$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
347 reviews
the resturant at hotel was horrible puerrican

Loved it top floor nice view pool was great also had a bar near the pool also have valet staff was... See full review

  • orlando cotto
  • Jun 26, 2014
The location is amazing

You're right next to the beach !!! The Chinese n Japanese restaurants were amazing ! Our rooms were... See full review

  • Kalii
  • Apr 18, 2014
Minimalist design with fresh, white decor sets the scene for the Beach Hotel, San Juan. One of the more affordable hotels on the oceanfront in San Juan's Condado area, its guestrooms have spectacular water views, including the Condado Lagoon. For a bit of relaxation, lay out and soak up the sun next to one of the crystal-clear swimming pools that both kids and adults can enjoy. Hungry? Please your palate with a meal from the Perurrican Restaurant & Lounge. Garbo is an exclusive boutique in the hotel, inviting guests to stop in for a browse.
Key facts
  • 96 guestrooms, all of which have either ocean or lagoon views
  • On-site adult and kiddie pools
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • On-site Perurrican restaurant
  • 24-hour valet parking service
Neighborhood
The hotel offers direct access to the beach, making it ideal for those that enjoy sandy strolls and water-related activities. The concierge offers guests pointers on where to rent a kayak, jet ski, or paddle surf for some fun on the Condado Lagoon. Art lovers will marvel at the exhibitions of the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, before shuffling down the quaint cobblestoned streets of Old San Juan. When you get tired of sea and sand, the only tropical rainforest of the U.S. National Park Service is roughly half an hour's drive away.
Hints and tips
Attentive staff at the restaurant will prepare a refreshing tropical drink or fruit slices to keep guests relaxed and fed while at the poolside or beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4582 -66.0757
Area served
All of Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and US as well as Europe and Asia.
Nearby airports
San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU): Approximate driving time is 15 minutes and distance is 7 miles.
Area description
The San Juan Beach Hotel is strategically located in the Condado district of the city, seven miles from the Luis Munoz Marin Airport & 3 miles from The Old San Juan. It offers direct access to the beach for sunbathing only, an oceanfront swimming pool. San Juan Beach Hotel is a great choice for visitors wanting to explore everything San Juan has to offer; from trendy cafes in Old San Juan to the spectacular beaches within walking distance.
Points of Interest: Condado Beach - 0.5 mile / Ocean Park (beach) - 1 mile / Old San Juan - 3 miles / Fort San Cristobal - 3 miles / La Fortaleza - 3 miles / San Juan Cathedral - 3 miles / Isla Verde - 3 miles / El Morro - 3.5 miles / Plaza Las Americas (shopping mall) - 5 miles / Bacardi Rum Distillery - 15 miles / El Yunque Caribbean National Forest - 22 miles / Arecibo Observatory - 40 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (347)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 347
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
4
Value:
2.9

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Mar 25, 2010

THE WORST HOTEL EVER!!!

I hated the hotel, it was nasty, moldy, dirty, old, nothing up to date, stairs did not work. I do not recommend this hotel to anybody!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NEW YORK
Oct 31, 2010

** Puerto Rico Beautiful, Hotel Nasty**

* OUR ROOM WAS DIRTY * THE ROOM STINKED LIKE MILDEW * WE EVEN FOUND ROCHES * NO FRIDGE, NO BREAKFAST, NO MICROWAVE, NO COFFEE MACHINE, NO ROOM SERVICE. * WE RESERVED A 1 KING BEDROOM WE GOT 2 DOUBLE BEDS * WE EVEN HAD TO PAY PARKING FOR SATYING AT THEIR HOTEL. * THE ONLY GOOD THING IS THE VALET PARKING EMPLOYEES WHO WERE VERY NICE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

NATIONAL RAIN FOREST IN THE TOWN OF YUNQUE

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Super Denden
New Jersey
Oct 23, 2013

A place to drop your things

The lobby looks nice. The reception desk was helpful and nice, for the most part. You get upstairs and you see immediately that you made a mistake. The halls are rundown. One of the elevators is visibly broken. We took the stairs-ignoring the ALARM WILL SOUND sign. Our room was not at all what was pictured. The carpet was some of the thinnest I have ever seen; tile would have been better because it wouldn't have gotten so moldy. The carpet was seemingly never vacuumed. I found a bobby pin on the floor. There were signs on the windows not to open them. We had an ocean-view room, but couldn't see the ocean because the windows were so dirty. The shower pressure was minimal and for one of the days smelled like old fish. We weren't given a bathmat until after the second night. We pulled up and were told that the only parking was valet parking, but that lot was full. We were told to park 3 blocks up Ashford Ave. It wasn't suggested that we come back tomorrow with the car. The valets/doormen only once opened the door for me. I booked this room because it wasn't the cheapest in Condado, so I thought it might be a little nicer. I made a mistake and now I know. Hopefully others won't make my mistake. The location is nice that it is in Condado. A 3 minute walk from La Concha where you can actually swim on the beach. The beach behind SJ Beach Hotel is rocky and unsafe to swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceano Restaurant on 2 Calle Zendig was an absolute pleausure. It is right on the beach and the staff and food are sensational. Ask for Marcos!

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ms323lady
Los angeles
Jul 2, 2009

No Good

The staff was rude from the first moment i got there. the sink in my room didnt work and they couldnt change room til the third day. the towels that were white were grey, and the hotel had temporary outages off water and if under cunstruction..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

old san Juan, it is beautiful, old style houses, a lot of shopping an dinning, Famous sites, like El Morro, Castillo de cristobal, camino de la princessas, its just nice...

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bop bop
Newport News, Virginia
Jul 2, 2009

worst hotel experience I have ever had

Due to the adds, we were exxpecting a great stay; but it was the worst experience we ever had in a hotel. Not only was it under contruction; the managment did not seem to care we were displeased. They made no effort to compensate us. The rooms were dirty and i had to call two times to get them to service the it. The part of the hotel that was functional was dirty. Perhaps when they complete the construction it will be better??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

several wonderful restaurants are well within a short drive and you can experinece the food of the Puerto Rican culturre.

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
super ali
arecibo Puerto Rico
Jul 27, 2009

not good at all

In my opinion, the hotel was in a bad condition, our room was cleaned just once in 3 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

none

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 26, 2008

Worst experence

We arrived at the hotel had to wait for chech-in, said rooms were not done yet. When we got to the room the room was very shabby.The bathroom was not very clean, the spread on the bed held an odor. There were no phones in the room.We were not allowed to use the pool because they had a private party going on that evening.I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.The staff was friendly. When we complained to the front desk, we were told the manager would contact me, he never did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Chili's across the street

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Puerto Rico
May 1, 2011

Missing basic requirements for hotel

Rooms not in good shape and missing details like hot water supply and maintained furniture

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 1, 2008

regret it...

cheaper isnt always better, i picked this hotel because it had a good price but i regret it totally. to start off there is no parking they told us that they had valet parking but that it was full, but to be honest i dont think there was over 20 people in the hotel. you have to drive up and down the street to try to find a parking garage... but it will cost you $$. the halls have a very bad odor and so do the rooms. i made the mistake of sitting on the floor to unpack and my legs became full of rashes, thats how dirty it was. the bathroom was awfull and the room was missing a phone and the stand for the t.v was broken. some people have to see to believe but ur just going to waste your $

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the only good thing about this hotel is its area

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
benz docc
san juan
Jul 3, 2012

wasnt the best

room service sucked and the pool was closed and it was an inconvinance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top