$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Sandy Beach Hotel

2 stars
View map of 4 Condado Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
62 reviews
Great place

For the price you pay it's a great hotel! it's on the Isla verde strip where restaurants and some... See full review

  • jannina r.
  • Feb 11, 2015
perfect location

hotel was just average but clean enough. all about the location - can see the ocean at the end of... See full review

  • New York Guys
  • Jan 12, 2015

The Sandy Beach Hotel is located very close to palm-shaded Condado Beach, where the protected cove is a family favorite. Theproperty also lies nearby an oceanfront park, La Ventana al Mar, and a popular European-style waterfront promenade. The budget hotel's cozy, shaded patio with tables and chairs is a great spot to enjoy the newspaper and all-day coffee. Guests savour delicious deli and creole a la carte specialties at the in-house restaurant, Piu Bello Gelato. Wi-Fi access is available in public areas and rooms.

Rooms
The Sandy Beach Hotel has 25 rooms, each simply decorated with a Caribbean flair. Expect sky blue or white walls and palm tree art. Every room has a balcony, most with urban views and blackout curtains. Bathrooms have showers, and every room includes complimentary Wi-Fi. Amenities include air conditioning, cable TV, telephones and in-room safes.
Highlights
  • Popular Condado Beach one block away from Sandy Beach Hotel
  • Complimentary newspaper
  • Rooftop sundeck
  • Located near chic Ashford Avenue
Nearby attractions
  • Condado Beach (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Plaza del Mercado (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Puerto Rico Museum of Art (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Ocean Park (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • San Juan Central Municipal Park (1.1 mi/ 1.7 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • San Juan Cathedral (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access throughout Sandy Beach Hotel
Transportation
  • Luis Munoz Maron International Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
Recreation
  • The Sandy Beach Hotel lies one block from beautiful Condado Beach.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandy Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Sandy Beach Hotel Rooms

Senior Only Special
This Room is furnished with 1 Queen Bed or 2 Twin Size **Note Bed-Bedding Type will be assigned at the time of Check In. All Air conditioned guest room, private bathroom, color/cable TV, free wireless Internet, direct dial Phone and in room safe. Age - 65+
Cruise Only Special
This Room is furnished with 1 Queen Bed or 2 Twin Size Bed **Note Bed-Bedding Type will be assigned at the time of Check In. All Air conditioned guest room, private bathroom, color/cable TV, free wireless Internet, direct dial Phone and in room safe.
Standard Guest Room with 2 Double Beds
This room is furnished with 2 double beds.
Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.
Standard Guest Room with 2 Twin Beds
This room is furnished with 2 twin beds.

Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.
Standard Guest Room with 1 Queen Bed
This room is furnished with one queen bed.

Room Facilities: Shower, Safety Deposit Box, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Bathroom, Cable TV, free wireless Internet, Work Desk.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.7 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.1 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.2 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.2 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.4 mi

Dining

Piu Bello Gelato
Deli and creole food restaurant open from 7:00am to 8:00pm. Menu a la carte.
Nearby Restaurants
Multiple dining options within walking distances.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sandy Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael W.
Business
N/A
Jun 23, 2015

Great for the money

Compared to the Marriott and other high-end hotels next door, we got amazing value for our money. The hotel restaurant (Piu Bello) had great authentic food and it was half the price of surrounding restaurants. In fact, guest from the Marriott frequently visited our restaurant instead of their own. Lilli was our favorite waitress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hipster traveler
Business
Brooklyn
Feb 19, 2015

Simple beach hotel

It is a budget hotel right by the beach. Its everything I expected it to be, the location was great to see nightlife and also go to the beach during the day. We booked a double bed but got 2 twins. The staff was nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jannina r.
Business
N/A
Feb 11, 2015

Great place

For the price you pay it's a great hotel! it's on the Isla verde strip where restaurants and some night life is always available 24 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul W.
Business
Washington
Feb 11, 2015

great budget traveller spot

not a lot of perks, but the rooms are clean, the beds are comfy, and the location is awesome. and the price is fantastic!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New York Guys
Business
New York
Jan 12, 2015

perfect location

hotel was just average but clean enough. all about the location - can see the ocean at the end of the block from the front door!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marauder.22
Business
Woodbridge
Dec 30, 2014

Personal trip to PR

I'm a military stationed in VA. Although I'm also from Puerto Rico, I book here to scape from friends and love ones calling me and visiting me at my relatives. I just wanted to enjoy the beach for couple days, no cellphone, no emails, no text messages... only me and my wife. A tiny hiccup happened when we were accommodated in a smaller room instead a bigger one. When the bigger bedroom was ready they moved my luggage to the new room, and accommodated everything in the same position... shaving kit in the bathroom, running shoes under the bed, jeans and shirt on the bed, snacks and drinks on the desk. Everything in the same position I had'em in the other room. There is no parking for guest in the hotel. Parking is on the street and you have me make sure you move your car before 7am. Police write tickets for park in the taxi area, which is most of the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is hidden in the middle of El Condado. clubs, pubs, good restaurants, and other good stuff to do and see in El Condado. Beach is along the Condado Ave and the area is secure. Police and Cops patrolling the area all night long, by foot and by cruiser.

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
meema from vt
Business
perkinsville, vermont
Nov 29, 2014

perfect for what we wanted

This hotel was great. The only negative was that since I booked for two people we got one double bed. I was traveling with my granddaughter who is 16. When we arrived, it was late so we waited til the next day to speak to them about getting two beds. The hotel was booked but they switched us two days later. The staff was great as well. Everyone was very helpful, pleasant and polite. One of our tours was cancelled due to rain and they offered to rebook it for us but we had others booked and decided not to bother. The beach was literally steps from the front door. The breakfast that was included was not much but it was do-able. There were other places to have breakfast within walking distance and you could get something hot at the hotel. My granddaughter had homework to do while we were there and there were many places to sit and do it. There was even a rooftop we used in the evening. All our tours picked us up at the Marriott which is right next door. We felt that we had all the conveniences without all the costs of a large hotel. Condado beach area is very nice and buses are at the corner of the street. They will take you to old San Juan for 75 cents. There are plenty of restaurants nearby. The hotel was clean and we got fresh towels daily. They also had towels to go to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ask which buses go to old San Juan.

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CarribeanDream
Business
Massachusetts
Nov 16, 2014

Year after year

We go back year after year. It's the location we love. Right next to the Marriott hotel, steps from the beach, walking distance to so much! We never spend much time in the room. Keep hoping to find the roof area redone one of these years! Have sent many friends and co-workers to this hotel and they all come back happy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JR in PR
Business
Georgia
Aug 1, 2014

great value steps from the beach

Great location about 20 feet from Condado beach, simple but comfortable rooms, friendly staff. Parking for check in was a bit difficult on the street but they have a deal with the parking garage across the street for $18 per day. Park there first and they will validate the ticket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
La peque
Business
Brooklyn NY
Jun 10, 2014

Perfect location getaway

Perfect location it is close to the beach, and I say close I mean like 5 steps away from it. There are restaurants everywhere. The trolley for old San Juan is right around the corner (its free by the way).The staff was super friendly and helpful. They recommended restaurants and gave us advice on the public transportation. Great place for Travelers that are into homey hotels. We are going back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ali Baba excellent Turkish food 2 blocks away, Stop and Go for those in a budget that would like to try local foods (the best mofongo in the area only $10)

Back to menu Return to top