$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2 Tartak St., Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
147 reviews
Awesome Vacation

The hotel was great, the vacation was very relaxing. See full review

  • Carmela D.
  • Jul 25, 2015
Short Stay

Nice location great staff and excelent service. The beach staff is very helpful and the chairs and... See full review

  • Rafael L.
  • Jun 20, 2015
Prepare to be pampered boutique-style at the Water and Beach Club Hotel, San Juan in Puerto Rico. Staff members work hard to make your stay memorable at this water-inspired resort. A favorite for special events, it offers rooftop relaxation with a swimming pool, couch areas, and Mist Rooftop Bar & Lounge. Work out in the boutique gym, or take advantage of the complimentary beach amenities, complete with tasty cocktail popsicles. Unique touches include telescopes in rooms, for private stargazing.
Location
Located on the shores of Isla Verde Beach, the hotel is walking distance from several nightlife hot spots, including the El San Juan Casino. Historic Old San Juan is only 15 minutes away for a bit of local culture, as is the Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) for quick and easy flight access.
Highlights
  • 2 on-site restaurants: Mist and Zest
  • Oceanfront business center: boardroom and meeting spaces
  • Rooftop pool, bar and lounge area
  • Full-service beach concierge with access to water-sports
  • Valet parking
  • Limousine and town car service available
  • Massage and spa services
  • Room service offered seven days a week
  • Dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Ability to book tours and activities from the front desk
Policies
Some pets are welcomed at the hotel for a fee, and are treated to a goody bag with gourmet treats, a toy, bowl and bottle of water.

Other pet-oriented services such as grooming and dog walking are offered upon request, so inquire before booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel Rooms

Partial Ocean View Rooms
Say hello to the beach! Partial Ocean Views of Isla Verde's white sand beach and gentle dunes, the newly refurbished, 300 sq ft. guest rooms offer luxury amenities including: pillowtop King bed, fine linens; plush white towels and Gilchrist and Soames amenities. Complimentary amenities include: local and 1-800 telephone calls; WI-FI and beach amenities.
Ocean Front Rooms
Sun and Surf included! The newly refurbished, 300 sq ft. guest rooms offer dramatic full Ocean Front views of sparkling turquoise waters of the Atlantic ocean. Luxury amenities including: pillowtop King bed, luxurious linens; plush white towels and Gilchrist and Soames amenities. Complimentary amenities include: locan and 1-800 telephone calls; WI-FI and beach amenities.
City View Room
A room with an attitude that let's you forget life back home! The newly refurbished, 300 sq ft. bed-dominated guest rooms feature city views. Luxury amenities include pillowtop King bed, fine linens; plush white towels and Gilchrist and Soames amenities. Complimentary amenities include: local and 1-800 telephone calls; WI-FI and beach amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ocean Park: 1.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.9 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.1 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.8 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.9 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.4 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.9 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.1 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.8 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.9 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.5 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.4 mi

Dining

Mist Ultra Lounge
Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, Mist Ultra Lounge offers comfortable seating areas for rooftop relaxation, swimming pool, signature cocktails and a decadent menu featuring Socializers"small plates you can share"prepared with fresh, locally grown ingredients.
Zest Restaurant
The restaurant Zest on the ground floor welcomes guests with a unique sub-aquatic atmosphere and a modern latino cuisine menu featuring sustainability-sourced ingredients, each dish infused with a unique scent meant to stimulate every sense.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel offers guests a unique combination of intimate settings, including ocean view indoor and outdoor function venues for board meetings, corporate training, unforgettable weddings, and other special events. Our staff will assist with all the details to assure you have a very distinctive event that reflects style from the best!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappywiththishotel1234
Business
vancouver,wa
Oct 26, 2011

worst hotel ever ruined my trip

says and showed that they have a rooftop pool and bar they do not it have been closed for years the staff sucked and over all experience was terrible rooms were nothing speical just a very simple place they had nothing not even a vending machine.... do not stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Theresa K.
Business
Hinsdale
May 13, 2015

Great Puerto Rican Adventure

Loved the San Juan Water and Beach Club. The location was perfect - walked to many restaurants, nearby hotel casinos, and the beach was fabulous! WBC staff will set up beach chairs & umbrella. The rooftop lounge was a daily respite with cool breezes, great ambience, & great service. We ate at the onsite restaurant Zest (breakfast and one dinner). Food was awesome, although expensive. Read some negative reviews about the size of the room & the shower. However, we were pleased with our room (partial ocean view), and the bathroom was fine. Took the bus into Old San Juan, and rented a car from Charlie Car rental one day to go to the rainforest. We prefer the smaller boutique hotel. Service was great. Had a fantastic trip and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Patu Girl
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 19, 2012

What Glitters is Not Gold

I stayed at this hotel on February 2012. It was my first visit to Puerto Rico and I wanted beach proximity and also proximity to Old San Juan so it seemed perfect. However, the bad: They were always fixing something at this hotel; nearly everyday I was on elevator with service/work men envelope There was no guide to the hotel in the room Only one restaurant was open, but this was not mentioned on the website No access to rooftop terrace on a Saturday night I was there because of a private party; the door bouncers accosted hotel guests and no hotel staff in sight to vouch for guests Beach chair and umbrella service VERY slow and on a Sunday, a very popular beach day, there was only one guy working on the beach Rooftop restaurant service was slow and inconsistent Charge $4 for bottled water in rooms No frig in rooms Pool not totally clean No life guards on beach My iirst day I checked in early but when I went to the beach the chair guy ran out of towels as he told me the laundry had not been done the previous day No happy hour; when I asked about happy hour at front desk staff person told me she did not know and I should ask at the bar Phone numbers for room service wrong on printed in room menu and on telephone! Elevator broken one morning Often hard to find staff for beach chair and beach dining service Other than a map, no orientation to local area Poorly photocopied list of tour excursions given at check in - barely able to read The room keys were in store bought plain white envelopes, not professionally printed keyholders Good points: Rooftop terrace Food Ocean view from room Beachfront location Taxis always at hotel I would not recommend this hotel until it improves its ability to deliver the service and experience it promises as it has so much potential. If I ever go back to Puerto Rico I would shell out the extra money and stay at a more expensive property on the same beach that functions like a hotel should.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan is beautiful and deserves at least one day to see both forts and the fountain along the Princessa.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vanessa NY
Business
New York
Apr 6, 2013

Unprofessional-

The location was nice, right near the beach and within walking distance to other hotels for casinos, restaurants, etc. and only a short cab ride to Old San Juan. The hotel was interesting, but the novelty of the blue lights wore off after the first day and the techno playing in the lobby/elevators/restaurant at all times was not our thing. Overall this hotel could have been a nice stay if had had a better experience with the hotel staff. Most of the people at the front desk were nice enough, however, several employees were rude or just seemed to be too new to handle any questions or issues effectively. One example was the fire alarms going off at both 12am and 3am during one night. While it is understandable that things happen, they did not handle this situations appropriately at all. People were going down the stairwells to evacuate the hotel (as all the signs in the hotel advise) only to be locked out of the lobby and stuck in the stairwell until hotel staff heard us banging on the door to be let out. I'm glad it wasn't a real FIRE, but then again, no one could really tell us what was even going on, so no one knew if it was serious or not. It happened again at 3am and we waited in the lobby for about 45 minutes until someone finally was able to talk to an employee about what we should be doing (apparently the alarms were malfunctioning, so it was advised to just go back to our rooms) **The other issue we had was with the cleaning staff - apparently one of the housekeepers had spend quite a bit of time in our room while we were out on our snorkeling tour and made A LOT of long distance calls from the hotel phone. We received a statement on our last day informing us that we were being charged about $200.00 in long distance charges. Management ended up removing the charges, but it just left us with an uneasy feeling thinking that someone was just hanging out in our room making calls while all of our stuff was out. :( Overall the hotel was decent, location great, but the service was really pretty terrible and I would not stay here again. Also, just a heads up, the continental breakfast is not free. It's 11$ per person for bagels and yogurt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Aug 10, 2007

Not the El San Juan!!

We had a great time in Puerto Rico,but this hotel wasnt the best choice for staying 11 days. The maintenance was an issue. More than half of the things in our room didnt work. They were ripping out floors outside our room at 8:30am for several days without a warning. Staff was very polite, but very slow. We had to be moved to a different room for last 5 days of our stay and it didnt have a closet or a refrigerator(mini-bar). I think the Water Club is a great place to go have drinks,dance, and eat sushi. Other than than that the El San Juan or the intercontinential will receive our business next time back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelerWBC
Business
America, USA
Mar 22, 2014

A lot of good, but the bad was so bad.

This hotel is absolutely beautiful, on a well kept gorgeous beach, with some of the friendliest, most accommodating staff ever. It's in a great location as it's not far from the airport and there's lots of places to eat within walking distance. But there is a down side - the paper thin walls mean you can hear EVERYTHING from adjacent rooms. Worse than that, the doors to the rooms are so heavy that when they slam shut as they do, you hear a loud BANG! every time anyone else on your floor comes and goes, no matter what time that is. The beds are not very comfortable, and they squeak and creek with every little movement. The air conditioner was super loud and rickety sounding. These things put a huge damper on our stay. We really liked San Juan, but if we go back we will look for a different place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Taquito has great food and drinks for cheap and nice 1/2 walls that let the breeze and scenery in.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lion9
Business
Ponce,PR
Sep 5, 2011

Good for the Weekend

it was nice and clean, good happy hour but at the time of arrival the rooftop pool and bar was in remodel and here in orbitz they didn't warn about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A. Gonzalez
Business
Yonkers, NY, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Its a great value

The hotel is perfectly situated right in front of the beach. Aesthetically the hotel was beautiful, however all the amenities they offer online are limited. The top bar/pool were closed throughout miht entire stay. I booked my trip in June and traveled in October. I was promised via phone the pool/roof top bar will be opened by my check-in date. I also spoke with a hotel receptionist prior to arriving advising them I have a food allergy and was promised I will be accommodated during complimentary breakfast hour. This never happened I had to get breakfast at their restaurant liquid and pay everyday. Overall I made the vacation work. Would I recommend sure if you want to be as close to the beach as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Save yourself some money go to superman supermarket and get yourself some basics munchies and drinks way cheaper than the hotel. Ask the hotel for a second refrigerator as the first doesn't cool enough ;)

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Costa
Business
New York, NY
Dec 9, 2011

Decent Loaction - Very Quiet Spot

Oceanfront property. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Got a good price and a free upgrade to an oceanfront room. The bar was closed or empty Mon-Wed night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Calex02192011
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Great location. Great rooftop. Room was OK

Location was perfect, incidentals fair, room needs improvement , found 2 nails loose in bed and sand on the floor when we first checked in. They cleaned it up and apologized Staff extremely nice and helpful. Also very courteous and professional

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top