$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2 Tartak St., Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ct. Traveler
Couples
Cheshire Ct.
Mar 4, 2013

great couples vacation

Staff was great, food was excellent, beach was fantastic. We will definitely book another trip to this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

don't bother with the Mall, go straight to Old San Juan for great food ,shopping and amazing sites to see.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Relax and Rejuvenate
Single
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Hidden Jewel

Away from the crowds of Condado, this hotel is on the beach and a hidden jewel. The beach is cleaned every morning and maintained throughout the day. The hotel is modern art deco design. It's a true resort without a lot of wasteful fancy. Clean, neat, and efficient; not a lot of clutter. The rooms are good size, clean, and comfortable. Beautiful ocean view fom room. Staff is outstanding. Some renovations still in-progress, but nothing that impacted time there. Stayed during the week, so there were no crowds. Just what was needed - R&R. Electrical outlets and furniture could be better located for more functionallity in rooms. Could do more in the areas of conservation and sustainability (green).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of food options within walking distance, but most either high-end or fast food (unhealthy). Need options in the mid-price range.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JennRomeo
Friends
Connecticut, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Awesome

Great location, right on the beach. The staff was really friendly and helpful!!!! Loved it, will defenitily go back next year :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JennRomeo
Friends
Connecticut, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Getaway

Everything was amazing, great location, great staff, really friendly and helpful. We will definitely go back again next year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Askali13
Friends
New York, NY, USA
Mar 25, 2012

2nd time around - just as great at the first! GREAT value!

We've now stayed here two years in a row. I've recommended this hotel to various friends who have all had great experiences. Compared to other properties at higher prices, this place is a GREAT value and experience. Here's the great: - Free beach chairs, umbrellas, towels and staff who set all of this up for you. - Beachfront - Friendly and helpful staff. (almost) always willing to help out in any way, greet you good morning, and offer suggestions. - 10 minute ($14 - pre tip) taxi ride from the airport. - Tons of fast food and restaurants within a 10 minute radius for you to choose from. Go local. Save some money. - Several beach bars and restaurants within a few hundred feet - Local pharmacies / drug stores - less than 5 minutes away - stock up a water, snacks, sunscreen, souvenirs / gifts, etc. - Directly behind the T5 bus stop which is a cheaper way (than a taxi) and more local way to travel to Old San Juan for a must day and/or evening trip there. Here's the rest: - Rooftop pool and lounge area and restaurant are now open for business. (last year it was under construction during our stay). Prices are what you expect for a rooftop area and the pool is tiny but the views are truly awesome. - Rooms are cozy. Some fit the king size bed with space left over, others not so much. I didn't find this to be an issue for me though. The shower with only a half panel of glass doesn't bother me but it does my travel companion. Bed is huge. And comfortable. As opposed to years past, the refrigerators are not included in your room but can be rented per stay. We were told $25 then $20. Negotiate it down. Buy your own waters, beers, food, etc at nearby drugstore. - Business center with two computers for you to use. - Free wireless internet. Easy to access. Good connection. - Gym in the basement. The AC unit works some days, other days it does not. It's quite small with just a few machines. Even on the days when the AC works, it's almost unbearingly hot. If you need a run, go outside early in the morning before the sun is ready to fry you. PS: The front desk can book excursions for you - ask for the list. (Do the bio-luminescent bay boat tour. One of the coolest things I have ever done.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raech P
Friends
Jersey City, NJ, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Awesome vacation

As soon as we got to the hotel, we were warmly greeted by the staff. We got to Puerto Rico earlier than expected so I was worried that we can't check in yet but Maria, the cheery front desk person, told us we definite,y can and even upgraded our room to Ocean View. The people in the hotel were really helpful and would go out of their way to help. I was impressed with the service and their hospitality. I would definitely go back to this hotel. I definitely had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Barrachina has the best piña colada that I have ever tried. It's a must to visit in Old San Juan.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe the Digger
Couples
Bronx, NY, USA
Apr 13, 2012

SJ Hotel

We enjoyed this place very much. The staff was terrific. What was especially appealing for us was the intimacy and understated elegance of the place. It was charming and modern, with an excellent atmosphere and unpretentious. Could not beat the location. It was a very worthwhile trip because of this accommodation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy the beach right across the street from the hotel. It is lovely.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danielle and Chris
Couples
New York
Apr 18, 2012

Beyond happy overall

Went on vacation for a week here at the Water Club with my boyfriend. We were both extremley content with everything overall. As soon as we arrived the outside staff greeted us kindly and took our bags for us as we were in awe at the modern and chic boutique hotel in front of us. Juan greeted us at the front desk with the biggest smiling and heartwarming welcome and upgraded our room as we asked when we arrived. The room was clean, spacious and modern. There was a safe, ironing board and iron, hair dryer, and ipod alarm clock dock for some of the smaller ammenities people always are wondering about. We also rented a mini fridge for $20! (well worth it) The rooftop pool was clean and warm, the lounge chairs and beds were super comfy. We put good use to the bar upstairs which was always being tended by a fun bartender (joseph i think was one of them). Zest, the restaurant downstairs had ammmmazzzzzing food, props to the chef!!! As well as tentative servers. On the beach you were always greeted by someone who asked if youd like an umbrella towel and chair. These guys are super nice and are always asking if you're okay and if you needed anything. Hmmm what else, I could go on and on but overall we couldnt have been happier with this awesome chic place for the price we got it at. We were super sad when we left and cant wait to go back next year. Thank you SJ water and Beach Club Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Relax and Rejuvenate
Single
Boston, MA, USA
May 12, 2012

Hidden Jewel

If want to be on the beach, this is the place for you. Step out the front door and the beach is only a few steps away. Small boutique hotel, so you never get lost in the crowd. Great staff to match great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BuffyS
Family
NY
Jul 13, 2012

Open you eye.. Across from the beach!

My experience here is great. You wake up in the morning to a beautiful beach. The "T" floor of the hotel has a nice lounge with beds.. NIce spot to meet up. On the beach the cabanna person sets up your chair and umbrella. Very accomodating...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Not Applicable

No spainish food in the area..

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling DC Teacher
Friends
Washington, DC
Aug 2, 2012

Great Beach Vacation

We had an extremely relaxing time at this hotel. The food and drinks were really good and the staff was very responsive. We were only steps from the beach with beachside food service and free umbrellas and chairs. The only down side is that the blue ambiance and music of the hotel sometimes reminds you of a disco and the king sized bed was not very comfortable. However, I would recommend this hotel due to its proximity to the beach and its great food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The concierge at the hotel recommended the restaurant, Platos, which we ate at twice for dinner because of the excellent drinks and food! I would highly recommend checking this restaurant out if you stay at a hotel in Isla Verde.

Back to menu Return to top