$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
347 reviews
the resturant at hotel was horrible puerrican

Loved it top floor nice view pool was great also had a bar near the pool also have valet staff was... See full review

  • orlando cotto
  • Jun 26, 2014
The location is amazing

You're right next to the beach !!! The Chinese n Japanese restaurants were amazing ! Our rooms were... See full review

  • Kalii
  • Apr 18, 2014
Minimalist design with fresh, white decor sets the scene for the Beach Hotel, San Juan. One of the more affordable hotels on the oceanfront in San Juan's Condado area, its guestrooms have spectacular water views, including the Condado Lagoon. For a bit of relaxation, lay out and soak up the sun next to one of the crystal-clear swimming pools that both kids and adults can enjoy. Hungry? Please your palate with a meal from the Perurrican Restaurant & Lounge. Garbo is an exclusive boutique in the hotel, inviting guests to stop in for a browse.
Key facts
  • 96 guestrooms, all of which have either ocean or lagoon views
  • On-site adult and kiddie pools
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • On-site Perurrican restaurant
  • 24-hour valet parking service
Neighborhood
The hotel offers direct access to the beach, making it ideal for those that enjoy sandy strolls and water-related activities. The concierge offers guests pointers on where to rent a kayak, jet ski, or paddle surf for some fun on the Condado Lagoon. Art lovers will marvel at the exhibitions of the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, before shuffling down the quaint cobblestoned streets of Old San Juan. When you get tired of sea and sand, the only tropical rainforest of the U.S. National Park Service is roughly half an hour's drive away.
Hints and tips
Attentive staff at the restaurant will prepare a refreshing tropical drink or fruit slices to keep guests relaxed and fed while at the poolside or beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4582 -66.0757
Area served
All of Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and US as well as Europe and Asia.
Nearby airports
San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU): Approximate driving time is 15 minutes and distance is 7 miles.
Area description
The San Juan Beach Hotel is strategically located in the Condado district of the city, seven miles from the Luis Munoz Marin Airport & 3 miles from The Old San Juan. It offers direct access to the beach for sunbathing only, an oceanfront swimming pool. San Juan Beach Hotel is a great choice for visitors wanting to explore everything San Juan has to offer; from trendy cafes in Old San Juan to the spectacular beaches within walking distance.
Points of Interest: Condado Beach - 0.5 mile / Ocean Park (beach) - 1 mile / Old San Juan - 3 miles / Fort San Cristobal - 3 miles / La Fortaleza - 3 miles / San Juan Cathedral - 3 miles / Isla Verde - 3 miles / El Morro - 3.5 miles / Plaza Las Americas (shopping mall) - 5 miles / Bacardi Rum Distillery - 15 miles / El Yunque Caribbean National Forest - 22 miles / Arecibo Observatory - 40 miles.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (347)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

1.8 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 347
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.1
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.2

25% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ontario, Canada
Apr 20, 2010

We were very disappopint, shabby /moldy

We couldn't star in the original room we were assigned to because of the moldy smell. We were assigned another, but it was not much better. We slept in our clothe, we weren't comfotable with the sheets. The shower was not working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
boriqua family
orlando fl
Mar 19, 2011

THE GRANDEST(CON-JOB) OF ALL CON-JOBS

ok,were do i start ? the best idea for me to start with is from the begining and adding a little rhyme,,oh romeo,oh romeo were are thou romeo,you just checked into MOTEL HELL. my nightmare starts upon check inn,i flew down here to assist my wife and mother in law with the final fixing of a home my mother in law owns here in carolina p.r. so i thought the best option for a hotel(mother in law house was not habitable)was to stay in our famous san juan condado area,seeing as its close to carolina puerto rico.sounds good so far,umm.any way i chose condados (SAN JUAN BEACH HOTEL) or as i call it (MOTEL HELL)as i checked inn the front of the hotel is beautiful,rolling stair well is the first thing you notice when you walk inn. you say to your self a grand scale of a hotel here wow,i was very inmpressed.and also the fancy resturant next to the check inn desk with a beach view and beautiful dinning areas.sounds good so far,wait the rest will bust your blissfull bubble.when i checked in the clerk told me there is no parking(as not avertised in there web site)the only parking was valet.for a 20 dollar a day charge for every day of your stay.i said to my self,,self not problem,i can do this (7 day stay at 140 dollars)a hotel this fancy well why not.ok i valet my car unload the wife,dauther and mother in law for a restfull night stay and got my key and off to our room,first thing i noticed was the roaches,secound thing was the rust on ALL THE LAMPS,3rd thing was phone was broken,4th thing was no running water (in all of the hotel)5th thing i noticed,was beach view was available from a window that looked like a window installed for prison inmates in the county jail,6th thing i noticed was i stept back in time to a hotel that was totaly negleted,run down,abused and not even your most dingiest of hotels can compare to this hole in the ocean.so i asked my self,how can a hotel so beautiful in the front can be so HORRIBLE ,well after complaining to the front desk clerk about my amazment as to how this hotel does not match the web site and the front desk,he said and i quot,its a ,,ready for it,,,A CONDADO BEACH FRONT HOTEL,in other words ,,its a SCAM,,A TOTAL SCAM,,what they did is dress up the front of this hotel and in fact its a horrible hotel. Ok so the front desk said the issue with the water was temporary , and it did eventually come back . But then we start noticing the lack of amenities that we consider basic in any hotel ,no coffee pot or refrigerator or microwave as was stated in the website as being included in the room . We've stayed in hotels all over the U.S. and even the cheapest one had a coffee pot . It's Puerto Rico where coffee is tradition! The phone was never replaced so we were moved to another room after complaining for a third time to the front desk . The attitude of the front desk manager wasn't the best either . It was like "Oh well , thats just how it is " . The only positive feedback was from the valet . They not only park your car , but are the ones who helped us move to the other room and tried initially to fix our phone. Too bad they don't own the hotel .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nikki n John
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Mar 5, 2013

Dirty hotel stay.

Location is great, Lobby/ Restaurant/ pool areas look very nice and fancy! We had to wait around for 3 hours to check into our hotel on a Sunday. They allowed us to use the pool and free wi-fi. We checked into our 2 rooms (we had 8 people). In my room I noticed about a 5 foot by 5 foot area by the air conditioner was soaking wet. Our TV had terrible reception, our pillows had mold spots, our shower had very poor water pressure and the light in the bathroom was out, it smelled very musty. I tried to look past all of these things but couldn't. I told the front desk about all the issues and they assured me a repair man would take a look. About an hour later my husband had enough. He went to the front desk to ask for another room. She happily gave us keys to a different room, this room was better. I definitely expected something more clean but maybe you can't find that outside of the USA. I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. If you just looking for a bed and don't mind a dirty room that smells musty your all set. i would definitely spend more and get something clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a lot of food places and bars close to this restaurant! Also a short drive to the air port.

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roche family
Connecticut
Feb 20, 2012

Mid Winter Visit

First impression was average. However, when we were made aware that there was no parking at the hotel, yet they offered valet in the parking of the hotel was $18a day! We had to leave a deposit prior to receiving the key to the room. The shower only had HOT water in a carribean island! The hotel had a musty, old food smell! The check out times were not coordinated with our departure flight, We were told that to extend our stay it would be at a $50 an hour charge. However, when we asked how much to rent for the day if we walked in from the street we were told $60 for 8 hours! We had to constantly go downstairs from the 8th floor to request towels. The phone in the room didn't work and the windows had no curtains. There was still hair in the shower so we provided our own housekeeping. Not to mention the sheets were only flat sheets that continued to move off the bed. The location was excellent because of all the shops and options of restaraunts and right on the beach. The staffing need to focus on more customer service satisfaction and not treat there customers like below average people! I would suggest that maybe offering a cup of coffee for those who arrive at 5am in the morning or even a snack for the children till the restaraunts open up. You had to go to different floors to get ice or something to drink. I will return to Puerto Rico, but not to the San Juan Beach Hotel! Next time accommidations should be made to coordinate check in and check out times according to customers with vacation packages!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's for breakfast, Cafe Caribe located across from Denny's for dinner. I would suggest walk around to the shops because there is no parking!

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 17, 2009

Nightmare

This was a nightmare..the lobby was open to the outside..no walls ..underconstruction..The rooms smelled..there was no restaurant..the beach they promised was not allowable because of reefs..my husband is handicapped and the floors were uneven and dangerous...The humidity in the rooms was so bad the bathroom floor was slick..carpet so stained..no internet..no ameneties at all.. Thank goodness for Orbitz, they negotiated a refund and we went down the street..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Havertown, PA
May 9, 2011

Not even a 1 star!

Nothing compares to this experience and NOT REMOTELY in a positive light! This was the WORST EXPERIENCE in accommodations in my entire life. NEVER stay at the San Juan Beach Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Digusted in SJU.
ATL
Jan 21, 2010

Disgusted in SJU.

When we checked in we waited 1 hr and decided to go eat since there were more guests ahead of us that had not checked in. There was only one person checking in the guests. When we came back from dinner we still had to wait. The light in the bathroom wasn't working, however they took care of that. The towles in the bathroom didn't look clean, so I used my own. The worst part was the pillows that had mold on them. Really disgusting. We checked out the following morning, we were suppose to stay two more nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ladyisdog1
wappingers falls ny
Apr 24, 2013

disappointed

The hallway smelled of old paint, room moldy. No working lights. 2nd room: no curtains, no working phone, no remote control, no garbage can, no coffee pot, no microwave, no room service. Still under construction, and I was given one with three small children and no apology from nite staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 11, 2007

Do Your Homework

I would not recommend the San Juan Beach Hotel for many reasons.. It is not that close to the airport, there is no parking on site-across the street valet service is available, the beach front is full of rocks and in desperate need of revitalizing, and housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired. When we finally arrived at the hotel on our first day the desk clerk welcomed me and asked how he may be of assistance. When I gave him our name and said that we would like to check in he stated there are no rooms. Imagine my surprise.. What he meant to say was check in was not available until 3pm(we arrived at noon) and if we would like we could leave our luggage until that time he didn't mean that they didnt have any rooms available for us.I wish I had gotten this young man's name because he turned out to be the Best Employee!! When we checked in everything went smoothly. Then we went up to our room on the 8th floor over looking the street not the beach. We discovered 2 towels-there were 4 of us, and no rollaway bed for our 15yr old son(our daughter is 17). We called down to the front desk for the towels,hand towels, wash cloths and rollaway bed with sheets, blanket and pillow. All we received was the rollaway bed with sheets. I asked for a pillow, wash cloths, towels, hand towels, and a blanket everyday to no avail until the last day they finally had enough towels. On the second day when they cleaned our room they left the dirty wet towels in a clump on the FLOOR. When I went down to the front desk to advise them of it some manager came out of the office yelling at me that the dryer was broken and that the housekeeping manager was aware of it. I calmly explained to her that that was not my grievance that my complaint was the dirty ones were left on the floor after they cleaned the room. There was not one extra blanket or pillow in the entire hotel for my son.. we had to give him the one of our bed that they kept taking off his bed and putting it back on ours when they made the beds..dah!! We used the pool once and then we discovered the maintenance guy on monday night when he cleaned the bathrooms he let the bleach water run right into the pool while he talked on his cell phone..yuk luckily we prefer the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Wonderful restaraunt called Miro's it is a little bit expensive but WELL WORTH IT!! The Service is phenomenal!! The food is exquisite! and the atmosphere is AWESOME! There are other local restaraunts that offer more than just native dishes such as The Rising Star I would recommend their breakfast!

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Juan
Apr 12, 2011

The Good, the bad and the really ugly

This hotel was terrible. The staff was not at all pleasant. The rooms were cheaply furnished and very unclean. The bathtub had been painted and the paint was peeling off. A terrible place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top