$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
347 reviews
the resturant at hotel was horrible puerrican

Loved it top floor nice view pool was great also had a bar near the pool also have valet staff was... See full review

  • orlando cotto
  • Jun 26, 2014
The location is amazing

You're right next to the beach !!! The Chinese n Japanese restaurants were amazing ! Our rooms were... See full review

  • Kalii
  • Apr 18, 2014
Minimalist design with fresh, white decor sets the scene for the Beach Hotel, San Juan. One of the more affordable hotels on the oceanfront in San Juan's Condado area, its guestrooms have spectacular water views, including the Condado Lagoon. For a bit of relaxation, lay out and soak up the sun next to one of the crystal-clear swimming pools that both kids and adults can enjoy. Hungry? Please your palate with a meal from the Perurrican Restaurant & Lounge. Garbo is an exclusive boutique in the hotel, inviting guests to stop in for a browse.
Key facts
  • 96 guestrooms, all of which have either ocean or lagoon views
  • On-site adult and kiddie pools
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • On-site Perurrican restaurant
  • 24-hour valet parking service
Neighborhood
The hotel offers direct access to the beach, making it ideal for those that enjoy sandy strolls and water-related activities. The concierge offers guests pointers on where to rent a kayak, jet ski, or paddle surf for some fun on the Condado Lagoon. Art lovers will marvel at the exhibitions of the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, before shuffling down the quaint cobblestoned streets of Old San Juan. When you get tired of sea and sand, the only tropical rainforest of the U.S. National Park Service is roughly half an hour's drive away.
Hints and tips
Attentive staff at the restaurant will prepare a refreshing tropical drink or fruit slices to keep guests relaxed and fed while at the poolside or beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4582 -66.0757
Area served
All of Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and US as well as Europe and Asia.
Nearby airports
San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU): Approximate driving time is 15 minutes and distance is 7 miles.
Area description
The San Juan Beach Hotel is strategically located in the Condado district of the city, seven miles from the Luis Munoz Marin Airport & 3 miles from The Old San Juan. It offers direct access to the beach for sunbathing only, an oceanfront swimming pool. San Juan Beach Hotel is a great choice for visitors wanting to explore everything San Juan has to offer; from trendy cafes in Old San Juan to the spectacular beaches within walking distance.
Points of Interest: Condado Beach - 0.5 mile / Ocean Park (beach) - 1 mile / Old San Juan - 3 miles / Fort San Cristobal - 3 miles / La Fortaleza - 3 miles / San Juan Cathedral - 3 miles / Isla Verde - 3 miles / El Morro - 3.5 miles / Plaza Las Americas (shopping mall) - 5 miles / Bacardi Rum Distillery - 15 miles / El Yunque Caribbean National Forest - 22 miles / Arecibo Observatory - 40 miles.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (347)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
347 out of 347
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Apr 19, 2007

Run Away...quickly

It is one of the worst hotels I have ever entered. I cancelled my reservation upon arrival. 2of the lobby plate glass windows were shattered, wites were hanging from ths ceiling, the paint job looks like it was teh first time someone tried to use a roller and gave up. The tiny pool has lumber and rusting iron pipes in a pile at one end so youcouldn't walk all the way around the pool. The room was disgusting. I thought the smell in the hallway was bad until I opened the door to the room. Don't ever stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia
Jul 25, 2008

Don't do it!

After a long flight the last thing I expected was to stand in line for over an hour to be able to check in. The staff appeared unprepared and took personal cell phones calls while tending to patrons. Then I walked into our room. The carpet was very dirty, moist and very old. My sons brand new socks where mud black and that's before we even left the room. Let's not forget about the awful pissy smell all over the room. Could not even sleep, between the moldy smell from the AC and god awful pissy smell walked away with an awful sinus infection. Never, ever again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

El Morro Fort and Old San Juan

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Nov 1, 2010

Worst Hotel

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The rooms had no amenities whats so ever. There was no fridge, no coffee maker, no iron, no hair dryer and the tv is extremely small. The room looked like it was falling apart with a broken window and sink. The worst part for me, because I could have tolerated everything else, was that they had you waiting for hours for a fresh towel and toilet paper. At one point we asked at the front lobby three times to get toilet paper and towels and each time the manager told us to wait. The manager was rude and disrespectful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pedro&Isa'sTravels
Orlando,Fl
May 10, 2010

What was I thinking???

We stayed at this hotel because the one we normally stay in were booked due to the Billboard awards. This hotel needs to be CLOSED until all renovations are completed. I actually feel sorry for their staff who are doing more with less. The hotel is in horrible condition and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. What you are paying for if you stay here is the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Mar 25, 2010

THE WORST HOTEL EVER!!!

I hated the hotel, it was nasty, moldy, dirty, old, nothing up to date, stairs did not work. I do not recommend this hotel to anybody!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
texrecan
DFW Texas
Feb 18, 2010

rent by hour hotel

arrive early 10am and had a 3pm check in,that wasn't a problem it was the 4:25 check in that was. Not having hot water to bath was my next problem and the rooms had a moldy smell covered up with cleaner smell. The bed springs keep waking me up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

mexican restauant

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TX
Nov 22, 2009

Disaster

I unfortunately had to cancle my reservation due to the room windows not closing due to paint drying & not letting the windows close fully, 1/4 of roll of Tissue paper, ONLY 1 towel in a 2 person reservation. I was ONLY offered a DIRTY room because the cleaning staff left at 5PM. On top of that, they were forcing one to use a Valet Parking charging you $21/day claiming they do not have parking in the hotel. You have a young 21 year old girl in the Lobby with a 23 y/o boy as her night supervisor. Neither one of them able to handle the situation that was piling up a the front desk. The young female had to go track someone that ran off with the keys to the keybox in order for her to give me my room key.I work for the US ARMY & travel to Central, South America & the Carribean. I've gone to third world countries that offer better rooms than this & service with a smile, no matter what. I only need a clean bed to sleep on & Nice cool room (Which was going to happen due to the window not being able to close), but the complaints I heard in the lobby while waiting to check in made me think twice after inspecting my room.A few complaints were the following:- No clean towls in 2 days since a customer has been in the hotel. (Clean Towls were even requested)- No Tissue Paper.- No Clean Bed sheets (Even upon request)Let's not forget that the Hotel is STILL NOT FINISHED with its remodeling (Which was suppose to be done by 31 Oct 09).I fortunately had a plan B & it was to stay with my godchild in his apartment. But I needed to stay in the city for a few days to conduct buisness & visit friends since I had lived in Puerto Rico for 4 yrs.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do your reserch before you arrive. Talk to someone that has been there or lived there. Best Place to shop for Souveniers is Old San Juan. Always carry small bils separate fom larger bills before going shopping. Leave expensive jewelry at home (Any country you travel to). Travel by taxi, phone books have a pretty good list after arriving in county). Old San Juan has many attractions that would take you most of a day to look at, but most are out of town & I would recomend a rental w\GPS so you don't get lost.

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MoyteAli
New York, NY
Mar 12, 2011

Stay Away From This Place!

I stayed at this place for 6 nights (March 2nd through March 8th). I read a lot of reviews, so I thought I knew what I was going to get, but I was wrong! I was expecting a 2.5 to 3 star hotel, for a really great price, but it was more like an overpriced .5 to 1 star motel. The place is a real dump. It ruined my vacation. I didn't spend much time in the room, but after a day of sightseeing or being at the beach, I dreaded heading back to the rooms. The staff was extremely rude, especially the manager named [...] . The rooms were disgusting. They say they are renovating, but I didn't see any work being done. It looks like they gave the lobby a cheap makeover (I say cheap, because it looks like it is already falling apart) but the rooms haven't been touched. The elevators were old and shook the whole time going up or down. The carpet was stained and smelled like mold was growing under it. When we first walked in our room on the 9th floor, it looked like all they did was make the bed. There was still garbage in the drawers and it was definitely not vacuumed. The TV was old and we only got reception for 4 or 5 channels. CNN, HLN & TNT were the only channels we could watch. They didn't even have ABC, CBS, NBC or FOX (I really wanted to watch American Idol!). They still use metal keys instead of card keys, which you have to leave with the front desk if you want your room cleaned. We did this, but all they did was make the bed. The sheets weren't changed and they floor still wasn't vacuumed. Also, if you lost the key, they were going to charge you $75. The room had two medium sized windows that faced the beach, but they were very old and didn't stay open. If we wanted to smell fresh air, we had to hold them open, which was difficult because they were very heavy. The day after we checked in, [...] and two other hotel employees, came banging on our door, asking to come in to smell our room because they suspected that we were smoking in the room. I told her this was ridiculous because neither of us smoke! She gave me a dirty look as if I was lying to her and threatened to charge me $250. Meanwhile, almost everyday we smelled smoke in the hall, which was definitely not coming from our room. The day we were checking out, I realized I didn't have cash for the taxi to take us to the Airport ($20 from the hotel), so I asked the doorman to watch our bags while we ran to the store 3 blocks away to use the ATM. When we returned our bags were missing. We tried to ask him where our bags were, but he brushed us off and said wait. I knew something wasn't right because I couldn't see my bags anywhere. I had to go to the front desk to have them ask him where our bags were. The doorman had put our bags in someone else's taxi. I freaked out because I thought our bags were gone for good. Thankfully there was taxi driver hanging out outside the hotel who happened to know the driver who had our bags. He called him up on his cell and had him meet us at the airport to give us back our bags. We barely made our flight home. This place was a nightmare. While we were staying there we decided to check out some of the other hotels in the area to compare to what we were staying in. The difference was night & day. If you can spend just a little bit more, I would stay at the Holiday Inn Express. It looked clean, the staff was friendly and it was just a short walk to the beach. If you need to stay in the same price range as the San Juan Beach Hotel or want to be closer to the beach, stay at the Sandy Beach Hotel or the Atlantic Beach Hotel. Both of those are cleaner and in a better location. They are right on the beach, in a part where you can actually swim. I just wish someone else had told me this before I booked my vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus for .75 cents to Old San Juan. It's beautiful and lots to see and great food.

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
super ali
arecibo Puerto Rico
Jul 27, 2009

not good at all

In my opinion, the hotel was in a bad condition, our room was cleaned just once in 3 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

none

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UNSATISFIED!
Business
Upland, CA
May 4, 2009

Worst Stay EVER!

I have been to Puerto Rico Several times on business and this was my worst stay anywhere. The staff is extemely unfriendly. When you ask a question they make you feel like you are bothering them. They claim that all rooms have internet access and they don't. When i asked about it they told me to just use my computer in the lobby. They also don't tell you that they charge $20 a day for their valet parking. I didn't find that out till i was checking out. Staying at this hotel was a HUGE mistake and I will never stay there again! If you want a place where you are treated friendly and with good customer service DON'T STAY HERE! There are plenty other places in Puerto Rico that have better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top