$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 29, 2015 Check-out: Jan 30, 2015

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
273 reviews
boyfriend birthday

Great hotel i stayed here twice a little miscommunication if your checking out late they didnt... See full review

  • shana t.
  • Jan 19, 2015
Avesome trip

avesome stay ,hotel with piivate beach close to the old town (bus 10 min for 0.75c) kudos to the... See full review

  • elizabeth s.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Minimalist design with fresh, white decor sets the scene for the Beach Hotel, San Juan. One of the more affordable hotels on the oceanfront in San Juan's Condado area, its guestrooms have spectacular water views, including the Condado Lagoon. For a bit of relaxation, lay out and soak up the sun next to one of the crystal-clear swimming pools that both kids and adults can enjoy. Hungry? Please your palate with a meal from the Perurrican Restaurant & Lounge. Garbo is an exclusive boutique in the hotel, inviting guests to stop in for a browse.
Key facts
  • 96 guestrooms, all of which have either ocean or lagoon views
  • On-site adult and kiddie pools
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • On-site Perurrican restaurant
  • 24-hour valet parking service
Neighborhood
The hotel offers direct access to the beach, making it ideal for those that enjoy sandy strolls and water-related activities. The concierge offers guests pointers on where to rent a kayak, jet ski, or paddle surf for some fun on the Condado Lagoon. Art lovers will marvel at the exhibitions of the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, before shuffling down the quaint cobblestoned streets of Old San Juan. When you get tired of sea and sand, the only tropical rainforest of the U.S. National Park Service is roughly half an hour's drive away.
Hints and tips
Attentive staff at the restaurant will prepare a refreshing tropical drink or fruit slices to keep guests relaxed and fed while at the poolside or beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (273)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 273
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.1

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom.202
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Better hotel than I thought

Before I came this hotel, I checked a lot of review on this hotel, which included some bad information especially on cleanliness. But it was not so bad as I thought. So I was glad. But, sometimes, foot mat in the bathroom was not prepared. And the staff members of this hotel were enough kind for me as money I paid. After I checked out, I could leave my suitcase and baggage beside the front. And one female staff was so kind and she cared about me on various things. Besides, location is very good for you to walk around Condad area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Needed a br3ak
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 7, 2014

Wasn't bad, wasn't great either!!

Room seemed clean very plain and no fridge!! First night there were no wash cloths and I was brought hand towels to use in place of those. DO you know how hard it is to wash with a towel??!! Be better prepared for guests checking in or go into the rooms each day to check for dirty towels to keep up with the laundry. Now let's talk breakfast. for $7.00+tax something other than cold items and muffins should be offered. Even if it is just eggs, oatmeal, something!! Travelers like a hot meal and coffee in the morning to start their day. For my 4 day stay I purchased 1 item at the hotel restaurant, it was very overpriced and not that great to boot. While the view at the pool was nice turning around and looking at the back of the hotel was horrible. It needs a new coat of pain and the mold around the AC units pressure washed or something. I am sure some of that mold is coming into the rooms through the vents and is not good for a guest who suffers from a chronic pulmonary condition or one allergic to mold. A few minor changes could make this a great hotel. I spent minimal time in the room so for this stay it served its purpose. Put some TLC into your property. ALSO you might want to add a little detail about the $75 hold on your card for incidentals. Not many people like that surprise at checkout!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ben & Jerry's serves pretty good breakfast a short walk up the street!! Atlantic Beach Hotel also offers a nice happy hour M-F 5-9pm just be sure to ask which liquors are on special before ordering.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peejer
Business
Central Florida
Aug 5, 2014

Not Bad

The staff was nice, efficient, and fast. The carpet was old and a little grimy, and the exterior of the hotel needs fresh paint. The price was pretty good, and the beach was nice, plus, it had a great view from both sides of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It had a nice beach and it was in a good area of San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveloftensitesee
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 24, 2014

Lack luster hotel in prime location

Very old bldg, downstairs lobby area looks nice but the rooms are old. There was no free coffee or breakfast downstairs. The bed was a king size bed but not very comfortable. Overall it was a clean room but needed some renovations. Also I didn't feel safe on the poolside area as an American traveling alone as there were a lot of men hanging around the pool area that seemed up to no good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David HX
Business
Austin
Jun 2, 2014

Great Stay!

Right on the beach, great area with many restaurants/bars, spacious/affordable/clean rooms, excellent Wi-Fi, elevators are real fast, hotel pool overlooks the ocean, flat screen TV's with both PR as well as US channels, and more. ~Signed: Experienced traveler who has lived in multiple countries as well as traveled the world and spends more time outside exploring instead of staying in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trav001
Business
San Jose, California
May 27, 2014

Needs reorganization...

The room was ugly; not friendly host staff; the elevator stop working and the door did not want to open... pay more and stay in a better hotel... a motel is better than San Juan Beach Hotel... sorry but it's real. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just Phil
Business
New York City, NY
Mar 11, 2014

A GREAT VALUE FOR A BUDGET GETAWAY

For the most part, I had a very good experience at this hotel. I had two glitches: room service never made up my room the first full day and I requested a wake up call one morning and didn't receive it. Other than that, it deserves a higher rating. The lobby/restaurant was impressive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SilverSurfer666
Business
Cornwall, UK
Mar 9, 2014

Great location let down by room condition

Let me just say the hotel is in a fantastic location, great bar, food and not a bad price, however on San Juan's Beach hotel website is states it has parking, yes it does, it's Valet at $18 a day, I found a car park down the road totally secure for $8 a day. I booked a room on the ocean side as I wanted an ocean view, I even heard the check in guy mutter it, anyway I booked in and got told I was upgraded to the top floor executive for some reason, I thought bonus, however I got to the room, which was facing a car park and apartment block, the fridge was very unhealthy, the carpet had an unbelievable amount of very visible stains and felt very sticky on foot and in flip flops, the desk was warped and paint was peeling of it, there were no room guides or hotel facility guides, the towels stunk of bleach and to top it off I had to keep on getting my room key reassigned as it stop working at least once..... The hotel looks amazing on the outside, in the restaurant and lobby however the floors are disgusting, I had to pick up a couple of cigarette butts that someone had left even though the cleaners were still on the floor, very disappointed by the hotel cleanliness..... The bar food is amazing though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prince Alec
Business
Boston, Mass
Feb 28, 2014

Awesome stay!!!!

I loved staying here!!!! The hotel staff was awesome and got me checked in to my room in under ten minutes. The area is perfect Condado is the best place to be if you like high end shopping and gambling ( guilty) The only negative review I would give is that the tv only gets 22 channels and the majority of them are in Spanish :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Any of the restaurants around the hotel are amazing and have great food at really cheap prices , your never going to pay over $20 for an entree and a drink.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rodriguez from The Island
Business
San Juan, PR
Feb 13, 2014

A night in San Juan!

Excellent restaurant! Excellent location! Overall it Was Good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top