$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2015 Check-out: Aug 8, 2015

Sandy Beach Hotel

2 stars
View map of 4 Condado Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
44 reviews
perfect location

hotel was just average but clean enough. all about the location - can see the ocean at the end of... See full review

  • New York Guys
  • Jan 12, 2015
perfect for what we wanted

This hotel was great. The only negative was that since I booked for two people we got one double... See full review

  • meema from vt
  • Nov 29, 2014

The Sandy Beach Hotel is located very close to palm-shaded Condado Beach, where the protected cove is a family favorite. Theproperty also lies nearby an oceanfront park, La Ventana al Mar, and a popular European-style waterfront promenade. The budget hotel's cozy, shaded patio with tables and chairs is a great spot to enjoy the newspaper and all-day coffee. Guests savour delicious deli and creole a la carte specialties at the in-house restaurant, Piu Bello Gelato. Wi-Fi access is available in public areas and rooms.

Rooms
The Sandy Beach Hotel has 25 rooms, each simply decorated with a Caribbean flair. Expect sky blue or white walls and palm tree art. Every room has a balcony, most with urban views and blackout curtains. Bathrooms have showers, and every room includes complimentary Wi-Fi. Amenities include air conditioning, cable TV, telephones and in-room safes.
Highlights
  • Popular Condado Beach one block away from Sandy Beach Hotel
  • Complimentary newspaper
  • Rooftop sundeck
  • Located near chic Ashford Avenue
Nearby attractions
  • Condado Beach (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Plaza del Mercado (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Puerto Rico Museum of Art (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Ocean Park (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • San Juan Central Municipal Park (1.1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • San Juan Cathedral (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access throughout Sandy Beach Hotel
Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Maron International Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
Recreation
  • The Sandy Beach Hotel lies one block from beautiful Condado Beach.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandy Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Sandy Beach Hotel Rooms

Senior Only Special
This Room is furnished with 1 Queen Bed or 2 Twin Size **Note Bed-Bedding Type will be assigned at the time of Check In. All Air conditioned guest room, private bathroom, color/cable TV, free wireless Internet, direct dial Phone and in room safe. Age - 65+
Cruise Only Special
This Room is furnished with 1 Queen Bed or 2 Twin Size Bed **Note Bed-Bedding Type will be assigned at the time of Check In. All Air conditioned guest room, private bathroom, color/cable TV, free wireless Internet, direct dial Phone and in room safe.
Standard Guest Room with 2 Double Beds
This room is furnished with 2 double beds.
Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.
Standard Guest Room with 2 Twin Beds
This room is furnished with 2 twin beds.

Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.
Standard Guest Room with 1 Queen Bed
This room is furnished with one queen bed.

Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.2 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.4 mi

Dining

Piu Bello Gelato
Deli and creole food restaurant open from 7:00am to 8:00pm. Menu a la carte.
Nearby Restaurants
Multiple dining options within walking distances.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sandy Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 44
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.9

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul W.
Business
Washington
Feb 11, 2015

great budget traveller spot

not a lot of perks, but the rooms are clean, the beds are comfy, and the location is awesome. and the price is fantastic!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jgoosie
Business
Maryland
May 27, 2014

Perfect Location getaway

I really enjoyed my stay here. Staff was very helpful and you are seconds from the beach. Power went out but that was not the hotel's fault. Rooftop view is lovely. Location can't be beat :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Encantado
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jan 19, 2014

Good Value for the Budget Traveler

The Sandy Beach hotel is located about a $20 (includes tip) ride from the airport to the very trendy Condado area and a short municipal bus ride to Old (Viejo) San Juan. The hotel is about a half block away from the beach, and a half block from the fancy Marriott Hotel. One can catch the 21 municipal bus on Ashford Avenida for 75 cents at the green Parada sign that will take you to Old San Juan and for another 50 cents take the ferry across the bay and $3 cab fare in Catano and visit the Bacardi Rum Factory: 2 free rum drinks and free admission to tour. The Hotel is a half block from a Walgreens where one can get all sorts of stuff. It is Not the Marriott, but good value for the budget traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

On the way back from Old (Viejo) San Juan go to the Bus Terminal (near pier area) and catch the 21 municipal bus back to Condado area for 75 cents. They only accept quarters, so be ready. You will not be going back via Ashford Avenida, so ask the the bus driver to let you out near "Hotel Marriott".

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
db time flies
Business
Indiana
Jul 9, 2012

Location Location

If you are there for the beach at a good price this is it. Room was on bottom floor . Lots of space in room and most of the time quiet. Ocean had nice wave action. Walgreens with in easy walking distance. Fast food and resturants with in walking distance. Down fall was no place to park my have a couple spots. Gave me a plastic card key for parking around the block for$9 a day. Ihad no luck getting in. Parked at the hottel guarge next door for $18 a day. Lots of oneway streetsaround area. Yes I would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

old San Juan National historic site is agood day. visit the fort. walk the sidewalk around the fort. and visit all the shopping and resturants in old town.

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
currly
Business
Washington DC
Mar 18, 2011

It ain't the RITZ

You get what you pay for. The staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean but very small (all i needed). Not a very nice area kinda run down (lots of homeless asking for change but I dont mind that. Some good restaurants in the area. Easy to get around buy Bus or Cab. Cab stand outside. Beach was kinda lame not many people and the water was ruff (by people I mean hot babe's)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orosco's on Ashford ave. great fish not very fancy

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CRNA2B
Business
Alabama
May 15, 2010

Get's the Job Done!

The beach was only steps away from the front door! The rooms are a bit small, bathroom was a tight fit for a 6'3" visitor like me, but after serving on a Navy ship - - no problem! (Like most of the time, never in the room much. So, bed was comfortable, cable T.V. was in Spanish and English, again, get's the job done.) Friendly reminder: You are traveling to a region where Spanish is number one!! If you don't speak Spanish, dont' take it out on the staff! A smile will go a long way if you are not understood. Also, at least one person working at all times could speak fluent English. So, don't worry. . . be happy! You'll have a great trip that way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything from Italian to Chinese, local Puerto Rican cuisine to Wendy's Hamburgers could be found within 2 blocks off the hotel. Walgreen's pharmacy open 24 hours per day with plenty of sunscreen, t-shirts, flip-flops, you name it!

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
etus2000
Business
Dallas, TX
May 12, 2010

Satisfactory stay

I got all I needed for my budget, nothing fancy or flashy, but for the price this is a good choice. I really liked that you would just step outside and there is the beach. Also, great entertainment and great restaurants are all walking distance. The staff is friendly and I got WI-FI downstairs in the lobby. My room was clean, comfortable bed, and good cable TV show/movie/news options. They also have complimentary breakfast, mostly pastries/cereals, but I traveled to PR with a specific agenda and left my room early in the mornings, so I already had other plans. I got all I needed for my 5-day stay. Parking is a few dollars extra but I didn't have a rental, so no issues for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save the car rental, everything you need is walking distance; nightlife, entertainment, beach, restaurants, Taxis are in front of the hotel (~25min to the airport) and even Walgreens is a 2-min walk.

Back to menu Return to top