$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 22, 2015 Check-out: Jun 25, 2015

San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2 Tartak St., Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Aug 10, 2007

Not the El San Juan!!

We had a great time in Puerto Rico,but this hotel wasnt the best choice for staying 11 days. The maintenance was an issue. More than half of the things in our room didnt work. They were ripping out floors outside our room at 8:30am for several days without a warning. Staff was very polite, but very slow. We had to be moved to a different room for last 5 days of our stay and it didnt have a closet or a refrigerator(mini-bar). I think the Water Club is a great place to go have drinks,dance, and eat sushi. Other than than that the El San Juan or the intercontinential will receive our business next time back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 29, 2007

Great hotel

This hotel is wonderful. The staff is excellent. Extremely helpful,courteous, and they know you by name right after check in. The roof top pool and lounge is restful and romantic. I was dissapointed in the quality of the food for dinner in the Tangerine restaurant. The presentation was excellent, but the food was not very good. I had lobster tail and filet. The lobster was dry and the filet was overcooked. The prices for food and drinks were pretty high. If you don't eat there, it is an excellent hotel otherwise.It is right on the beach which is beautiful and the hotel will provide chairs, umbrellas, and towels. It is close to other restaurants and the casino, all within walking distance. All in all a great exerience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The casino is right down the street. Lots of dancing there.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 22, 2007

Great boutique hotel right on the beach

The San Juan Water and Beach Club is a very chic boutique hotel with a great rooftop bar and sushi restuarant. This hotel is perfect for young couples, the rooms are small, no dresser and the beds(which are very comfortable)are the main piece of furniture. The beach is literaly right outside the hotel which is great since the rooftop pool is a glorified hot tub. The entire hotel, including the rooms, have black lights. The staff at this hotel are more than helpful. They go above and beyond, and I left there feeling as though I made some friends. All in all, a very pleasureable experience and I would definetely go back. There are so many great restuarants, explore. Pamela's in the Condado area is exceptional with on the beach dining (im talking sand in toes as im eating) and some of the best Caribean food I have ever had. Take a snorkeling day trip to Culebra and Flamenco Beach, clearest water I have ever seen. Also, if there are not alot of cruise ships in port, Old San Juan and everything in it closes early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eufrosine
Business
New York, NY
Jul 14, 2007

Great Quick Getaway

The Water club was very comfortable with great views of the ocean. Rooms were simple yet modern. The staff were very excellent, they were all very friendly and attentive to our needs. The location was fantastic, near shops and restaurants that are in walking distance. The beach was private with staff attending to your every need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 11, 2007

Friendly

The room was comfortable, however you had to dress out of you suite case. There were no drawers to place you clothes in. Ever time our room was clean they left not washcloths, we had to go to the front desk on this everyday. However the Frist desk and door crew was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jul 10, 2007

excellent hotel for the vacation

The water club was an excellent hotel, the food was very delicious, the location was very good in front of our hotel there was an amazing bright blue beach and amazing service to go along.the room itself was beautiful and unique it had bright blue lights along the upper side of the wall and it made the room soo different and nice.. very clean and close to all the place my family wanted to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the san juan casino and night clubs were near by. Which the club was so much fun and the people around are so nice.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 29, 2007

It doesn't get better than this.......

This hotel was excellent! It is perfectly located right on the beach and very close to Wallgreens for those things you forgot to pack. Local restaurants are reasonable but the hotel's restaurant was rather expensive. The staff were great and very helpful. The bus stop is right outside the hotel, which helps. The bar on the roof is a great place for Happy Hour and when they say Happy Hour, they really mean one hour. It is a great place to meet other tourist or locals. Overall, we would stay here many more times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great dinner, walk down the beach to a restaurant which looks like a hut. We had a great seafood dinner there that did not break the bank. Also, take the bus A5 to Old San Juan. It is a great way to see Puerto Rico, save some money and have an adventure.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Jun 23, 2007

Boutique San Juan

San Juan Water and Beach Club (aka 'The Water Club')was as I had expected, a quite smaller hotel in a great location. The rooms were small. It didn't bother us though for that the majority of our time was spent right out front on the beach or upstairs for happy hour. And yes, the beach is right out front of the hotel. The road ends at the hotel and typically only taxis waited there to take the patrons to a restaurant there in Isla Verde, in Old San Juan or between in Condado. The hotel is more for the person who is not necessarily looking for the big resort but rather the more personlized attention that the staff is able and has given. The only thing my wife did not enjoy was that the light in the room is blue. Regular light was tougher to come by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining can be found in Isla Verde close to the Hotel, but your nicer meals will be found in Condado and Old San Juan which a short taxi ride away.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 15, 2007

Good for Couples

The water club staff is great. Very outgoing, helpful and friendly. The beach service (drinks, food, chairs, towels, umbrellas) is great. It is trendy but fun. The location on Isla Verde beach is awesome. Within walking distance to lots of really good restaurants and other hotels. They are happy to arrange tours/make reservations for you. Not even a 10min ride from the airport (taxi is cheap!) but noise from air traffic is not a problem. Good place for couples on vacation. Could be kind of weird with little kids. Been there twice and would be perfectly happy going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great bar with good food (american and caribean) less than a 5 min walk from the hotel. Open air across the street from the beach (almost never any cars on the street... more like a driveway).

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Jun 9, 2007

Loved Everything about this Hotel

After reading some online reviews I was uncertain of what to anticipate from The Water Club. However, the service at this hotel surpassed my expectations on all accounts. From the second I got out of the car I was greeted with warm welcomes, the door was ALWAYS opened for us and the people at the front desk were so friendly. The room was nice, we were upgraded for no reason. The view from the roof-top was gorgeous. Puerto Rico was beautiful and I can't wait to go back. I will most definitely stay at The Water Club again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Metropol was delicious... just down down the street a ways... well worth it.

Back to menu Return to top