$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 29, 2014

San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

4 stars
2 Tartak St., Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
117 reviews
Gorgeous

I can't explain to you the happiness I felt throughout my stay here. These ppl are the most... See full review

  • Bin Greazy
  • Mar 28, 2014
Great Beach and Great Roof Top

It was really a great hotel. Its not a chain hotel but has its own personality. Great staff.... See full review

  • NE2014 Traveler
  • Mar 5, 2014
Hip San Juan hotel offers character and comfort on Isla Verde Beach
The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel incorporates the feeling of water throughout. Its gleaming white exterior takes on a blue glow at night. The hip Mist rooftop bar offers a cosy lounge serving cocktails and delicious meals. Then there is the rooftop pool and the Atlantic Ocean across the street. The hotel provides chairs, towel and umbrellas for a day on Isla Verde Beach. Outdoor landscape is all renovated. Hip, intimate rooms all enjoy views of the ocean. The hotel is a short walk to world-class restaurants, shopping and galleries.
Highlights
  • Located on stunning Isla Verde Beach
  • Situated close to shopping, museums and nightlife
Rooms

There are 80 rooms and suites at San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel, all of which have sweeping views of the beach and ocean through floor-to-ceiling windows. White walls and soft blue lighting give the guest rooms a chic glow. Standard rooms are cozy and minimalist in style. Suites have wrap-around couches and telescopes for star-gazing.

Features

Wi-Fi is available in all public areas, including the beach. The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is dog-friendly (fees apply, call for details).

Dining

The restaurant Zest on the ground floor welcomes guests with a unique subaquatic atmosphere and a modern experiential cuisine menu featuring sustainability-sourced ingredients, each dish infused with a unique scent meant to stimulate every sense. Breakfast is served until 10AM.

Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, Mist offers comfortable seating areas for rooftop relaxation, swimming pool, signature cocktails and a decadent Island-Italian-Spanish-fusion menu featuring Socializers-small plates you can share-prepared with fresh, locally grown ingredients.

Recreation

There is a complimentary fitness center at San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel, and private trainers are available on request.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Attractions
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.8 mi/3.9 km)
  • Museum of Art of Puerto Rico (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Condado District (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (6.2 mi/9.9 km)
  • La Fortaleza (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Cathedral of San Juan Bautista (6.2 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • Executive board room
  • Two floors devoted to business travelers, with mobile computer desk
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access in the entire hotel
  • Catering available
Policies and fees
  • The hotel accepts pets 15 pounds and below. Take note, however, that pets are not allowed to be left unattended at any time including inside the room.  Moreover, they are not allowed in Zest restaurant, in compliance with local laws and regulations from the Puerto Rico Health Department.  While in public areas, pets must be kept on a leash.
  • Valet parking is $15

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel Rooms

Infinity Suite
The view from these newly redesigned trendy suites stretches to infinity. The spacious 600 sq. ft. suites offer dramatic ocean views from each of the spacious rooms. The suites feature modern water-themed bedroom dcor with a desk set to catch the morning light, toile-covered walk-in closet, a spacious living room with contemporary furniture, one 32" and one 40" TV, and a telescope to enjoy the spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean. Luxury amenities include: pillow top king bed, fine linens, plush white towels and Rusk Sensories Calm amenities.
Seaside Guest Room
You are as close to the sea as you can be from a room with a private French balcony with complete panoramic views of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The newly redesigned, 300 sq. ft. guest rooms offer luxury amenities including: pillow top king bed, fine linens, plush white towels and Rusk Sensories Calm amenities.
SandArt Room
Sun and Surf included! The newly refurbished, 300 sq ft. guest rooms offer dramatic full Ocean Front views of sparkling turquoise waters of the Atlantic ocean. Luxury amenities including: pillowtop King bed, luxurious linens; plush white towels and Rusk amenities. Complimentary amenities include: locan and 1-800 telephone calls; WI-FI and beach amenities.
Urban Retreat Room
A room with an attitude that let's you forget life back home! The newly refurbished, 300 sq ft. bed-dominated guest rooms feature city views. Luxury amenities include pillowtop King bed, fine linens; plush white towls and Rusk amenities. Complimentary amenities include: local and 1-800 telephone calls; WI-FI and beach amenities.
Atmosphere Room
Say hello to the beach! Partial Ocean Views of Isla Verde's white sand beach and gentle dunes, the newly refurbished, 300 sq ft. guest rooms offer luxury amenities including: pillowtop King bed, fine linens; plush white towels and Rusk amenities. Complimentary amenities include: local and 1-800 telephone calls; WI-FI and beach amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.4438 -66.0234
Area served
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International (SJU) - Estimate driving distance 5 minutes.
Area description
With its rich heritage and breathtaking landscape, San Juan Puerto Rico warmly welcomes visitors. The ultimate getaway, Puerto Rico offers the discriminating traveler the very best of nature, music, culture, arts and food, with a dynamic blend of excitement and relaxation.
The San Juan Water & Beach Club is pleased to be your gateway to this amazing experience. The only luxury boutique hotel on the beach and only 15 minutes from both the Luis Munoz Marin International airport and Old San Juan, the hotel provides unequaled access to the best that San Juan has to offer.
Ideal for pleasure, business or both, there is a lot to do nearby, with convenient access to the best restaurants, nightlife, shopping and museums, and most importantly on the best beach - still bordered with palms and no crowds - in San Juan.

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.9 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.1 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.8 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.9 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.4 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.9 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.1 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.8 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.9 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.5 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There are two meeting rooms, both ocean view and can host up to 50. 'Wet' is highly popular for private parties and receptions for up to 200.

Dining

Restaurant
One of San Juan's most intriguing spots, the Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options until 12 noon daily. It is suitably elegant for special occasions, romantic and other important meetings. Once the sun goes down, the soft illumination and tropical sounds create the ideal environment to enjoy our daily complimentary cocktail hour.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
117 out of 117
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Bin Greazy
Chicago
Mar 28, 2014

Gorgeous

I can't explain to you the happiness I felt throughout my stay here. These ppl are the most accomadating, tending to needs, service oriented ppl I've ever encountered. Also 5 steps from the beach with a rooftop pool overlooking the beach!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice area with lots of places to go for a walk down the beach that's lined with hotels n casinos.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

3
TravelerWBC
America, USA
Mar 22, 2014

A lot of good, but the bad was so bad.

This hotel is absolutely beautiful, on a well kept gorgeous beach, with some of the friendliest, most accommodating staff ever. It's in a great location as it's not far from the airport and there's lots of places to eat within walking distance. But there is a down side - the paper thin walls mean you can hear EVERYTHING from adjacent rooms. Worse than that, the doors to the rooms are so heavy that when they slam shut as they do, you hear a loud BANG! every time anyone else on your floor comes and goes, no matter what time that is. The beds are not very comfortable, and they squeak and creek with every little movement. The air conditioner was super loud and rickety sounding. These things put a huge damper on our stay. We really liked San Juan, but if we go back we will look for a different place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Taquito has great food and drinks for cheap and nice 1/2 walls that let the breeze and scenery in.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
NE2014 Traveler
New England
Mar 5, 2014

Great Beach and Great Roof Top

It was really a great hotel. Its not a chain hotel but has its own personality. Great staff. Restaurant was wonderful. You can hit the beach steps from the front door, or take the sun on the roof, best sun beds on the roof to sleep the day away. Casino's next door. Best for couples. Rooms aren't huge but just right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
The stylists
Chicago
Feb 27, 2014

one night relaxation

The experience was great. The food was very good and the view from our room to the beach was great. The only thing we didn't like was the shower. The shower head had low pressure and we don't like half glass door. Water tend to get every where. Its a must to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Minnes
Minnesota
Jan 18, 2014

San Juan Water Beach Club

The stay at Water Beach Club was very nice. (The hotel is called Water Beach Club no “and.”) My husband and I arrived late in the evening and found the hotel was well staffed even at that time. This was the case the whole duration of our stay. We could always find a staff member to help us when it was needed. We were quickly checked into our room and were told about the several amenities the hotel offered. When we entered the room we most enjoyed the cleanliness and the many windows the room had. Every night we slept with the windows open and slept to the sound of the ocean. Along with the cleanliness, we also enjoyed the accommodations for lounging on the beach and the roof top pool. I will say the food and drinks were overpriced for what you got, but there were several restaurants close by to walk to. The location also a plus for this hotel. It took about 20 mins by bus to get to Old San Juan and a 20 minute drive by car to El Yunque the rainforest in Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
SSMITH200
Wichita, KS
Jan 17, 2014

Family Getaway

We stayed at the Water Beach Club for 4 nights with our adult daughters and had a great time. Very South Beach style hotel with nice beach. Beach service was great. Rooftop bar "Mist" is such a neat place with a great view. Only drawback was the beds and pillows weren't real comfortable but other than that we would highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Pueblo grocery store

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Laura Dee Solo Traveler
Brooklyn, New York
Dec 16, 2013

Relaxing Solo Getaway

I traveled alone to P.R. for a relaxing vacation away from it all back home. The Water Club was the perfect place for my solo getaway. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I called a day before my check-in date to alert the front desk that I would be arriving earlier than their 4pm check-in time, and asked if they would be able to accommodate a room then. Juan at the front desk was very pleasant on the phone and when I arrived the next day, he hooked me up with early check-in. No waiting! :) The hotel is located right by the beach so I was able to walk just a few steps to the sand & ocean for sunbathing and snoozing on the beach without a care in the world. It rained on & off during my 4 day stay, so I stayed inside the hotel a lot. I'm not complaining as the hotel has a small gym located on the basement level, which I used every day. There's a rooftop pool and Mist bar, which offer a great view of the island. There's a restaurant located off the lobby and room-service. I had lunch on the beach one day, which is serviced by the hotel restaurant. Try the pina colada with your meal! It's so good! The beach staff is excellent, very nice and they don't pester you. My salad and one drink totaled over $30, so if you don't want to spend that much money on lunch for yourself, there are also plenty of cheap fast food restaurants on Isla Verde Avenue very close to the hotel. There is also a traditional Puerto Rican style food restaurant (Mi Casita) located in the little strip mall on the same avenue. The food is good and inexpensive. There is a Walgreens convenience store/pharmacy located a few feet away from the hotel, which is great and there's a fresh juice bar nearby as well. The housekeeping staff is very nice and helpful, and did a good job cleaning the room, especially all the sand I dragged in from the beach! :) One complaint I have about my room was that there was very little drawer space for my clothes and my room had no refrigerator, which I find to be something very standard in most hotel rooms, especially any 4-star rated hotel. Also, I was very confused as to why the coffee maker and ice tray were placed together with the ironing board and iron atop a tiny dresser located in the only closet space covered by a curtain. That was very bizarre to me. I had no room to hang anything because it would literally hang over the coffee maker and bottles of water provided by the hotel. This set up is a potential disaster waiting to happen. Coffee can easily spill & stain clothing or even cause a fire. That just didn't work well for me at all. Another complaint I have is the very poor water pressure in the shower. I never once had any hot water. The water was always cold or very tepid. I wish I could at least once have taken a hot shower, especially after a long day at the beach covered by sand and oil. Overall though, the trip was very enjoyable and I would stay at this hotel again and even recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Shaggie19
San Antonio, Texas
Dec 13, 2013

Good! Close to Beach

Stay was very comfortable and staff extremely friendly. Infinity pool was amazing, and hotel is right by the beach and very close to SJU (double plus). We got a room over-looking the beach, that made our stay even special. Concierge was very helpful giving us info when needed. Food at the Hotel is little expensive but good. Room service was very prompt and we found our room clean every night when we came back.Many places to eat within stones throw. Pueblo supermarket (equivalent of Walmart) within 5 min by car. Walgreen's right across the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Sharyne
San Juan Carolina
Dec 13, 2013

Staff

The staff could not be more helpful and polite, look forward to staying there again next December

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Miami Boy 2013
Business
Florida
Dec 8, 2013

Chic Hideaway

A touch of South Beach in Isla Verde. The decor is great. The staff are young and super friendly. Everything about this hotel is great with 2 notes. The lighting in the rooms and the halls takes getting used to. It gives the guest the feeling you are in a haunted house all the time. After a couple of days, it's ok. The other note is about the prices for their dining option. They have adopted the highest possible pricing tier equal to any 5 star resort from around the world. It's pricey! $6 for a double espresso coffee? Come on! The Ultra Lounge on the roof is awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just take the path to the next street off the beach and avoid paying the restaurant prices in the hotel. There's also a very local bar at the end of the street!

Back to menu Return to top