$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
261 reviews
Reks in Puerto Rico

The hotel staff was wonderful. The courtesy and professionalism was surprisingly perfect. I felt... See full review

  • Reks
  • Sep 15, 2014
the resturant at hotel was horrible puerrican

Loved it top floor nice view pool was great also had a bar near the pool also have valet staff was... See full review

  • orlando cotto
  • Jun 26, 2014
Minimalist design with fresh, white decor sets the scene for the Beach Hotel, San Juan. One of the more affordable hotels on the oceanfront in San Juan's Condado area, its guestrooms have spectacular water views, including the Condado Lagoon. For a bit of relaxation, lay out and soak up the sun next to one of the crystal-clear swimming pools that both kids and adults can enjoy. Hungry? Please your palate with a meal from the Perurrican Restaurant & Lounge. Garbo is an exclusive boutique in the hotel, inviting guests to stop in for a browse.
Key facts
  • 96 guestrooms, all of which have either ocean or lagoon views
  • On-site adult and kiddie pools
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • On-site Perurrican restaurant
  • 24-hour valet parking service
Neighborhood
The hotel offers direct access to the beach, making it ideal for those that enjoy sandy strolls and water-related activities. The concierge offers guests pointers on where to rent a kayak, jet ski, or paddle surf for some fun on the Condado Lagoon. Art lovers will marvel at the exhibitions of the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, before shuffling down the quaint cobblestoned streets of Old San Juan. When you get tired of sea and sand, the only tropical rainforest of the U.S. National Park Service is roughly half an hour's drive away.
Hints and tips
Attentive staff at the restaurant will prepare a refreshing tropical drink or fruit slices to keep guests relaxed and fed while at the poolside or beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4582 -66.0757
Area served
All of Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and US as well as Europe and Asia.
Nearby airports
San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU): Approximate driving time is 15 minutes and distance is 7 miles.
Area description
The San Juan Beach Hotel is strategically located in the Condado district of the city, seven miles from the Luis Munoz Marin Airport & 3 miles from The Old San Juan. It offers direct access to the beach for sunbathing only, an oceanfront swimming pool. San Juan Beach Hotel is a great choice for visitors wanting to explore everything San Juan has to offer; from trendy cafes in Old San Juan to the spectacular beaches within walking distance.
Points of Interest: Condado Beach - 0.5 mile / Ocean Park (beach) - 1 mile / Old San Juan - 3 miles / Fort San Cristobal - 3 miles / La Fortaleza - 3 miles / San Juan Cathedral - 3 miles / Isla Verde - 3 miles / El Morro - 3.5 miles / Plaza Las Americas (shopping mall) - 5 miles / Bacardi Rum Distillery - 15 miles / El Yunque Caribbean National Forest - 22 miles / Arecibo Observatory - 40 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (261)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

1.9 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 261
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
1.8
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.4

28% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 18, 2007

My review of San Juan Beach Hotel

WHEN WALKING IN HOTEL YOU CAN SEE THAT IT'S NOT UP TO PAR. THERE IS NO RESTAURANT IN HOTEL, BAR IS NEARLY ALWAYS CLOSED DUE TO INSUFFICIENT MERCHANDISE. ENTERING THE ROOMS THE SMELL OF MILDEW JUST SMACKS YOU. THE CLEAN TOWELS ARE LIMITED, THE BATHTUB WAS NOT CLEANED ONE TIME FROM THE TIME WE WERE THERE TO THE TIME WE LEFT. THERE WAS NO WATER PRESSURE. THE BED LINEN WAS LEFT FOR TWO DAYS AT A TIME. WORST OF ALL NO SECURITY AND ONE OF OUR NIGHTS AT THE HOTEL WAS JUST PURE HELL WITH OTHER GUEST IN THE FLOOR SCREAMING, RUNNING AND SLAMMING DOORS ALL NIGHT WITH PARTYING UNTIL 6AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Mar 3, 2011

Broke down palace!

I am so glad I was just passing through! An 8+ story hotel had 4 chairs at the pool. With paint and walls falling down, I was worried about asbestos. Oh yes, how can I forget about the mold in the bathroom and the stains on the carpet that matched the stains on the bed spreads. Hmmmmm, did I mention the roaches crawling on our toothbrushes when we woke the following morning? And who could forget the rude front desk personnel that acted like I should have thanked them because I wasn't camping! Absolute SxxxxxxE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan
Apr 12, 2011

The Good, the bad and the really ugly

This hotel was terrible. The staff was not at all pleasant. The rooms were cheaply furnished and very unclean. The bathtub had been painted and the paint was peeling off. A terrible place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
achaura
Business
Fremont, CA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Puetorico getaway

Not Pleasant , No breakfast is provided , parking is extra 18$ a day , hotel rooms lack cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roche family
Business
Connecticut
Feb 20, 2012

Mid Winter Visit

First impression was average. However, when we were made aware that there was no parking at the hotel, yet they offered valet in the parking of the hotel was $18a day! We had to leave a deposit prior to receiving the key to the room. The shower only had HOT water in a carribean island! The hotel had a musty, old food smell! The check out times were not coordinated with our departure flight, We were told that to extend our stay it would be at a $50 an hour charge. However, when we asked how much to rent for the day if we walked in from the street we were told $60 for 8 hours! We had to constantly go downstairs from the 8th floor to request towels. The phone in the room didn't work and the windows had no curtains. There was still hair in the shower so we provided our own housekeeping. Not to mention the sheets were only flat sheets that continued to move off the bed. The location was excellent because of all the shops and options of restaraunts and right on the beach. The staffing need to focus on more customer service satisfaction and not treat there customers like below average people! I would suggest that maybe offering a cup of coffee for those who arrive at 5am in the morning or even a snack for the children till the restaraunts open up. You had to go to different floors to get ice or something to drink. I will return to Puerto Rico, but not to the San Juan Beach Hotel! Next time accommidations should be made to coordinate check in and check out times according to customers with vacation packages!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's for breakfast, Cafe Caribe located across from Denny's for dinner. I would suggest walk around to the shops because there is no parking!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nikki n John
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Mar 5, 2013

Dirty hotel stay.

Location is great, Lobby/ Restaurant/ pool areas look very nice and fancy! We had to wait around for 3 hours to check into our hotel on a Sunday. They allowed us to use the pool and free wi-fi. We checked into our 2 rooms (we had 8 people). In my room I noticed about a 5 foot by 5 foot area by the air conditioner was soaking wet. Our TV had terrible reception, our pillows had mold spots, our shower had very poor water pressure and the light in the bathroom was out, it smelled very musty. I tried to look past all of these things but couldn't. I told the front desk about all the issues and they assured me a repair man would take a look. About an hour later my husband had enough. He went to the front desk to ask for another room. She happily gave us keys to a different room, this room was better. I definitely expected something more clean but maybe you can't find that outside of the USA. I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. If you just looking for a bed and don't mind a dirty room that smells musty your all set. i would definitely spend more and get something clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a lot of food places and bars close to this restaurant! Also a short drive to the air port.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wen310
Business
New York, NY
Mar 27, 2013

Awful

Basically, you get what you pay for. That being said, I should've know. Regardless, the staff itself should put their best foot forward and be welcoming. There was never a time when we approached the front desk and someone greeted us. NEVER. We had to say excuse me for any kind of acknowledgement. They were either in conversations with each other or texting. The room was dirty, filthy. I put my baby on the carpet to crawl and his knees and feet were black when i picked him up. The so called baby pool was full of sand. The bathrooms were dirty and we constantly had to ask for fresh towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hacienda Don Jose right down the street. good food, decent service and an amazing view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LOLAGIRLCAFE
Business
Mount Laurel, NJ
Apr 5, 2013

NEVER AGAIN!!!!!

I must say that San Juan, PR overall is beyond beautiful. Our family stay at the hotel (San Juan Beach Hotel) left much to be desired, such as the staff's overall friendliness and hospitality. On two occasions I walked into our sleeping quarters from getting out the shower and housekeeping was actually cleaning the room!!! Totally deplorable...plus when I mentioned her knocking before hand... she had the nerve to tell me to put the DO NOT DISTURB sign up the next time...staff overall was very rude!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

OLD SAN JUAN ATTRACTIONS AND TOURS WERE GREAT!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ladyisdog1
Business
wappingers falls ny
Apr 24, 2013

disappointed

The hallway smelled of old paint, room moldy. No working lights. 2nd room: no curtains, no working phone, no remote control, no garbage can, no coffee pot, no microwave, no room service. Still under construction, and I was given one with three small children and no apology from nite staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
travelnco
Business
Orlando
May 24, 2013

Needs rennovation

Location of the Hotel is good, but the hotel is old and not clean. Carpets stink and dirty. Furniture is old. The room service was poor. They do not even provide enough towels. There is also $20 parking fee per day. Considering that the price per day is not fair for a hotel like that. If you can find a better within this price range, you should prefer somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top