$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 15, 2015 Check-out: Feb 18, 2015

Sandy Beach Hotel

2 stars
4 Condado Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
50 reviews
perfect location

hotel was just average but clean enough. all about the location - can see the ocean at the end of... See full review

  • New York Guys
  • Jan 12, 2015
great value steps from the beach

Great location about 20 feet from Condado beach, simple but comfortable rooms, friendly staff.... See full review

  • JR in PR
  • Aug 1, 2014
Budget San Juan accommodations just off Condado Beach

The Sandy Beach Hotel is located very close to palm-shaded Condado Beach, where the protected cove is a family favorite. Theproperty also lies nearby an oceanfront park, La Ventana al Mar, and a popular European-style waterfront promenade. The budget hotel's cozy, shaded patio with tables and chairs is a great spot to enjoy the newspaper and all-day coffee. Guests savour delicious deli and creole a la carte specialties at the in-house restaurant, Piu Bello Gelato. Wi-Fi access is available in public areas and rooms.

Highlights
  • Popular Condado Beach one block away from Sandy Beach Hotel
  • Complimentary newspaper
  • Rooftop sundeck
  • Located near chic Ashford Avenue
Rooms
The Sandy Beach Hotel has 25 rooms, each simply decorated with a Caribbean flair. Expect sky blue or white walls and palm tree art. Every room has a balcony, most with urban views and blackout curtains. Bathrooms have showers, and every room includes complimentary Wi-Fi. Amenities include air conditioning, cable TV, telephones and in-room safes.
Recreation
  • The Sandy Beach Hotel lies one block from beautiful Condado Beach.
Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Maron International Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
Attractions
  • Condado Beach (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Plaza del Mercado (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Puerto Rico Museum of Art (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Ocean Park (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • San Juan Central Municipal Park (1.1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • San Juan Cathedral (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access throughout Sandy Beach Hotel

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandy Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Sandy Beach Hotel Rooms

Senior Only Special
This Room is furnished with 1 Queen Bed or 2 Twin Size **Note Bed-Bedding Type will be assigned at the time of Check In. All Air conditioned guest room, private bathroom, color/cable TV, free wireless Internet, direct dial Phone and in room safe. Age - 65+
Cruise Only Special
This Room is furnished with 1 Queen Bed or 2 Twin Size Bed **Note Bed-Bedding Type will be assigned at the time of Check In. All Air conditioned guest room, private bathroom, color/cable TV, free wireless Internet, direct dial Phone and in room safe.
Standard Guest Room with 2 Double Beds
This room is furnished with 2 double beds.
Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.
Standard Guest Room with 2 Twin Beds
This room is furnished with 2 twin beds.

Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.
Standard Guest Room with 1 Queen Bed
This room is furnished with one queen bed.

Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.2 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.4 mi

Dining

Piu Bello Gelato
Deli and creole food restaurant open from 7:00am to 8:00pm. Menu a la carte.
Nearby Restaurants
Multiple dining options within walking distances.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Sandy Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patty O
Tampa florida
Mar 17, 2013

Will definitely stay here again

This hotel was great!! Yes it wasn't the cleanest hotel I've stayed at, but I payed less than 100$ to stay 10 feet from the beach. Me and my girlfriend and two friends stayed here for springbreak and can't wait to go back. In an awesome location, staff was awesome everything was awesome. There's an awesome private roof that was an added bonus. Go go go

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tijunas bar and grill!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mumu
Business
Flushing, Queens, NY, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Great location

budget traveler..this area is great in condado.. step away from beach. Within 5mins walk to bus, food, shoping and walgreen and starbuck and across from to marriott hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

By the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Blondi5338
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Feb 15, 2012

Sandy Beach Hotel

Very basic hotel and we found bugs in our first floor rooms. The second and third floor rooms were better. Good for the price though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marlane22
Business
Alva, OK 73717, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Great location!

Hotel was in an excellent location right on the beach! Room was small but clean and comfortable. You don't go on vacation to sit in your room. Take a kayak tour of the Bio- bay it is amazing. The Camuy Caves are not worth it, very dissappointed there. Overall a wonderful place to visit. If you want fancy this is not the hotel for you but, if you want value and comfort I suggest this for your stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Kayaking trip of the Bio-bay is a must see and do! It is for all levels. I had never kayaked before but the guides made me feel comfortable and ensured I had a wonderful time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ally P
Business
Queens, NY, USA
Sep 9, 2011

Budget traveler or singles

I stayed at Sandy Beach very recently. Basically you get what you pay for. The rooms and bathrooms are small. Nice bedroom for someone who's alone. The bathroom was extra small and had a stand up shower. No amenities inside the room, no iron or hairdryer. But there was a toaster, ice maker, etc on the first floor in the tiny kitchenette type area. There was nice size flat screen TVs. The floor was pretty dirty and I found that housekeeping only comes if you have that little sign hanging on the door. The staff was very friendly. I did appreciate the vanity in the room because a friend at a nearby hotel, had a very small TV and no area to do makeup besides the very tiny bathroom sink. The continental breakfast is basically toast, butter, OJ, coffee and a muffin. If you're looking for something better stay across the street at the Mariott because you'll probably end up parking there because Sandy doesn't have many spots to offer. The location is great. Its not much but I did enjoy my stay here. If I was on a very tight budget I wouldn't mind staying here again. Its perfect for people who plan on spending most of their time exploring PR outside of their rooms. One thing i really disliked was that they close the front doors at 8pm, 4/5 nights i was there waiting a few minutes for them to open it after ringing the bell several times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Latin Star on Ashford across from Condom World is a good spot for a cheap breakfast! Tijuana's (head east on ashford) is great for dinner and try the margaritas's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eli510
Business
Berkeley, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Pay extra... stay somewhere else.

Really small rooms. Sheets were dirty and the floors still had sand all over the place. Also i payed for parking which is a block over. They gave me this key card which didnt work half the time and believe me it wasnt fun dealing with the back and forth bs. Yes, you get what you pay for and less. Do your self a favor pay the extra 50$ for a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Momo's bar in Isla Verde. Cheap drinks and good music!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
robjr70
Business
PA
Jun 6, 2011

Nice and Fare

Nice little place to sleep, steps to the beach and close to the happening in Condado city, but not enough towels and very limited parking space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

very good restaurants and good places to shop

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
May 31, 2011

Hostel's Have Better Amenities

In PR for a wedding, thought we would save a little money and try a locally owned place with a little more charm and a little less big chain feel. When we checked in, the hotel seemed nice enough - we had certainly stayed in worse in our travels. Upon entering the room, all seemed well until we turned down the bedding and found a large amount of hair in both beds. When I went to tell the manager, he first gave me the keys to another room to check out so we could just change rooms. The beds in this room were full of hair also so he gave us new linens and assured us he would speak to the maid and management. The next day, we went out with family, enjoyed the sites, etc. When we returned to the hotel to shower and dress for the rehearsal dinner, the beds had been made but when we checked, we found more hairy sheets. The water pressure in the shower was non existent, there was barely enough water coming through to fill a drinking glass. When we told mgmt about this new development, they claimed it was due to a city issue. As we had just come from the beach shower directly outside the hotel and had not experienced a water pressure issue, we knew this was not the case. At this point we had had enough and canceled the rest of our stay and moved next door to the Marriott. They refused to refund any money and offered no apologies, only excuses and asked why we didn't mention the bedding while the maid was still on site. The continental breakfast was served in an outdoor, uncovered cafe. The milk was lukewarm and the donuts were slimy and soggy. At the other end of this same outdoor space is the maintenance and laundry room where "clean" bedding is kept in a shopping cart outside, uncovered collecting debris and bugs before being placed on the beds. The only good thing we got from this hotel was a suggestion for where to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MIKE FROM B.X
Business
BRONX,N.Y
May 6, 2011

SANDY BEACH HOTEL WAS O.K

SANDY BEACH HOTEL IS IN A UPPER MIDDLE CLASS AREA. GUCCI,LOUIS VOITTON,SALVATORE FERRAGAMO STORES NEAR BY.LOTS OF CONDOMINIUMS AND POLICE PATROLS IN THE AREA.THE HOTEL FACES THE BEACH!BUT THE HOTEL IS VERY SMALL AND THERES IS NO MICROWAVE OR REFRIGERATOR IN THE ROOM.HOTEL ROOM WAS CLEAN AND A GOOD PRICE IF YOU ONLY NEED A ROOM TO SLEEP AND YOU EAT OUTSIDE.I WENT TO THE RAIN FOREST,EL MORRO OLD SAN JUAN, CATAMARAN BOAT RIDE TO CULEBRA ISLAND AND RAFTING AT A BIOBAY LAGOON IN FAJARDO,P.R

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

GOOD HOTEL IF YOU HANG OUTSIDE ALOT,NO MICROWAVE AND NO REFRIGERATOR

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Mar 27, 2011

Not the Marriott. That's next door

This is an old hotel with the marks of age. It used to be Canario by the Sea, and I've stayed there before. Many basics are not found or hard to get. I had no clothes hangers when I checked in. Asked for four or five. Got three, one for each night of my stay. There were two large bath towels provided with a bath mat. No hand towels, and no wash cloths. The mat disappeared after the first day. The grills in the doors of the closet and bath had a growing collection of dust bunnies. The switch in the bath required "special handling." The remote for the TV did not work. There were no working vending machines in the hotel. The walls were scuffed, but the tile floor was clean. The location is superb: less than a block from Ashford and Condado. Walk out the hotel's front door, turn left, take fifty steps and you're at the Condado Beach. Turn right and in a block you'll arrive at a San Juan landmark, Walgreens 24 hour pharmacy and market. You'll spend some time here, picking up things you don't get at the hotel. Ashford is lined with shops and eating places. Bus service is available on Ashford and Taxi stands abound at this hotel and the Marriott next door. There are other hotels in Condado with better amenities and a lower price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nurse on Spring Break
Business
Columbus, OH
Mar 24, 2011

Good Deal

We only stayed in the hotel to sleep. We spent all day on the beach or on excursions. The rooms are small, but they get the job done. You go to San Juan for the beach, not the hotel. Definately a cheap way to have a nice vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to get out of the tourist areas to get really cheap food and beer. The local spots will look rundown, but the food is delicious. Also, Punto de Visto is a restuarant by the ship port in old san juan. It has great prices and delicious food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top