$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Sandy Beach Hotel

2 stars
View map of 4 Condado Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandy Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CJ Jones
Family
San Juan P.R.
Nov 18, 2012

Great Price, Great location!

Hotel is right off the beach. There is a lot of shopping, restaurants and casinos in walking distance. You can get a bus at the corner for a 20 minute ride to Old San Juan. All staff are friendly and accommodating. Wouldn't go to any other hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
doll87
Family
new york
Sep 7, 2012

family vacation

It was terrible toilet broken shower disgusting sheets had sand as soon as we attives. We was suppose to stay for five days we booked another hotel after the first night. Positive right by the beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
db time flies
Single
Indiana
Jul 9, 2012

Location Location

If you are there for the beach at a good price this is it. Room was on bottom floor . Lots of space in room and most of the time quiet. Ocean had nice wave action. Walgreens with in easy walking distance. Fast food and resturants with in walking distance. Down fall was no place to park my have a couple spots. Gave me a plastic card key for parking around the block for$9 a day. Ihad no luck getting in. Parked at the hottel guarge next door for $18 a day. Lots of oneway streetsaround area. Yes I would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

old San Juan National historic site is agood day. visit the fort. walk the sidewalk around the fort. and visit all the shopping and resturants in old town.

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mumu
Couples
Flushing, Queens, NY, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Great location

budget traveler..this area is great in condado.. step away from beach. Within 5mins walk to bus, food, shoping and walgreen and starbuck and across from to marriott hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

By the beach

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Blondi5338
Friends
Massachusetts, USA
Feb 15, 2012

Sandy Beach Hotel

Very basic hotel and we found bugs in our first floor rooms. The second and third floor rooms were better. Good for the price though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marlane22
Family
Alva, OK 73717, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Great location!

Hotel was in an excellent location right on the beach! Room was small but clean and comfortable. You don't go on vacation to sit in your room. Take a kayak tour of the Bio- bay it is amazing. The Camuy Caves are not worth it, very dissappointed there. Overall a wonderful place to visit. If you want fancy this is not the hotel for you but, if you want value and comfort I suggest this for your stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Kayaking trip of the Bio-bay is a must see and do! It is for all levels. I had never kayaked before but the guides made me feel comfortable and ensured I had a wonderful time!

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eli510
Friends
Berkeley, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Pay extra... stay somewhere else.

Really small rooms. Sheets were dirty and the floors still had sand all over the place. Also i payed for parking which is a block over. They gave me this key card which didnt work half the time and believe me it wasnt fun dealing with the back and forth bs. Yes, you get what you pay for and less. Do your self a favor pay the extra 50$ for a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Momo's bar in Isla Verde. Cheap drinks and good music!

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
robjr70
Couples
PA
Jun 6, 2011

Nice and Fare

Nice little place to sleep, steps to the beach and close to the happening in Condado city, but not enough towels and very limited parking space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

very good restaurants and good places to shop

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Florida
May 31, 2011

Hostel's Have Better Amenities

In PR for a wedding, thought we would save a little money and try a locally owned place with a little more charm and a little less big chain feel. When we checked in, the hotel seemed nice enough - we had certainly stayed in worse in our travels. Upon entering the room, all seemed well until we turned down the bedding and found a large amount of hair in both beds. When I went to tell the manager, he first gave me the keys to another room to check out so we could just change rooms. The beds in this room were full of hair also so he gave us new linens and assured us he would speak to the maid and management. The next day, we went out with family, enjoyed the sites, etc. When we returned to the hotel to shower and dress for the rehearsal dinner, the beds had been made but when we checked, we found more hairy sheets. The water pressure in the shower was non existent, there was barely enough water coming through to fill a drinking glass. When we told mgmt about this new development, they claimed it was due to a city issue. As we had just come from the beach shower directly outside the hotel and had not experienced a water pressure issue, we knew this was not the case. At this point we had had enough and canceled the rest of our stay and moved next door to the Marriott. They refused to refund any money and offered no apologies, only excuses and asked why we didn't mention the bedding while the maid was still on site. The continental breakfast was served in an outdoor, uncovered cafe. The milk was lukewarm and the donuts were slimy and soggy. At the other end of this same outdoor space is the maintenance and laundry room where "clean" bedding is kept in a shopping cart outside, uncovered collecting debris and bugs before being placed on the beds. The only good thing we got from this hotel was a suggestion for where to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MIKE FROM B.X
Couples
BRONX,N.Y
May 6, 2011

SANDY BEACH HOTEL WAS O.K

SANDY BEACH HOTEL IS IN A UPPER MIDDLE CLASS AREA. GUCCI,LOUIS VOITTON,SALVATORE FERRAGAMO STORES NEAR BY.LOTS OF CONDOMINIUMS AND POLICE PATROLS IN THE AREA.THE HOTEL FACES THE BEACH!BUT THE HOTEL IS VERY SMALL AND THERES IS NO MICROWAVE OR REFRIGERATOR IN THE ROOM.HOTEL ROOM WAS CLEAN AND A GOOD PRICE IF YOU ONLY NEED A ROOM TO SLEEP AND YOU EAT OUTSIDE.I WENT TO THE RAIN FOREST,EL MORRO OLD SAN JUAN, CATAMARAN BOAT RIDE TO CULEBRA ISLAND AND RAFTING AT A BIOBAY LAGOON IN FAJARDO,P.R

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

GOOD HOTEL IF YOU HANG OUTSIDE ALOT,NO MICROWAVE AND NO REFRIGERATOR

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Puerto Rico is great
Couples
New York
Mar 22, 2011

Decent

Acceptable cleanliness, friendly and helpful front desk staff. Acceptable comfort level, mattress was fine. Everything worked fine. There was only one hanger in the closet, and there was no balcony, but that was fine as I don't go to a hotel to hang out on the balcony, especially when the hotel is 30 meters from the beach. Elevator does not stop even with the floor on floors 2 and 3. First floor rooms essentially have no view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinese restaurent Tayzan right around the corner is very good.

Back to menu Return to top