$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2 Tartak St., Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Realli3
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 17, 2013

Great Place to Stay if you dont mind walking or Public Transit

My partner and I enjoyed ourstay. The pictures do not do this hotel any justice. The rooms are a great size, clean, and the views are great! Best of all, the staff makes you feel welcome! They are so friendly and eviting. They want you to feel at home. The only downfall is the location. Three miles from Condado, an additonal 3 miles from Old Saun Juan. But if you dont mind walking or public transit, This is an AMAZING hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining in Isla Verde in a short distance.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
holmesk
Business
michigan
Jul 7, 2013

Fun but no sun

Husband and i came during the rainy season. It was still fairly nice, but would have liked to stay longer. Excellent price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

El Ambique

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe and Lisa
Business
Pittsburgh , Pa
Jun 24, 2013

South Beach style getaway

The boutique style hotel is located on the beach in the center of Isla Verde. Juan and his staff are exceptional. Perfect place for a couples getaway. The Zest restaurant is excellent! Only shortfalls are the uncomfortable hard mattress and the old in wall style air conditioning. Overall a great beach experience. Would highly recommend for the price. Did I mention that the staff was awesome?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seth M.
Business
Brooklyn NY
May 8, 2013

Time well spent

The San Juan Water Club Beach Hotel is perfectly situated on the beautiful beach at Isla Verde. The rooftop lounge affords a great view and has a hip vibe. The staff was very cordial and helpful. Knowing the area quite well, I felt comfortable walking up and down the beach for miles and exploring the streets . Excellent access to local restaurants, as well as the other resorts in the area, all pretty much within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young LGBT Couple
Business
Miami, Fl
May 7, 2013

Picture Perfect Paradise (Miami Approved)

My partner and I booked this room based upon the reviews we read here, other sites and the video on SJWBC website. Based upon the photos, everything looks picture perfect online and in person. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others. Pros - The food in Zest was sublime. It's moderately priced, but worth every penny. - The interior design of all the spaces are very swank, cool and hip. We loved every bit of it. The space look exactly like the photos. The black lighting, elevator waterfall and bar waterfall in Zest Restaurant is very cool. - Chairs and umbrellas are conveniently available and set up by the water boys. - All the cocktails are cool either on the terrace or by the ocean. - Lounge music is everywhere. It puts you in the mood. - The terrace offers variety music nightly. You can stay at the hotel and have a great time. The crowd is minimal so you don't feel any phobia. - The staff is very friendly. Everyone speaks English and they really have a knack for customer service. They were very accommodating. - The view from the room and the terrace is spectacular. - 2 Complimentary bottled water is offered in the room, which is a nice gesture. - Taxi cabs are readily available at the entrance and there are plenty of great restaurants in walking distance to dine. Cons - Drinks are great by the ocean, but by the time we received our "sand dune" (guacamole dip) it was too warm, the portion was very small and the price wasn't worth it. - There is no carpet in the room, so fine sand is trekked in the rooms. It's no biggie; just be sure to brush your feet off before you get in the bed if you walk around barefoot. - The elevators are slow during peck hours because there's only two and one is used as a service elevator. - The acoustics aren't the greatest. Sound travels in the hallways and if you're in a room that connects to another, noise also travel between the doors. - If you have poor vision, this is not the hotel for you, because the lighting in the rooms are ambient. It didn't bother us a bit, but be aware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't book the trio exclusion. Only the rainforest was worth the trek to dive into the waterfall. The food at the top is great. el loquillo is public, this it's not better than the beach in front of the hotel and the bioluminescent bay isn't particularly worth it.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baby Mooner
Business
NYC
May 7, 2013

Good for couples

Good location, next to the beach, nice service all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reagle
Business
New Town, ND
Apr 19, 2013

Elegant and Relaxing Vacation Destination

Our stay at the Water and Beach Club was fantastic - the staff were gracious and accommodating and the facility is clean, modern and luxurious. We had an amazing view of the beach from the 10th floor and loved the Mist Bar and its views on the top floor. Bottom line - stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great places - Ruth's Chris, sushi, pizza, Starbucks etc. very close to WBC.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Free
Business
New York, New York
Apr 10, 2013

Great relaxing weekend

The staff was overwhelmingly hospitable. My wife and I spent the entire weekend lounging on the beach in front of the hotel, where the beach boys always got us set up with fresh towels, lounge chairs and an umbrella. The beach and water are gorgeous, and the water theme of the hotel is pretty neat and unique, with lots of black lighting. We lounged on the roof where there is a very small pool and different areas with chase lounges, as well as a bar and dining area. The roof has a nice view, but is not ideal of looking for privacy while laying under the sun. We ate at the restaurant, Zest for dinner one night which was good, but nothing special. The modern layout of the restaurant is probably the best feature. Overall, I would say the best features of the hotel are the access to a beautiful beach, the modern-ness of the hotel interior decorating, and the hospitality and friendliness of the staff. We ate out most nights, which is what I would recommend, as there are a number of very good restaurants within a 15 minute/$20 cab ride to Cordado or Old San Juan etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pick out a few top restaurants to eat away from the hotel. It is worth the cost and time of travel.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sarahpearly
Business
new york
Apr 8, 2013

Nice hotel, met expectations.

Ths was a very nice, newly renovated hotel on the beach. The rooftop lounge was very nice, with comfy couches and chairs. The rooftop pool was time, but a great view. The drinks were overpriced and the continental breakfast was regular--nothng special and probably not worth paying for, but we got it for free. Our room was tiny but very clean. The staff was all exceptionally friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vanessa NY
Business
New York
Apr 6, 2013

Unprofessional-

The location was nice, right near the beach and within walking distance to other hotels for casinos, restaurants, etc. and only a short cab ride to Old San Juan. The hotel was interesting, but the novelty of the blue lights wore off after the first day and the techno playing in the lobby/elevators/restaurant at all times was not our thing. Overall this hotel could have been a nice stay if had had a better experience with the hotel staff. Most of the people at the front desk were nice enough, however, several employees were rude or just seemed to be too new to handle any questions or issues effectively. One example was the fire alarms going off at both 12am and 3am during one night. While it is understandable that things happen, they did not handle this situations appropriately at all. People were going down the stairwells to evacuate the hotel (as all the signs in the hotel advise) only to be locked out of the lobby and stuck in the stairwell until hotel staff heard us banging on the door to be let out. I'm glad it wasn't a real FIRE, but then again, no one could really tell us what was even going on, so no one knew if it was serious or not. It happened again at 3am and we waited in the lobby for about 45 minutes until someone finally was able to talk to an employee about what we should be doing (apparently the alarms were malfunctioning, so it was advised to just go back to our rooms) **The other issue we had was with the cleaning staff - apparently one of the housekeepers had spend quite a bit of time in our room while we were out on our snorkeling tour and made A LOT of long distance calls from the hotel phone. We received a statement on our last day informing us that we were being charged about $200.00 in long distance charges. Management ended up removing the charges, but it just left us with an uneasy feeling thinking that someone was just hanging out in our room making calls while all of our stuff was out. :( Overall the hotel was decent, location great, but the service was really pretty terrible and I would not stay here again. Also, just a heads up, the continental breakfast is not free. It's 11$ per person for bagels and yogurt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top