$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Sandy Beach Hotel

2 stars
4 Condado Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
47 reviews
great value steps from the beach

Great location about 20 feet from Condado beach, simple but comfortable rooms, friendly staff.... See full review

  • JR in PR
  • Aug 1, 2014
Perfect location getaway

Perfect location it is close to the beach, and I say close I mean like 5 steps away from it. There... See full review

  • La peque
  • Jun 10, 2014
Budget San Juan bed and breakfast just off Condado Beach

The Sandy Beach Hotel is located very close to palm-shaded Condado Beach, where the protected cove is a family favorite. The bed and breakfast also lies nearby an oceanfront park, La Ventana al Mar, and a popular European-style waterfront promenade. The budget hotel's cozy, shaded patio with tables and chairs is a great spot to enjoy the complimentary breakfast, newspaper and all-day coffee. There is complimentary wireless Internet access available in public areas and rooms.

Highlights
  • Popular Condado Beach one block away from Sandy Beach Hotel
  • Complimentary breakfast and newspaper
  • Rooftop sundeck
  • Located near chic Ashford Avenue
Rooms

The Sandy Beach Hotel has 25 rooms, each simply decorated with a Caribbean flair. Expect sky blue or white walls and palm tree art. Every room has a balcony, most with urban views and blackout curtains. Bathrooms have showers, and every room includes complimentary Wi-Fi. Amenities include air conditioning, cable TV, telephones and in-room safes.

Recreation
  • The Sandy Beach Hotel lies one block from beautiful Condado Beach.
Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
Attractions
  • Condado Beach (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Plaza del Mercado (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Puerto Rico Museum of Art (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Ocean Park (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • San Juan Central Municipal Park (1.1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • San Juan Cathedral (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access throughout Sandy Beach Hotel

Hotel Map

18.456 -66.0716
Area served
4 Condado Avenue, Condado Area, San Juan, P.R. 00907
Nearby airports
San Juan Puerto Rico, International Airport (SJU): Approximately 15 minutes from the property.
Area description
This San Juan hotel is located in Puerto Rico's tourist district, just steps from the beach.

Sandy Beach Hotel Rooms

Senior Only Special
This Room is furnished with 1 Queen Bed or 2 Twin Size **Note Bed-Bedding Type will be assigned at the time of Check In. All Air conditioned guest room, private bathroom, color/cable TV, free wireless Internet, direct dial Phone and in room safe. Age - 65+
Cruise Only Special
This Room is furnished with 1 Queen Bed or 2 Twin Size Bed **Note Bed-Bedding Type will be assigned at the time of Check In. All Air conditioned guest room, private bathroom, color/cable TV, free wireless Internet, direct dial Phone and in room safe.
Standard Guest Room with 2 Double Beds
This room is furnished with 2 double beds.
Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.
Standard Guest Room with 2 Twin Beds
This room is furnished with 2 twin beds.

Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.
Standard Guest Room with 1 Queen Bed
This room is furnished with one queen bed.

Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.2 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.2 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.4 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
Multiple dining options within walking distances.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Sandy Beach Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sandy Beach Hater
NY
Jul 13, 2010

Sandy Beach? More like creepy beach

Well, the first thing I did was take off the disgusting, dirty, foul smelling comforter off the bed and rolled it up and put it under the door because there was a gap of about 4 inches between the door and the floor. They never came to clean the room and they never replaced the towels. The shower was gross, we felt we had to wear shoes while showering. There were dirty toothbrushes left in the room from the previous guests. We actually thought about sleeping on the floor becase the bed was so uncomfortable. The staff either watched tv or the computer and seem irritated when we asked questions. The parking was $10 a day and a deposit of $30 was required, which was not disclosed to us. We were upset that we even bothered staying in San Juan. We wish we stayed in the other parts of the island. We couldn't wait to check out. If there was any way we could have gotten a refund, we would of done it. After seeing the room, we wanted to immediately check out but I already paid the room in full and didn't want to lose $200.00 so we felt we had to stay in this horrible room that I am sure was a crime scene at one time. I did look for the yellow caution tape and a chalk outline of the body under the bed, but we didn't find it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
swv
Austin, TX
Jul 12, 2010

Not too shabby

This hotel was just fine for our purposes on our trip to San Juan. It's nothing special or luxurious, but it's cheap, in a good location, and kept fairly clean (minus the unavoidable sand build up in the stairwells being right next to the beach). Parking was a bit tricky. The Sandy Beach has a lot a block over with limited spots for $10, the Marriott has a garage across the street for $18, and if you're lucky, you can find one of the few free spots at the end of the street. We only ended up paying for parking twice out of 5 nights. Rooms are small, beds aren't super comfy, but they'll do and they keep it fairly clean. Lots of bars of soap and lotion are provided, but no shampoo. At least Walgreens is just a block away. A nice little 32" flat screen with cable TV is a nice touch for an other wise kind of dated room. Free breakfast is nice for those days where you just need a little bit of food to get going. They provide Coffee, orange juice, white bread for toast with butter or jelly, Honey Nut Cheerios, milk, pastries, and bananas. Much more expensive hotels in the area don't even provide stuff like that for free. Location is great. About 100 feet from a nice stretch of the beach. It's in the Condado area which has some nice hotel and casinos within walking distance, also some restaurants and stores. It's not really an area where I would come from elsewhere to hang out, but it was nice on slower week nights. It's also in a pretty central location to other fun parts of San Juan. It's just a short walk or cab ride to Old San Juan, La Plazita, Isla Verde, Ocean Park, etc. I only give the hotel three stars because it is pretty bare bones and dated, but there is plenty of positive about it. It not a hotel that you can have a good time spending all day at, but there's plenty of fun to be had elsewhere in San Juan, and it's right in the middle of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
prtourist
Mayaguez PR
Jun 20, 2010

Sandy Beach good Option

I stayed one night. Very Friendly personnel. Very well iluminated at night, lot of security in the front street;(taxi station close by the hotel (front)) Walking distance is a Walgreens pharmacy ( 3 minutes walking). Definitively a good option for staying a couple of days and enjoy the Condado area at a good price. This hotel does not include dinner, dinner only continental breakfast which was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close by good hotels with good entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
princeton, nj
Jun 20, 2010

Sandy Beach Hotel

My friends and I were without washcloths our entire stay at the hotel. There were also little bugs crawling on the desk, as well as on the beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CRNA2B
Alabama
May 15, 2010

Get's the Job Done!

The beach was only steps away from the front door! The rooms are a bit small, bathroom was a tight fit for a 6'3" visitor like me, but after serving on a Navy ship - - no problem! (Like most of the time, never in the room much. So, bed was comfortable, cable T.V. was in Spanish and English, again, get's the job done.) Friendly reminder: You are traveling to a region where Spanish is number one!! If you don't speak Spanish, dont' take it out on the staff! A smile will go a long way if you are not understood. Also, at least one person working at all times could speak fluent English. So, don't worry. . . be happy! You'll have a great trip that way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything from Italian to Chinese, local Puerto Rican cuisine to Wendy's Hamburgers could be found within 2 blocks off the hotel. Walgreen's pharmacy open 24 hours per day with plenty of sunscreen, t-shirts, flip-flops, you name it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
etus2000
Dallas, TX
May 12, 2010

Satisfactory stay

I got all I needed for my budget, nothing fancy or flashy, but for the price this is a good choice. I really liked that you would just step outside and there is the beach. Also, great entertainment and great restaurants are all walking distance. The staff is friendly and I got WI-FI downstairs in the lobby. My room was clean, comfortable bed, and good cable TV show/movie/news options. They also have complimentary breakfast, mostly pastries/cereals, but I traveled to PR with a specific agenda and left my room early in the mornings, so I already had other plans. I got all I needed for my 5-day stay. Parking is a few dollars extra but I didn't have a rental, so no issues for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save the car rental, everything you need is walking distance; nightlife, entertainment, beach, restaurants, Taxis are in front of the hotel (~25min to the airport) and even Walgreens is a 2-min walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YUI&RISA
Astoria, NY
Apr 4, 2010

Great Hotel!!

This hotel was soooo nice and I want to recommend it to my friends!! All Stuffs were friendly and location was really good (less than 30sec to the beach!) Continental break first and room were ok. Totally, its good hotel with this price range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many Restaurant, Bar, and Casino.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search