$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 16, 2015

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
View map of 1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
reynaj
Business
New Braunfels, TX
Mar 16, 2013

Not a great experience

They turned off the water one night. found a dirty towel on the floor when we first walked in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wen310
Business
New York, NY
Mar 27, 2013

Awful

Basically, you get what you pay for. That being said, I should've know. Regardless, the staff itself should put their best foot forward and be welcoming. There was never a time when we approached the front desk and someone greeted us. NEVER. We had to say excuse me for any kind of acknowledgement. They were either in conversations with each other or texting. The room was dirty, filthy. I put my baby on the carpet to crawl and his knees and feet were black when i picked him up. The so called baby pool was full of sand. The bathrooms were dirty and we constantly had to ask for fresh towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hacienda Don Jose right down the street. good food, decent service and an amazing view.

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LOLAGIRLCAFE
Business
Mount Laurel, NJ
Apr 5, 2013

NEVER AGAIN!!!!!

I must say that San Juan, PR overall is beyond beautiful. Our family stay at the hotel (San Juan Beach Hotel) left much to be desired, such as the staff's overall friendliness and hospitality. On two occasions I walked into our sleeping quarters from getting out the shower and housekeeping was actually cleaning the room!!! Totally deplorable...plus when I mentioned her knocking before hand... she had the nerve to tell me to put the DO NOT DISTURB sign up the next time...staff overall was very rude!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

OLD SAN JUAN ATTRACTIONS AND TOURS WERE GREAT!!

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ladyisdog1
Business
wappingers falls ny
Apr 24, 2013

disappointed

The hallway smelled of old paint, room moldy. No working lights. 2nd room: no curtains, no working phone, no remote control, no garbage can, no coffee pot, no microwave, no room service. Still under construction, and I was given one with three small children and no apology from nite staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
travelnco
Business
Orlando
May 24, 2013

Needs rennovation

Location of the Hotel is good, but the hotel is old and not clean. Carpets stink and dirty. Furniture is old. The room service was poor. They do not even provide enough towels. There is also $20 parking fee per day. Considering that the price per day is not fair for a hotel like that. If you can find a better within this price range, you should prefer somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hendrick
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 22, 2013

The only thing that should be noticed is the lobby and restaurant . The hotel needs a major remodel.

my experience was good until I enter the elevetors . The floors dirty and smelly. No air conditioned on the walkways. The rugs were dirty and spotted. My wife saw and killed a little cocroach in the bathroom, The galss windows were foggy and dirty . NO PARKING. THEY HAVE VALET PERKING AND IT COST ME IN THE THREE DAYS $38.00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

TRY OTHER HOTEL>

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Super Denden
Business
New Jersey
Oct 23, 2013

A place to drop your things

The lobby looks nice. The reception desk was helpful and nice, for the most part. You get upstairs and you see immediately that you made a mistake. The halls are rundown. One of the elevators is visibly broken. We took the stairs-ignoring the ALARM WILL SOUND sign. Our room was not at all what was pictured. The carpet was some of the thinnest I have ever seen; tile would have been better because it wouldn't have gotten so moldy. The carpet was seemingly never vacuumed. I found a bobby pin on the floor. There were signs on the windows not to open them. We had an ocean-view room, but couldn't see the ocean because the windows were so dirty. The shower pressure was minimal and for one of the days smelled like old fish. We weren't given a bathmat until after the second night. We pulled up and were told that the only parking was valet parking, but that lot was full. We were told to park 3 blocks up Ashford Ave. It wasn't suggested that we come back tomorrow with the car. The valets/doormen only once opened the door for me. I booked this room because it wasn't the cheapest in Condado, so I thought it might be a little nicer. I made a mistake and now I know. Hopefully others won't make my mistake. The location is nice that it is in Condado. A 3 minute walk from La Concha where you can actually swim on the beach. The beach behind SJ Beach Hotel is rocky and unsafe to swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceano Restaurant on 2 Calle Zendig was an absolute pleausure. It is right on the beach and the staff and food are sensational. Ask for Marcos!

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chris and Lourdes
Business
Miramar, FL
Nov 11, 2013

NO HOT WATER

I had no hot water on the entire stay. Tried to talk to the staff about it and they thought it was not a big deal. The carpets were dirty looking and the beds and pillows were very uncomfortable. Will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trav001
Business
San Jose, California
May 27, 2014

Needs reorganization...

The room was ugly; not friendly host staff; the elevator stop working and the door did not want to open... pay more and stay in a better hotel... a motel is better than San Juan Beach Hotel... sorry but it's real. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 11, 2007

Do Your Homework

I would not recommend the San Juan Beach Hotel for many reasons.. It is not that close to the airport, there is no parking on site-across the street valet service is available, the beach front is full of rocks and in desperate need of revitalizing, and housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired. When we finally arrived at the hotel on our first day the desk clerk welcomed me and asked how he may be of assistance. When I gave him our name and said that we would like to check in he stated there are no rooms. Imagine my surprise.. What he meant to say was check in was not available until 3pm(we arrived at noon) and if we would like we could leave our luggage until that time he didn't mean that they didnt have any rooms available for us.I wish I had gotten this young man's name because he turned out to be the Best Employee!! When we checked in everything went smoothly. Then we went up to our room on the 8th floor over looking the street not the beach. We discovered 2 towels-there were 4 of us, and no rollaway bed for our 15yr old son(our daughter is 17). We called down to the front desk for the towels,hand towels, wash cloths and rollaway bed with sheets, blanket and pillow. All we received was the rollaway bed with sheets. I asked for a pillow, wash cloths, towels, hand towels, and a blanket everyday to no avail until the last day they finally had enough towels. On the second day when they cleaned our room they left the dirty wet towels in a clump on the FLOOR. When I went down to the front desk to advise them of it some manager came out of the office yelling at me that the dryer was broken and that the housekeeping manager was aware of it. I calmly explained to her that that was not my grievance that my complaint was the dirty ones were left on the floor after they cleaned the room. There was not one extra blanket or pillow in the entire hotel for my son.. we had to give him the one of our bed that they kept taking off his bed and putting it back on ours when they made the beds..dah!! We used the pool once and then we discovered the maintenance guy on monday night when he cleaned the bathrooms he let the bleach water run right into the pool while he talked on his cell phone..yuk luckily we prefer the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Wonderful restaraunt called Miro's it is a little bit expensive but WELL WORTH IT!! The Service is phenomenal!! The food is exquisite! and the atmosphere is AWESOME! There are other local restaraunts that offer more than just native dishes such as The Rising Star I would recommend their breakfast!

Back to menu Return to top