$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 24, 2015

San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2 Tartak St., Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Jun 23, 2007

Boutique San Juan

San Juan Water and Beach Club (aka 'The Water Club')was as I had expected, a quite smaller hotel in a great location. The rooms were small. It didn't bother us though for that the majority of our time was spent right out front on the beach or upstairs for happy hour. And yes, the beach is right out front of the hotel. The road ends at the hotel and typically only taxis waited there to take the patrons to a restaurant there in Isla Verde, in Old San Juan or between in Condado. The hotel is more for the person who is not necessarily looking for the big resort but rather the more personlized attention that the staff is able and has given. The only thing my wife did not enjoy was that the light in the room is blue. Regular light was tougher to come by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining can be found in Isla Verde close to the Hotel, but your nicer meals will be found in Condado and Old San Juan which a short taxi ride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 15, 2007

Good for Couples

The water club staff is great. Very outgoing, helpful and friendly. The beach service (drinks, food, chairs, towels, umbrellas) is great. It is trendy but fun. The location on Isla Verde beach is awesome. Within walking distance to lots of really good restaurants and other hotels. They are happy to arrange tours/make reservations for you. Not even a 10min ride from the airport (taxi is cheap!) but noise from air traffic is not a problem. Good place for couples on vacation. Could be kind of weird with little kids. Been there twice and would be perfectly happy going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great bar with good food (american and caribean) less than a 5 min walk from the hotel. Open air across the street from the beach (almost never any cars on the street... more like a driveway).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Jun 9, 2007

Loved Everything about this Hotel

After reading some online reviews I was uncertain of what to anticipate from The Water Club. However, the service at this hotel surpassed my expectations on all accounts. From the second I got out of the car I was greeted with warm welcomes, the door was ALWAYS opened for us and the people at the front desk were so friendly. The room was nice, we were upgraded for no reason. The view from the roof-top was gorgeous. Puerto Rico was beautiful and I can't wait to go back. I will most definitely stay at The Water Club again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Metropol was delicious... just down down the street a ways... well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Jun 9, 2007

Beautiful View

The San Juan Water and Beach Club was one of the sexiest hotels I've stayed in. I say sexy b/c the view was amazing...it was trendy and the people were gorgeous inside. The customer service was outstanding and the rooms are real romantic and have everything!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the casino nearby is awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
May 17, 2007

very friendly

the place was comfortable, nice, large, clean rooms. the staff was very friendly and were great at guiding at what to do and where to go and how to do it. lot of tours available at front desk, where they pick you up from the hotel. No rental car needed. Nice eating places in the hotel and around the location. Great view, with a beach front opening, complimentay beach towels and water daily, if you plan to lounge in the sand. i would definitely recommend the place for young people.Ony bad thing was the loud music in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

1)La Mista is a great place to eat. 2)Couple of casino's next door. 3)Car rental place behind the hotel. 4)A grocery store about a couple of blocks away (just in case you want to bring puerto rico coffee {3 2 in world} home. 5)Tours available from hotel lobby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
May 11, 2007

Parking fee is outrageous $20 + Tax

The hotel is very well located, Staff is very friendly. Parking fee is expensive $20 that is outrageous. Located right on from of the beach. I rented a car because I wanted to visit anothers places in Puerto Rico But overall we had a great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Colombian Restaurant close to seven eleven. You will see the flag Yellow blue and red. try the bandeja Paisa. Yumm

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
May 8, 2007

Friendly, accomodating staff

Staff treated us wonderfully. Rooms did need a bit of maintainence (especially cigarette burns of the floor). The bed was the most comfortable that I've ever slept on, but the pillows were actually too soft. Tangerine Restaurant on the 1st floor was a bit pricey but served me the best rack of lamb that I've ever eaten. El Alambique Bar & Grill down the block serves a great cheeseburger and reasonably priced beer. Beach was well kept and the hotel provided towels, beach chairs, & umbrellas free of charge (tip those fellas that work hard to set them up for you). The hotel also provided waitress service for food & drink on the beach and the waitress was sassy and a lot of fun. Would I go back there? That's a BIG YES!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Casino at ESJ Hotel is a few short blocks walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Apr 25, 2007

Attentive staff / Great beach location

We found the staff at this cosy hotel friendly and responsive. We enjoyed dining in, at both the main restaurant and at the sushi bar on the roof top. The hotel is nicely situated at the end of a small quiet side street. The beach is right on the doorstep and towels and chairs are part of the deal. There is adequate shade on the beach from palm trees for those of us who need it. The waves were big enough to be fun but not too big to daunt the less frequent ocean swimmers. The hotel is close to the airport but there was little or no noise to be heard. The valet parking was couteous and swift. It all worked for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Several larger hotels sportng casinos are just around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 14, 2007

A taste of South Beach in San Juan

What a great little hotel! It was a last minute getaway for me and I couldn't have been more satisfied with every aspect of my stay there. Traveling alone, I enjoyed the intimacy of the hotel and its super friendly and accomodating staff. Check in was swift and I was upgraded without asking to an ocean front room. this is a staff that has been trained to make one's stay here truly delightful. The manager here really know how to run a first class hotel I loved the whole look and feel of the place...very cool and serene..the room's were decorated with great thought to comfort. Even a station for my i-pod..what more can you ask! It's defintely an adult hotel.. not for kids and although very hip..at 58 I felt right at home! I thought the food at Tangerine inventive and delicious. They might think about serving a breakfast of some sort up on the rooftop as that would be a great way to start the day. As for the location it couldn't be better. Ten minutes from the airport it makes doable a long weekend from New York. The Isle Verde area has all the big hotels within walking distance if you want a casino, shopping, restaurants. And old San Juan that offers many other choices...went to a great salsa club is just a cab ride away. A gem of a place....I feel like I've discovered a hiddensecret and can't wait to reurn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The El San Juan Hotel with its great lobby filled with bars..entertainment.. and then there's the casino...affords you plenty to do at night! Good people watching! El Casita across the street for good inexpensive Puerto Rican food...and a great bakery with terrific coffee...try the pastry called Majourca.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top