$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Sandy Beach Hotel

2 stars
4 Condado Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
67 reviews
Perfect location getaway

Perfect location it is close to the beach, and I say close I mean like 5 steps away from it. There... See full review

  • La peque
  • Jun 10, 2014
Very Good Nice Clean Awsome Treatment Will Come Again in 2014 Very fantastic

Close foot steps to the Beach I Love It it's Been My Second Time At Sandy Beach Hotel. See full review

  • Marilyn Mom
  • Jun 12, 2013
Budget San Juan bed and breakfast just off Condado Beach

The Sandy Beach Hotel is located very close to palm-shaded Condado Beach, where the protected cove is a family favorite. The bed and breakfast also lies nearby an oceanfront park, La Ventana al Mar, and a popular European-style waterfront promenade. The budget hotel's cozy, shaded patio with tables and chairs is a great spot to enjoy the complimentary breakfast, newspaper and all-day coffee. There is complimentary wireless Internet access available in public areas and rooms.

Highlights
  • Popular Condado Beach one block away from Sandy Beach Hotel
  • Complimentary breakfast and newspaper
  • Rooftop sundeck
  • Located near chic Ashford Avenue
Rooms

The Sandy Beach Hotel has 25 rooms, each simply decorated with a Caribbean flair. Expect sky blue or white walls and palm tree art. Every room has a balcony, most with urban views and blackout curtains. Bathrooms have showers, and every room includes complimentary Wi-Fi. Amenities include air conditioning, cable TV, telephones and in-room safes.

Recreation
  • The Sandy Beach Hotel lies one block from beautiful Condado Beach.
Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
Attractions
  • Condado Beach (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Plaza del Mercado (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Puerto Rico Museum of Art (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Ocean Park (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • San Juan Central Municipal Park (1.1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • San Juan Cathedral (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access throughout Sandy Beach Hotel

Sandy Beach Hotel Rooms

Senior Only Special
This Room is furnished with 1 Queen Bed or 2 Twin Size **Note Bed-Bedding Type will be assigned at the time of Check In. All Air conditioned guest room, private bathroom, color/cable TV, free wireless Internet, direct dial Phone and in room safe. Age - 65+
Cruise Only Special
This Room is furnished with 1 Queen Bed or 2 Twin Size Bed **Note Bed-Bedding Type will be assigned at the time of Check In. All Air conditioned guest room, private bathroom, color/cable TV, free wireless Internet, direct dial Phone and in room safe.
Standard Guest Room with 2 Double Beds
This room is furnished with 2 double beds.
Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.
Standard Guest Room with 2 Twin Beds
This room is furnished with 2 twin beds.

Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.
Standard Guest Room with 1 Queen Bed
This room is furnished with one queen bed.

Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandy Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.456 -66.0716
Area served
4 Condado Avenue, Condado Area, San Juan, P.R. 00907
Nearby airports
San Juan Puerto Rico, International Airport (SJU): Approximately 15 minutes from the property.
Area description
This San Juan hotel is located in Puerto Rico's tourist district, just steps from the beach.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.2 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.2 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.4 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
Multiple dining options within walking distances.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Sandy Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eli510
Berkeley, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Pay extra... stay somewhere else.

Really small rooms. Sheets were dirty and the floors still had sand all over the place. Also i payed for parking which is a block over. They gave me this key card which didnt work half the time and believe me it wasnt fun dealing with the back and forth bs. Yes, you get what you pay for and less. Do your self a favor pay the extra 50$ for a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Momo's bar in Isla Verde. Cheap drinks and good music!

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eli510
Berkeley, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Pay extra... stay somewhere else.

Really small rooms. Sheets were dirty and the floors still had sand all over the place. Also i payed for parking which is a block over. They gave me this key card which didnt work half the time and believe me it wasnt fun dealing with the back and forth bs. Yes, you get what you pay for and less. Do your self a favor pay the extra 50$ for a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Momo's bar in Isla Verde. Cheap drinks and good music!

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
robjr70
PA
Jun 6, 2011

Nice and Fare

Nice little place to sleep, steps to the beach and close to the happening in Condado city, but not enough towels and very limited parking space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

very good restaurants and good places to shop

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
robjr70
PA
Jun 6, 2011

Nice and Fare

Nice little place to sleep, steps to the beach and close to the happening in Condado city, but not enough towels and very limited parking space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

very good restaurants and good places to shop

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
May 31, 2011

Hostel's Have Better Amenities

In PR for a wedding, thought we would save a little money and try a locally owned place with a little more charm and a little less big chain feel. When we checked in, the hotel seemed nice enough - we had certainly stayed in worse in our travels. Upon entering the room, all seemed well until we turned down the bedding and found a large amount of hair in both beds. When I went to tell the manager, he first gave me the keys to another room to check out so we could just change rooms. The beds in this room were full of hair also so he gave us new linens and assured us he would speak to the maid and management. The next day, we went out with family, enjoyed the sites, etc. When we returned to the hotel to shower and dress for the rehearsal dinner, the beds had been made but when we checked, we found more hairy sheets. The water pressure in the shower was non existent, there was barely enough water coming through to fill a drinking glass. When we told mgmt about this new development, they claimed it was due to a city issue. As we had just come from the beach shower directly outside the hotel and had not experienced a water pressure issue, we knew this was not the case. At this point we had had enough and canceled the rest of our stay and moved next door to the Marriott. They refused to refund any money and offered no apologies, only excuses and asked why we didn't mention the bedding while the maid was still on site. The continental breakfast was served in an outdoor, uncovered cafe. The milk was lukewarm and the donuts were slimy and soggy. At the other end of this same outdoor space is the maintenance and laundry room where "clean" bedding is kept in a shopping cart outside, uncovered collecting debris and bugs before being placed on the beds. The only good thing we got from this hotel was a suggestion for where to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
May 31, 2011

Hostel's Have Better Amenities

In PR for a wedding, thought we would save a little money and try a locally owned place with a little more charm and a little less big chain feel. When we checked in, the hotel seemed nice enough - we had certainly stayed in worse in our travels. Upon entering the room, all seemed well until we turned down the bedding and found a large amount of hair in both beds. When I went to tell the manager, he first gave me the keys to another room to check out so we could just change rooms. The beds in this room were full of hair also so he gave us new linens and assured us he would speak to the maid and management. The next day, we went out with family, enjoyed the sites, etc. When we returned to the hotel to shower and dress for the rehearsal dinner, the beds had been made but when we checked, we found more hairy sheets. The water pressure in the shower was non existent, there was barely enough water coming through to fill a drinking glass. When we told mgmt about this new development, they claimed it was due to a city issue. As we had just come from the beach shower directly outside the hotel and had not experienced a water pressure issue, we knew this was not the case. At this point we had had enough and canceled the rest of our stay and moved next door to the Marriott. They refused to refund any money and offered no apologies, only excuses and asked why we didn't mention the bedding while the maid was still on site. The continental breakfast was served in an outdoor, uncovered cafe. The milk was lukewarm and the donuts were slimy and soggy. At the other end of this same outdoor space is the maintenance and laundry room where "clean" bedding is kept in a shopping cart outside, uncovered collecting debris and bugs before being placed on the beds. The only good thing we got from this hotel was a suggestion for where to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MIKE FROM B.X
BRONX,N.Y
May 6, 2011

SANDY BEACH HOTEL WAS O.K

SANDY BEACH HOTEL IS IN A UPPER MIDDLE CLASS AREA. GUCCI,LOUIS VOITTON,SALVATORE FERRAGAMO STORES NEAR BY.LOTS OF CONDOMINIUMS AND POLICE PATROLS IN THE AREA.THE HOTEL FACES THE BEACH!BUT THE HOTEL IS VERY SMALL AND THERES IS NO MICROWAVE OR REFRIGERATOR IN THE ROOM.HOTEL ROOM WAS CLEAN AND A GOOD PRICE IF YOU ONLY NEED A ROOM TO SLEEP AND YOU EAT OUTSIDE.I WENT TO THE RAIN FOREST,EL MORRO OLD SAN JUAN, CATAMARAN BOAT RIDE TO CULEBRA ISLAND AND RAFTING AT A BIOBAY LAGOON IN FAJARDO,P.R

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

GOOD HOTEL IF YOU HANG OUTSIDE ALOT,NO MICROWAVE AND NO REFRIGERATOR

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MIKE FROM B.X
BRONX,N.Y
May 6, 2011

SANDY BEACH HOTEL WAS O.K

SANDY BEACH HOTEL IS IN A UPPER MIDDLE CLASS AREA. GUCCI,LOUIS VOITTON,SALVATORE FERRAGAMO STORES NEAR BY.LOTS OF CONDOMINIUMS AND POLICE PATROLS IN THE AREA.THE HOTEL FACES THE BEACH!BUT THE HOTEL IS VERY SMALL AND THERES IS NO MICROWAVE OR REFRIGERATOR IN THE ROOM.HOTEL ROOM WAS CLEAN AND A GOOD PRICE IF YOU ONLY NEED A ROOM TO SLEEP AND YOU EAT OUTSIDE.I WENT TO THE RAIN FOREST,EL MORRO OLD SAN JUAN, CATAMARAN BOAT RIDE TO CULEBRA ISLAND AND RAFTING AT A BIOBAY LAGOON IN FAJARDO,P.R

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

GOOD HOTEL IF YOU HANG OUTSIDE ALOT,NO MICROWAVE AND NO REFRIGERATOR

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Worth, Texas
Mar 27, 2011

Not the Marriott. That's next door

This is an old hotel with the marks of age. It used to be Canario by the Sea, and I've stayed there before. Many basics are not found or hard to get. I had no clothes hangers when I checked in. Asked for four or five. Got three, one for each night of my stay. There were two large bath towels provided with a bath mat. No hand towels, and no wash cloths. The mat disappeared after the first day. The grills in the doors of the closet and bath had a growing collection of dust bunnies. The switch in the bath required "special handling." The remote for the TV did not work. There were no working vending machines in the hotel. The walls were scuffed, but the tile floor was clean. The location is superb: less than a block from Ashford and Condado. Walk out the hotel's front door, turn left, take fifty steps and you're at the Condado Beach. Turn right and in a block you'll arrive at a San Juan landmark, Walgreens 24 hour pharmacy and market. You'll spend some time here, picking up things you don't get at the hotel. Ashford is lined with shops and eating places. Bus service is available on Ashford and Taxi stands abound at this hotel and the Marriott next door. There are other hotels in Condado with better amenities and a lower price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nurse on Spring Break
Columbus, OH
Mar 24, 2011

Good Deal

We only stayed in the hotel to sleep. We spent all day on the beach or on excursions. The rooms are small, but they get the job done. You go to San Juan for the beach, not the hotel. Definately a cheap way to have a nice vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to get out of the tourist areas to get really cheap food and beer. The local spots will look rundown, but the food is delicious. Also, Punto de Visto is a restuarant by the ship port in old san juan. It has great prices and delicious food.

Back to menu Return to top