$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
View map of 1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
283 out of 283
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
4
Value:
2.9

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Duck33
Business
Columbia, MO
Oct 14, 2011

Waterfront Bliss

Stayed at the hotel for six nights for a caribbean vacation. It was really nice compared to many of the other reviews on here. The rooms are basic and some are being remodeled and the others are clean but very ordinary with a small tube tv and no coffee maker or mini fridge. They are clean though and the view from the ocean front side is amazing! The lagoon view is not special so worth the few extra dollars. The staff is friendly and moved us to a ocean view for free because we wanted a room with a king bed instead of two twins. The pool is very clean and nice and the sitting area is never full and is very relaxing. Drinks at the connecting bar (not restaurant) are average to pricey ($7-8) but they are very good and made with top shelf alcohol. I would stay here again but if I had the extra money I would try hard to spend a little extra to get an all inclusive away from san juan as the food in this area is expensive and it feels touristy compared to some more unique areas of the island. DEFINITELY go up to El Yunque peak when in Puerto Rico it will take your breath away!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The taxis here do not have meters and they will make up prices at the destination so be SURE to ask the price to your destination before getting in cab... these can also be negotiated if too high

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaveMan2011
Business
Madison, WI, USA
Dec 19, 2011

you get what you pay for

The title says it all. It's a 2-star hotel in an expensive, touristic area. So, it's probably a good deal for what you pay. The rooms are very big, but rather empty, not very clean, old carpets, the paint goes off the walls, the curtains do not work, half of the light bulbs in my room were not working (and they did not replace them, even when I asked them so), the water is not always very warm, no fridge/mini bar, one of the elevators did not work. In a nutshell, this hotel has the absolutely necessary facilities (bed, tv, table, bath tub, toilet). The location is very good, but I don't know how it compares to much cheaper hotels/hostels in old San Juan, since I heard that those are much cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from the hotel, these is a nice coffee place called picachos, where they have very good coffee, sandwiches, and smoothies. It's a bit pricey, but they have local/organic things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chinito
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 28, 2011

basic place to stay

Good value if you intend to stay and do activities else where Lack of gym and beach access can be a big minus. The hotel could do a better job providing information as to what's available to do around the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mobie
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Weekend Getaway

The hotel looked was going through a remodel but showed tremendous signs of being damaged by a storm. The staff was overall friendly and the free wifi didn't work at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel wasn't far from many places to eat and drink. They also have a restaurant that is apart of the building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hotel honeymoon
Business
KY
Mar 31, 2012

Not too bad

Get what you pay for. Rooms were MOLDY. Cant lay out on beach there- too rocky and water too rough to get in. Not bad for a room to just sleep in. Beds and showers were clean but average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel located within a very short walking distance to stores, restaurants, shops, etc. It was nice not needing a taxi to get anywhere except to airport which was only a few miles away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sade
Business
Boston, MA
May 30, 2012

Weekend getaway

Overall you get what you pay for. Had. Problems flushing the toilet. Staff was great and very helpful! Wasn't the best but def wasn't the worst.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mike1981
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Aug 11, 2012

job trip

Average hotel with nice ocean view. Great value very cheap in this great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sexylady and Superman
Business
NewJersey
Sep 30, 2012

Not so great

First we get there i get a double bed room when i specifictly ask for 1 bed. then check in is at 3 we got there at 12:00 we had to wait all that timeThey show you room and when you get there those are not the rooms. The staff really try to accomdated us is was just too many things going on. The pool not clean once since i was there and we were there for 7 day . The toilet got clog and the the fix it but did'nt clean the toilet after i had to do it. There was a manager there really nice and try to make my second honey moon a better experience but too many things had happen already, They charge you $6:00 dollars for continental breakfast every day. I will never go back. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Orozco's right in condado area and in Old San Juan Please try Manolin Cafe just ask for foot locker store its right next to it. and Raices restaurant delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anthonymex
Business
Candado San Juan
Nov 26, 2012

Wonderful hotel with only a few things missing...

The staff were helpful and nice. The only thing I find strange in Puerto Rico is that they still put holds on rented items even if they are prepaid?? My room was decorated poorly as it didn't match the lobby or restaurant downstairs and my room had no curtains...? I would stay there again as it was close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
icruz
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jan 22, 2013

excellent family getaway

Excellent location, good service and confortable and spatious rooms. We even took our 2 bikes with us in the room. The view to the lagoon was real nice. They have an excellet restaurant right @ the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top