$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

4 stars
2 Tartak St., Isla Verde, San Juan, 00979
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
147 reviews
Fantastic Couple Getaway

We just got back from a 4 night stay at this hotel and we would definitely return. The hotel is in... See full review

  • Angelica1234
  • Jul 15, 2014
Perfect couples getaway!

I took my fiancee here for a quick getaway in June. The hotel was very trendy with an upbeat... See full review

  • jonroy
  • Jun 16, 2014
Prepare to be pampered boutique-style at the Water and Beach Club Hotel, San Juan in Puerto Rico. Staff members work hard to make your stay memorable at this water-inspired resort. A favorite for special events, it offers rooftop relaxation with a swimming pool, couch areas, and Mist Rooftop Bar & Lounge. Work out in the boutique gym, or take advantage of the complimentary beach amenities, complete with tasty cocktail popsicles. Unique touches include telescopes in rooms, for private stargazing.
Key facts
  • 2 on-site restaurants: Mist and Zest
  • Oceanfront business center: boardroom and meeting spaces
  • Rooftop pool, bar and lounge area
  • Full-service beach concierge with access to water-sports
  • Valet parking
  • Limousine and town car service available
  • Massage and spa services
  • Room service offered seven days a week
  • Dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Ability to book tours and activities from the front desk
Neighborhood
Located on the shores of Isla Verde Beach, the hotel is walking distance from several nightlife hot spots, including the El San Juan Casino. Historic Old San Juan is only 15 minutes away for a bit of local culture, as is the Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) for quick and easy flight access.
Hints and tips
Some pets are welcomed at the hotel for a fee, and are treated to a goody bag with gourmet treats, a toy, bowl and bottle of water.

Other pet-oriented services such as grooming and dog walking are offered upon request, so inquire before booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel Rooms

Seaside Guest Room
You are as close to the sea as you can be from a room with a private French balcony with complete panoramic views of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The newly redesigned, 300 sq. ft. guest rooms offer luxury amenities including: pillow top king bed, fine linens, plush white towels and Gilchrist and Soames amenities.
SandArt Room
Sun and Surf included! The newly refurbished, 300 sq ft. guest rooms offer dramatic full Ocean Front views of sparkling turquoise waters of the Atlantic ocean. Luxury amenities including: pillowtop King bed, luxurious linens; plush white towels and Gilchrist and Soames amenities. Complimentary amenities include: locan and 1-800 telephone calls; WI-FI and beach amenities.
Urban Retreat Room
A room with an attitude that let's you forget life back home! The newly refurbished, 300 sq ft. bed-dominated guest rooms feature city views. Luxury amenities include pillowtop King bed, fine linens; plush white towels and Gilchrist and Soames amenities. Complimentary amenities include: local and 1-800 telephone calls; WI-FI and beach amenities.
Atmosphere Room
Say hello to the beach! Partial Ocean Views of Isla Verde's white sand beach and gentle dunes, the newly refurbished, 300 sq ft. guest rooms offer luxury amenities including: pillowtop King bed, fine linens; plush white towels and Gilchrist and Soames amenities. Complimentary amenities include: local and 1-800 telephone calls; WI-FI and beach amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.4438 -66.0234
Area served
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International (SJU) - Estimate driving distance 5 minutes.
Area description
With its rich heritage and breathtaking landscape, San Juan Puerto Rico warmly welcomes visitors. The ultimate getaway, Puerto Rico offers the discriminating traveler the very best of nature, music, culture, arts and food, with a dynamic blend of excitement and relaxation.
The San Juan Water & Beach Club is pleased to be your gateway to this amazing experience. The only luxury boutique hotel on the beach and only 15 minutes from both the Luis Munoz Marin International airport and Old San Juan, the hotel provides unequaled access to the best that San Juan has to offer.
Ideal for pleasure, business or both, there is a lot to do nearby, with convenient access to the best restaurants, nightlife, shopping and museums, and most importantly on the best beach - still bordered with palms and no crowds - in San Juan.

Nearby points of interest

  • Isla Verde: 0.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.9 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.1 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.8 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.9 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.4 mi
  • Isla Verde: 0.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 2.9 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 3.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 3.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 4.1 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 4.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 5.8 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 5.9 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 6.2 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 6.3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 6.4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 6.4 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 6.4 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 6.4 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 6.4 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 6.5 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 6.5 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 7.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 7.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 48.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel offers guests a unique combination of intimate settings, including ocean view indoor and outdoor function venues for board meetings, corporate training, unforgettable weddings, and other special events. Our staff will assist with all the details to assure you have a very distinctive event that reflects style from the best!

Dining

Zest Restaurant
The restaurant Zest on the ground floor welcomes guests with a unique sub-aquatic atmosphere and a modern latino cuisine menu featuring sustainability-sourced ingredients, each dish infused with a unique scent meant to stimulate every sense.
Mist Ultra Lounge
Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, Mist Ultra Lounge offers comfortable seating areas for rooftop relaxation, swimming pool, signature cocktails and a decadent menu featuring Socializers"small plates you can share"prepared with fresh, locally grown ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (147)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Aug 21, 2007

Very Friendly Place

I was very please with the hotel staff, especially the Desires Manager. My best friend and I didn't really get a chance to eat in the hotels restaurant due to it being so pricey, but the atomsphere seemed great. Our room was nice and cozy, but it would have been even better if the light construction was not going on. Overall, it was a great hotel, great staff, great location, great beach front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Aug 15, 2007

Boutique/Chic Hotel

While the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, I would not recommend this hotel to most guests. It is a very trendy, non-traditional hotel that caters to the young and hip. I would not recommend families to stay here. The bed is diagonal off the wall and blue lighting is displayed throughout the hotel. Techno music also blares from the speakers at the check-in. If you like this style of hotel, then you will enjoy it. The pool is VERY small (even though it is on the top floor). The drinks at the bar are very expensive. But, the bed is extremely comfortable with high thread count sheets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a delicious restaurant called Edith's Cafe around the corner from the hotel. It is open 24 hours and serves authentic Puerto Rican food. It is expensive and a local place to dine and take in the culture of San Juan.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Aug 15, 2007

Boutique/Chic Hotel

While the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, I would not recommend this hotel to most guests. It is a very trendy, non-traditional hotel that caters to the young and hip. I would not recommend families to stay here. The bed is diagonal off the wall and blue lighting is displayed throughout the hotel. Techno music also blares from the speakers at the check-in. If you like this style of hotel, then you will enjoy it. The pool is VERY small (even though it is on the top floor). The drinks at the bar are very expensive. But, the bed is extremely comfortable with high thread count sheets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a delicious restaurant called Edith's Cafe around the corner from the hotel. It is open 24 hours and serves authentic Puerto Rican food. It is expensive and a local place to dine and take in the culture of San Juan.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Aug 14, 2007

Picture Perfect Beach!

The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel has an art deco style, like something you would find on South Beach in Miami. Every detail of the style has been carefully evaluated including an aromatic scent of a tangerine as you enter the hotel lobby. My husband and I received a warm and friendly welcome by the hotel employees. They were all very courteous, friendly and fun! The type of music that was playing (I think it's called Techno) is not our style. I was a bit disappointed not to hear Salsa music. Our room had a partial city/partial beach view. It was small but spacious enough for 2 people. It included a great sound system to play our Salsa music! The room did not have a dresser to put clothes in. We requested more hangers (with an immediate response) and used the closet for most of our clothes and had to leave some in our suitcases. The hotel cleaning staff did an excellent job, our room was cleaned thoroughly everyday with no inconvenience to us. The beach was spectacular! We really enjoyed our time on the beach. The ocean water is an aqua color with baby powder sand and no seaweed to fight with! The hotel freely provided lounge chairs, towels, water, umbrellas and a beach attendant who was very friendly and offered recommendations on great places to see during our stay. The location is within walking distance to local amenities like Walgreens, car rental co. (right behind the hotel), fast food and fine dining restaurants. We only ate breakfast at the hotel and it was delicious and reasonably priced. The wait staff was very friendly. We loved the rooftop! It has spectacular views of the city and the ocean! We are considering another trip to Puerto Rico late in December or early January and we would definitely consider another stay at the Water Club!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Aug 14, 2007

Picture Perfect Beach!

The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel has an art deco style, like something you would find on South Beach in Miami. Every detail of the style has been carefully evaluated including an aromatic scent of a tangerine as you enter the hotel lobby. My husband and I received a warm and friendly welcome by the hotel employees. They were all very courteous, friendly and fun! The type of music that was playing (I think it's called Techno) is not our style. I was a bit disappointed not to hear Salsa music. Our room had a partial city/partial beach view. It was small but spacious enough for 2 people. It included a great sound system to play our Salsa music! The room did not have a dresser to put clothes in. We requested more hangers (with an immediate response) and used the closet for most of our clothes and had to leave some in our suitcases. The hotel cleaning staff did an excellent job, our room was cleaned thoroughly everyday with no inconvenience to us. The beach was spectacular! We really enjoyed our time on the beach. The ocean water is an aqua color with baby powder sand and no seaweed to fight with! The hotel freely provided lounge chairs, towels, water, umbrellas and a beach attendant who was very friendly and offered recommendations on great places to see during our stay. The location is within walking distance to local amenities like Walgreens, car rental co. (right behind the hotel), fast food and fine dining restaurants. We only ate breakfast at the hotel and it was delicious and reasonably priced. The wait staff was very friendly. We loved the rooftop! It has spectacular views of the city and the ocean! We are considering another trip to Puerto Rico late in December or early January and we would definitely consider another stay at the Water Club!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
Aug 10, 2007

Not the El San Juan!!

We had a great time in Puerto Rico,but this hotel wasnt the best choice for staying 11 days. The maintenance was an issue. More than half of the things in our room didnt work. They were ripping out floors outside our room at 8:30am for several days without a warning. Staff was very polite, but very slow. We had to be moved to a different room for last 5 days of our stay and it didnt have a closet or a refrigerator(mini-bar). I think the Water Club is a great place to go have drinks,dance, and eat sushi. Other than than that the El San Juan or the intercontinential will receive our business next time back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
Aug 10, 2007

Not the El San Juan!!

We had a great time in Puerto Rico,but this hotel wasnt the best choice for staying 11 days. The maintenance was an issue. More than half of the things in our room didnt work. They were ripping out floors outside our room at 8:30am for several days without a warning. Staff was very polite, but very slow. We had to be moved to a different room for last 5 days of our stay and it didnt have a closet or a refrigerator(mini-bar). I think the Water Club is a great place to go have drinks,dance, and eat sushi. Other than than that the El San Juan or the intercontinential will receive our business next time back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 29, 2007

Great hotel

This hotel is wonderful. The staff is excellent. Extremely helpful,courteous, and they know you by name right after check in. The roof top pool and lounge is restful and romantic. I was dissapointed in the quality of the food for dinner in the Tangerine restaurant. The presentation was excellent, but the food was not very good. I had lobster tail and filet. The lobster was dry and the filet was overcooked. The prices for food and drinks were pretty high. If you don't eat there, it is an excellent hotel otherwise.It is right on the beach which is beautiful and the hotel will provide chairs, umbrellas, and towels. It is close to other restaurants and the casino, all within walking distance. All in all a great exerience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The casino is right down the street. Lots of dancing there.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 29, 2007

Great hotel

This hotel is wonderful. The staff is excellent. Extremely helpful,courteous, and they know you by name right after check in. The roof top pool and lounge is restful and romantic. I was dissapointed in the quality of the food for dinner in the Tangerine restaurant. The presentation was excellent, but the food was not very good. I had lobster tail and filet. The lobster was dry and the filet was overcooked. The prices for food and drinks were pretty high. If you don't eat there, it is an excellent hotel otherwise.It is right on the beach which is beautiful and the hotel will provide chairs, umbrellas, and towels. It is close to other restaurants and the casino, all within walking distance. All in all a great exerience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The casino is right down the street. Lots of dancing there.

Review of San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 22, 2007

Great boutique hotel right on the beach

The San Juan Water and Beach Club is a very chic boutique hotel with a great rooftop bar and sushi restuarant. This hotel is perfect for young couples, the rooms are small, no dresser and the beds(which are very comfortable)are the main piece of furniture. The beach is literaly right outside the hotel which is great since the rooftop pool is a glorified hot tub. The entire hotel, including the rooms, have black lights. The staff at this hotel are more than helpful. They go above and beyond, and I left there feeling as though I made some friends. All in all, a very pleasureable experience and I would definetely go back. There are so many great restuarants, explore. Pamela's in the Condado area is exceptional with on the beach dining (im talking sand in toes as im eating) and some of the best Caribean food I have ever had. Take a snorkeling day trip to Culebra and Flamenco Beach, clearest water I have ever seen. Also, if there are not alot of cruise ships in port, Old San Juan and everything in it closes early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top