$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Sandy Beach Hotel

2 stars
4 Condado Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
47 reviews
great value steps from the beach

Great location about 20 feet from Condado beach, simple but comfortable rooms, friendly staff.... See full review

  • JR in PR
  • Aug 1, 2014
Perfect location getaway

Perfect location it is close to the beach, and I say close I mean like 5 steps away from it. There... See full review

  • La peque
  • Jun 10, 2014
Budget San Juan accommodations just off Condado Beach

The Sandy Beach Hotel is located very close to palm-shaded Condado Beach, where the protected cove is a family favorite. Theproperty also lies nearby an oceanfront park, La Ventana al Mar, and a popular European-style waterfront promenade. The budget hotel's cozy, shaded patio with tables and chairs is a great spot to enjoy the newspaper and all-day coffee. There is complimentary wireless Internet access available in public areas and rooms.

Highlights
  • Popular Condado Beach one block away from Sandy Beach Hotel
  • Complimentary newspaper
  • Rooftop sundeck
  • Located near chic Ashford Avenue
Rooms

The Sandy Beach Hotel has 25 rooms, each simply decorated with a Caribbean flair. Expect sky blue or white walls and palm tree art. Every room has a balcony, most with urban views and blackout curtains. Bathrooms have showers, and every room includes complimentary Wi-Fi. Amenities include air conditioning, cable TV, telephones and in-room safes.

Recreation
  • The Sandy Beach Hotel lies one block from beautiful Condado Beach.
Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Maron International Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
Attractions
  • Condado Beach (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Plaza del Mercado (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Puerto Rico Museum of Art (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Ocean Park (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • San Juan Central Municipal Park (1.1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • San Juan Cathedral (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access throughout Sandy Beach Hotel

Hotel Map

18.456 -66.0716
Area served
4 Condado Avenue, Condado Area, San Juan, P.R. 00907
Nearby airports
San Juan Puerto Rico, International Airport (SJU): Approximately 15 minutes from the property.
Area description
This San Juan hotel is located in Puerto Rico's tourist district, just steps from the beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandy Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Sandy Beach Hotel Rooms

Senior Only Special
This Room is furnished with 1 Queen Bed or 2 Twin Size **Note Bed-Bedding Type will be assigned at the time of Check In. All Air conditioned guest room, private bathroom, color/cable TV, free wireless Internet, direct dial Phone and in room safe. Age - 65+
Cruise Only Special
This Room is furnished with 1 Queen Bed or 2 Twin Size Bed **Note Bed-Bedding Type will be assigned at the time of Check In. All Air conditioned guest room, private bathroom, color/cable TV, free wireless Internet, direct dial Phone and in room safe.
Standard Guest Room with 2 Double Beds
This room is furnished with 2 double beds.
Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.
Standard Guest Room with 2 Twin Beds
This room is furnished with 2 twin beds.

Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.
Standard Guest Room with 1 Queen Bed
This room is furnished with one queen bed.

Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.2 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.2 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.4 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
Multiple dining options within walking distances.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Sandy Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 47
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jgoosie
Business
Maryland
May 27, 2014

Perfect Location getaway

I really enjoyed my stay here. Staff was very helpful and you are seconds from the beach. Power went out but that was not the hotel's fault. Rooftop view is lovely. Location can't be beat :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Encantado
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jan 19, 2014

Good Value for the Budget Traveler

The Sandy Beach hotel is located about a $20 (includes tip) ride from the airport to the very trendy Condado area and a short municipal bus ride to Old (Viejo) San Juan. The hotel is about a half block away from the beach, and a half block from the fancy Marriott Hotel. One can catch the 21 municipal bus on Ashford Avenida for 75 cents at the green Parada sign that will take you to Old San Juan and for another 50 cents take the ferry across the bay and $3 cab fare in Catano and visit the Bacardi Rum Factory: 2 free rum drinks and free admission to tour. The Hotel is a half block from a Walgreens where one can get all sorts of stuff. It is Not the Marriott, but good value for the budget traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

On the way back from Old (Viejo) San Juan go to the Bus Terminal (near pier area) and catch the 21 municipal bus back to Condado area for 75 cents. They only accept quarters, so be ready. You will not be going back via Ashford Avenida, so ask the the bus driver to let you out near "Hotel Marriott".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
db time flies
Business
Indiana
Jul 9, 2012

Location Location

If you are there for the beach at a good price this is it. Room was on bottom floor . Lots of space in room and most of the time quiet. Ocean had nice wave action. Walgreens with in easy walking distance. Fast food and resturants with in walking distance. Down fall was no place to park my have a couple spots. Gave me a plastic card key for parking around the block for$9 a day. Ihad no luck getting in. Parked at the hottel guarge next door for $18 a day. Lots of oneway streetsaround area. Yes I would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

old San Juan National historic site is agood day. visit the fort. walk the sidewalk around the fort. and visit all the shopping and resturants in old town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ally P
Business
Queens, NY, USA
Sep 9, 2011

Budget traveler or singles

I stayed at Sandy Beach very recently. Basically you get what you pay for. The rooms and bathrooms are small. Nice bedroom for someone who's alone. The bathroom was extra small and had a stand up shower. No amenities inside the room, no iron or hairdryer. But there was a toaster, ice maker, etc on the first floor in the tiny kitchenette type area. There was nice size flat screen TVs. The floor was pretty dirty and I found that housekeeping only comes if you have that little sign hanging on the door. The staff was very friendly. I did appreciate the vanity in the room because a friend at a nearby hotel, had a very small TV and no area to do makeup besides the very tiny bathroom sink. The continental breakfast is basically toast, butter, OJ, coffee and a muffin. If you're looking for something better stay across the street at the Mariott because you'll probably end up parking there because Sandy doesn't have many spots to offer. The location is great. Its not much but I did enjoy my stay here. If I was on a very tight budget I wouldn't mind staying here again. Its perfect for people who plan on spending most of their time exploring PR outside of their rooms. One thing i really disliked was that they close the front doors at 8pm, 4/5 nights i was there waiting a few minutes for them to open it after ringing the bell several times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Latin Star on Ashford across from Condom World is a good spot for a cheap breakfast! Tijuana's (head east on ashford) is great for dinner and try the margaritas's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Mar 27, 2011

Not the Marriott. That's next door

This is an old hotel with the marks of age. It used to be Canario by the Sea, and I've stayed there before. Many basics are not found or hard to get. I had no clothes hangers when I checked in. Asked for four or five. Got three, one for each night of my stay. There were two large bath towels provided with a bath mat. No hand towels, and no wash cloths. The mat disappeared after the first day. The grills in the doors of the closet and bath had a growing collection of dust bunnies. The switch in the bath required "special handling." The remote for the TV did not work. There were no working vending machines in the hotel. The walls were scuffed, but the tile floor was clean. The location is superb: less than a block from Ashford and Condado. Walk out the hotel's front door, turn left, take fifty steps and you're at the Condado Beach. Turn right and in a block you'll arrive at a San Juan landmark, Walgreens 24 hour pharmacy and market. You'll spend some time here, picking up things you don't get at the hotel. Ashford is lined with shops and eating places. Bus service is available on Ashford and Taxi stands abound at this hotel and the Marriott next door. There are other hotels in Condado with better amenities and a lower price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
currly
Business
Washington DC
Mar 18, 2011

It ain't the RITZ

You get what you pay for. The staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean but very small (all i needed). Not a very nice area kinda run down (lots of homeless asking for change but I dont mind that. Some good restaurants in the area. Easy to get around buy Bus or Cab. Cab stand outside. Beach was kinda lame not many people and the water was ruff (by people I mean hot babe's)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orosco's on Ashford ave. great fish not very fancy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CRNA2B
Business
Alabama
May 15, 2010

Get's the Job Done!

The beach was only steps away from the front door! The rooms are a bit small, bathroom was a tight fit for a 6'3" visitor like me, but after serving on a Navy ship - - no problem! (Like most of the time, never in the room much. So, bed was comfortable, cable T.V. was in Spanish and English, again, get's the job done.) Friendly reminder: You are traveling to a region where Spanish is number one!! If you don't speak Spanish, dont' take it out on the staff! A smile will go a long way if you are not understood. Also, at least one person working at all times could speak fluent English. So, don't worry. . . be happy! You'll have a great trip that way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything from Italian to Chinese, local Puerto Rican cuisine to Wendy's Hamburgers could be found within 2 blocks off the hotel. Walgreen's pharmacy open 24 hours per day with plenty of sunscreen, t-shirts, flip-flops, you name it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
etus2000
Business
Dallas, TX
May 12, 2010

Satisfactory stay

I got all I needed for my budget, nothing fancy or flashy, but for the price this is a good choice. I really liked that you would just step outside and there is the beach. Also, great entertainment and great restaurants are all walking distance. The staff is friendly and I got WI-FI downstairs in the lobby. My room was clean, comfortable bed, and good cable TV show/movie/news options. They also have complimentary breakfast, mostly pastries/cereals, but I traveled to PR with a specific agenda and left my room early in the mornings, so I already had other plans. I got all I needed for my 5-day stay. Parking is a few dollars extra but I didn't have a rental, so no issues for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save the car rental, everything you need is walking distance; nightlife, entertainment, beach, restaurants, Taxis are in front of the hotel (~25min to the airport) and even Walgreens is a 2-min walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top