$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
265 reviews
Reks in Puerto Rico

The hotel staff was wonderful. The courtesy and professionalism was surprisingly perfect. I felt... See full review

  • Reks
  • Sep 15, 2014
the resturant at hotel was horrible puerrican

Loved it top floor nice view pool was great also had a bar near the pool also have valet staff was... See full review

  • orlando cotto
  • Jun 26, 2014
Minimalist design with fresh, white decor sets the scene for the Beach Hotel, San Juan. One of the more affordable hotels on the oceanfront in San Juan's Condado area, its guestrooms have spectacular water views, including the Condado Lagoon. For a bit of relaxation, lay out and soak up the sun next to one of the crystal-clear swimming pools that both kids and adults can enjoy. Hungry? Please your palate with a meal from the Perurrican Restaurant & Lounge. Garbo is an exclusive boutique in the hotel, inviting guests to stop in for a browse.
Key facts
  • 96 guestrooms, all of which have either ocean or lagoon views
  • On-site adult and kiddie pools
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • On-site Perurrican restaurant
  • 24-hour valet parking service
Neighborhood
The hotel offers direct access to the beach, making it ideal for those that enjoy sandy strolls and water-related activities. The concierge offers guests pointers on where to rent a kayak, jet ski, or paddle surf for some fun on the Condado Lagoon. Art lovers will marvel at the exhibitions of the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, before shuffling down the quaint cobblestoned streets of Old San Juan. When you get tired of sea and sand, the only tropical rainforest of the U.S. National Park Service is roughly half an hour's drive away.
Hints and tips
Attentive staff at the restaurant will prepare a refreshing tropical drink or fruit slices to keep guests relaxed and fed while at the poolside or beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (265)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 265
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.7

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sexy luis
Business
FLL
Nov 6, 2014

not a good hotel

omg the employs , the room , everything needs a update

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girby
Business
Mayaguez
Oct 20, 2014

Weekend trip

This was a great hotel. From the outside it looks very sketchy because it needs fresh paint. But inside it was real nice inside. The elevators were not working at check in so had to go up the stairs to the 9th floor. Besides from that everything else was great. The pool is very nice and the view from the room is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Local Birthday Girl
Business
Bayamón, PR
Sep 12, 2014

Realistic**

I went with my friends to celebrate my birthday for a weeked. I booked the day before and was so happy with the outcome. What i paid on online was exactly what i was chargwd not a $ more. The only thing i can say buyer beware is that there are no real amenities. No mini fridge, no bath or pool towels. The wifi is very low signal. We never had a chance to spend time at the pool except for dipping our feet in. But we were well taken care of and as someone who has stayed at many high rated hotels i was not dissapointed. Absolutely plan on going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We checked all local parking areas and if you have a car hotel valet at $18 per night is the best bet. Not only money wise but convenience wise as well. They are organized and attentive when it comes to your car or rental.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Liz328
Business
NY
Aug 31, 2014

Mold, poor ventilation

The sizes of the rooms were good and the staff was nice. The hotel does have poor ventilation. Our room smelled like mold and our bed sheets and towels always felt damp due to the poor ventilation. Sheets are only changed once every 3 days. Service comes in to make your bed and change your towels but the room is not "cleaned." I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big Red Spring Breaker
Business
Condado, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Apr 5, 2014

Nice Ocean View, Bare Room, Poor Service

"Free breakfast" is advertised under the amenities (the main reason we chose this hotel over a few others), but was not honored by the hotel. After multiple calls and complaints, the hotel gave us breakfast vouchers for the very last day --and it turned out to be just bread and juice/coffee. Disappointing. The room was bare, mostly clean, and simplistic. The view of the waves was lovely, but we were not allowed to open the windows. The beach front location is excellent, however. If they honored their advertisement for free breakfast and weren't so unfriendly about it, the San Juan Beach Hotel would have been somewhat okay, given the moderately low price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dan from Somerville
Business
Somerville, MA
Mar 31, 2014

What's grosser than gross...

I read all the reviews (after booking a hotel and air package, my mistake), and thought "how bad can it really be?" Well the answer to that is WORSE! I thought "oh it's just people who are used to the "American standard" or it's always the people who complain that write reviews. I can put up with a lot, but this place was just gross! I've stayed at hundreds of hotels all over the world with varying standards and this place is probably the worst, if not it's at the very bottom. The positives of this hotel and there are some, are; the location (perfect), the shower, and the tv, and of course the price (but not value for price). And to name a few of the negatives; the vomit stained bed-skirt, the indeterminable "wet spot" on the carpet (that didn't dry all week), and smell of urine once the AC was turned down. I don't think, no I'm sure that housekeeping only added towels to the bathroom as part of the "cleaning", as there was always hair and toothpaste still in the sink after "cleaning". The pool area was okay, they could have used a broom to sweep up after the late night parties, and the lobby was okay too. The elevators alternated working, and I was very surprised not to get stuck in one. One more tip - don't get the US$ 7 (plus tax) breakfast, the coffee was watered down sludge, and just not worth it. What this place needs is proper management, and a staff that actually do the job their hired to do. Telling also was at check-out that the desk clerk did not ask how my stay was....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B Breezy
Business
philadelphia pa
Mar 28, 2014

Perfect Location

Hotel is in a great location. I rented a car for my week's stay and the valet service at the hotel was great. Fast and available 24 hours for in and out service. The rooms need updating and windows could use a washing. If you don't spend a lot of time in your room then this is a good stay. I would recommend this hotel especially for the location and price and valet service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to dine at Ropa Vieja on Ashford Ave short distance from the hotel. Excellent cuban cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Belamc
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jan 5, 2014

Great getaway

I would definitely stay there again. The rooms are clean and orginized, the staff is so friendly and helpful, the location couldn't be better, it's surround of great restaurants and the beach it's very nice! The only thing I would say it wa missing it was a mini fridge in the room, other than that, my stray was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chris and Lourdes
Business
Miramar, FL
Nov 11, 2013

NO HOT WATER

I had no hot water on the entire stay. Tried to talk to the staff about it and they thought it was not a big deal. The carpets were dirty looking and the beds and pillows were very uncomfortable. Will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
josuepht
Business
Saint Cloud, Florida
Aug 12, 2013

Great place!

It was a good experience and with all the facilities that I need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top