$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2014 Check-out: Sep 19, 2014

San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

4 stars
2 Tartak St., Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
126 reviews
Relaxing Getaway

Loved this hotel... Everything about my stay was great. See full review

  • Lexypooh
  • Aug 12, 2014
would recommend to anyone.

The hotel was very nice and clean. The staff were nice and helpful, the room was clean and location... See full review

  • Andre C.
  • Jul 27, 2014
Prepare to be pampered boutique-style at the Water and Beach Club Hotel, San Juan in Puerto Rico. Staff members work hard to make your stay memorable at this water-inspired resort. A favorite for special events, it offers rooftop relaxation with a swimming pool, couch areas, and Mist Rooftop Bar & Lounge. Work out in the boutique gym, or take advantage of the complimentary beach amenities, complete with tasty cocktail popsicles. Unique touches include telescopes in rooms, for private stargazing.
Key facts
  • 2 on-site restaurants: Mist and Zest
  • Oceanfront business center: boardroom and meeting spaces
  • Rooftop pool, bar and lounge area
  • Full-service beach concierge with access to water-sports
  • Valet parking
  • Limousine and town car service available
  • Massage and spa services
  • Room service offered seven days a week
  • Dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Ability to book tours and activities from the front desk
Neighborhood
Located on the shores of Isla Verde Beach, the hotel is walking distance from several nightlife hot spots, including the El San Juan Casino. Historic Old San Juan is only 15 minutes away for a bit of local culture, as is the Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) for quick and easy flight access.
Hints and tips
Some pets are welcomed at the hotel for a fee, and are treated to a goody bag with gourmet treats, a toy, bowl and bottle of water.

Other pet-oriented services such as grooming and dog walking are offered upon request, so inquire before booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4438 -66.0234
Area served
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International (SJU) - Estimate driving distance 5 minutes.
Area description
With its rich heritage and breathtaking landscape, San Juan Puerto Rico warmly welcomes visitors. The ultimate getaway, Puerto Rico offers the discriminating traveler the very best of nature, music, culture, arts and food, with a dynamic blend of excitement and relaxation.
The San Juan Water & Beach Club is pleased to be your gateway to this amazing experience. The only luxury boutique hotel on the beach and only 15 minutes from both the Luis Munoz Marin International airport and Old San Juan, the hotel provides unequaled access to the best that San Juan has to offer.
Ideal for pleasure, business or both, there is a lot to do nearby, with convenient access to the best restaurants, nightlife, shopping and museums, and most importantly on the best beach - still bordered with palms and no crowds - in San Juan.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel also booked these hotels.

San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel Rooms

Seaside Guest Room
You are as close to the sea as you can be from a room with a private French balcony with complete panoramic views of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The newly redesigned, 300 sq. ft. guest rooms offer luxury amenities including: pillow top king bed, fine linens, plush white towels and Gilchrist and Soames amenities.
SandArt Room
Sun and Surf included! The newly refurbished, 300 sq ft. guest rooms offer dramatic full Ocean Front views of sparkling turquoise waters of the Atlantic ocean. Luxury amenities including: pillowtop King bed, luxurious linens; plush white towels and Gilchrist and Soames amenities. Complimentary amenities include: locan and 1-800 telephone calls; WI-FI and beach amenities.
Urban Retreat Room
A room with an attitude that let's you forget life back home! The newly refurbished, 300 sq ft. bed-dominated guest rooms feature city views. Luxury amenities include pillowtop King bed, fine linens; plush white towels and Gilchrist and Soames amenities. Complimentary amenities include: local and 1-800 telephone calls; WI-FI and beach amenities.
Atmosphere Room
Say hello to the beach! Partial Ocean Views of Isla Verde's white sand beach and gentle dunes, the newly refurbished, 300 sq ft. guest rooms offer luxury amenities including: pillowtop King bed, fine linens; plush white towels and Gilchrist and Soames amenities. Complimentary amenities include: local and 1-800 telephone calls; WI-FI and beach amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.9 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.1 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.8 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.9 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.4 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.9 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.1 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.8 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.9 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.5 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel offers guests a unique combination of intimate settings, including ocean view indoor and outdoor function venues for board meetings, corporate training, unforgettable weddings, and other special events. Our staff will assist with all the details to assure you have a very distinctive event that reflects style from the best!

Dining

Zest Restaurant
The restaurant Zest on the ground floor welcomes guests with a unique sub-aquatic atmosphere and a modern latino cuisine menu featuring sustainability-sourced ingredients, each dish infused with a unique scent meant to stimulate every sense.
Mist Ultra Lounge
Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, Mist Ultra Lounge offers comfortable seating areas for rooftop relaxation, swimming pool, signature cocktails and a decadent menu featuring Socializers"small plates you can share"prepared with fresh, locally grown ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 126
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DORADORA
New York, NY
May 29, 2014

"Me Time" Getaway!

I decided to take so e time to myself after working and schooling full-time. WBC was recommended by a friend and it was the best place to recuperate. The venue is steps from the beach and amazing restaurants like Badilia's, Mi Casitina, and La Playita. The cleaning lacked a lot to be desired but outside of thus issue, the space and accommodations were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico; amazing experience!

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura Dee Solo Traveler
Brooklyn, New York
Dec 16, 2013

Relaxing Solo Getaway

I traveled alone to P.R. for a relaxing vacation away from it all back home. The Water Club was the perfect place for my solo getaway. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I called a day before my check-in date to alert the front desk that I would be arriving earlier than their 4pm check-in time, and asked if they would be able to accommodate a room then. Juan at the front desk was very pleasant on the phone and when I arrived the next day, he hooked me up with early check-in. No waiting! :) The hotel is located right by the beach so I was able to walk just a few steps to the sand & ocean for sunbathing and snoozing on the beach without a care in the world. It rained on & off during my 4 day stay, so I stayed inside the hotel a lot. I'm not complaining as the hotel has a small gym located on the basement level, which I used every day. There's a rooftop pool and Mist bar, which offer a great view of the island. There's a restaurant located off the lobby and room-service. I had lunch on the beach one day, which is serviced by the hotel restaurant. Try the pina colada with your meal! It's so good! The beach staff is excellent, very nice and they don't pester you. My salad and one drink totaled over $30, so if you don't want to spend that much money on lunch for yourself, there are also plenty of cheap fast food restaurants on Isla Verde Avenue very close to the hotel. There is also a traditional Puerto Rican style food restaurant (Mi Casita) located in the little strip mall on the same avenue. The food is good and inexpensive. There is a Walgreens convenience store/pharmacy located a few feet away from the hotel, which is great and there's a fresh juice bar nearby as well. The housekeeping staff is very nice and helpful, and did a good job cleaning the room, especially all the sand I dragged in from the beach! :) One complaint I have about my room was that there was very little drawer space for my clothes and my room had no refrigerator, which I find to be something very standard in most hotel rooms, especially any 4-star rated hotel. Also, I was very confused as to why the coffee maker and ice tray were placed together with the ironing board and iron atop a tiny dresser located in the only closet space covered by a curtain. That was very bizarre to me. I had no room to hang anything because it would literally hang over the coffee maker and bottles of water provided by the hotel. This set up is a potential disaster waiting to happen. Coffee can easily spill & stain clothing or even cause a fire. That just didn't work well for me at all. Another complaint I have is the very poor water pressure in the shower. I never once had any hot water. The water was always cold or very tepid. I wish I could at least once have taken a hot shower, especially after a long day at the beach covered by sand and oil. Overall though, the trip was very enjoyable and I would stay at this hotel again and even recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
larango930
NJ
Aug 6, 2013

Perfect Beach getaway

I wanted to stay on the Beach in Isla Verde and this hotel was awesome. The staff was very nice, the room and hotel decor were modern and the blue lighting was so chic. Beach chairs and umbrellas are complimentary and there are two great restaurants inside the hotel and a rooftop bar. It was great for the money and I'll definitely be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of fast food places nearby and also fancier restaurants in walking distance. Club Braava is inside the SJ Hotel & Casino which is two blocks away.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seth M.
Brooklyn NY
May 8, 2013

Time well spent

The San Juan Water Club Beach Hotel is perfectly situated on the beautiful beach at Isla Verde. The rooftop lounge affords a great view and has a hip vibe. The staff was very cordial and helpful. Knowing the area quite well, I felt comfortable walking up and down the beach for miles and exploring the streets . Excellent access to local restaurants, as well as the other resorts in the area, all pretty much within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CALI1
CALIFORNIA
Aug 16, 2012

GREAT LOCATION

GREAT LOCATION! STAFF IS GREAT...SHORT WALK FROM SHOPS AND DINING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Patu Girl
San Francisco, CA
Jul 19, 2012

What Glitters is Not Gold

I stayed at this hotel on February 2012. It was my first visit to Puerto Rico and I wanted beach proximity and also proximity to Old San Juan so it seemed perfect. However, the bad: They were always fixing something at this hotel; nearly everyday I was on elevator with service/work men envelope There was no guide to the hotel in the room Only one restaurant was open, but this was not mentioned on the website No access to rooftop terrace on a Saturday night I was there because of a private party; the door bouncers accosted hotel guests and no hotel staff in sight to vouch for guests Beach chair and umbrella service VERY slow and on a Sunday, a very popular beach day, there was only one guy working on the beach Rooftop restaurant service was slow and inconsistent Charge $4 for bottled water in rooms No frig in rooms Pool not totally clean No life guards on beach My iirst day I checked in early but when I went to the beach the chair guy ran out of towels as he told me the laundry had not been done the previous day No happy hour; when I asked about happy hour at front desk staff person told me she did not know and I should ask at the bar Phone numbers for room service wrong on printed in room menu and on telephone! Elevator broken one morning Often hard to find staff for beach chair and beach dining service Other than a map, no orientation to local area Poorly photocopied list of tour excursions given at check in - barely able to read The room keys were in store bought plain white envelopes, not professionally printed keyholders Good points: Rooftop terrace Food Ocean view from room Beachfront location Taxis always at hotel I would not recommend this hotel until it improves its ability to deliver the service and experience it promises as it has so much potential. If I ever go back to Puerto Rico I would shell out the extra money and stay at a more expensive property on the same beach that functions like a hotel should.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan is beautiful and deserves at least one day to see both forts and the fountain along the Princessa.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Relax and Rejuvenate
Boston, MA, USA
May 12, 2012

Hidden Jewel

If want to be on the beach, this is the place for you. Step out the front door and the beach is only a few steps away. Small boutique hotel, so you never get lost in the crowd. Great staff to match great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Relax and Rejuvenate
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Hidden Jewel

Away from the crowds of Condado, this hotel is on the beach and a hidden jewel. The beach is cleaned every morning and maintained throughout the day. The hotel is modern art deco design. It's a true resort without a lot of wasteful fancy. Clean, neat, and efficient; not a lot of clutter. The rooms are good size, clean, and comfortable. Beautiful ocean view fom room. Staff is outstanding. Some renovations still in-progress, but nothing that impacted time there. Stayed during the week, so there were no crowds. Just what was needed - R&R. Electrical outlets and furniture could be better located for more functionallity in rooms. Could do more in the areas of conservation and sustainability (green).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of food options within walking distance, but most either high-end or fast food (unhealthy). Need options in the mid-price range.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappywiththishotel1234
vancouver,wa
Oct 26, 2011

worst hotel ever ruined my trip

says and showed that they have a rooftop pool and bar they do not it have been closed for years the staff sucked and over all experience was terrible rooms were nothing speical just a very simple place they had nothing not even a vending machine.... do not stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 14, 2007

A taste of South Beach in San Juan

What a great little hotel! It was a last minute getaway for me and I couldn't have been more satisfied with every aspect of my stay there. Traveling alone, I enjoyed the intimacy of the hotel and its super friendly and accomodating staff. Check in was swift and I was upgraded without asking to an ocean front room. this is a staff that has been trained to make one's stay here truly delightful. The manager here really know how to run a first class hotel I loved the whole look and feel of the place...very cool and serene..the room's were decorated with great thought to comfort. Even a station for my i-pod..what more can you ask! It's defintely an adult hotel.. not for kids and although very hip..at 58 I felt right at home! I thought the food at Tangerine inventive and delicious. They might think about serving a breakfast of some sort up on the rooftop as that would be a great way to start the day. As for the location it couldn't be better. Ten minutes from the airport it makes doable a long weekend from New York. The Isle Verde area has all the big hotels within walking distance if you want a casino, shopping, restaurants. And old San Juan that offers many other choices...went to a great salsa club is just a cab ride away. A gem of a place....I feel like I've discovered a hiddensecret and can't wait to reurn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The El San Juan Hotel with its great lobby filled with bars..entertainment.. and then there's the casino...affords you plenty to do at night! Good people watching! El Casita across the street for good inexpensive Puerto Rican food...and a great bakery with terrific coffee...try the pastry called Majourca.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search