$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
347 reviews
the resturant at hotel was horrible puerrican

Loved it top floor nice view pool was great also had a bar near the pool also have valet staff was... See full review

  • orlando cotto
  • Jun 26, 2014
The location is amazing

You're right next to the beach !!! The Chinese n Japanese restaurants were amazing ! Our rooms were... See full review

  • Kalii
  • Apr 18, 2014
Minimalist design with fresh, white decor sets the scene for the Beach Hotel, San Juan. One of the more affordable hotels on the oceanfront in San Juan's Condado area, its guestrooms have spectacular water views, including the Condado Lagoon. For a bit of relaxation, lay out and soak up the sun next to one of the crystal-clear swimming pools that both kids and adults can enjoy. Hungry? Please your palate with a meal from the Perurrican Restaurant & Lounge. Garbo is an exclusive boutique in the hotel, inviting guests to stop in for a browse.
Key facts
  • 96 guestrooms, all of which have either ocean or lagoon views
  • On-site adult and kiddie pools
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • On-site Perurrican restaurant
  • 24-hour valet parking service
Neighborhood
The hotel offers direct access to the beach, making it ideal for those that enjoy sandy strolls and water-related activities. The concierge offers guests pointers on where to rent a kayak, jet ski, or paddle surf for some fun on the Condado Lagoon. Art lovers will marvel at the exhibitions of the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, before shuffling down the quaint cobblestoned streets of Old San Juan. When you get tired of sea and sand, the only tropical rainforest of the U.S. National Park Service is roughly half an hour's drive away.
Hints and tips
Attentive staff at the restaurant will prepare a refreshing tropical drink or fruit slices to keep guests relaxed and fed while at the poolside or beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4582 -66.0757
Area served
All of Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and US as well as Europe and Asia.
Nearby airports
San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU): Approximate driving time is 15 minutes and distance is 7 miles.
Area description
The San Juan Beach Hotel is strategically located in the Condado district of the city, seven miles from the Luis Munoz Marin Airport & 3 miles from The Old San Juan. It offers direct access to the beach for sunbathing only, an oceanfront swimming pool. San Juan Beach Hotel is a great choice for visitors wanting to explore everything San Juan has to offer; from trendy cafes in Old San Juan to the spectacular beaches within walking distance.
Points of Interest: Condado Beach - 0.5 mile / Ocean Park (beach) - 1 mile / Old San Juan - 3 miles / Fort San Cristobal - 3 miles / La Fortaleza - 3 miles / San Juan Cathedral - 3 miles / Isla Verde - 3 miles / El Morro - 3.5 miles / Plaza Las Americas (shopping mall) - 5 miles / Bacardi Rum Distillery - 15 miles / El Yunque Caribbean National Forest - 22 miles / Arecibo Observatory - 40 miles.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (347)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 347
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.6

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 10, 2009

Disappointed accomodations

Experience was horrible, yes hotel was under renovation in the lobby, but no need for the rooms to be the way they were. The first room was trashy bottles all over the room, bed was left unmade, move to second room which was sweaty and mildewy, smelly molded, pillows was also mildew, no maid service, no phone in rooms. The third room some mildew and no room service. My overall opinion they should not be renting out some of the rooms which also needs renovations due to mildew and sweatiness as you walk through the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bridgeport, CT 06606
Jun 26, 2009

Horrible, Terrible and NEVER again

The entire stay was without a phone. It didnt work and wasnt repaired after NUMBEROUS complaints. The air conditioner leaked water HORRIFICALLY - the entire floor and carpet was soaked and again not repaired after numerous calls. The "lagoon view" is a parking lot - a huge parking lot and then a lagoon. Cleanliness was adequate, but untrustworthy considering the soaked carpet. No Continental breakfast as promised. The hotel is under Major Renovation which it desperately needs, but no mention of MAJOR renovation the blurb noted implied it was somewhat less. and since continental breakfast was to have been a feature, we werent aware that the Restaurant would also Be CLOSED. All in all a horrible stay. Staff was although courteous unresponsive. understandably had to wait for check-in time, but forced to take insulin and other life required meds in the lobby. I felt staff could have offered a private area for those needs for just a few minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Nov 1, 2010

Worst Hotel

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The rooms had no amenities whats so ever. There was no fridge, no coffee maker, no iron, no hair dryer and the tv is extremely small. The room looked like it was falling apart with a broken window and sink. The worst part for me, because I could have tolerated everything else, was that they had you waiting for hours for a fresh towel and toilet paper. At one point we asked at the front lobby three times to get toilet paper and towels and each time the manager told us to wait. The manager was rude and disrespectful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dan from Somerville
Somerville, MA
Mar 31, 2014

What's grosser than gross...

I read all the reviews (after booking a hotel and air package, my mistake), and thought "how bad can it really be?" Well the answer to that is WORSE! I thought "oh it's just people who are used to the "American standard" or it's always the people who complain that write reviews. I can put up with a lot, but this place was just gross! I've stayed at hundreds of hotels all over the world with varying standards and this place is probably the worst, if not it's at the very bottom. The positives of this hotel and there are some, are; the location (perfect), the shower, and the tv, and of course the price (but not value for price). And to name a few of the negatives; the vomit stained bed-skirt, the indeterminable "wet spot" on the carpet (that didn't dry all week), and smell of urine once the AC was turned down. I don't think, no I'm sure that housekeeping only added towels to the bathroom as part of the "cleaning", as there was always hair and toothpaste still in the sink after "cleaning". The pool area was okay, they could have used a broom to sweep up after the late night parties, and the lobby was okay too. The elevators alternated working, and I was very surprised not to get stuck in one. One more tip - don't get the US$ 7 (plus tax) breakfast, the coffee was watered down sludge, and just not worth it. What this place needs is proper management, and a staff that actually do the job their hired to do. Telling also was at check-out that the desk clerk did not ask how my stay was....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bridgeport, CT 06606
Jun 26, 2009

Horrible, Terrible and NEVER again

The entire stay was without a phone. It didnt work and wasnt repaired after NUMBEROUS complaints. The air conditioner leaked water HORRIFICALLY - the entire floor and carpet was soaked and again not repaired after numerous calls. The "lagoon view" is a parking lot - a huge parking lot and then a lagoon. Cleanliness was adequate, but untrustworthy considering the soaked carpet. No Continental breakfast as promised. The hotel is under Major Renovation which it desperately needs, but no mention of MAJOR renovation the blurb noted implied it was somewhat less. and since continental breakfast was to have been a feature, we werent aware that the Restaurant would also Be CLOSED. All in all a horrible stay. Staff was although courteous unresponsive. understandably had to wait for check-in time, but forced to take insulin and other life required meds in the lobby. I felt staff could have offered a private area for those needs for just a few minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Born to Travel
Salinas, CA
Jan 23, 2013

Nothing Like the Pictures!

I use travel discount websites all the time and this is the first time that the hotel does not match the description and pictures found online. The rooms are bare, there is no scenic backyard beach, and the location is not walking distance from the center of Old San Juan. Yes the hotel is very affordable so I guess you get what you pay for, but do not be fooled by the pictures. The backyard beach is not even accessible and is surrounded by rocks so you cannot event get in. Also when we arrived the hotel had no running water for 20 minutes and our phone line did not work nor did they ever fix it even though we informed them about it. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Born to Travel
Salinas, CA
Jan 23, 2013

Nothing Like the Pictures

I use travel discount websites all the time and this is the first time the description and pictures did not match those listed online. The rooms are bare, the backyard beach is not accessble and there are no cabanas. The hotel was located far from Central San Juan and located in a block of hotels. Nothing much to do around. When we arrived there was no running water and our phone did not work. They did not fix the phone problem even after we informed them. The next day the curtains fell down when we tried to open them. This place was not a pleasant experience and I would not recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DaveNYC
NYC
Feb 18, 2010

Poorly Run Hotel

After waiting 15 minutes for the person before us to be checked in, and not being acknowledged, it took a further 40 minutes for us to be checked in, and we had arrived at 11pm. The front desk was a mess, no one knew where anything was, and they could not find the key to our room. Only some of have the rooms have electronic keys, and we noticed odd wires hanging out of most of those. The room was nice, except we had no hot water. We couldn't call the front desk to tell them because our phone did not work at all. Check out took another 10 minutes after waiting 20 and a long line formed behind us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stars211
Brooklyn New York
Mar 12, 2009

Worst Hotel In San Juan Puerto Rico!

My stay was a breif one,being that my first out of three rooms was dirty,hugely stained carpet,bathroom and tub seem not to have cleaned in months,bad odor from hallway into rooms,no electricity or phones in the second and third rooms along with filthy bedspreads and linens.I would not have my dog stay there with his fleas.Stay away from this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice mom pop resturants where I found the fod to be of great taste and vlaue.

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stars211
Brooklyn New York
Mar 12, 2009

Worst Hotel In San Juan Puerto Rico!

My stay was a breif one,being that my first out of three rooms was dirty,hugely stained carpet,bathroom and tub seem not to have cleaned in months,bad odor from hallway into rooms,no electricity or phones in the second and third rooms along with filthy bedspreads and linens.I would not have my dog stay there with his fleas.Stay away from this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice mom pop resturants where I found the fod to be of great taste and vlaue.

Back to menu Return to top