

Senior Only Special
This Room is furnished with 1 Queen Bed or 2 Twin Size **Note Bed-Bedding Type will be assigned at the time of Check In. All Air conditioned guest room, private bathroom, color/cable TV, free wireless Internet, direct dial Phone and in room safe. Age - 65+
Cruise Only Special
This Room is furnished with 1 Queen Bed or 2 Twin Size Bed **Note Bed-Bedding Type will be assigned at the time of Check In. All Air conditioned guest room, private bathroom, color/cable TV, free wireless Internet, direct dial Phone and in room safe.
Standard Guest Room with 2 Double Beds
This room is furnished with 2 double beds.
Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.
Standard Guest Room with 2 Twin Beds
This room is furnished with 2 twin beds.

Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.
Standard Guest Room with 1 Queen Bed
This room is furnished with one queen bed.

Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.2 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.4 mi

Dining

Piu Bello Gelato
Deli and creole food restaurant open from 7:00am to 8:00pm. Menu a la carte.
Nearby Restaurants
Multiple dining options within walking distances.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Sandy Beach Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 48
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JR in PR
Business
Georgia
Aug 1, 2014

great value steps from the beach

Great location about 20 feet from Condado beach, simple but comfortable rooms, friendly staff. Parking for check in was a bit difficult on the street but they have a deal with the parking garage across the street for $18 per day. Park there first and they will validate the ticket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patty O
Business
Tampa florida
Mar 17, 2013

Will definitely stay here again

This hotel was great!! Yes it wasn't the cleanest hotel I've stayed at, but I payed less than 100$ to stay 10 feet from the beach. Me and my girlfriend and two friends stayed here for springbreak and can't wait to go back. In an awesome location, staff was awesome everything was awesome. There's an awesome private roof that was an added bonus. Go go go

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tijunas bar and grill!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gabym
Business
wenatchee, wa
Mar 13, 2014

great

great place to stay! walking distance to the beach and downtown!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roseville, MI
Feb 3, 2011

Post Cruise

This was a one night post cruise stay for 3 couples. We were very happy with our one night stay. It is an older Hotel, but it is what I would expect out of an old Hotel built in the 1940's or earlier. The staff was very nice. One couple didn't like the look of their sheets and requested they change them which they did immediately. They are in the process of updating their TV's. We had an older model with a missing remote, the other 2 couples had new flat screen TV's. We enjoyed the outside courtyard where they served their Continental Breakfast. We arrived before check-in and they held our bags for us while we walked around and allowed us to wait on the roof top terrace, which was very relaxing. There are Souviner shops and restruants all within walking distance. There is a Walgreens on the corner, too. The best part is that the beach is a few steps away. We all agreed we would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YUI&RISA
Business
Astoria, NY
Apr 4, 2010

Great Hotel!!

This hotel was soooo nice and I want to recommend it to my friends!! All Stuffs were friendly and location was really good (less than 30sec to the beach!) Continental break first and room were ok. Totally, its good hotel with this price range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many Restaurant, Bar, and Casino.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nurse on Spring Break
Business
Columbus, OH
Mar 24, 2011

Good Deal

We only stayed in the hotel to sleep. We spent all day on the beach or on excursions. The rooms are small, but they get the job done. You go to San Juan for the beach, not the hotel. Definately a cheap way to have a nice vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to get out of the tourist areas to get really cheap food and beer. The local spots will look rundown, but the food is delicious. Also, Punto de Visto is a restuarant by the ship port in old san juan. It has great prices and delicious food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. Cookey
Business
MN
Aug 21, 2013

cruise

it was better than last time. the first time my bed and floor was full of sand! i gave it another chance and it was clean. i love that it was right next to the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walgreens is right at the end of the block and open 24 hours. we needed that place every second.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
swv
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 12, 2010

Not too shabby

This hotel was just fine for our purposes on our trip to San Juan. It's nothing special or luxurious, but it's cheap, in a good location, and kept fairly clean (minus the unavoidable sand build up in the stairwells being right next to the beach). Parking was a bit tricky. The Sandy Beach has a lot a block over with limited spots for $10, the Marriott has a garage across the street for $18, and if you're lucky, you can find one of the few free spots at the end of the street. We only ended up paying for parking twice out of 5 nights. Rooms are small, beds aren't super comfy, but they'll do and they keep it fairly clean. Lots of bars of soap and lotion are provided, but no shampoo. At least Walgreens is just a block away. A nice little 32" flat screen with cable TV is a nice touch for an other wise kind of dated room. Free breakfast is nice for those days where you just need a little bit of food to get going. They provide Coffee, orange juice, white bread for toast with butter or jelly, Honey Nut Cheerios, milk, pastries, and bananas. Much more expensive hotels in the area don't even provide stuff like that for free. Location is great. About 100 feet from a nice stretch of the beach. It's in the Condado area which has some nice hotel and casinos within walking distance, also some restaurants and stores. It's not really an area where I would come from elsewhere to hang out, but it was nice on slower week nights. It's also in a pretty central location to other fun parts of San Juan. It's just a short walk or cab ride to Old San Juan, La Plazita, Isla Verde, Ocean Park, etc. I only give the hotel three stars because it is pretty bare bones and dated, but there is plenty of positive about it. It not a hotel that you can have a good time spending all day at, but there's plenty of fun to be had elsewhere in San Juan, and it's right in the middle of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Blondi5338
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Feb 15, 2012

Sandy Beach Hotel

Very basic hotel and we found bugs in our first floor rooms. The second and third floor rooms were better. Good for the price though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eli510
Business
Berkeley, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Pay extra... stay somewhere else.

Really small rooms. Sheets were dirty and the floors still had sand all over the place. Also i payed for parking which is a block over. They gave me this key card which didnt work half the time and believe me it wasnt fun dealing with the back and forth bs. Yes, you get what you pay for and less. Do your self a favor pay the extra 50$ for a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Momo's bar in Isla Verde. Cheap drinks and good music!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top