$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 7, 2015 Check-out: Mar 8, 2015

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
View map of 1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
282 reviews
3rd stay. I love it!!!!!!!!

This was my third stay at this hotel. It is not super fancy, and can be described as "minimalist".... See full review

  • Butters321
  • Feb 27, 2015
Great for low price

I definitely would recommend this hotel. The location was perfect the view was awesome and everyone... See full review

  • randell r.
  • Feb 18, 2015
Minimalist design with fresh, white decor sets the scene for the Beach Hotel, San Juan. One of the more affordable hotels on the oceanfront in San Juan's Condado area, its guestrooms have spectacular water views, including the Condado Lagoon. For a bit of relaxation, lay out and soak up the sun next to one of the crystal-clear swimming pools that both kids and adults can enjoy. Hungry? Please your palate with a meal from the Perurrican Restaurant & Lounge. Garbo is an exclusive boutique in the hotel, inviting guests to stop in for a browse.
Key facts
  • 96 guestrooms, all of which have either ocean or lagoon views
  • On-site adult and kiddie pools
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • On-site Perurrican restaurant
  • 24-hour valet parking service
Neighborhood
The hotel offers direct access to the beach, making it ideal for those that enjoy sandy strolls and water-related activities. The concierge offers guests pointers on where to rent a kayak, jet ski, or paddle surf for some fun on the Condado Lagoon. Art lovers will marvel at the exhibitions of the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, before shuffling down the quaint cobblestoned streets of Old San Juan. When you get tired of sea and sand, the only tropical rainforest of the U.S. National Park Service is roughly half an hour's drive away.
Hints and tips
Attentive staff at the restaurant will prepare a refreshing tropical drink or fruit slices to keep guests relaxed and fed while at the poolside or beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
4
Value:
2.9

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Nov 1, 2010

Worst Hotel

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The rooms had no amenities whats so ever. There was no fridge, no coffee maker, no iron, no hair dryer and the tv is extremely small. The room looked like it was falling apart with a broken window and sink. The worst part for me, because I could have tolerated everything else, was that they had you waiting for hours for a fresh towel and toilet paper. At one point we asked at the front lobby three times to get toilet paper and towels and each time the manager told us to wait. The manager was rude and disrespectful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vivian's trip
Business
atlanta, ga
Feb 11, 2010

hotel from hell

The hotel was being renovated.. dust was everywhere and noise level was equally high. The room was a horror. Mold on the walls, spots on furniture and beding. I remained at that this hotel long enough to relocate to another estimated one hour. We forfeited one night fee in doing so but I could not expose my son nor myself to unhealthy conditions. My son nicknamed this hotel..Hell Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ualjulie
Business
Warrenton, VA
Nov 17, 2009

renovation needed

We were only there for one night and it was enough! This will probably be very nice when the renovation is completed, but for right now I would not recommend this hotel. The rooms were decorated in the late 70's style and the mattress felt like it was that old too. The towels were grey and dingy, and the carpet stained. The front desk was very disorganized and couldn't seem to figure out where to put the guests and we were asked to stand aside while they took care of guests that had "reservations". We did book on short notice but I don't think that we needed to be kicked to the back of the line until the front desk got themselves organized. The area surrounding the hotel is nice and I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try the mofongo or any other traditional dish at Bebo's cafe. It is near De Diego Street and was delicious. It is standard cafe decor but the food is awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ley
Business
west palm beach, fl
Apr 10, 2010

The horror hotel!!!!

This hotel is like a monster house, dirty, old, bath with mold, floor dirty, broken curtain with holes,staff services not really nice, dust olor in the room, sheets dirty, I left the hotel the same day because you can not stay there and I make a new reservation in other hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MoyteAli
Business
New York, NY
Mar 12, 2011

Stay Away From This Place!

I stayed at this place for 6 nights (March 2nd through March 8th). I read a lot of reviews, so I thought I knew what I was going to get, but I was wrong! I was expecting a 2.5 to 3 star hotel, for a really great price, but it was more like an overpriced .5 to 1 star motel. The place is a real dump. It ruined my vacation. I didn't spend much time in the room, but after a day of sightseeing or being at the beach, I dreaded heading back to the rooms. The staff was extremely rude, especially the manager named [...] . The rooms were disgusting. They say they are renovating, but I didn't see any work being done. It looks like they gave the lobby a cheap makeover (I say cheap, because it looks like it is already falling apart) but the rooms haven't been touched. The elevators were old and shook the whole time going up or down. The carpet was stained and smelled like mold was growing under it. When we first walked in our room on the 9th floor, it looked like all they did was make the bed. There was still garbage in the drawers and it was definitely not vacuumed. The TV was old and we only got reception for 4 or 5 channels. CNN, HLN & TNT were the only channels we could watch. They didn't even have ABC, CBS, NBC or FOX (I really wanted to watch American Idol!). They still use metal keys instead of card keys, which you have to leave with the front desk if you want your room cleaned. We did this, but all they did was make the bed. The sheets weren't changed and they floor still wasn't vacuumed. Also, if you lost the key, they were going to charge you $75. The room had two medium sized windows that faced the beach, but they were very old and didn't stay open. If we wanted to smell fresh air, we had to hold them open, which was difficult because they were very heavy. The day after we checked in, [...] and two other hotel employees, came banging on our door, asking to come in to smell our room because they suspected that we were smoking in the room. I told her this was ridiculous because neither of us smoke! She gave me a dirty look as if I was lying to her and threatened to charge me $250. Meanwhile, almost everyday we smelled smoke in the hall, which was definitely not coming from our room. The day we were checking out, I realized I didn't have cash for the taxi to take us to the Airport ($20 from the hotel), so I asked the doorman to watch our bags while we ran to the store 3 blocks away to use the ATM. When we returned our bags were missing. We tried to ask him where our bags were, but he brushed us off and said wait. I knew something wasn't right because I couldn't see my bags anywhere. I had to go to the front desk to have them ask him where our bags were. The doorman had put our bags in someone else's taxi. I freaked out because I thought our bags were gone for good. Thankfully there was taxi driver hanging out outside the hotel who happened to know the driver who had our bags. He called him up on his cell and had him meet us at the airport to give us back our bags. We barely made our flight home. This place was a nightmare. While we were staying there we decided to check out some of the other hotels in the area to compare to what we were staying in. The difference was night & day. If you can spend just a little bit more, I would stay at the Holiday Inn Express. It looked clean, the staff was friendly and it was just a short walk to the beach. If you need to stay in the same price range as the San Juan Beach Hotel or want to be closer to the beach, stay at the Sandy Beach Hotel or the Atlantic Beach Hotel. Both of those are cleaner and in a better location. They are right on the beach, in a part where you can actually swim. I just wish someone else had told me this before I booked my vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus for .75 cents to Old San Juan. It's beautiful and lots to see and great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia
Jul 25, 2008

Don't do it!

After a long flight the last thing I expected was to stand in line for over an hour to be able to check in. The staff appeared unprepared and took personal cell phones calls while tending to patrons. Then I walked into our room. The carpet was very dirty, moist and very old. My sons brand new socks where mud black and that's before we even left the room. Let's not forget about the awful pissy smell all over the room. Could not even sleep, between the moldy smell from the AC and god awful pissy smell walked away with an awful sinus infection. Never, ever again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

El Morro Fort and Old San Juan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 19, 2007

Run Away...quickly

It is one of the worst hotels I have ever entered. I cancelled my reservation upon arrival. 2of the lobby plate glass windows were shattered, wites were hanging from ths ceiling, the paint job looks like it was teh first time someone tried to use a roller and gave up. The tiny pool has lumber and rusting iron pipes in a pile at one end so youcouldn't walk all the way around the pool. The room was disgusting. I thought the smell in the hallway was bad until I opened the door to the room. Don't ever stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stars211
Business
Brooklyn New York
Mar 12, 2009

Worst Hotel In San Juan Puerto Rico!

My stay was a breif one,being that my first out of three rooms was dirty,hugely stained carpet,bathroom and tub seem not to have cleaned in months,bad odor from hallway into rooms,no electricity or phones in the second and third rooms along with filthy bedspreads and linens.I would not have my dog stay there with his fleas.Stay away from this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice mom pop resturants where I found the fod to be of great taste and vlaue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Digusted in SJU.
Business
ATL
Jan 21, 2010

Disgusted in SJU.

When we checked in we waited 1 hr and decided to go eat since there were more guests ahead of us that had not checked in. There was only one person checking in the guests. When we came back from dinner we still had to wait. The light in the bathroom wasn't working, however they took care of that. The towles in the bathroom didn't look clean, so I used my own. The worst part was the pillows that had mold on them. Really disgusting. We checked out the following morning, we were suppose to stay two more nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 26, 2008

Worst experence

We arrived at the hotel had to wait for chech-in, said rooms were not done yet. When we got to the room the room was very shabby.The bathroom was not very clean, the spread on the bed held an odor. There were no phones in the room.We were not allowed to use the pool because they had a private party going on that evening.I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.The staff was friendly. When we complained to the front desk, we were told the manager would contact me, he never did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Chili's across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top