$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Sandy Beach Hotel

2 stars
View map of 4 Condado Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandy Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CJ Jones
San Juan P.R.
Nov 18, 2012

Great Price, Great location!

Hotel is right off the beach. There is a lot of shopping, restaurants and casinos in walking distance. You can get a bus at the corner for a 20 minute ride to Old San Juan. All staff are friendly and accommodating. Wouldn't go to any other hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CJ Jones
Business
San Juan P.R.
Nov 18, 2012

Great Price, Great location!

Hotel is right off the beach. There is a lot of shopping, restaurants and casinos in walking distance. You can get a bus at the corner for a 20 minute ride to Old San Juan. All staff are friendly and accommodating. Wouldn't go to any other hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
doll87
Business
new york
Sep 7, 2012

family vacation

It was terrible toilet broken shower disgusting sheets had sand as soon as we attives. We was suppose to stay for five days we booked another hotel after the first night. Positive right by the beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
db time flies
Business
Indiana
Jul 9, 2012

Location Location

If you are there for the beach at a good price this is it. Room was on bottom floor . Lots of space in room and most of the time quiet. Ocean had nice wave action. Walgreens with in easy walking distance. Fast food and resturants with in walking distance. Down fall was no place to park my have a couple spots. Gave me a plastic card key for parking around the block for$9 a day. Ihad no luck getting in. Parked at the hottel guarge next door for $18 a day. Lots of oneway streetsaround area. Yes I would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

old San Juan National historic site is agood day. visit the fort. walk the sidewalk around the fort. and visit all the shopping and resturants in old town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mumu
Business
Flushing, Queens, NY, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Great location

budget traveler..this area is great in condado.. step away from beach. Within 5mins walk to bus, food, shoping and walgreen and starbuck and across from to marriott hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

By the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Blondi5338
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Feb 15, 2012

Sandy Beach Hotel

Very basic hotel and we found bugs in our first floor rooms. The second and third floor rooms were better. Good for the price though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marlane22
Business
Alva, OK 73717, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Great location!

Hotel was in an excellent location right on the beach! Room was small but clean and comfortable. You don't go on vacation to sit in your room. Take a kayak tour of the Bio- bay it is amazing. The Camuy Caves are not worth it, very dissappointed there. Overall a wonderful place to visit. If you want fancy this is not the hotel for you but, if you want value and comfort I suggest this for your stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Kayaking trip of the Bio-bay is a must see and do! It is for all levels. I had never kayaked before but the guides made me feel comfortable and ensured I had a wonderful time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ally P
Business
Queens, NY, USA
Sep 9, 2011

Budget traveler or singles

I stayed at Sandy Beach very recently. Basically you get what you pay for. The rooms and bathrooms are small. Nice bedroom for someone who's alone. The bathroom was extra small and had a stand up shower. No amenities inside the room, no iron or hairdryer. But there was a toaster, ice maker, etc on the first floor in the tiny kitchenette type area. There was nice size flat screen TVs. The floor was pretty dirty and I found that housekeeping only comes if you have that little sign hanging on the door. The staff was very friendly. I did appreciate the vanity in the room because a friend at a nearby hotel, had a very small TV and no area to do makeup besides the very tiny bathroom sink. The continental breakfast is basically toast, butter, OJ, coffee and a muffin. If you're looking for something better stay across the street at the Mariott because you'll probably end up parking there because Sandy doesn't have many spots to offer. The location is great. Its not much but I did enjoy my stay here. If I was on a very tight budget I wouldn't mind staying here again. Its perfect for people who plan on spending most of their time exploring PR outside of their rooms. One thing i really disliked was that they close the front doors at 8pm, 4/5 nights i was there waiting a few minutes for them to open it after ringing the bell several times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Latin Star on Ashford across from Condom World is a good spot for a cheap breakfast! Tijuana's (head east on ashford) is great for dinner and try the margaritas's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eli510
Business
Berkeley, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Pay extra... stay somewhere else.

Really small rooms. Sheets were dirty and the floors still had sand all over the place. Also i payed for parking which is a block over. They gave me this key card which didnt work half the time and believe me it wasnt fun dealing with the back and forth bs. Yes, you get what you pay for and less. Do your self a favor pay the extra 50$ for a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Momo's bar in Isla Verde. Cheap drinks and good music!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
robjr70
Business
PA
Jun 6, 2011

Nice and Fare

Nice little place to sleep, steps to the beach and close to the happening in Condado city, but not enough towels and very limited parking space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

very good restaurants and good places to shop

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
May 31, 2011

Hostel's Have Better Amenities

In PR for a wedding, thought we would save a little money and try a locally owned place with a little more charm and a little less big chain feel. When we checked in, the hotel seemed nice enough - we had certainly stayed in worse in our travels. Upon entering the room, all seemed well until we turned down the bedding and found a large amount of hair in both beds. When I went to tell the manager, he first gave me the keys to another room to check out so we could just change rooms. The beds in this room were full of hair also so he gave us new linens and assured us he would speak to the maid and management. The next day, we went out with family, enjoyed the sites, etc. When we returned to the hotel to shower and dress for the rehearsal dinner, the beds had been made but when we checked, we found more hairy sheets. The water pressure in the shower was non existent, there was barely enough water coming through to fill a drinking glass. When we told mgmt about this new development, they claimed it was due to a city issue. As we had just come from the beach shower directly outside the hotel and had not experienced a water pressure issue, we knew this was not the case. At this point we had had enough and canceled the rest of our stay and moved next door to the Marriott. They refused to refund any money and offered no apologies, only excuses and asked why we didn't mention the bedding while the maid was still on site. The continental breakfast was served in an outdoor, uncovered cafe. The milk was lukewarm and the donuts were slimy and soggy. At the other end of this same outdoor space is the maintenance and laundry room where "clean" bedding is kept in a shopping cart outside, uncovered collecting debris and bugs before being placed on the beds. The only good thing we got from this hotel was a suggestion for where to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top