$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
262 reviews
Reks in Puerto Rico

The hotel staff was wonderful. The courtesy and professionalism was surprisingly perfect. I felt... See full review

  • Reks
  • Sep 15, 2014
the resturant at hotel was horrible puerrican

Loved it top floor nice view pool was great also had a bar near the pool also have valet staff was... See full review

  • orlando cotto
  • Jun 26, 2014
Minimalist design with fresh, white decor sets the scene for the Beach Hotel, San Juan. One of the more affordable hotels on the oceanfront in San Juan's Condado area, its guestrooms have spectacular water views, including the Condado Lagoon. For a bit of relaxation, lay out and soak up the sun next to one of the crystal-clear swimming pools that both kids and adults can enjoy. Hungry? Please your palate with a meal from the Perurrican Restaurant & Lounge. Garbo is an exclusive boutique in the hotel, inviting guests to stop in for a browse.
Key facts
  • 96 guestrooms, all of which have either ocean or lagoon views
  • On-site adult and kiddie pools
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • On-site Perurrican restaurant
  • 24-hour valet parking service
Neighborhood
The hotel offers direct access to the beach, making it ideal for those that enjoy sandy strolls and water-related activities. The concierge offers guests pointers on where to rent a kayak, jet ski, or paddle surf for some fun on the Condado Lagoon. Art lovers will marvel at the exhibitions of the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, before shuffling down the quaint cobblestoned streets of Old San Juan. When you get tired of sea and sand, the only tropical rainforest of the U.S. National Park Service is roughly half an hour's drive away.
Hints and tips
Attentive staff at the restaurant will prepare a refreshing tropical drink or fruit slices to keep guests relaxed and fed while at the poolside or beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4582 -66.0757
Area served
All of Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and US as well as Europe and Asia.
Nearby airports
San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU): Approximate driving time is 15 minutes and distance is 7 miles.
Area description
The San Juan Beach Hotel is strategically located in the Condado district of the city, seven miles from the Luis Munoz Marin Airport & 3 miles from The Old San Juan. It offers direct access to the beach for sunbathing only, an oceanfront swimming pool. San Juan Beach Hotel is a great choice for visitors wanting to explore everything San Juan has to offer; from trendy cafes in Old San Juan to the spectacular beaches within walking distance.
Points of Interest: Condado Beach - 0.5 mile / Ocean Park (beach) - 1 mile / Old San Juan - 3 miles / Fort San Cristobal - 3 miles / La Fortaleza - 3 miles / San Juan Cathedral - 3 miles / Isla Verde - 3 miles / El Morro - 3.5 miles / Plaza Las Americas (shopping mall) - 5 miles / Bacardi Rum Distillery - 15 miles / El Yunque Caribbean National Forest - 22 miles / Arecibo Observatory - 40 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (262)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Norma P.
Business
Los Angeles, CA 90033, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Not what I expected

I had read poor reviews about this place but I was traveling on a budget. The location is good, steps away from the beach but very rocky. Five minutes away, you can rent beach chairs for $5 all day. The room was very dirty, I walked in to the bathroom and there was toilet tissue paper on the floor and the bathtub, there was other people's hair in the "clean" towel. The few furniture pieces in the room were way old and looked like they were ready to brake. The carpet was dingy and old. The beds were some what uncomfortable , the bed was hard and I think there were flees or some sort of bugs on the bed. A few days into my stay I saw I had bug bites on both my legs. There are hardly any Mosquitos so I know it wasn't a mosquito bite. The room smells humid, I was afraid it was mold I was smelling. The walls of the building have paint that scraping off and the corridor carpet has bumps on it. I took a bottle of alcohol and sprayed everything you can possibly touch in the room. The bathtub was really gross I dumped most my alcohol on it. I met someone staying at the same hotel and she had to keep her ac on the entire time at 68 degrees to keep her wall from leaking water. The other thing that REALLY bothered me was the number of pool chairs the hotel had. I was there for one week and not once was I able to us the pool. There was 5 pool chairs! The hotel has almost 100 rooms. This was unbelievable. I was upset every time I wanted to soak in some sun I had to walk to the next nearest beach. The restaurant in th lobby area was good but expensive. I arrived 1 hour early to check in so I had to wait. I went to restaurant and I ordered water. I was told something was wrong with the filter and that they had bottled water. Stupid me, I didn't think they would charge me for the water but they did...$4 for a small bottle of water! Outrageous. Later I found out that wa bogus. I was bummed. Then I go back to try to check in at 3pm and I was told my room was still not ready and I had to wait again. The people in this hotel operated with absolutely NO sense of urgency. I was in line for 30 minutes trying to check in....there was only 2 people in front of me! I will not be staying at this property again. Pay the extra cash and stay somewhere nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Dunkin doughnuts is the cheapest breakfast meal about 10 minutes away for around $5.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ms. Cuba
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Mar 31, 2012

Misguided

I thought that it would have been better than it was, I was disappointed in it but was able to deal with it for 4 days, Staff is awesome very attentive to ur needs but it needs to be upgraded badly everything old..I wouldn't stay there again...Lesson learned

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maria210
Business
Staten Island, NY, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Should be a motel instead

This hotel was the most disgusting hotel I've ever stood at!!! I've work at the Ritz Carlton for more then 10 years then the Sheraton for 7 years and I understand this is not to be compared but come on. This hotel should be considered a motel. There was mildew all over the bathroom, water stains on the ceiling, the curtains were filthy, the lamp had stains, the rugs were filthy with stains. This was a total disgrace. Then I complained about the room to only get another disgusting and filthy room as over again! If I go vacation in PR i understand you typically aren't in the room that long because you want to site see and enjoy the beautiful weather but this hotel made not want to ever go back into the room. The lobby is nice but once you past the lobby I should've known what I was getting myself into. Extremely disappointed. This is what I get for being "cheap" and not wanting to spend a lot for a hotel. I even took pictures and shown then to everyone and everyone was disgusted. DO NOT EVER STAY HERE!!!! It's not worth the money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

DO NOT STAY AT THIS DISGUSTING AND FILTHY HOTEL THAT SHOULD BE REALLY CALLED A MOTEL. ITS GROSS!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MLEtravel
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Would Never Stay Again

The hotel has a lot of potential. The lobby is nice but that's all. The rooms smell of moisture. Our bedding got changed once in 6 nights. That carpet looked old and dirty. The TV was maybe 20", the hotel needs a major update. It has potential but I would never stay here again. No way this was a 2.5-3.5 star hotel, it was more of a hotel. The pool was closed off due to a wedding but with no notice to the hotel guests. The bar and restaurant were closed by 10:30pm. The hotel has no breakfast service. When sitting by the pool no one ever asked if we needed anything (no drink orders, food, nothing).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
roachsteer
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Apr 13, 2012

Awful hotel,it comes with mildow and roaches

No room service, movie rental or extra towels this is a old hotel that has not been updated. You can see the mold on the walls under the paint, the carpet was nasty and the bathroom was very small I will NEVER STAY AT THIS PLACE again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Michael212
Business
New York City
Apr 23, 2012

I shared my room with Cockroaches

The room smelled like mildew, when I turned on the light in the bathroom cockroaches scattered, the blind on the window feel off when I pulled on it to close, storm shutters would not open all the way so windows where blocked, wires hanging out of wall, stains on the sheets and furniture. It would have been cleaner to sleep in the dumpster. Cannot believe that this is even on the site. All the front desk said was sorry

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Perla in the La Concha Hotel, where I ended up staying was amazing on all levels! Staff, Food and Service all perfect!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
benz docc
Business
san juan
Jul 3, 2012

wasnt the best

room service sucked and the pool was closed and it was an inconvinance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ms. Cuba
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Jul 15, 2012

Disappointed

I stayed at this hotel in March 2012, and it was very moldy. I got an upper respiratory infection once I got back to florida. Don't recommend. Hotel looks nothing like the pictures online..Don't stay there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Had alot of casino's close by that's all

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Orlando812
Business
new york
Jun 20, 2012

Disgusing

This hotel is the most disgusing place i have ever seen. There was mold on the headboard and door. The rooms,hallways smell like mildew.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lillymarcos
Business
nyc
Aug 6, 2012

horrible experience

Worst hotel ever, no TV, no parking, room disgusting full of dirt hair, soap residue on sink, flith rug sheets dirty, I ignored the reviews and booked it but this hotel was the worst hotel ever, it should be closed down... I ended up leaving the next day and stayed at caribe Hilton down the block,,, dont book this hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

El morro

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top