$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
265 reviews
Reks in Puerto Rico

The hotel staff was wonderful. The courtesy and professionalism was surprisingly perfect. I felt... See full review

  • Reks
  • Sep 15, 2014
the resturant at hotel was horrible puerrican

Loved it top floor nice view pool was great also had a bar near the pool also have valet staff was... See full review

  • orlando cotto
  • Jun 26, 2014
Minimalist design with fresh, white decor sets the scene for the Beach Hotel, San Juan. One of the more affordable hotels on the oceanfront in San Juan's Condado area, its guestrooms have spectacular water views, including the Condado Lagoon. For a bit of relaxation, lay out and soak up the sun next to one of the crystal-clear swimming pools that both kids and adults can enjoy. Hungry? Please your palate with a meal from the Perurrican Restaurant & Lounge. Garbo is an exclusive boutique in the hotel, inviting guests to stop in for a browse.
Key facts
  • 96 guestrooms, all of which have either ocean or lagoon views
  • On-site adult and kiddie pools
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • On-site Perurrican restaurant
  • 24-hour valet parking service
Neighborhood
The hotel offers direct access to the beach, making it ideal for those that enjoy sandy strolls and water-related activities. The concierge offers guests pointers on where to rent a kayak, jet ski, or paddle surf for some fun on the Condado Lagoon. Art lovers will marvel at the exhibitions of the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, before shuffling down the quaint cobblestoned streets of Old San Juan. When you get tired of sea and sand, the only tropical rainforest of the U.S. National Park Service is roughly half an hour's drive away.
Hints and tips
Attentive staff at the restaurant will prepare a refreshing tropical drink or fruit slices to keep guests relaxed and fed while at the poolside or beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (265)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 265
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4
Value:
2.9

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
May 17, 2007

dissatified customer

it was horable the internet did not work the cable was out for three days it was no place to eat,the beach you can't go in it it was all rocks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joel & Dejana
Business
Orlando, FL
May 6, 2009

San Juan beach hotel

Unfortunately, the experience that me and my wife had was definately NOT what we had in mind. I mean that not in a nice way. Firstable, the hotel didn't have a lobby. It was under construction!The room was disgusting, not to mentioned I had to call three times for them to fix the shower. I am originally from Puerto Rico and I want it to show my wife this beautiful Island. Definately NOT what I want it her to experienced. The pictures you have posted in your website about this hotel are definately not updadated. I don't understand why they are charging so much, especially when they are under construction. They shall not be allow to operate under those conditions. It is a health hazard and a safety hazard to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK
Jun 4, 2009

HORRIBLE

THERE WAS CONSTUCTION IN THE LOBBY AND THE HOTEL WAS AT A TERRIBLE LOCATION. THE HOTEL ROOM WAS SMALL AND DIRTY. THE HOTEL NAME IS THE PERFECT WAY TO CON PEOPLE INTO MAKING A RESERVATION TO STAY THER. WE THOUGHT IT WOULD BE A RESORT TYPE SETTING ON THE BEACH WITH WONDERFUL SERVICE.. WE WERE TOTALLY WRONG. WE CANCELLED OUR RESERVATION AND STAYED SOMEWHERE ELSE THE SAME DAY WE GOT THERE. WE WOULD NEVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL EVER AGAIN EVEN IF IT WAS FOR FREE.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
oyi
Business
St. Thomas, VI
Jun 15, 2009

Take this hotel out of your listing!

We think that this hotel need to be canceled by the City. Is under remodeling and you can find construction staff everywhere, including lobby and other public areas. We stay 2 nights and never got a room service. We claim for towels and a partial refund and the manager offered an "American full breakfast" to compensate but it open so late for us despite that the promise for 7 AM... it opened after 8 AM! The price didn't compensate the service. You can find better hotels for that price range and similar location. Just try to get a phone communication with them. We try several times to confirm our arrival time and room we liked. We make a reservation for a king size bed and when we arrive there (on time) the room was not available! Etc. etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bop bop
Business
Newport News, Virginia
Jul 2, 2009

worst hotel experience I have ever had

Due to the adds, we were exxpecting a great stay; but it was the worst experience we ever had in a hotel. Not only was it under contruction; the managment did not seem to care we were displeased. They made no effort to compensate us. The rooms were dirty and i had to call two times to get them to service the it. The part of the hotel that was functional was dirty. Perhaps when they complete the construction it will be better??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

several wonderful restaurants are well within a short drive and you can experinece the food of the Puerto Rican culturre.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Nov 30, 2009

The bad, The worse, and the really ugly"

The San Juan Beach Hotel is a very terrible place to vacation at. The hotel was on the outer edege of Town next to a dirty Lagoon.The beach view was not any better with it being full of trash, no access to the beach cause it was locked.The pool was a royal mess, ladders were unblolted and ripped out of the side wall, all kinds of gross green stuff was growing on and inside the pool, it was cleaned or maintained and not fit to swim in.The room was a torn down and not maintained, sheets blankets and pillows all smelled like mold and were not clean.The bath room and the rooms needed to be remodeled and taken care of soon.The ceiling was constructed of tile sytle ceiling with rust falling from it!!!The tub and shower area was full of mold dirt and grime and smelled.tub had holes and rusted areas throughout!The whole room was some what finished from construction but a long ways from being listed as anything to sleep in.The service and staff was rude un friendly and not helpful.No free breakfest and way to much money for over priced food.The location of the hotel is in the dirty far part of san juan with construction going on all around, with run down hotels leaking of sewer water and stench.The hotel was bad and i dod not recommend at all!If you have no car don't take the taxi rent a car the taxi service is 15 bucks and up and get pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you stay in san juan don't eat any of the dinners there to expensive and way over charged head to old san juan the whole time your there friendly people and the culture is true lived there..and much cleaner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brown
Business
Florida
Feb 13, 2011

Save your money!!!

Do not stay Here! The pictures of the place must have been taken 40 years ago. Looks good on the net but wait until you get there. Everything is outdated to say the least. Front desk people do not seem to have complete information to inform the guests. They will tell you one thing and it winds up being the opposite. Ask numerous questions on any and all subjects. Example: Will our room be serviced daily? If so what is the procedure? In the bar the prices varied from bartender to bartender. Do not pay for upgrades, this is like throwing money out the window. The spectacular view could be seen if they would only clean the windows, won't happen. We were told by a local, (From Tampa) you should have seen the place before the rentivated it, ha,ha,ha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightlife is "gambling" located close. Live entertainment is in old San Jaun, 3.5 mile walk or $18.00 cab with tip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maria210
Business
Staten Island, NY, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Should be a motel instead

This hotel was the most disgusting hotel I've ever stood at!!! I've work at the Ritz Carlton for more then 10 years then the Sheraton for 7 years and I understand this is not to be compared but come on. This hotel should be considered a motel. There was mildew all over the bathroom, water stains on the ceiling, the curtains were filthy, the lamp had stains, the rugs were filthy with stains. This was a total disgrace. Then I complained about the room to only get another disgusting and filthy room as over again! If I go vacation in PR i understand you typically aren't in the room that long because you want to site see and enjoy the beautiful weather but this hotel made not want to ever go back into the room. The lobby is nice but once you past the lobby I should've known what I was getting myself into. Extremely disappointed. This is what I get for being "cheap" and not wanting to spend a lot for a hotel. I even took pictures and shown then to everyone and everyone was disgusted. DO NOT EVER STAY HERE!!!! It's not worth the money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

DO NOT STAY AT THIS DISGUSTING AND FILTHY HOTEL THAT SHOULD BE REALLY CALLED A MOTEL. ITS GROSS!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
roachsteer
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Apr 13, 2012

Awful hotel,it comes with mildow and roaches

No room service, movie rental or extra towels this is a old hotel that has not been updated. You can see the mold on the walls under the paint, the carpet was nasty and the bathroom was very small I will NEVER STAY AT THIS PLACE again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
benz docc
Business
san juan
Jul 3, 2012

wasnt the best

room service sucked and the pool was closed and it was an inconvinance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top