$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
260 reviews
Reks in Puerto Rico

The hotel staff was wonderful. The courtesy and professionalism was surprisingly perfect. I felt... See full review

  • Reks
  • Sep 15, 2014
the resturant at hotel was horrible puerrican

Loved it top floor nice view pool was great also had a bar near the pool also have valet staff was... See full review

  • orlando cotto
  • Jun 26, 2014
Minimalist design with fresh, white decor sets the scene for the Beach Hotel, San Juan. One of the more affordable hotels on the oceanfront in San Juan's Condado area, its guestrooms have spectacular water views, including the Condado Lagoon. For a bit of relaxation, lay out and soak up the sun next to one of the crystal-clear swimming pools that both kids and adults can enjoy. Hungry? Please your palate with a meal from the Perurrican Restaurant & Lounge. Garbo is an exclusive boutique in the hotel, inviting guests to stop in for a browse.
Key facts
  • 96 guestrooms, all of which have either ocean or lagoon views
  • On-site adult and kiddie pools
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • On-site Perurrican restaurant
  • 24-hour valet parking service
Neighborhood
The hotel offers direct access to the beach, making it ideal for those that enjoy sandy strolls and water-related activities. The concierge offers guests pointers on where to rent a kayak, jet ski, or paddle surf for some fun on the Condado Lagoon. Art lovers will marvel at the exhibitions of the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, before shuffling down the quaint cobblestoned streets of Old San Juan. When you get tired of sea and sand, the only tropical rainforest of the U.S. National Park Service is roughly half an hour's drive away.
Hints and tips
Attentive staff at the restaurant will prepare a refreshing tropical drink or fruit slices to keep guests relaxed and fed while at the poolside or beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4582 -66.0757
Area served
All of Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and US as well as Europe and Asia.
Nearby airports
San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU): Approximate driving time is 15 minutes and distance is 7 miles.
Area description
The San Juan Beach Hotel is strategically located in the Condado district of the city, seven miles from the Luis Munoz Marin Airport & 3 miles from The Old San Juan. It offers direct access to the beach for sunbathing only, an oceanfront swimming pool. San Juan Beach Hotel is a great choice for visitors wanting to explore everything San Juan has to offer; from trendy cafes in Old San Juan to the spectacular beaches within walking distance.
Points of Interest: Condado Beach - 0.5 mile / Ocean Park (beach) - 1 mile / Old San Juan - 3 miles / Fort San Cristobal - 3 miles / La Fortaleza - 3 miles / San Juan Cathedral - 3 miles / Isla Verde - 3 miles / El Morro - 3.5 miles / Plaza Las Americas (shopping mall) - 5 miles / Bacardi Rum Distillery - 15 miles / El Yunque Caribbean National Forest - 22 miles / Arecibo Observatory - 40 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (260)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
260 out of 260
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 26, 2008

Worst experence

We arrived at the hotel had to wait for chech-in, said rooms were not done yet. When we got to the room the room was very shabby.The bathroom was not very clean, the spread on the bed held an odor. There were no phones in the room.We were not allowed to use the pool because they had a private party going on that evening.I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.The staff was friendly. When we complained to the front desk, we were told the manager would contact me, he never did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Chili's across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ChetY
Boston
Feb 12, 2013

Nice location but.....

Oh does this place need serious work. Of the 6 days we were there...4 had no hot water. It's really too bad because the location is excellent...walking to most everything. The staff is pleasant enough but they are always apologizing for shabby, filthy rooms and things that don't work. There should be someone in the lobby just for complaints. We were told they had renovated the place. They HAVE NOT. Nice pool area, close to beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roche family
Connecticut
Feb 20, 2012

Mid Winter Visit

First impression was average. However, when we were made aware that there was no parking at the hotel, yet they offered valet in the parking of the hotel was $18a day! We had to leave a deposit prior to receiving the key to the room. The shower only had HOT water in a carribean island! The hotel had a musty, old food smell! The check out times were not coordinated with our departure flight, We were told that to extend our stay it would be at a $50 an hour charge. However, when we asked how much to rent for the day if we walked in from the street we were told $60 for 8 hours! We had to constantly go downstairs from the 8th floor to request towels. The phone in the room didn't work and the windows had no curtains. There was still hair in the shower so we provided our own housekeeping. Not to mention the sheets were only flat sheets that continued to move off the bed. The location was excellent because of all the shops and options of restaraunts and right on the beach. The staffing need to focus on more customer service satisfaction and not treat there customers like below average people! I would suggest that maybe offering a cup of coffee for those who arrive at 5am in the morning or even a snack for the children till the restaraunts open up. You had to go to different floors to get ice or something to drink. I will return to Puerto Rico, but not to the San Juan Beach Hotel! Next time accommidations should be made to coordinate check in and check out times according to customers with vacation packages!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's for breakfast, Cafe Caribe located across from Denny's for dinner. I would suggest walk around to the shops because there is no parking!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dan from Somerville
Somerville, MA
Mar 31, 2014

What's grosser than gross...

I read all the reviews (after booking a hotel and air package, my mistake), and thought "how bad can it really be?" Well the answer to that is WORSE! I thought "oh it's just people who are used to the "American standard" or it's always the people who complain that write reviews. I can put up with a lot, but this place was just gross! I've stayed at hundreds of hotels all over the world with varying standards and this place is probably the worst, if not it's at the very bottom. The positives of this hotel and there are some, are; the location (perfect), the shower, and the tv, and of course the price (but not value for price). And to name a few of the negatives; the vomit stained bed-skirt, the indeterminable "wet spot" on the carpet (that didn't dry all week), and smell of urine once the AC was turned down. I don't think, no I'm sure that housekeeping only added towels to the bathroom as part of the "cleaning", as there was always hair and toothpaste still in the sink after "cleaning". The pool area was okay, they could have used a broom to sweep up after the late night parties, and the lobby was okay too. The elevators alternated working, and I was very surprised not to get stuck in one. One more tip - don't get the US$ 7 (plus tax) breakfast, the coffee was watered down sludge, and just not worth it. What this place needs is proper management, and a staff that actually do the job their hired to do. Telling also was at check-out that the desk clerk did not ask how my stay was....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
adhptc
Business
PTC, GA.
Mar 11, 2014

could be a winner

staff is excellent, room hygiene is very poor. beds are uncomfortable, room appears use up, rather than coming back, it appears the hotel is going out. the restaurant is EXCELLENT, under different management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lola across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
benz docc
san juan
Jul 3, 2012

wasnt the best

room service sucked and the pool was closed and it was an inconvinance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 17, 2009

Nightmare

This was a nightmare..the lobby was open to the outside..no walls ..underconstruction..The rooms smelled..there was no restaurant..the beach they promised was not allowable because of reefs..my husband is handicapped and the floors were uneven and dangerous...The humidity in the rooms was so bad the bathroom floor was slick..carpet so stained..no internet..no ameneties at all.. Thank goodness for Orbitz, they negotiated a refund and we went down the street..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lloyd allen
San Diego, California
Feb 23, 2013

PR getaway

Well to start off, it wasn't good.. I paid in advance $1500.00 and when I get there I had to deposit another $250.. That sounds more like a motel, than a Hotel.. Had an ocean view, but the windows were dirty so it took away from the view. Needs alot of housekeeping, the housekeeper made the bed everyday but, only cleaned the floors maybe once or twice my whole 15 day stay. The frontdesk staffing was not very friendly or knowledgeable on things in the area, like where I could go to do laundry.. Overall I Love Puerto Rico and that Area, so I still had a Fantastic Vacation!! Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Atlantic Beach Hotel with a very nice Restaurant and Bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Born to Travel
Salinas, CA
Jan 23, 2013

Nothing Like the Pictures!

I use travel discount websites all the time and this is the first time that the hotel does not match the description and pictures found online. The rooms are bare, there is no scenic backyard beach, and the location is not walking distance from the center of Old San Juan. Yes the hotel is very affordable so I guess you get what you pay for, but do not be fooled by the pictures. The backyard beach is not even accessible and is surrounded by rocks so you cannot event get in. Also when we arrived the hotel had no running water for 20 minutes and our phone line did not work nor did they ever fix it even though we informed them about it. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 1, 2008

regret it...

cheaper isnt always better, i picked this hotel because it had a good price but i regret it totally. to start off there is no parking they told us that they had valet parking but that it was full, but to be honest i dont think there was over 20 people in the hotel. you have to drive up and down the street to try to find a parking garage... but it will cost you $$. the halls have a very bad odor and so do the rooms. i made the mistake of sitting on the floor to unpack and my legs became full of rashes, thats how dirty it was. the bathroom was awfull and the room was missing a phone and the stand for the t.v was broken. some people have to see to believe but ur just going to waste your $

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the only good thing about this hotel is its area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search