Holiday Inn Express SAN JUAN CONDADO

3 stars
View map of 1 Mariano Ramirez Bages,Condado, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

3.6/5

Overall score

76%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8
Renovated in early 2014 as the Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado, the San Juan Plaza Hotel strikes a pose on the shores of the Condado Lagoon with its cobalt blue lighting. Inside, a tropical color palette and ethnic motifs continue through the lobby, while the wave design around the outdoor pool area draws would-be swimmers into the water. A breakfast of Puerto Rican pastries and hot treats is served in the on-site dining room, and those needing to get some work out of the way before an ocean dip will find a self-service business center, with Internet free throughout the hotel (fees may apply).
Key facts
  • 115 guestrooms
  • Concierge
  • Outdoor pool
  • Whirlpool
  • Fitness center
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Valet parking
  • Business center
Neighborhood
The area of Condado is a stylish resort neighborhood, run through with the shopping and dining Mecca Avenida Ashford, flanked by Condado Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. Though the hotel has no evening food service, relaxed dinner options can still be had at Di Parma Italian restaurant just down the street from Plaza Hotel San Juan, or visitors can grab a slice of the good stuff at Mike's pizzeria around the corner. Adventurous treasure-seekers can always hop over to the islet of Old San Juan for the historic forts of El Morro & San Cristobal (three miles).
Hints and tips
Plenty of Contado resorts also come with in-house casinos, if you're feeling lucky at La Concha or The Radisson Ambassador.

Cruising Condado's nightlife leads to excellent waterfront bars and restaurants like Oceano - where you can enjoy your pina colada on the roof.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
FAX
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Hotel Map

18.4583 -66.0754
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Int'l Airport, (SJU), 5.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Dining

Di Parma
Di Parma is an Italian Restaurant situated at Las Ventanas Al Mar on 1449 Ashford Ave, Condado. Fridays,Saturdays, Sundays the opening hours are 11:00a.m. to 2:00a.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN JUAN CONDADO

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN JUAN CONDADO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ciklalisse
Business
Cayey, Puerto Rico
Apr 22, 2014

Awesome!!!!!

My experience at this hotel was wonderful, the staff was cordial and very friendly. Breakfast was delicious, the incredible pool, which note was a little expensive the cost of parking but the rest have not very clean and very well located complaints. I definitely likely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

n/a

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN JUAN CONDADO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ethanpr
Business
Isabela, PR
Dec 10, 2013

perfect stay at great value

is in a renovation process but we got a renewed room and it was all new and clean, very polite staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN JUAN CONDADO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rockanrolero
Business
San Juan, PR
Dec 9, 2013

Try and find another cheap place

The hotel is undergoing repairs, which you find out when getting there since this website doesn't have that info. Location is prime, and I mean PRIME! Everything is close by... Because of renovations they changed the name of the hotel, it's really another chain. Breakfast buffet was offered at another hotel and it could've been worse but luckily it wasn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN JUAN CONDADO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lead supervisor
Business
Reading pa
Jul 14, 2013

Ok

The hotel was fine but alittle deceiving the price for parking was to much and the pool was very small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN JUAN CONDADO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jayeshkumar
Business
Washington, DC
May 12, 2013

good price.good location

good location,safe location.nice staff.free breakfast.good car parking with fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN JUAN CONDADO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RETIRED SOLDIER
Business
HERSHEY PA
May 4, 2013

Adaquate

We booked a Holiday Inn Select and got a hotel that was sold and in transition to a new label. We felt safe, staff was great and breakfast was good. Hotel suggested a $20 cab to Old San Juan instead of a $.75 cent bus trip. Its good to support the cabbies, but give the guest a choice. Would NOT recommend until rebranding is complete. Rooms need work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN JUAN CONDADO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Corbi
Business
Madison, Wi
May 1, 2013

Prime location=good value.

No this place isn't the latest and the greatest nor is it filled with all sorts of amenities. But it is clean, quiet, comfortable with a friendly and efficient staff. Close to the beach, shopping, restaurants, etc. Pool is small but still nice, hot tub is great. Basic breakfast served everyday for free as well. Fitness center is horrid but hey you are on vacation so take it easy for a few days. I would have no issues returning here, great value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of great locally owned restaurants within 2-3-4 blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN JUAN CONDADO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Singing traveler
Business
NYC, NY
Apr 23, 2013

Damp smell

Love San Juan, but...even though the hotel price was low and the staff is great, there's they said there's nothing they can do about the smell of dampness in the rooms. They offered us a second room that smelled just as bad, then moved us into a renovated room without an odor but no towel racks, no hooks, the a/c was either freezing or inadequate. The pool is okay but the area needs spiffing up. No outdoor place to sit except a bench on a narrow area in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

El Morrow fort is wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN JUAN CONDADO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LandrioM
Business
Belchertown,MA
Apr 19, 2013

Perfect Location

Upon arrival, my husband and I had some trouble checking in at first. They tried to charge me twice for the room claiming I hadn't prepaid. But that was quickly cleared up. Besides that, this hotel is perfect if you plan to use it for not much more than a place to sleep or take a break from the sun. Overall the room was nice. The bed was comfy and we had a great view from our window. There are no frills to this hotel. The free breakfast is basic - cereal, bananas, toast and eggs and sausage along with a few pastry options. I chose the hotel because of the pool--many hotels in this price range do not have pools. However, we never swam in it because the beach is directly across the street and the hotel pool is in the shade. But it looked very clean and maintained. There was always an available taxi outside of the hotel and it felt very safe to walk around there. The only thing really missing for me was some type of hotel restaurant or even a small store to buy water or snacks. But there are so many excellent restaurants around that in the end that didn't matter so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One of our favorite meals was at Casa Lola on Ashford Avenue. The ambiance is beautiful and romantic and the food and service were amazing! The dinners were around $20+ so for us, this was our biggest splurge. We each got a mofongo and they were fantastic. We also liked Kasalta bakery (amaaazing!) ..good breakfast sandwiches. This one you have to drive to. In Old San Juan, we liked Caficultura - good coconut french toast and specialty iced coffees. At Mike's pizzeria, around the corner from the hotel, order the pizza with plantains--best pizza I've had in a long time. Tons of restaurants in walking distance. We wished we had more time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN JUAN CONDADO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maxymoodi
Business
San Juan, Puerto rico
Mar 31, 2013

Good Getaway experience

I booked my trip as a getaway trip to San Juan and what a good experience. The hotel made it more comfortable and good i enjoyed every night. The staff are good and very helpful. and for the price it was very worth it. The breakfast could get better specially when it is included, they had short verity of food at the breakfast table.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top