$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
264 reviews
Reks in Puerto Rico

The hotel staff was wonderful. The courtesy and professionalism was surprisingly perfect. I felt... See full review

  • Reks
  • Sep 15, 2014
the resturant at hotel was horrible puerrican

Loved it top floor nice view pool was great also had a bar near the pool also have valet staff was... See full review

  • orlando cotto
  • Jun 26, 2014
Minimalist design with fresh, white decor sets the scene for the Beach Hotel, San Juan. One of the more affordable hotels on the oceanfront in San Juan's Condado area, its guestrooms have spectacular water views, including the Condado Lagoon. For a bit of relaxation, lay out and soak up the sun next to one of the crystal-clear swimming pools that both kids and adults can enjoy. Hungry? Please your palate with a meal from the Perurrican Restaurant & Lounge. Garbo is an exclusive boutique in the hotel, inviting guests to stop in for a browse.
Key facts
  • 96 guestrooms, all of which have either ocean or lagoon views
  • On-site adult and kiddie pools
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • On-site Perurrican restaurant
  • 24-hour valet parking service
Neighborhood
The hotel offers direct access to the beach, making it ideal for those that enjoy sandy strolls and water-related activities. The concierge offers guests pointers on where to rent a kayak, jet ski, or paddle surf for some fun on the Condado Lagoon. Art lovers will marvel at the exhibitions of the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, before shuffling down the quaint cobblestoned streets of Old San Juan. When you get tired of sea and sand, the only tropical rainforest of the U.S. National Park Service is roughly half an hour's drive away.
Hints and tips
Attentive staff at the restaurant will prepare a refreshing tropical drink or fruit slices to keep guests relaxed and fed while at the poolside or beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (264)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
264 out of 264
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
May 17, 2007

dissatified customer

it was horable the internet did not work the cable was out for three days it was no place to eat,the beach you can't go in it it was all rocks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 18, 2007

My review of San Juan Beach Hotel

WHEN WALKING IN HOTEL YOU CAN SEE THAT IT'S NOT UP TO PAR. THERE IS NO RESTAURANT IN HOTEL, BAR IS NEARLY ALWAYS CLOSED DUE TO INSUFFICIENT MERCHANDISE. ENTERING THE ROOMS THE SMELL OF MILDEW JUST SMACKS YOU. THE CLEAN TOWELS ARE LIMITED, THE BATHTUB WAS NOT CLEANED ONE TIME FROM THE TIME WE WERE THERE TO THE TIME WE LEFT. THERE WAS NO WATER PRESSURE. THE BED LINEN WAS LEFT FOR TWO DAYS AT A TIME. WORST OF ALL NO SECURITY AND ONE OF OUR NIGHTS AT THE HOTEL WAS JUST PURE HELL WITH OTHER GUEST IN THE FLOOR SCREAMING, RUNNING AND SLAMMING DOORS ALL NIGHT WITH PARTYING UNTIL 6AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joel & Dejana
Business
Orlando, FL
May 6, 2009

San Juan beach hotel

Unfortunately, the experience that me and my wife had was definately NOT what we had in mind. I mean that not in a nice way. Firstable, the hotel didn't have a lobby. It was under construction!The room was disgusting, not to mentioned I had to call three times for them to fix the shower. I am originally from Puerto Rico and I want it to show my wife this beautiful Island. Definately NOT what I want it her to experienced. The pictures you have posted in your website about this hotel are definately not updadated. I don't understand why they are charging so much, especially when they are under construction. They shall not be allow to operate under those conditions. It is a health hazard and a safety hazard to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
May 4, 2009

not worth the price of admission

Room was totally enclosed. you could not open a window to take in the night air. The elevators were constantly being repaired, the hallways were dull and smelly and the ice machine was out of order. I'll make sure that I never stay at or recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

From hotel to old San Juan is a five minute drive. eveyone should visit it and enjoy all the shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cleanqueen
Business
Boston MA
May 4, 2009

musty dirty bedding!! Never again!

the entire hotel was under construction! The staff was rude and discourteous. I went out to buy blankets because my comfortor was dirty from the last guest that stayed there. My luggage still smells like that dump!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat at angels cafe great service and the guys will fill you in on what's happening!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK
Jun 4, 2009

HORRIBLE

THERE WAS CONSTUCTION IN THE LOBBY AND THE HOTEL WAS AT A TERRIBLE LOCATION. THE HOTEL ROOM WAS SMALL AND DIRTY. THE HOTEL NAME IS THE PERFECT WAY TO CON PEOPLE INTO MAKING A RESERVATION TO STAY THER. WE THOUGHT IT WOULD BE A RESORT TYPE SETTING ON THE BEACH WITH WONDERFUL SERVICE.. WE WERE TOTALLY WRONG. WE CANCELLED OUR RESERVATION AND STAYED SOMEWHERE ELSE THE SAME DAY WE GOT THERE. WE WOULD NEVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL EVER AGAIN EVEN IF IT WAS FOR FREE.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
oyi
Business
St. Thomas, VI
Jun 15, 2009

Take this hotel out of your listing!

We think that this hotel need to be canceled by the City. Is under remodeling and you can find construction staff everywhere, including lobby and other public areas. We stay 2 nights and never got a room service. We claim for towels and a partial refund and the manager offered an "American full breakfast" to compensate but it open so late for us despite that the promise for 7 AM... it opened after 8 AM! The price didn't compensate the service. You can find better hotels for that price range and similar location. Just try to get a phone communication with them. We try several times to confirm our arrival time and room we liked. We make a reservation for a king size bed and when we arrive there (on time) the room was not available! Etc. etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bop bop
Business
Newport News, Virginia
Jul 2, 2009

worst hotel experience I have ever had

Due to the adds, we were exxpecting a great stay; but it was the worst experience we ever had in a hotel. Not only was it under contruction; the managment did not seem to care we were displeased. They made no effort to compensate us. The rooms were dirty and i had to call two times to get them to service the it. The part of the hotel that was functional was dirty. Perhaps when they complete the construction it will be better??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

several wonderful restaurants are well within a short drive and you can experinece the food of the Puerto Rican culturre.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. Disatisfied
Business
San Juan PR
Oct 12, 2009

What an eye sore

This room was very moldy on the walls and in the bathroom, Hallways and room smelled like mildew, no phones in the room you needy something you had to go down to the front desk, turned the TV on sounded like it was about to blow up with the static that was coming out from it, bed had long black hair on it and Im a bald man, I took pictures of this to complain this hotel should not be on the listing until it gets renovated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant I ate at had very good PR local food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Italian woman very upset
Business
Italy
Nov 16, 2009

the worst hotel I've ever seen in life!

the hotel didn't conclude restructuring (announced for 31/10), there is people working, lot of noise: anyway they didn't restructure rooms, still dirty, orrible, wet (originally '60). The lobby will be perfect in a few weeks but the entire floor is a disco!! the first dance-party was on up to 3am, with all the people (few, anyway) in the rooms very upset. The hair dry did't work, there are no phone in many rooms, and they don't work!! the only public phone is in the first underfloor, close to a dead mouse! Sometimes they forgot to clean the room and we find at night the bed and everything like it was in the morning. orrible. never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top