$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
View map of 1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
325 reviews
3rd stay. I love it!!!!!!!!

This was my third stay at this hotel. It is not super fancy, and can be described as "minimalist".... See full review

  • Butters321
  • Feb 27, 2015
Great for low price

I definitely would recommend this hotel. The location was perfect the view was awesome and everyone... See full review

  • randell r.
  • Feb 18, 2015
Minimalist design with fresh, white decor sets the scene for the Beach Hotel, San Juan. One of the more affordable hotels on the oceanfront in San Juan's Condado area, its guestrooms have spectacular water views, including the Condado Lagoon. For a bit of relaxation, lay out and soak up the sun next to one of the crystal-clear swimming pools that both kids and adults can enjoy. Hungry? Please your palate with a meal from the Perurrican Restaurant & Lounge. Garbo is an exclusive boutique in the hotel, inviting guests to stop in for a browse.
Location
The hotel offers direct access to the beach, making it ideal for those that enjoy sandy strolls and water-related activities. The concierge offers guests pointers on where to rent a kayak, jet ski, or paddle surf for some fun on the Condado Lagoon. Art lovers will marvel at the exhibitions of the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, before shuffling down the quaint cobblestoned streets of Old San Juan. When you get tired of sea and sand, the only tropical rainforest of the U.S. National Park Service is roughly half an hour's drive away.
Highlights
  • 96 guestrooms, all of which have either ocean or lagoon views
  • On-site adult and kiddie pools
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • On-site Perurrican restaurant
  • 24-hour valet parking service
Policies
Attentive staff at the restaurant will prepare a refreshing tropical drink or fruit slices to keep guests relaxed and fed while at the poolside or beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.
Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 325
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
4
Value:
2.7

42% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Casey R.
Business
Orange
Mar 2, 2015

dont go

I would not recommended this hotel. It was very dirty and if we could have afforded to leave and find a new hotel we would have. The biggest problem was they has issues with humidity so everything felt wet. NASTY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RAMONA F.
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Celebrate my happy B day

I like it. This hotel is near everything. Vere very Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I like it. The hotel is near everything.

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
elizabeth s.
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Avesome trip

avesome stay ,hotel with piivate beach close to the old town (bus 10 min for 0.75c) kudos to the hotel staff. I will go again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sexy luis
Business
FLL
Nov 6, 2014

not a good hotel

omg the employs , the room , everything needs a update

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girby
Business
Mayaguez
Oct 20, 2014

Weekend trip

This was a great hotel. From the outside it looks very sketchy because it needs fresh paint. But inside it was real nice inside. The elevators were not working at check in so had to go up the stairs to the 9th floor. Besides from that everything else was great. The pool is very nice and the view from the room is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SoryNVilmaNSonia
Business
Arlington, Virginia
Sep 30, 2014

Convenient Location

My stay at the hotel was great! I stayed with a friend of mine and we both enjoyed our mini vacation there. The place was very conveniently located due to everything being within walking distance. And since the hotel was next to the beach, it made it so much better. Although the amenities were not that great (it needed a mini fridge) they did provide free beverages on our first night's stay. But overall, I'm satisfied with our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Local Birthday Girl
Business
Bayamón, PR
Sep 12, 2014

Realistic**

I went with my friends to celebrate my birthday for a weeked. I booked the day before and was so happy with the outcome. What i paid on online was exactly what i was chargwd not a $ more. The only thing i can say buyer beware is that there are no real amenities. No mini fridge, no bath or pool towels. The wifi is very low signal. We never had a chance to spend time at the pool except for dipping our feet in. But we were well taken care of and as someone who has stayed at many high rated hotels i was not dissapointed. Absolutely plan on going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We checked all local parking areas and if you have a car hotel valet at $18 per night is the best bet. Not only money wise but convenience wise as well. They are organized and attentive when it comes to your car or rental.

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Liz328
Business
NY
Aug 31, 2014

Mold, poor ventilation

The sizes of the rooms were good and the staff was nice. The hotel does have poor ventilation. Our room smelled like mold and our bed sheets and towels always felt damp due to the poor ventilation. Sheets are only changed once every 3 days. Service comes in to make your bed and change your towels but the room is not "cleaned." I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big Red Spring Breaker
Business
Condado, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Apr 5, 2014

Nice Ocean View, Bare Room, Poor Service

"Free breakfast" is advertised under the amenities (the main reason we chose this hotel over a few others), but was not honored by the hotel. After multiple calls and complaints, the hotel gave us breakfast vouchers for the very last day --and it turned out to be just bread and juice/coffee. Disappointing. The room was bare, mostly clean, and simplistic. The view of the waves was lovely, but we were not allowed to open the windows. The beach front location is excellent, however. If they honored their advertisement for free breakfast and weren't so unfriendly about it, the San Juan Beach Hotel would have been somewhat okay, given the moderately low price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dan from Somerville
Business
Somerville, MA
Mar 31, 2014

What's grosser than gross...

I read all the reviews (after booking a hotel and air package, my mistake), and thought "how bad can it really be?" Well the answer to that is WORSE! I thought "oh it's just people who are used to the "American standard" or it's always the people who complain that write reviews. I can put up with a lot, but this place was just gross! I've stayed at hundreds of hotels all over the world with varying standards and this place is probably the worst, if not it's at the very bottom. The positives of this hotel and there are some, are; the location (perfect), the shower, and the tv, and of course the price (but not value for price). And to name a few of the negatives; the vomit stained bed-skirt, the indeterminable "wet spot" on the carpet (that didn't dry all week), and smell of urine once the AC was turned down. I don't think, no I'm sure that housekeeping only added towels to the bathroom as part of the "cleaning", as there was always hair and toothpaste still in the sink after "cleaning". The pool area was okay, they could have used a broom to sweep up after the late night parties, and the lobby was okay too. The elevators alternated working, and I was very surprised not to get stuck in one. One more tip - don't get the US$ 7 (plus tax) breakfast, the coffee was watered down sludge, and just not worth it. What this place needs is proper management, and a staff that actually do the job their hired to do. Telling also was at check-out that the desk clerk did not ask how my stay was....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top