$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

4 stars
2 Tartak St., Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
127 reviews
Relaxing Getaway

Loved this hotel... Everything about my stay was great. See full review

  • Lexypooh
  • Aug 12, 2014
would recommend to anyone.

The hotel was very nice and clean. The staff were nice and helpful, the room was clean and location... See full review

  • Andre C.
  • Jul 27, 2014
Prepare to be pampered boutique-style at the Water and Beach Club Hotel, San Juan in Puerto Rico. Staff members work hard to make your stay memorable at this water-inspired resort. A favorite for special events, it offers rooftop relaxation with a swimming pool, couch areas, and Mist Rooftop Bar & Lounge. Work out in the boutique gym, or take advantage of the complimentary beach amenities, complete with tasty cocktail popsicles. Unique touches include telescopes in rooms, for private stargazing.
Key facts
  • 2 on-site restaurants: Mist and Zest
  • Oceanfront business center: boardroom and meeting spaces
  • Rooftop pool, bar and lounge area
  • Full-service beach concierge with access to water-sports
  • Valet parking
  • Limousine and town car service available
  • Massage and spa services
  • Room service offered seven days a week
  • Dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Ability to book tours and activities from the front desk
Neighborhood
Located on the shores of Isla Verde Beach, the hotel is walking distance from several nightlife hot spots, including the El San Juan Casino. Historic Old San Juan is only 15 minutes away for a bit of local culture, as is the Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) for quick and easy flight access.
Hints and tips
Some pets are welcomed at the hotel for a fee, and are treated to a goody bag with gourmet treats, a toy, bowl and bottle of water.

Other pet-oriented services such as grooming and dog walking are offered upon request, so inquire before booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4438 -66.0234
Area served
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International (SJU) - Estimate driving distance 5 minutes.
Area description
With its rich heritage and breathtaking landscape, San Juan Puerto Rico warmly welcomes visitors. The ultimate getaway, Puerto Rico offers the discriminating traveler the very best of nature, music, culture, arts and food, with a dynamic blend of excitement and relaxation.
The San Juan Water & Beach Club is pleased to be your gateway to this amazing experience. The only luxury boutique hotel on the beach and only 15 minutes from both the Luis Munoz Marin International airport and Old San Juan, the hotel provides unequaled access to the best that San Juan has to offer.
Ideal for pleasure, business or both, there is a lot to do nearby, with convenient access to the best restaurants, nightlife, shopping and museums, and most importantly on the best beach - still bordered with palms and no crowds - in San Juan.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel also booked these hotels.

San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel Rooms

Seaside Guest Room
You are as close to the sea as you can be from a room with a private French balcony with complete panoramic views of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The newly redesigned, 300 sq. ft. guest rooms offer luxury amenities including: pillow top king bed, fine linens, plush white towels and Gilchrist and Soames amenities.
SandArt Room
Sun and Surf included! The newly refurbished, 300 sq ft. guest rooms offer dramatic full Ocean Front views of sparkling turquoise waters of the Atlantic ocean. Luxury amenities including: pillowtop King bed, luxurious linens; plush white towels and Gilchrist and Soames amenities. Complimentary amenities include: locan and 1-800 telephone calls; WI-FI and beach amenities.
Urban Retreat Room
A room with an attitude that let's you forget life back home! The newly refurbished, 300 sq ft. bed-dominated guest rooms feature city views. Luxury amenities include pillowtop King bed, fine linens; plush white towels and Gilchrist and Soames amenities. Complimentary amenities include: local and 1-800 telephone calls; WI-FI and beach amenities.
Atmosphere Room
Say hello to the beach! Partial Ocean Views of Isla Verde's white sand beach and gentle dunes, the newly refurbished, 300 sq ft. guest rooms offer luxury amenities including: pillowtop King bed, fine linens; plush white towels and Gilchrist and Soames amenities. Complimentary amenities include: local and 1-800 telephone calls; WI-FI and beach amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.9 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.1 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.8 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.9 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.4 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.9 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.1 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.8 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.9 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.5 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel offers guests a unique combination of intimate settings, including ocean view indoor and outdoor function venues for board meetings, corporate training, unforgettable weddings, and other special events. Our staff will assist with all the details to assure you have a very distinctive event that reflects style from the best!

Dining

Zest Restaurant
The restaurant Zest on the ground floor welcomes guests with a unique sub-aquatic atmosphere and a modern latino cuisine menu featuring sustainability-sourced ingredients, each dish infused with a unique scent meant to stimulate every sense.
Mist Ultra Lounge
Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, Mist Ultra Lounge offers comfortable seating areas for rooftop relaxation, swimming pool, signature cocktails and a decadent menu featuring Socializers"small plates you can share"prepared with fresh, locally grown ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappywiththishotel1234
vancouver,wa
Oct 26, 2011

worst hotel ever ruined my trip

says and showed that they have a rooftop pool and bar they do not it have been closed for years the staff sucked and over all experience was terrible rooms were nothing speical just a very simple place they had nothing not even a vending machine.... do not stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Patu Girl
San Francisco, CA
Jul 19, 2012

What Glitters is Not Gold

I stayed at this hotel on February 2012. It was my first visit to Puerto Rico and I wanted beach proximity and also proximity to Old San Juan so it seemed perfect. However, the bad: They were always fixing something at this hotel; nearly everyday I was on elevator with service/work men envelope There was no guide to the hotel in the room Only one restaurant was open, but this was not mentioned on the website No access to rooftop terrace on a Saturday night I was there because of a private party; the door bouncers accosted hotel guests and no hotel staff in sight to vouch for guests Beach chair and umbrella service VERY slow and on a Sunday, a very popular beach day, there was only one guy working on the beach Rooftop restaurant service was slow and inconsistent Charge $4 for bottled water in rooms No frig in rooms Pool not totally clean No life guards on beach My iirst day I checked in early but when I went to the beach the chair guy ran out of towels as he told me the laundry had not been done the previous day No happy hour; when I asked about happy hour at front desk staff person told me she did not know and I should ask at the bar Phone numbers for room service wrong on printed in room menu and on telephone! Elevator broken one morning Often hard to find staff for beach chair and beach dining service Other than a map, no orientation to local area Poorly photocopied list of tour excursions given at check in - barely able to read The room keys were in store bought plain white envelopes, not professionally printed keyholders Good points: Rooftop terrace Food Ocean view from room Beachfront location Taxis always at hotel I would not recommend this hotel until it improves its ability to deliver the service and experience it promises as it has so much potential. If I ever go back to Puerto Rico I would shell out the extra money and stay at a more expensive property on the same beach that functions like a hotel should.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan is beautiful and deserves at least one day to see both forts and the fountain along the Princessa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vanessa NY
New York
Apr 6, 2013

Unprofessional-

The location was nice, right near the beach and within walking distance to other hotels for casinos, restaurants, etc. and only a short cab ride to Old San Juan. The hotel was interesting, but the novelty of the blue lights wore off after the first day and the techno playing in the lobby/elevators/restaurant at all times was not our thing. Overall this hotel could have been a nice stay if had had a better experience with the hotel staff. Most of the people at the front desk were nice enough, however, several employees were rude or just seemed to be too new to handle any questions or issues effectively. One example was the fire alarms going off at both 12am and 3am during one night. While it is understandable that things happen, they did not handle this situations appropriately at all. People were going down the stairwells to evacuate the hotel (as all the signs in the hotel advise) only to be locked out of the lobby and stuck in the stairwell until hotel staff heard us banging on the door to be let out. I'm glad it wasn't a real FIRE, but then again, no one could really tell us what was even going on, so no one knew if it was serious or not. It happened again at 3am and we waited in the lobby for about 45 minutes until someone finally was able to talk to an employee about what we should be doing (apparently the alarms were malfunctioning, so it was advised to just go back to our rooms) **The other issue we had was with the cleaning staff - apparently one of the housekeepers had spend quite a bit of time in our room while we were out on our snorkeling tour and made A LOT of long distance calls from the hotel phone. We received a statement on our last day informing us that we were being charged about $200.00 in long distance charges. Management ended up removing the charges, but it just left us with an uneasy feeling thinking that someone was just hanging out in our room making calls while all of our stuff was out. :( Overall the hotel was decent, location great, but the service was really pretty terrible and I would not stay here again. Also, just a heads up, the continental breakfast is not free. It's 11$ per person for bagels and yogurt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
Aug 10, 2007

Not the El San Juan!!

We had a great time in Puerto Rico,but this hotel wasnt the best choice for staying 11 days. The maintenance was an issue. More than half of the things in our room didnt work. They were ripping out floors outside our room at 8:30am for several days without a warning. Staff was very polite, but very slow. We had to be moved to a different room for last 5 days of our stay and it didnt have a closet or a refrigerator(mini-bar). I think the Water Club is a great place to go have drinks,dance, and eat sushi. Other than than that the El San Juan or the intercontinential will receive our business next time back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Jul 11, 2007

Friendly

The room was comfortable, however you had to dress out of you suite case. There were no drawers to place you clothes in. Ever time our room was clean they left not washcloths, we had to go to the front desk on this everyday. However the Frist desk and door crew was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
James Mak
Danbury, CT, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Average Hotel, Awesome Staff, Perfect Location!

The location of this hotel couldn't be any better. Minutes away from the airport although not close enough that airplane sounds were a problem. Beach right across the street with staff to provide beach chairs and umbrellas to guests (Juan Luis was amazing). Walking to many restaurants and hotel/casinos and convenience stores. The hotel itself is very basic and blue lights are used throughout to hide the hotel's imperfections. Blue lights in the room were kinda strange but there were a couple of regular lights as well. The room was basic but nice and had a spectacular view of the beach. The bed itself was very clean but the rest of the room was just ok. Floor felt a little grainy from the sand but I guess that is to be expected at a beach resort. Also found some stray hairs in the bathroom. Did not stay on the weekend so I do not know how loud the rooftop bar gets as I know that was a complaint of some other reviewers. Only real complaint, at $15 a day parking was a little pricey. Overall it was an ok place to stay bit a great staff and great location. If the price is right I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a car especially if you are planning excursions. You can save a ton of money and Charlie Car Rental is right across the street and has great rate. Make sure to book in advance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelerWBC
America, USA
Mar 22, 2014

A lot of good, but the bad was so bad.

This hotel is absolutely beautiful, on a well kept gorgeous beach, with some of the friendliest, most accommodating staff ever. It's in a great location as it's not far from the airport and there's lots of places to eat within walking distance. But there is a down side - the paper thin walls mean you can hear EVERYTHING from adjacent rooms. Worse than that, the doors to the rooms are so heavy that when they slam shut as they do, you hear a loud BANG! every time anyone else on your floor comes and goes, no matter what time that is. The beds are not very comfortable, and they squeak and creek with every little movement. The air conditioner was super loud and rickety sounding. These things put a huge damper on our stay. We really liked San Juan, but if we go back we will look for a different place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Taquito has great food and drinks for cheap and nice 1/2 walls that let the breeze and scenery in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lenee
New York, NY, USA
Mar 3, 2012

awesome staff, hotel needs some attention

Perfect location, amazing, friendly, knowledgeable staff. If this is the biggest concern you have, then your stay will be perfect! The hotel itself was what I didn't really like. The room i booked was very small... King sized bed, not much room for anything else. Storage space was negligible - a closet, safe, and three drawer nightstand. The sleeping area of the room was clean, although the windows were spotted and grungy, making looking out at the beach less than enjoyable. Whoever initially prepared our room forgot to replace the water bottles I was subsequently charged for, didn't Clean out the coffee maker, and didn't clean the bathroom counter. Subsequent housekeeping was more thorough. All together the room was very cramped for the price. The hallways and elevator were not air conditioned, so when

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don Jose offers good food for reasonably good prices. We ate there quite often

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Costa
Business
New York, NY
Dec 9, 2011

Decent Loaction - Very Quiet Spot

Oceanfront property. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Got a good price and a free upgrade to an oceanfront room. The bar was closed or empty Mon-Wed night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Calex02192011
New York, NY, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Great location. Great rooftop. Room was OK

Location was perfect, incidentals fair, room needs improvement , found 2 nails loose in bed and sand on the floor when we first checked in. They cleaned it up and apologized Staff extremely nice and helpful. Also very courteous and professional

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search