$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Sandy Beach Hotel

2 stars
View map of 4 Condado Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandy Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
May 31, 2011

Hostel's Have Better Amenities

In PR for a wedding, thought we would save a little money and try a locally owned place with a little more charm and a little less big chain feel. When we checked in, the hotel seemed nice enough - we had certainly stayed in worse in our travels. Upon entering the room, all seemed well until we turned down the bedding and found a large amount of hair in both beds. When I went to tell the manager, he first gave me the keys to another room to check out so we could just change rooms. The beds in this room were full of hair also so he gave us new linens and assured us he would speak to the maid and management. The next day, we went out with family, enjoyed the sites, etc. When we returned to the hotel to shower and dress for the rehearsal dinner, the beds had been made but when we checked, we found more hairy sheets. The water pressure in the shower was non existent, there was barely enough water coming through to fill a drinking glass. When we told mgmt about this new development, they claimed it was due to a city issue. As we had just come from the beach shower directly outside the hotel and had not experienced a water pressure issue, we knew this was not the case. At this point we had had enough and canceled the rest of our stay and moved next door to the Marriott. They refused to refund any money and offered no apologies, only excuses and asked why we didn't mention the bedding while the maid was still on site. The continental breakfast was served in an outdoor, uncovered cafe. The milk was lukewarm and the donuts were slimy and soggy. At the other end of this same outdoor space is the maintenance and laundry room where "clean" bedding is kept in a shopping cart outside, uncovered collecting debris and bugs before being placed on the beds. The only good thing we got from this hotel was a suggestion for where to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MIKE FROM B.X
Business
BRONX,N.Y
May 6, 2011

SANDY BEACH HOTEL WAS O.K

SANDY BEACH HOTEL IS IN A UPPER MIDDLE CLASS AREA. GUCCI,LOUIS VOITTON,SALVATORE FERRAGAMO STORES NEAR BY.LOTS OF CONDOMINIUMS AND POLICE PATROLS IN THE AREA.THE HOTEL FACES THE BEACH!BUT THE HOTEL IS VERY SMALL AND THERES IS NO MICROWAVE OR REFRIGERATOR IN THE ROOM.HOTEL ROOM WAS CLEAN AND A GOOD PRICE IF YOU ONLY NEED A ROOM TO SLEEP AND YOU EAT OUTSIDE.I WENT TO THE RAIN FOREST,EL MORRO OLD SAN JUAN, CATAMARAN BOAT RIDE TO CULEBRA ISLAND AND RAFTING AT A BIOBAY LAGOON IN FAJARDO,P.R

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

GOOD HOTEL IF YOU HANG OUTSIDE ALOT,NO MICROWAVE AND NO REFRIGERATOR

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Mar 27, 2011

Not the Marriott. That's next door

This is an old hotel with the marks of age. It used to be Canario by the Sea, and I've stayed there before. Many basics are not found or hard to get. I had no clothes hangers when I checked in. Asked for four or five. Got three, one for each night of my stay. There were two large bath towels provided with a bath mat. No hand towels, and no wash cloths. The mat disappeared after the first day. The grills in the doors of the closet and bath had a growing collection of dust bunnies. The switch in the bath required "special handling." The remote for the TV did not work. There were no working vending machines in the hotel. The walls were scuffed, but the tile floor was clean. The location is superb: less than a block from Ashford and Condado. Walk out the hotel's front door, turn left, take fifty steps and you're at the Condado Beach. Turn right and in a block you'll arrive at a San Juan landmark, Walgreens 24 hour pharmacy and market. You'll spend some time here, picking up things you don't get at the hotel. Ashford is lined with shops and eating places. Bus service is available on Ashford and Taxi stands abound at this hotel and the Marriott next door. There are other hotels in Condado with better amenities and a lower price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nurse on Spring Break
Business
Columbus, OH
Mar 24, 2011

Good Deal

We only stayed in the hotel to sleep. We spent all day on the beach or on excursions. The rooms are small, but they get the job done. You go to San Juan for the beach, not the hotel. Definately a cheap way to have a nice vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to get out of the tourist areas to get really cheap food and beer. The local spots will look rundown, but the food is delicious. Also, Punto de Visto is a restuarant by the ship port in old san juan. It has great prices and delicious food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Puerto Rico is great
Business
New York
Mar 22, 2011

Decent

Acceptable cleanliness, friendly and helpful front desk staff. Acceptable comfort level, mattress was fine. Everything worked fine. There was only one hanger in the closet, and there was no balcony, but that was fine as I don't go to a hotel to hang out on the balcony, especially when the hotel is 30 meters from the beach. Elevator does not stop even with the floor on floors 2 and 3. First floor rooms essentially have no view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinese restaurent Tayzan right around the corner is very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
currly
Business
Washington DC
Mar 18, 2011

It ain't the RITZ

You get what you pay for. The staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean but very small (all i needed). Not a very nice area kinda run down (lots of homeless asking for change but I dont mind that. Some good restaurants in the area. Easy to get around buy Bus or Cab. Cab stand outside. Beach was kinda lame not many people and the water was ruff (by people I mean hot babe's)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orosco's on Ashford ave. great fish not very fancy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Mar 18, 2011

San Juan, PR

Hotel was a thirty second walk from the beach and a minute walk from Condado's main strip. We weren't looking for anything fancy and after reading the reviews expected two star quality at best however our expectations were exceeded when we checked in. Nice little hotel and friendly staff with a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SSWG
Business
Twin CIties, MN
Feb 25, 2011

Nice

The hotel was a descent little hotel within 30 steps of the beach. Which is just what I wanted, the size of the room was a little on the small side, but that was perfectly fine being my partner and I were always out site seeing! The room itself was a little outdated but once again we didn't spend much time in the room. The roof top terrace was pretty cool to enjoy the late night cocktail. I do have to say I was kinda concerned about the doors locking after 8:00pm. Had us wondering if the area was really safe or not? The real issue I had was the fact that we would only get 2 bath towels and no wash clothes, and maybe the fact that the sheet was to small for the bed and yet the comforter was a couple sizes to big. Really if the Sandy Beach Hotel would just upgrade some things it would be perfect! The hotel is close to shops restaurants, the beach, bars, and bus line! Everything was within walking distance, which is nice for any tourist! BIG props for the hotel staff for being very helpful during the duration of our stay! I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bert Betterman
Business
Des Moines, IA
Feb 25, 2011

If It's Not About the Hotel

If you want to "rough it" for a while and try to experience true, ordinary Puerto Rican culture, this hotel is a good experience. The rooms are small and old school, no electronic card keys for rooms, just the old school, real key. There's a window AC unit, a small shower, tiny beds, not much closet space. Basically if you're into hotel amenities, this isn't your place, but if you don't mind the simple life for a vacation, it's a perfect location to get to Condado Beach and everything on the ocean "strip" of Ashford Ave, and it's about $15 to $20 for a cab to Old San Juan. The staff is courteous enough if you ask for assistance, but the housekeeping is a little spotty and unreliable sometimes, so you just might have to ask for towels or something occasionally.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to experience mofongo with the sofrito, and you can do so only a few blocks west of the Sandy Beach Hotel at Orozco's. Also Mhan Chung has some great food for fairly cheap including a soft-shell crab for $8.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
melrosepark
Feb 20, 2011

it was very nice

1st time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top