$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

4 stars
2 Tartak St., Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
139 reviews
Great for couples of all ages

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Restaurant was excellent ,with many fine desserts. The view... See full review

  • OVNI Hunter
  • Dec 2, 2014
fantastic couples getaway

The hotel right by the beach was wonderful .you have good restaurants and stores at walking... See full review

  • j.ram
  • Nov 27, 2014
Prepare to be pampered boutique-style at the Water and Beach Club Hotel, San Juan in Puerto Rico. Staff members work hard to make your stay memorable at this water-inspired resort. A favorite for special events, it offers rooftop relaxation with a swimming pool, couch areas, and Mist Rooftop Bar & Lounge. Work out in the boutique gym, or take advantage of the complimentary beach amenities, complete with tasty cocktail popsicles. Unique touches include telescopes in rooms, for private stargazing.
Key facts
  • 2 on-site restaurants: Mist and Zest
  • Oceanfront business center: boardroom and meeting spaces
  • Rooftop pool, bar and lounge area
  • Full-service beach concierge with access to water-sports
  • Valet parking
  • Limousine and town car service available
  • Massage and spa services
  • Room service offered seven days a week
  • Dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Ability to book tours and activities from the front desk
Neighborhood
Located on the shores of Isla Verde Beach, the hotel is walking distance from several nightlife hot spots, including the El San Juan Casino. Historic Old San Juan is only 15 minutes away for a bit of local culture, as is the Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) for quick and easy flight access.
Hints and tips
Some pets are welcomed at the hotel for a fee, and are treated to a goody bag with gourmet treats, a toy, bowl and bottle of water.

Other pet-oriented services such as grooming and dog walking are offered upon request, so inquire before booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel also booked these hotels.

San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel Rooms

Ocean Front Balcony
You are as close to the sea as you can be from a room with a private French balcony with complete panoramic views of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The newly redesigned, 300 sq. ft. guest rooms offer luxury amenities including: pillow top king bed, fine linens, plush white towels and Gilchrist and Soames amenities.
Ocean Front Rooms
Sun and Surf included! The newly refurbished, 300 sq ft. guest rooms offer dramatic full Ocean Front views of sparkling turquoise waters of the Atlantic ocean. Luxury amenities including: pillowtop King bed, luxurious linens; plush white towels and Gilchrist and Soames amenities. Complimentary amenities include: locan and 1-800 telephone calls; WI-FI and beach amenities.
City View Room
A room with an attitude that let's you forget life back home! The newly refurbished, 300 sq ft. bed-dominated guest rooms feature city views. Luxury amenities include pillowtop King bed, fine linens; plush white towels and Gilchrist and Soames amenities. Complimentary amenities include: local and 1-800 telephone calls; WI-FI and beach amenities.
Partial Ocean View Rooms
Say hello to the beach! Partial Ocean Views of Isla Verde's white sand beach and gentle dunes, the newly refurbished, 300 sq ft. guest rooms offer luxury amenities including: pillowtop King bed, fine linens; plush white towels and Gilchrist and Soames amenities. Complimentary amenities include: local and 1-800 telephone calls; WI-FI and beach amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 1.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.9 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.1 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.8 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.9 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.9 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.1 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.8 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.9 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.5 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel offers guests a unique combination of intimate settings, including ocean view indoor and outdoor function venues for board meetings, corporate training, unforgettable weddings, and other special events. Our staff will assist with all the details to assure you have a very distinctive event that reflects style from the best!

Dining

Zest Restaurant
The restaurant Zest on the ground floor welcomes guests with a unique sub-aquatic atmosphere and a modern latino cuisine menu featuring sustainability-sourced ingredients, each dish infused with a unique scent meant to stimulate every sense.
Mist Ultra Lounge
Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, Mist Ultra Lounge offers comfortable seating areas for rooftop relaxation, swimming pool, signature cocktails and a decadent menu featuring Socializers"small plates you can share"prepared with fresh, locally grown ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 139
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vanessa NY
Business
New York
Apr 6, 2013

Unprofessional-

The location was nice, right near the beach and within walking distance to other hotels for casinos, restaurants, etc. and only a short cab ride to Old San Juan. The hotel was interesting, but the novelty of the blue lights wore off after the first day and the techno playing in the lobby/elevators/restaurant at all times was not our thing. Overall this hotel could have been a nice stay if had had a better experience with the hotel staff. Most of the people at the front desk were nice enough, however, several employees were rude or just seemed to be too new to handle any questions or issues effectively. One example was the fire alarms going off at both 12am and 3am during one night. While it is understandable that things happen, they did not handle this situations appropriately at all. People were going down the stairwells to evacuate the hotel (as all the signs in the hotel advise) only to be locked out of the lobby and stuck in the stairwell until hotel staff heard us banging on the door to be let out. I'm glad it wasn't a real FIRE, but then again, no one could really tell us what was even going on, so no one knew if it was serious or not. It happened again at 3am and we waited in the lobby for about 45 minutes until someone finally was able to talk to an employee about what we should be doing (apparently the alarms were malfunctioning, so it was advised to just go back to our rooms) **The other issue we had was with the cleaning staff - apparently one of the housekeepers had spend quite a bit of time in our room while we were out on our snorkeling tour and made A LOT of long distance calls from the hotel phone. We received a statement on our last day informing us that we were being charged about $200.00 in long distance charges. Management ended up removing the charges, but it just left us with an uneasy feeling thinking that someone was just hanging out in our room making calls while all of our stuff was out. :( Overall the hotel was decent, location great, but the service was really pretty terrible and I would not stay here again. Also, just a heads up, the continental breakfast is not free. It's 11$ per person for bagels and yogurt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NickieSolo
Business
California
Jun 27, 2014

Average Stay

Overall not a bad experience. Clean and good location. But I'm afraid it's not worth the price. The bed makes cracking noises. The pool on the rooftop is tiny and there are no organized events as the other beach hotels within the same price range do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JennRomeo
Business
Connecticut, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Awesome

Great location, right on the beach. The staff was really friendly and helpful!!!! Loved it, will defenitily go back next year :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JennRomeo
Business
Connecticut, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Getaway

Everything was amazing, great location, great staff, really friendly and helpful. We will definitely go back again next year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Askali13
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 25, 2012

2nd time around - just as great at the first! GREAT value!

We've now stayed here two years in a row. I've recommended this hotel to various friends who have all had great experiences. Compared to other properties at higher prices, this place is a GREAT value and experience. Here's the great: - Free beach chairs, umbrellas, towels and staff who set all of this up for you. - Beachfront - Friendly and helpful staff. (almost) always willing to help out in any way, greet you good morning, and offer suggestions. - 10 minute ($14 - pre tip) taxi ride from the airport. - Tons of fast food and restaurants within a 10 minute radius for you to choose from. Go local. Save some money. - Several beach bars and restaurants within a few hundred feet - Local pharmacies / drug stores - less than 5 minutes away - stock up a water, snacks, sunscreen, souvenirs / gifts, etc. - Directly behind the T5 bus stop which is a cheaper way (than a taxi) and more local way to travel to Old San Juan for a must day and/or evening trip there. Here's the rest: - Rooftop pool and lounge area and restaurant are now open for business. (last year it was under construction during our stay). Prices are what you expect for a rooftop area and the pool is tiny but the views are truly awesome. - Rooms are cozy. Some fit the king size bed with space left over, others not so much. I didn't find this to be an issue for me though. The shower with only a half panel of glass doesn't bother me but it does my travel companion. Bed is huge. And comfortable. As opposed to years past, the refrigerators are not included in your room but can be rented per stay. We were told $25 then $20. Negotiate it down. Buy your own waters, beers, food, etc at nearby drugstore. - Business center with two computers for you to use. - Free wireless internet. Easy to access. Good connection. - Gym in the basement. The AC unit works some days, other days it does not. It's quite small with just a few machines. Even on the days when the AC works, it's almost unbearingly hot. If you need a run, go outside early in the morning before the sun is ready to fry you. PS: The front desk can book excursions for you - ask for the list. (Do the bio-luminescent bay boat tour. One of the coolest things I have ever done.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raech P
Business
Jersey City, NJ, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Awesome vacation

As soon as we got to the hotel, we were warmly greeted by the staff. We got to Puerto Rico earlier than expected so I was worried that we can't check in yet but Maria, the cheery front desk person, told us we definite,y can and even upgraded our room to Ocean View. The people in the hotel were really helpful and would go out of their way to help. I was impressed with the service and their hospitality. I would definitely go back to this hotel. I definitely had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Barrachina has the best piña colada that I have ever tried. It's a must to visit in Old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling DC Teacher
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 2, 2012

Great Beach Vacation

We had an extremely relaxing time at this hotel. The food and drinks were really good and the staff was very responsive. We were only steps from the beach with beachside food service and free umbrellas and chairs. The only down side is that the blue ambiance and music of the hotel sometimes reminds you of a disco and the king sized bed was not very comfortable. However, I would recommend this hotel due to its proximity to the beach and its great food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The concierge at the hotel recommended the restaurant, Platos, which we ate at twice for dinner because of the excellent drinks and food! I would highly recommend checking this restaurant out if you stay at a hotel in Isla Verde.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reagle
Business
New Town, ND
Apr 19, 2013

Elegant and Relaxing Vacation Destination

Our stay at the Water and Beach Club was fantastic - the staff were gracious and accommodating and the facility is clean, modern and luxurious. We had an amazing view of the beach from the 10th floor and loved the Mist Bar and its views on the top floor. Bottom line - stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great places - Ruth's Chris, sushi, pizza, Starbucks etc. very close to WBC.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FlygirlTravelor
Business
New York
Aug 23, 2013

Decent Trip

This is a great hotel-- small, and boutique style. Definitely caters to adults and couples. I went with my best friend and we were the only pair of friends we saw. Couples everywhere, but we didnt mind. Never saw any kids (which was perfect for us, but keep that in mind if you are looking for a family oriented place). Staff are very friendly and hospitable. They will do anything for you to ensure your satisfaction. Proximity to the beach is steps away. Literally. Towels, chairs and beach umbrellas are provided daily. Beach was practically empty... never felt crowded and it was not crawling with local vendors pushing you to buy things. Actually, only saw one local vendor that was selling ice cream (it was amazing!). There is beach service for drinks and food. HOWEVER, be forewarned that the cost of food and drinks is VERY high at this hotel. I mean really expensive. But you can offset this by going to eat at local restaurants. I highly reccomend Metropol restaurant located on the strip behind the hotel. We arrived early at about 12pm and were able to check in right away even though check in is supposed to be at 4pm. Our room was also upgraded from city view to partial ocean view free of charge. This hotel is rated number one out of the 14 hotels on this beach and I can see why. I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Over sixty and fab
Business
Texas
Sep 2, 2013

Great experience

The hotel is totally relaxing and the decor with the neon lighting really sets the the mood. Staff was exceptional and friendly. The conciere Lola was great, she helped us on our excursions and was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mi Casita restaurant. Excellent breakfast, wonderful coffee and outstanding secret ingredent potato served.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top