$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
347 reviews
the resturant at hotel was horrible puerrican

Loved it top floor nice view pool was great also had a bar near the pool also have valet staff was... See full review

  • orlando cotto
  • Jun 26, 2014
The location is amazing

You're right next to the beach !!! The Chinese n Japanese restaurants were amazing ! Our rooms were... See full review

  • Kalii
  • Apr 18, 2014
Minimalist design with fresh, white decor sets the scene for the Beach Hotel, San Juan. One of the more affordable hotels on the oceanfront in San Juan's Condado area, its guestrooms have spectacular water views, including the Condado Lagoon. For a bit of relaxation, lay out and soak up the sun next to one of the crystal-clear swimming pools that both kids and adults can enjoy. Hungry? Please your palate with a meal from the Perurrican Restaurant & Lounge. Garbo is an exclusive boutique in the hotel, inviting guests to stop in for a browse.
Key facts
  • 96 guestrooms, all of which have either ocean or lagoon views
  • On-site adult and kiddie pools
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • On-site Perurrican restaurant
  • 24-hour valet parking service
Neighborhood
The hotel offers direct access to the beach, making it ideal for those that enjoy sandy strolls and water-related activities. The concierge offers guests pointers on where to rent a kayak, jet ski, or paddle surf for some fun on the Condado Lagoon. Art lovers will marvel at the exhibitions of the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, before shuffling down the quaint cobblestoned streets of Old San Juan. When you get tired of sea and sand, the only tropical rainforest of the U.S. National Park Service is roughly half an hour's drive away.
Hints and tips
Attentive staff at the restaurant will prepare a refreshing tropical drink or fruit slices to keep guests relaxed and fed while at the poolside or beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4582 -66.0757
Area served
All of Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and US as well as Europe and Asia.
Nearby airports
San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU): Approximate driving time is 15 minutes and distance is 7 miles.
Area description
The San Juan Beach Hotel is strategically located in the Condado district of the city, seven miles from the Luis Munoz Marin Airport & 3 miles from The Old San Juan. It offers direct access to the beach for sunbathing only, an oceanfront swimming pool. San Juan Beach Hotel is a great choice for visitors wanting to explore everything San Juan has to offer; from trendy cafes in Old San Juan to the spectacular beaches within walking distance.
Points of Interest: Condado Beach - 0.5 mile / Ocean Park (beach) - 1 mile / Old San Juan - 3 miles / Fort San Cristobal - 3 miles / La Fortaleza - 3 miles / San Juan Cathedral - 3 miles / Isla Verde - 3 miles / El Morro - 3.5 miles / Plaza Las Americas (shopping mall) - 5 miles / Bacardi Rum Distillery - 15 miles / El Yunque Caribbean National Forest - 22 miles / Arecibo Observatory - 40 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (347)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
347 out of 347
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nestor towers
Business
ponce,pr
Aug 9, 2012

great ubication

the staff is very sweet. the ubication of the hotel is near of restaurant and beach the room is clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Mar 25, 2010

THE WORST HOTEL EVER!!!

I hated the hotel, it was nasty, moldy, dirty, old, nothing up to date, stairs did not work. I do not recommend this hotel to anybody!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 10, 2009

Disappointed accomodations

Experience was horrible, yes hotel was under renovation in the lobby, but no need for the rooms to be the way they were. The first room was trashy bottles all over the room, bed was left unmade, move to second room which was sweaty and mildewy, smelly molded, pillows was also mildew, no maid service, no phone in rooms. The third room some mildew and no room service. My overall opinion they should not be renting out some of the rooms which also needs renovations due to mildew and sweatiness as you walk through the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ontario, Canada
Apr 20, 2010

We were very disappopint, shabby /moldy

We couldn't star in the original room we were assigned to because of the moldy smell. We were assigned another, but it was not much better. We slept in our clothe, we weren't comfotable with the sheets. The shower was not working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
boriqua family
orlando fl
Mar 19, 2011

THE GRANDEST(CON-JOB) OF ALL CON-JOBS

ok,were do i start ? the best idea for me to start with is from the begining and adding a little rhyme,,oh romeo,oh romeo were are thou romeo,you just checked into MOTEL HELL. my nightmare starts upon check inn,i flew down here to assist my wife and mother in law with the final fixing of a home my mother in law owns here in carolina p.r. so i thought the best option for a hotel(mother in law house was not habitable)was to stay in our famous san juan condado area,seeing as its close to carolina puerto rico.sounds good so far,umm.any way i chose condados (SAN JUAN BEACH HOTEL) or as i call it (MOTEL HELL)as i checked inn the front of the hotel is beautiful,rolling stair well is the first thing you notice when you walk inn. you say to your self a grand scale of a hotel here wow,i was very inmpressed.and also the fancy resturant next to the check inn desk with a beach view and beautiful dinning areas.sounds good so far,wait the rest will bust your blissfull bubble.when i checked in the clerk told me there is no parking(as not avertised in there web site)the only parking was valet.for a 20 dollar a day charge for every day of your stay.i said to my self,,self not problem,i can do this (7 day stay at 140 dollars)a hotel this fancy well why not.ok i valet my car unload the wife,dauther and mother in law for a restfull night stay and got my key and off to our room,first thing i noticed was the roaches,secound thing was the rust on ALL THE LAMPS,3rd thing was phone was broken,4th thing was no running water (in all of the hotel)5th thing i noticed,was beach view was available from a window that looked like a window installed for prison inmates in the county jail,6th thing i noticed was i stept back in time to a hotel that was totaly negleted,run down,abused and not even your most dingiest of hotels can compare to this hole in the ocean.so i asked my self,how can a hotel so beautiful in the front can be so HORRIBLE ,well after complaining to the front desk clerk about my amazment as to how this hotel does not match the web site and the front desk,he said and i quot,its a ,,ready for it,,,A CONDADO BEACH FRONT HOTEL,in other words ,,its a SCAM,,A TOTAL SCAM,,what they did is dress up the front of this hotel and in fact its a horrible hotel. Ok so the front desk said the issue with the water was temporary , and it did eventually come back . But then we start noticing the lack of amenities that we consider basic in any hotel ,no coffee pot or refrigerator or microwave as was stated in the website as being included in the room . We've stayed in hotels all over the U.S. and even the cheapest one had a coffee pot . It's Puerto Rico where coffee is tradition! The phone was never replaced so we were moved to another room after complaining for a third time to the front desk . The attitude of the front desk manager wasn't the best either . It was like "Oh well , thats just how it is " . The only positive feedback was from the valet . They not only park your car , but are the ones who helped us move to the other room and tried initially to fix our phone. Too bad they don't own the hotel .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NEW YORK
Oct 31, 2010

** Puerto Rico Beautiful, Hotel Nasty**

* OUR ROOM WAS DIRTY * THE ROOM STINKED LIKE MILDEW * WE EVEN FOUND ROCHES * NO FRIDGE, NO BREAKFAST, NO MICROWAVE, NO COFFEE MACHINE, NO ROOM SERVICE. * WE RESERVED A 1 KING BEDROOM WE GOT 2 DOUBLE BEDS * WE EVEN HAD TO PAY PARKING FOR SATYING AT THEIR HOTEL. * THE ONLY GOOD THING IS THE VALET PARKING EMPLOYEES WHO WERE VERY NICE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

NATIONAL RAIN FOREST IN THE TOWN OF YUNQUE

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Super Denden
New Jersey
Oct 23, 2013

A place to drop your things

The lobby looks nice. The reception desk was helpful and nice, for the most part. You get upstairs and you see immediately that you made a mistake. The halls are rundown. One of the elevators is visibly broken. We took the stairs-ignoring the ALARM WILL SOUND sign. Our room was not at all what was pictured. The carpet was some of the thinnest I have ever seen; tile would have been better because it wouldn't have gotten so moldy. The carpet was seemingly never vacuumed. I found a bobby pin on the floor. There were signs on the windows not to open them. We had an ocean-view room, but couldn't see the ocean because the windows were so dirty. The shower pressure was minimal and for one of the days smelled like old fish. We weren't given a bathmat until after the second night. We pulled up and were told that the only parking was valet parking, but that lot was full. We were told to park 3 blocks up Ashford Ave. It wasn't suggested that we come back tomorrow with the car. The valets/doormen only once opened the door for me. I booked this room because it wasn't the cheapest in Condado, so I thought it might be a little nicer. I made a mistake and now I know. Hopefully others won't make my mistake. The location is nice that it is in Condado. A 3 minute walk from La Concha where you can actually swim on the beach. The beach behind SJ Beach Hotel is rocky and unsafe to swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceano Restaurant on 2 Calle Zendig was an absolute pleausure. It is right on the beach and the staff and food are sensational. Ask for Marcos!

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bridgeport, CT 06606
Jun 26, 2009

Horrible, Terrible and NEVER again

The entire stay was without a phone. It didnt work and wasnt repaired after NUMBEROUS complaints. The air conditioner leaked water HORRIFICALLY - the entire floor and carpet was soaked and again not repaired after numerous calls. The "lagoon view" is a parking lot - a huge parking lot and then a lagoon. Cleanliness was adequate, but untrustworthy considering the soaked carpet. No Continental breakfast as promised. The hotel is under Major Renovation which it desperately needs, but no mention of MAJOR renovation the blurb noted implied it was somewhat less. and since continental breakfast was to have been a feature, we werent aware that the Restaurant would also Be CLOSED. All in all a horrible stay. Staff was although courteous unresponsive. understandably had to wait for check-in time, but forced to take insulin and other life required meds in the lobby. I felt staff could have offered a private area for those needs for just a few minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Walnut
Sep 30, 2008

My review of San Juan Beach Hotel

THE SAN JUAN BEACH HOTEL IS THE MOST UNCONFORTABEL ROOM I'VE EVER BEEN IN THE BATH ROOM ENTRANCE IS 16 INCHES WIDE BY 48 INCHES TALL MAKING IT VERY DANGEROS TO EXIT OR ENTER. THE TOILET IS SO CLOSE TO THE RIGHT SLIDING DOOR THA YOU HAVE TO SIT SIDEWAYS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ms323lady
Los angeles
Jul 2, 2009

No Good

The staff was rude from the first moment i got there. the sink in my room didnt work and they couldnt change room til the third day. the towels that were white were grey, and the hotel had temporary outages off water and if under cunstruction..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

old san Juan, it is beautiful, old style houses, a lot of shopping an dinning, Famous sites, like El Morro, Castillo de cristobal, camino de la princessas, its just nice...

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nikki n John
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Mar 5, 2013

Dirty hotel stay.

Location is great, Lobby/ Restaurant/ pool areas look very nice and fancy! We had to wait around for 3 hours to check into our hotel on a Sunday. They allowed us to use the pool and free wi-fi. We checked into our 2 rooms (we had 8 people). In my room I noticed about a 5 foot by 5 foot area by the air conditioner was soaking wet. Our TV had terrible reception, our pillows had mold spots, our shower had very poor water pressure and the light in the bathroom was out, it smelled very musty. I tried to look past all of these things but couldn't. I told the front desk about all the issues and they assured me a repair man would take a look. About an hour later my husband had enough. He went to the front desk to ask for another room. She happily gave us keys to a different room, this room was better. I definitely expected something more clean but maybe you can't find that outside of the USA. I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. If you just looking for a bed and don't mind a dirty room that smells musty your all set. i would definitely spend more and get something clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a lot of food places and bars close to this restaurant! Also a short drive to the air port.

Back to menu Return to top