$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
View map of 1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
296 out of 296
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
4
Value:
2.9

49% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
huey
Business
bronx, ny
Aug 20, 2011

we had a great stay

excellent hotel for the price and excellent location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rodriguez from The Island
Business
San Juan, PR
Feb 13, 2014

A night in San Juan!

Excellent restaurant! Excellent location! Overall it Was Good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just Phil
Business
New York City, NY
Mar 11, 2014

A GREAT VALUE FOR A BUDGET GETAWAY

For the most part, I had a very good experience at this hotel. I had two glitches: room service never made up my room the first full day and I requested a wake up call one morning and didn't receive it. Other than that, it deserves a higher rating. The lobby/restaurant was impressive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B Breezy
Business
philadelphia pa
Mar 28, 2014

Perfect Location

Hotel is in a great location. I rented a car for my week's stay and the valet service at the hotel was great. Fast and available 24 hours for in and out service. The rooms need updating and windows could use a washing. If you don't spend a lot of time in your room then this is a good stay. I would recommend this hotel especially for the location and price and valet service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to dine at Ropa Vieja on Ashford Ave short distance from the hotel. Excellent cuban cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bill super dad
Business
Y0nkers NY
Aug 19, 2009

unbeatable location for price

they are renovating but the rooms where good and the pool was good the hotel will look beautifull within a couple of weeks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

dine outside the area is cheaper

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
aguada pr
May 30, 2010

really good place

it was a good hotel great view of the san juan bay the only thing is they dont have parking loot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jerseygirl26
Business
New York, NY
Oct 11, 2011

San Juan Beach Hotel

The San Juan Beach Hotel is in a great location! It's steps away from the beach and the ambiance was great - there was a beautiful staircase and chandelier when you walk in the hotel. The room was clean and the value was great. The main downside was the lack of amenities - you only received 2 large bath towels per room and there were no extra clean towels available before at least 3:00pm (and also no laundry service in the hotel or nearby). But there were lots of restaurants/shops right near the hotel and the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you like snorkeling, I would try to find a guide who knows about the wildlife in the area. The boat tours are great, but it's helpful to have a guide who can show you the best spots to find fish!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Duck33
Business
Columbia, MO
Oct 14, 2011

Waterfront Bliss

Stayed at the hotel for six nights for a caribbean vacation. It was really nice compared to many of the other reviews on here. The rooms are basic and some are being remodeled and the others are clean but very ordinary with a small tube tv and no coffee maker or mini fridge. They are clean though and the view from the ocean front side is amazing! The lagoon view is not special so worth the few extra dollars. The staff is friendly and moved us to a ocean view for free because we wanted a room with a king bed instead of two twins. The pool is very clean and nice and the sitting area is never full and is very relaxing. Drinks at the connecting bar (not restaurant) are average to pricey ($7-8) but they are very good and made with top shelf alcohol. I would stay here again but if I had the extra money I would try hard to spend a little extra to get an all inclusive away from san juan as the food in this area is expensive and it feels touristy compared to some more unique areas of the island. DEFINITELY go up to El Yunque peak when in Puerto Rico it will take your breath away!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The taxis here do not have meters and they will make up prices at the destination so be SURE to ask the price to your destination before getting in cab... these can also be negotiated if too high

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaveMan2011
Business
Madison, WI, USA
Dec 19, 2011

you get what you pay for

The title says it all. It's a 2-star hotel in an expensive, touristic area. So, it's probably a good deal for what you pay. The rooms are very big, but rather empty, not very clean, old carpets, the paint goes off the walls, the curtains do not work, half of the light bulbs in my room were not working (and they did not replace them, even when I asked them so), the water is not always very warm, no fridge/mini bar, one of the elevators did not work. In a nutshell, this hotel has the absolutely necessary facilities (bed, tv, table, bath tub, toilet). The location is very good, but I don't know how it compares to much cheaper hotels/hostels in old San Juan, since I heard that those are much cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from the hotel, these is a nice coffee place called picachos, where they have very good coffee, sandwiches, and smoothies. It's a bit pricey, but they have local/organic things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chinito
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 28, 2011

basic place to stay

Good value if you intend to stay and do activities else where Lack of gym and beach access can be a big minus. The hotel could do a better job providing information as to what's available to do around the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top