$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2 Tartak St., Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sofiko
St.Petersburg, Russia
Dec 5, 2012

Great weekend getaway

Absolutely loved the hotel! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice design, clean rooms. Great rooftop bar serving amazing cocktails and delicious food (mmmm, Ocean Berry, once you try it you'll never forget it). Very conveniently situated - 10 minute ride from the airport, right next to the beach. Beach towels, umbrellas and chairs provided free of charge for the hotel guests. Many restaurants and shops in the neighborhood. I'd keep air-conditioning down a bit in the restaurant area. The temperature was dramatically different to the one outside. Sometimes we were freezing during brealkfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Car rent with reasonable prices right across the street from the hotel. We took a car for two days to explore San Juan and to go to El Yunque tropical rainforest.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura Dee Solo Traveler
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Dec 16, 2013

Relaxing Solo Getaway

I traveled alone to P.R. for a relaxing vacation away from it all back home. The Water Club was the perfect place for my solo getaway. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I called a day before my check-in date to alert the front desk that I would be arriving earlier than their 4pm check-in time, and asked if they would be able to accommodate a room then. Juan at the front desk was very pleasant on the phone and when I arrived the next day, he hooked me up with early check-in. No waiting! :) The hotel is located right by the beach so I was able to walk just a few steps to the sand & ocean for sunbathing and snoozing on the beach without a care in the world. It rained on & off during my 4 day stay, so I stayed inside the hotel a lot. I'm not complaining as the hotel has a small gym located on the basement level, which I used every day. There's a rooftop pool and Mist bar, which offer a great view of the island. There's a restaurant located off the lobby and room-service. I had lunch on the beach one day, which is serviced by the hotel restaurant. Try the pina colada with your meal! It's so good! The beach staff is excellent, very nice and they don't pester you. My salad and one drink totaled over $30, so if you don't want to spend that much money on lunch for yourself, there are also plenty of cheap fast food restaurants on Isla Verde Avenue very close to the hotel. There is also a traditional Puerto Rican style food restaurant (Mi Casita) located in the little strip mall on the same avenue. The food is good and inexpensive. There is a Walgreens convenience store/pharmacy located a few feet away from the hotel, which is great and there's a fresh juice bar nearby as well. The housekeeping staff is very nice and helpful, and did a good job cleaning the room, especially all the sand I dragged in from the beach! :) One complaint I have about my room was that there was very little drawer space for my clothes and my room had no refrigerator, which I find to be something very standard in most hotel rooms, especially any 4-star rated hotel. Also, I was very confused as to why the coffee maker and ice tray were placed together with the ironing board and iron atop a tiny dresser located in the only closet space covered by a curtain. That was very bizarre to me. I had no room to hang anything because it would literally hang over the coffee maker and bottles of water provided by the hotel. This set up is a potential disaster waiting to happen. Coffee can easily spill & stain clothing or even cause a fire. That just didn't work well for me at all. Another complaint I have is the very poor water pressure in the shower. I never once had any hot water. The water was always cold or very tepid. I wish I could at least once have taken a hot shower, especially after a long day at the beach covered by sand and oil. Overall though, the trip was very enjoyable and I would stay at this hotel again and even recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sharyne
Business
San Juan Carolina
Dec 13, 2013

Staff

The staff could not be more helpful and polite, look forward to staying there again next December

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shaggie19
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Dec 13, 2013

Good! Close to Beach

Stay was very comfortable and staff extremely friendly. Infinity pool was amazing, and hotel is right by the beach and very close to SJU (double plus). We got a room over-looking the beach, that made our stay even special. Concierge was very helpful giving us info when needed. Food at the Hotel is little expensive but good. Room service was very prompt and we found our room clean every night when we came back.Many places to eat within stones throw. Pueblo supermarket (equivalent of Walmart) within 5 min by car. Walgreen's right across the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miami Boy 2013
Business
Florida
Dec 8, 2013

Chic Hideaway

A touch of South Beach in Isla Verde. The decor is great. The staff are young and super friendly. Everything about this hotel is great with 2 notes. The lighting in the rooms and the halls takes getting used to. It gives the guest the feeling you are in a haunted house all the time. After a couple of days, it's ok. The other note is about the prices for their dining option. They have adopted the highest possible pricing tier equal to any 5 star resort from around the world. It's pricey! $6 for a double espresso coffee? Come on! The Ultra Lounge on the roof is awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just take the path to the next street off the beach and avoid paying the restaurant prices in the hotel. There's also a very local bar at the end of the street!

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Avid Traveler1985
Business
NY NY
Nov 5, 2013

Great Experience

I had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The location was convenient and the nightlife was awesome. If I had to say something negative, I would say that the rooms are small and the lighting is horrible. The rooms are very nice, but the blue fluorescent lighting in room was very annoying. One more, the drinks were ok, there were only two drinks we enjoyed passion fruit mojitos and the jarabe de palo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Food in the hotel was good, but a short walk outside the hotel can get you really good food at half the price and bigger portions.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zoeamanda1
Business
nashville, TN
Oct 15, 2013

fantastic hotel

This was my first trip to San Juan and when I return I would would definitely stay here again. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jacid soto
Business
New Jersey
Sep 17, 2013

Great time but expected a lot more

The location of the hotel was really great but the actual room space was extremely limited even when we upgraded to a Better room with ocean view. Not enough closet space, even to place your hair and body products , it was way to small .. The lighting was great it loos like south beach atmosphere but the lighting should have a greater lighting choice in your room to be able to do your make up -- lighting made it very difficult to get my make up done - also the limited space in the bathroom was inconvenient for my husband and I to place our bathroom products ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurant el jibarito in old san Juan was excellent .. Great food , delicious I would say and drinks were excellent as well..

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Over sixty and fab
Business
Texas
Sep 2, 2013

Great experience

The hotel is totally relaxing and the decor with the neon lighting really sets the the mood. Staff was exceptional and friendly. The conciere Lola was great, she helped us on our excursions and was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mi Casita restaurant. Excellent breakfast, wonderful coffee and outstanding secret ingredent potato served.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FlygirlTravelor
Business
New York
Aug 23, 2013

Decent Trip

This is a great hotel-- small, and boutique style. Definitely caters to adults and couples. I went with my best friend and we were the only pair of friends we saw. Couples everywhere, but we didnt mind. Never saw any kids (which was perfect for us, but keep that in mind if you are looking for a family oriented place). Staff are very friendly and hospitable. They will do anything for you to ensure your satisfaction. Proximity to the beach is steps away. Literally. Towels, chairs and beach umbrellas are provided daily. Beach was practically empty... never felt crowded and it was not crawling with local vendors pushing you to buy things. Actually, only saw one local vendor that was selling ice cream (it was amazing!). There is beach service for drinks and food. HOWEVER, be forewarned that the cost of food and drinks is VERY high at this hotel. I mean really expensive. But you can offset this by going to eat at local restaurants. I highly reccomend Metropol restaurant located on the strip behind the hotel. We arrived early at about 12pm and were able to check in right away even though check in is supposed to be at 4pm. Our room was also upgraded from city view to partial ocean view free of charge. This hotel is rated number one out of the 14 hotels on this beach and I can see why. I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
larango930
Business
NJ
Aug 6, 2013

Perfect Beach getaway

I wanted to stay on the Beach in Isla Verde and this hotel was awesome. The staff was very nice, the room and hotel decor were modern and the blue lighting was so chic. Beach chairs and umbrellas are complimentary and there are two great restaurants inside the hotel and a rooftop bar. It was great for the money and I'll definitely be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of fast food places nearby and also fancier restaurants in walking distance. Club Braava is inside the SJ Hotel & Casino which is two blocks away.

Back to menu Return to top