$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
View map of 1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
325 reviews
3rd stay. I love it!!!!!!!!

This was my third stay at this hotel. It is not super fancy, and can be described as "minimalist".... See full review

  • Butters321
  • Feb 27, 2015
Great for low price

I definitely would recommend this hotel. The location was perfect the view was awesome and everyone... See full review

  • randell r.
  • Feb 18, 2015
Minimalist design with fresh, white decor sets the scene for the Beach Hotel, San Juan. One of the more affordable hotels on the oceanfront in San Juan's Condado area, its guestrooms have spectacular water views, including the Condado Lagoon. For a bit of relaxation, lay out and soak up the sun next to one of the crystal-clear swimming pools that both kids and adults can enjoy. Hungry? Please your palate with a meal from the Perurrican Restaurant & Lounge. Garbo is an exclusive boutique in the hotel, inviting guests to stop in for a browse.
Key facts
  • 96 guestrooms, all of which have either ocean or lagoon views
  • On-site adult and kiddie pools
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • On-site Perurrican restaurant
  • 24-hour valet parking service
Neighborhood
The hotel offers direct access to the beach, making it ideal for those that enjoy sandy strolls and water-related activities. The concierge offers guests pointers on where to rent a kayak, jet ski, or paddle surf for some fun on the Condado Lagoon. Art lovers will marvel at the exhibitions of the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, before shuffling down the quaint cobblestoned streets of Old San Juan. When you get tired of sea and sand, the only tropical rainforest of the U.S. National Park Service is roughly half an hour's drive away.
Hints and tips
Attentive staff at the restaurant will prepare a refreshing tropical drink or fruit slices to keep guests relaxed and fed while at the poolside or beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 325
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.1

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
adhptc
Business
PTC, GA.
Mar 11, 2014

could be a winner

staff is excellent, room hygiene is very poor. beds are uncomfortable, room appears use up, rather than coming back, it appears the hotel is going out. the restaurant is EXCELLENT, under different management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lola across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mom fron Tampa
Business
Tampa , Fl
Jan 5, 2013

no world!!! to describe IT!!!

no packing for guess. if they have space will charge u $20 day ballet....had to wait more than two hours for ck-in,,,,NEED CLEAN UP!!!! URGUENt!!!! hotel imposible go there!!!!!!! they change twice room .....one where bad than the other...so decide to leave!!!! ... got sick!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta
Feb 7, 2011

a future opportunity

business trip, 3 nights. hotel location excellent for all use. staff very good attitude and helpful. onsite parking. inhouse restaurant excellent. rooms very poor. completely worn out, however, sheets were clean, everything worked in the room. hotel has excellent rates, but in process of a complete re do to up grade to an acceptable standard. a salesman's hotel, would not want to take my wife to this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UNSATISFIED!
Business
Upland, CA
May 4, 2009

Worst Stay EVER!

I have been to Puerto Rico Several times on business and this was my worst stay anywhere. The staff is extemely unfriendly. When you ask a question they make you feel like you are bothering them. They claim that all rooms have internet access and they don't. When i asked about it they told me to just use my computer in the lobby. They also don't tell you that they charge $20 a day for their valet parking. I didn't find that out till i was checking out. Staying at this hotel was a HUGE mistake and I will never stay there again! If you want a place where you are treated friendly and with good customer service DON'T STAY HERE! There are plenty other places in Puerto Rico that have better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Walnut
Sep 30, 2008

My review of San Juan Beach Hotel

THE SAN JUAN BEACH HOTEL IS THE MOST UNCONFORTABEL ROOM I'VE EVER BEEN IN THE BATH ROOM ENTRANCE IS 16 INCHES WIDE BY 48 INCHES TALL MAKING IT VERY DANGEROS TO EXIT OR ENTER. THE TOILET IS SO CLOSE TO THE RIGHT SLIDING DOOR THA YOU HAVE TO SIT SIDEWAYS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TX
Nov 22, 2009

Disaster

I unfortunately had to cancle my reservation due to the room windows not closing due to paint drying & not letting the windows close fully, 1/4 of roll of Tissue paper, ONLY 1 towel in a 2 person reservation. I was ONLY offered a DIRTY room because the cleaning staff left at 5PM. On top of that, they were forcing one to use a Valet Parking charging you $21/day claiming they do not have parking in the hotel. You have a young 21 year old girl in the Lobby with a 23 y/o boy as her night supervisor. Neither one of them able to handle the situation that was piling up a the front desk. The young female had to go track someone that ran off with the keys to the keybox in order for her to give me my room key.I work for the US ARMY & travel to Central, South America & the Carribean. I've gone to third world countries that offer better rooms than this & service with a smile, no matter what. I only need a clean bed to sleep on & Nice cool room (Which was going to happen due to the window not being able to close), but the complaints I heard in the lobby while waiting to check in made me think twice after inspecting my room.A few complaints were the following:- No clean towls in 2 days since a customer has been in the hotel. (Clean Towls were even requested)- No Tissue Paper.- No Clean Bed sheets (Even upon request)Let's not forget that the Hotel is STILL NOT FINISHED with its remodeling (Which was suppose to be done by 31 Oct 09).I fortunately had a plan B & it was to stay with my godchild in his apartment. But I needed to stay in the city for a few days to conduct buisness & visit friends since I had lived in Puerto Rico for 4 yrs.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do your reserch before you arrive. Talk to someone that has been there or lived there. Best Place to shop for Souveniers is Old San Juan. Always carry small bils separate fom larger bills before going shopping. Leave expensive jewelry at home (Any country you travel to). Travel by taxi, phone books have a pretty good list after arriving in county). Old San Juan has many attractions that would take you most of a day to look at, but most are out of town & I would recomend a rental w\GPS so you don't get lost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Catherine D.
Business
spokane
Apr 16, 2015

Worst/yuckiest place I've ever stayed in

We stayed exactly one hour...just long enough to find another place. Walking in, there was an iron burn on the carpet, the pool was dirty, the windows were so dirty we could hardly see our ocean view, pool area was dirty and cushions mildew. However, when we checked out the staff was very nice to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trip traveler
Business
In the US
Nov 22, 2009

Not great but they handel every need!

N/A

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MamaS
Business
Washington
Sep 11, 2011

Needs parking

There is very little parking anywhere near the hotel so valet parking is almost a necessary expense. The Hotel itself is difficult to find as it does not look like a hotel at all. I would never have found it if I did not have help. The beds in the hotel were very hard so it was not very comfortable to sleep. It is on a very busy street so there was TONS of noise on the lagoon side of the hotel. I had a cockroach crawling across my arm on the second day there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are planning on driving yourself, GPS is a necessity!!!!! Don't go anywhere without it. It is too easy to get lost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling Santurcina
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Jul 11, 2012

Close to all the important stuff

The San Juan Beach Hotel is very well located. It is close to affordable eateries as well as deluxe ones. Old San Juan is an economic bus-ride away. It is within walking distance of the one public beach in the Condado area. It also has a pool. It would have been great to have a refrigerator in the room. Also on the downside, the lagoon/street side is a bit noisy since there is an active night-life on the avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A Dominican-owned cafeteria that has all the typical fares at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top