$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 16, 2014

Sandy Beach Hotel

2 stars
4 Condado Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
67 reviews
Perfect location getaway

Perfect location it is close to the beach, and I say close I mean like 5 steps away from it. There... See full review

  • La peque
  • Jun 10, 2014
Very Good Nice Clean Awsome Treatment Will Come Again in 2014 Very fantastic

Close foot steps to the Beach I Love It it's Been My Second Time At Sandy Beach Hotel. See full review

  • Marilyn Mom
  • Jun 12, 2013
Budget San Juan bed and breakfast just off Condado Beach

The Sandy Beach Hotel is located very close to palm-shaded Condado Beach, where the protected cove is a family favorite. The bed and breakfast also lies nearby an oceanfront park, La Ventana al Mar, and a popular European-style waterfront promenade. The budget hotel's cozy, shaded patio with tables and chairs is a great spot to enjoy the complimentary breakfast, newspaper and all-day coffee. There is complimentary wireless Internet access available in public areas and rooms.

Highlights
  • Popular Condado Beach one block away from Sandy Beach Hotel
  • Complimentary breakfast and newspaper
  • Rooftop sundeck
  • Located near chic Ashford Avenue
Rooms

The Sandy Beach Hotel has 25 rooms, each simply decorated with a Caribbean flair. Expect sky blue or white walls and palm tree art. Every room has a balcony, most with urban views and blackout curtains. Bathrooms have showers, and every room includes complimentary Wi-Fi. Amenities include air conditioning, cable TV, telephones and in-room safes.

Recreation
  • The Sandy Beach Hotel lies one block from beautiful Condado Beach.
Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
Attractions
  • Condado Beach (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Plaza del Mercado (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Puerto Rico Museum of Art (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Ocean Park (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • San Juan Central Municipal Park (1.1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • San Juan Cathedral (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access throughout Sandy Beach Hotel

Hotel Map

18.456 -66.0716
Area served
4 Condado Avenue, Condado Area, San Juan, P.R. 00907
Nearby airports
San Juan Puerto Rico, International Airport (SJU): Approximately 15 minutes from the property.
Area description
This San Juan hotel is located in Puerto Rico's tourist district, just steps from the beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandy Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Sandy Beach Hotel Rooms

Senior Only Special
This Room is furnished with 1 Queen Bed or 2 Twin Size **Note Bed-Bedding Type will be assigned at the time of Check In. All Air conditioned guest room, private bathroom, color/cable TV, free wireless Internet, direct dial Phone and in room safe. Age - 65+
Cruise Only Special
This Room is furnished with 1 Queen Bed or 2 Twin Size Bed **Note Bed-Bedding Type will be assigned at the time of Check In. All Air conditioned guest room, private bathroom, color/cable TV, free wireless Internet, direct dial Phone and in room safe.
Standard Guest Room with 2 Double Beds
This room is furnished with 2 double beds.
Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.
Standard Guest Room with 2 Twin Beds
This room is furnished with 2 twin beds.

Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.
Standard Guest Room with 1 Queen Bed
This room is furnished with one queen bed.

Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.2 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.2 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.4 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
Multiple dining options within walking distances.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Sandy Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence, RI
Jul 18, 2010

OMG

I wanted to stay on or near the beach and that was the ONLY thing about this hotel i enjoyed! I met other travelers that were amazing & friendly but the hotel was a HOT MESS!!! The bathroom light didnt work unless i HIT the bulb even after asking for it to be fixed twice! There was a sanitary napkin wrapped around the pole of the bathroom sink!!! (UNBELIEVEABLE) The cleaning lady didnt change the sheets 4 out of 6 nights we stayed! One day she made 1 bed and not the other! She didnt sweep or mop the floor most days! The female clerk was an atrocity!! She was rude, condescending AND charged my debit card WITHOUT my knowledge or consent! My cousin and i are extremely dissatisfied with this hotel. I will never stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

not much comes alive until after 5pm! after that the whole strip is amazing!

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sandy Beach Hater
NY
Jul 13, 2010

Sandy Beach? More like creepy beach

Well, the first thing I did was take off the disgusting, dirty, foul smelling comforter off the bed and rolled it up and put it under the door because there was a gap of about 4 inches between the door and the floor. They never came to clean the room and they never replaced the towels. The shower was gross, we felt we had to wear shoes while showering. There were dirty toothbrushes left in the room from the previous guests. We actually thought about sleeping on the floor becase the bed was so uncomfortable. The staff either watched tv or the computer and seem irritated when we asked questions. The parking was $10 a day and a deposit of $30 was required, which was not disclosed to us. We were upset that we even bothered staying in San Juan. We wish we stayed in the other parts of the island. We couldn't wait to check out. If there was any way we could have gotten a refund, we would of done it. After seeing the room, we wanted to immediately check out but I already paid the room in full and didn't want to lose $200.00 so we felt we had to stay in this horrible room that I am sure was a crime scene at one time. I did look for the yellow caution tape and a chalk outline of the body under the bed, but we didn't find it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sandy Beach Hater
NY
Jul 13, 2010

Sandy Beach? More like creepy beach

Well, the first thing I did was take off the disgusting, dirty, foul smelling comforter off the bed and rolled it up and put it under the door because there was a gap of about 4 inches between the door and the floor. They never came to clean the room and they never replaced the towels. The shower was gross, we felt we had to wear shoes while showering. There were dirty toothbrushes left in the room from the previous guests. We actually thought about sleeping on the floor becase the bed was so uncomfortable. The staff either watched tv or the computer and seem irritated when we asked questions. The parking was $10 a day and a deposit of $30 was required, which was not disclosed to us. We were upset that we even bothered staying in San Juan. We wish we stayed in the other parts of the island. We couldn't wait to check out. If there was any way we could have gotten a refund, we would of done it. After seeing the room, we wanted to immediately check out but I already paid the room in full and didn't want to lose $200.00 so we felt we had to stay in this horrible room that I am sure was a crime scene at one time. I did look for the yellow caution tape and a chalk outline of the body under the bed, but we didn't find it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rimma
chicago,il
Dec 6, 2010

terrible!!!

never,never again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence, RI
Jul 18, 2010

OMG

I wanted to stay on or near the beach and that was the ONLY thing about this hotel i enjoyed! I met other travelers that were amazing & friendly but the hotel was a HOT MESS!!! The bathroom light didnt work unless i HIT the bulb even after asking for it to be fixed twice! There was a sanitary napkin wrapped around the pole of the bathroom sink!!! (UNBELIEVEABLE) The cleaning lady didnt change the sheets 4 out of 6 nights we stayed! One day she made 1 bed and not the other! She didnt sweep or mop the floor most days! The female clerk was an atrocity!! She was rude, condescending AND charged my debit card WITHOUT my knowledge or consent! My cousin and i are extremely dissatisfied with this hotel. I will never stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

not much comes alive until after 5pm! after that the whole strip is amazing!

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
May 31, 2011

Hostel's Have Better Amenities

In PR for a wedding, thought we would save a little money and try a locally owned place with a little more charm and a little less big chain feel. When we checked in, the hotel seemed nice enough - we had certainly stayed in worse in our travels. Upon entering the room, all seemed well until we turned down the bedding and found a large amount of hair in both beds. When I went to tell the manager, he first gave me the keys to another room to check out so we could just change rooms. The beds in this room were full of hair also so he gave us new linens and assured us he would speak to the maid and management. The next day, we went out with family, enjoyed the sites, etc. When we returned to the hotel to shower and dress for the rehearsal dinner, the beds had been made but when we checked, we found more hairy sheets. The water pressure in the shower was non existent, there was barely enough water coming through to fill a drinking glass. When we told mgmt about this new development, they claimed it was due to a city issue. As we had just come from the beach shower directly outside the hotel and had not experienced a water pressure issue, we knew this was not the case. At this point we had had enough and canceled the rest of our stay and moved next door to the Marriott. They refused to refund any money and offered no apologies, only excuses and asked why we didn't mention the bedding while the maid was still on site. The continental breakfast was served in an outdoor, uncovered cafe. The milk was lukewarm and the donuts were slimy and soggy. At the other end of this same outdoor space is the maintenance and laundry room where "clean" bedding is kept in a shopping cart outside, uncovered collecting debris and bugs before being placed on the beds. The only good thing we got from this hotel was a suggestion for where to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
princeton, nj
Jun 20, 2010

Sandy Beach Hotel

My friends and I were without washcloths our entire stay at the hotel. There were also little bugs crawling on the desk, as well as on the beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rimma
chicago,il
Dec 6, 2010

terrible!!!

never,never again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
May 31, 2011

Hostel's Have Better Amenities

In PR for a wedding, thought we would save a little money and try a locally owned place with a little more charm and a little less big chain feel. When we checked in, the hotel seemed nice enough - we had certainly stayed in worse in our travels. Upon entering the room, all seemed well until we turned down the bedding and found a large amount of hair in both beds. When I went to tell the manager, he first gave me the keys to another room to check out so we could just change rooms. The beds in this room were full of hair also so he gave us new linens and assured us he would speak to the maid and management. The next day, we went out with family, enjoyed the sites, etc. When we returned to the hotel to shower and dress for the rehearsal dinner, the beds had been made but when we checked, we found more hairy sheets. The water pressure in the shower was non existent, there was barely enough water coming through to fill a drinking glass. When we told mgmt about this new development, they claimed it was due to a city issue. As we had just come from the beach shower directly outside the hotel and had not experienced a water pressure issue, we knew this was not the case. At this point we had had enough and canceled the rest of our stay and moved next door to the Marriott. They refused to refund any money and offered no apologies, only excuses and asked why we didn't mention the bedding while the maid was still on site. The continental breakfast was served in an outdoor, uncovered cafe. The milk was lukewarm and the donuts were slimy and soggy. At the other end of this same outdoor space is the maintenance and laundry room where "clean" bedding is kept in a shopping cart outside, uncovered collecting debris and bugs before being placed on the beds. The only good thing we got from this hotel was a suggestion for where to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
doll87
new york
Sep 7, 2012

family vacation

It was terrible toilet broken shower disgusting sheets had sand as soon as we attives. We was suppose to stay for five days we booked another hotel after the first night. Positive right by the beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top